Alternate CharGen Tutorial

Post » Tue May 08, 2012 1:59 pm

I didn't do anything with the elseIfs, but I broke up the if block for you.

Spoiler
Begin CharGenshort State;this makes it so all the menus don't pop up at once; you can also make it a global, so you can have multiple scripts running to do all this, so you can have multiple guys ask you all this, ala oblivion;first, you need to position the player: (look at the uesp article on the "position" console command for more info);this simply positions the player where you want to start. if you want to start in an exterior, use Player->Position. if you want to start in an interior, use Player->PositionCell;I don't understand position (exterior) command very well, so you need to ask about that, if you want to use itPlayer->PositionCell, 2847, 5188, 10244, 0, "Abanembra";example: player->PositionCell, 106, 1241, -105, "Ald'ruhn, Manor District";original morrowind example: Player->PositionCell 61,-135, 24, 340, "Imperial Prison Ship"if ( menumode == 1)returnendif; makes sure that it doesn't start if menumode is up, not strictly needed, but good practiceif ( State == 0 );remember, all variables start at zerodisablePlayerControls;not strictly needed, but again, good practiceEnableNameMenu;enables the "name menu", ala jiubset State to 10elseif ( State == 10 )EnableRaceMenu;enables the "race menu", like when the guard asks where you are fromset State to 20elseif ( State == 20 )EnableClassMenu;class menu. "there are a few ways to do this... etc."set State to 30elseif ( State == 30 )EnableBirthMenu; birthsign menu. "you said you were born under a certain star... etc.)set State to 40elseif ( State == 40 )	EnableStatReviewMenu	;stat review, so you can make sure you didn't mess up. "is this information all correct?"	set State to 60endIfif ( State == 60 )	"CharGen StatsSheet"->disable	"CharGen Boat"->Disable	"CharGen Boat Guard 1"->disable	"CharGen Boat Guard 2"->disable	"CharGen Dock Guard"->disable	"CharGen_cabindoor"->disable	"CharGen_chest_02_empty"->disable	"CharGen_crate_01"->disable	"CharGen_crate_01_empty"->disable	set State to 70endIfif ( State == 70 )	"CharGen_crate_01_misc01"->disable	"CharGen_crate_02"->disable	"CharGen_lantern_03_sway"->disable	"CharGen_ship_trapdoor"->disable	"CharGen_barrel_01"->disable	"CharGen_barrel_02"->disable	"CharGenbarrel_01_drinks"->disable	"CharGen_plank"->disable	"CharGen Door Hall"->Unlock	set State to 80endIf;makes sure that the chargen boat is disabled, so you don't see it if you go to seyda neen.if ( State == 80 )	StartScript RaceCheck	;checks the race, and sets a global variable, so you can use it in dialouge. "that nasty nord/dunmer/wood elf twit, etc."	enableplayerfighting	enableplayermagic	enableplayercontrols	EnablePlayerJumping	set State to 90endIfif ( State == 90 )	EnablePlayerViewSwitch	EnableVanityMode	enablestatsmenu	enableinventorymenu	enablemagicmenu	enablemapmenu	EnableRest	; enables all the menus, etc.	set CharGenState to -1	;global variable that makes sure that you don't have to go through the chargen proccess again.	set State to -1	;makes sure the char creation menus don't come up.	;if you want the package to give to caius, you need this command: Player->additem "bk_a1_1_caiuspackage" 1	;if you use that, do it when you are ready, and only thenendifEnd CharGen

I don't know what happened to state == 50...
User avatar
LittleMiss
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 6:22 am

Post » Tue May 08, 2012 6:52 pm

Unfortunately the problem remains. It's irritating as hell, especially since this is probably the simplest damn character generation method out there. I'm beginning to think that I should just borrow MA's Solstheim CharGen mod and change where my character spawns at. Or is that gonna screw up on me too? I won't be surprised...
User avatar
Sammykins
 
Posts: 3330
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:48 am

Post » Tue May 08, 2012 5:25 pm

I don't remember but weren't there some chargen mods that were created for the purpose of letting the modder use it to create their own chargen? Of course, that wouldn't make it any easier to let you decide when each section of chargen initiates.
User avatar
Amysaurusrex
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:45 pm

Post » Tue May 08, 2012 4:46 pm

Unfortunately the problem remains. It's irritating as hell, especially since this is probably the simplest damn character generation method out there. I'm beginning to think that I should just borrow MA's Solstheim CharGen mod and change where my character spawns at. Or is that gonna screw up on me too? I won't be surprised...

I would try it with that starscript commented out, or at least moved to the very bottom.

So your next step would be to put a messagebox in place to discover at what point the script is going astray...
So
mething like:
MessageBox "works to here."

Then insert it in each if block (one at a time) just before the endIf. If you see the messagebox, it works that far, so then move it down to the next if block until it doesn't show up in game. That should tell you where the problem is occurring.
User avatar
Causon-Chambers
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:47 pm

Post » Tue May 08, 2012 3:46 pm

It's all good, Midgetalien's Bloodmoon CharGen scripts (as in more than one) work just fine. Apparently that's the trick to it, you have to adjust the vanilla "CharGen" script, and then create a new one that gets triggered by the modified "CharGen" script. Does exactly what I need it to, and without any problems. Wish I'd done this to begin with.
User avatar
Angela Woods
 
Posts: 3336
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:15 pm

Post » Tue May 08, 2012 11:34 am

Well, glad you got something working, eh? ;)
User avatar
Samantha Jane Adams
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:00 pm

Post » Wed May 09, 2012 12:57 am

Yeah, and this'll help me get the opening sequence for Sunfall working too.
User avatar
Alexx Peace
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:55 pm

Previous

Return to III - Morrowind