Adding spouse to new player home

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 5:32 am

OK, just so I understand, the Clear function clears all the other houses except yours (as opposed to clearing your house in preparation for moving to another)?

if i'm following what theconqueror is saying, i think the clear function is only supposed to clear your own house if your spouse is currently living there and you choose to move her to a new house. if that's true then that solves all problems

in which case, every house mod that is spouse compatible will have to include their own clear function for their own house. instead of the "lets put them all into one script" that i thought was the case before.
User avatar
Cheryl Rice
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:44 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:51 am

Exactly, gets the alias ID, and then clears the sandbox information before reassigning the new sandbox (whatever that is). needs a second test from soemone to confirm but simply set a marriage dialogue etc, and use that script as a template and it should work: I hope but if not the idea is there at least :tongue: (it works for me, but then again I can some weird results, once I got a blue Imperial: that was fun :smile:)

It also makes sense, when you move elsewhere it needs to clear all sandbox information just in case you reselect your original house
User avatar
Jarrett Willis
 
Posts: 3409
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:01 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:43 am

If you all don't mind, I'll test some things and then rewrite my tutorial above with your insights. I suggest we then stick it up on the Wiki, giving due credit, of course. I'll post it here, first, in case you all notice something I missed.

Oooh, if you can extend the RelationshipMarriageSpouseHouseScript, is there any reason you can't extend the Marriage Quest Script in the same way, or would the way the CK compiles the fragments into the Quest script screw that up?
User avatar
Nathan Risch
 
Posts: 3313
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:15 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:33 pm

@Qutayba7 In theory you could, the easy way to test to see if the marriage extension script works for you, if so then it can be done, since all it does is compile them separately and runs accordingly, only problem would be refrence errors such as one typo etc.. but I guess that is always the case

Brilliant, look forward to seeing results, and finally giving something back to the community lol (plus a mention is always a bonus) :tongue:
User avatar
Queen of Spades
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:06 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:01 am

Thank you guys for doing this. I look forward to viewing the tutorial.

If any of you want to work together on a project or need someone to design areas/indoor cells/player homes and such, please contact me via the nexus, or let me know here. I do some fairly organic building, and it would be fun to work with people that can script.

My current player homes:
Ranger Ridge
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=9904
Domus Demntis
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=9064
Dragonsreach Hideout
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=8197
Current WIP - Deus Mons
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/imageshare/image.php?id=47120
User avatar
Chris Ellis
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:00 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:35 am

You know, I ALMOST put my house exactly where you put Ranger Ridge, but I got so frustrated with the navmeshes (your solution: bridge. Brilliant!). Glad that our houses can co-exist.
User avatar
Tai Scott
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 6:58 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:22 am

I'm currently in the process of building a house mod and am looking forward to the finalised tutorial so I can add this function also.

Cheers lads

- Hypno
User avatar
GRAEME
 
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 2:48 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:18 am

Haha,, funny stuff Wutayba7. I actually did not even consider the navmesh...just thought it would be a cool place to put a bridge. After that the home just sort of happened. Funny how that works. Same thing with my current project. Saw a small peak/outcrop of rock and figured I'd build a castle on top of it. Now it has a crazy looking bridge connecting it to the stairs heading to High Hrothgar. Going to have an epic dragon fight on the bridge now...should be pretty hilarious.
User avatar
Dan Scott
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:45 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:30 am

OK, having some problems getting the move to work correctly now. Maybe one of you more experienced scripters will see what's missing.

I've moved the dialogue nodes for moving and choosing a newleywed house to a different quest, but have the dialogues in RelationshipMarriageFin link back to them. So I did manage to get the dialogue options to pop up with the other house moving options. It's the actual moving that's not working.

So, on my newleywed responses I have the following script fragment:

RelationshipMarriageFIN.SetStage(10)(GetOwningQuest() as QutSpouseHouseWhiteview).MoveSpouse(akspeaker, QutWhiteviewHouse)

I'm referring back to the stages of the marriage quest, because I think it sets up some important functions of spouses through this right after the wedding, such as the spouse store if they are a merchant. On the other move dialogue responses, it skips the first line.

The second line is trying to use the script extension to RelationshipMarriageSpouseHouseScript that was posted above.

Scriptname QutSpouseHouseWhiteview extends RelationshipMarriageSpouseHouseScriptFunction MoveSpouse (Actor Spouse, ReferenceAlias NewHouse);Function puts the player spouse in the correct alias to sandbox in the appropriate house;Clear all the other house aliases before setting the new oneIf QutWhiteviewHouse	 QutWhiteviewHouse.Clear()EndIfEndFunctionReferenceAlias Property QutWhiteviewHouse  Auto

The Alias has within it the packages for the new house. Is this script not going through the move functions (is it not calling RelationshipMarriageSpouseHouseScript)? I'm not experienced enough with scripting to know how the extension will call the functions of the base script. I don't get any error messages, but the spouse simply doesn't move to the new house. What's missing?

I do not have RelationshipMarriageSpouseHouseScript associated with my quest, so that compiling the quest scripts won't register as a change for that.

We're really close to a clean way to add spouses!

EDIT: SOLVED!

Just needed to add to the function

NewHouse.ForceRefTo(Spouse)

So, it almost doesn't need to be an extension of RelationshipMarriageSpouse because it already does everything as is.
User avatar
Marine x
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:54 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:12 pm

Beat me to the punch lol, when I checked between my code and what I posted, i forgot this line, is it working?


You need the extend part as it inherits from quest and the existing method, have you tested with 2 house nods yet?
User avatar
anna ley
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:04 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 11:38 am

Hey, could someone make a tutorial on how to do this? I have a couple houses I built that I would love my spouse to move in to, but I have no knowledge of scripting.
User avatar
Charlotte Lloyd-Jones
 
Posts: 3345
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:53 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:29 am

Once its been confirmed, a tutorial will be put up
User avatar
Hannah Barnard
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:42 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:51 am

Thanks guys for doing all this. It's something much needed and requested by downloaders of house mods!
@Qutayba: Please update the thread over at Skyre if you're done with it, it'll be much appreciated :smile:
Now, if you'll excuse me, I'll just move along and let you scripting minds figure this fun stuff out :wink:
User avatar
Melanie Steinberg
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:25 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:19 am

Testing with two houses now. Conqueror, so a script extension doesn't actually call the original script, or does it? In other words, should the new script also include the function that assigns the merchant job, or will that function be called from the original script?
User avatar
Juliet
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 12:49 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:21 am

A script extension : It means we add properties and methods to an existing class. It is basically inheritance.
User avatar
Erich Lendermon
 
Posts: 3322
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 4:20 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 1:55 pm

OK, I get it now. The only scripting I know is what I teach myself through modding, but once I get the logic behind it I'm fine. The rest is just grammar.
User avatar
TASTY TRACY
 
Posts: 3282
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:11 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:55 am

@Qutayba7 any luck with the two mods? I am very keen to see if the script fragment I suggested works for you :tongue:

No problem,on clarification of terms - I new my degree would come in handy :P
User avatar
Sarah Knight
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:02 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:21 am

OK, getting a hangup in the dialogue during my test. I thought it was possible to add more than one link to a "topic info." Using two plug-ins, I'm linking my house A response and house B response to the info "Where do you want us to move?" Only one of them is showing up in game. Are there other ways to create that link without overwriting? I suppose we can back-up to a top-level topic, but that's not as elegant.
User avatar
Chris Guerin
 
Posts: 3395
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 2:44 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 11:05 pm

I know it sounds simple, but are the links not overwriting, as technically its adding one quest on top of another, now I though it would just superimpose the new topic however it might just overwrite the old quest.

it is not as elegant using top level however might need to be done, as if the script side works with 2 mods, and top level topic isnt as elegant then that can be worked on, but if it works, that would be the biggest leap forward weve had. :tongue:

Oh add me on steam so we can chat more lol :tongue:
User avatar
Sophie Miller
 
Posts: 3300
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:35 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:49 am

top level dialog works, and allows for 100% clean mod, but it looks really ugly.

on the dialog window itself you end up having multiple "lets move somewhere else" dialog options: the vanilla one, and whatever else the dialog looks like on for each house mod (they would all stack independdently, unnested, in the top level)


so basically looks like:


Follow me
Has the store made money?
cook something for me
sell me something
lets move somewhere else
lets move to this house (house mod A)
lets move to this house (house mod B )

etc.

depending on how many house mods you install, that could get very ugly
User avatar
Alister Scott
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:56 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:17 am

going to look at Qutaybas testing and see if a scripting error might be: we are so close I can taste the mead
User avatar
Katy Hogben
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 12:20 am

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:23 am

Yeah, I was hoping that a link to a dialogue node didn't constitute a "change" to the node, but it really looks like it is. When I delete changes to those responses in the log it seems to delete the link, too. Sigh. theconqueror148 and I have been going back and forth tonight on the script, Have it working in one case, but not another. Need to see what other conditions need to be there for it to work right (I pray to Talos that it's not a navmesh issue!). So, messy top level dialogue, but multiple-house-friendly script. We can live with that.
User avatar
sarah taylor
 
Posts: 3490
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:36 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:45 am

Update: It is now 4 hours on, and we have got a clean way of getting one house mod to work, now just fine tuning 2 or more, but when spouses are hooking up with other npc's and The TV isn't working because you didn't put the pizza in the oven, and the pizza isn't in the oven because green does not equal monkey, you start to wonder
User avatar
Len swann
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:02 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:50 am

Adding to the above: This is like a psychedelic game of Whack-a-Mole, but we're learning important things about Quest priority and other things you wouldn't think bore any relevance. Hang on, all. We'll get this soon.
User avatar
matt white
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:43 pm

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:07 am

It is now official: the papyrus scripting structure svcks, when you get to the point of "importing" scripts to access there methods all in one go: you realise how vast it is, and how hard modifying a vanilla script without touching it at all is
User avatar
Alexis Acevedo
 
Posts: 3330
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:58 pm

PreviousNext

Return to V - Skyrim