Basic MGE shader problem

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 5:50 am

Greetings all. Old Morrowind player but new to Morromodding. I am using mge3.8.0b and I can't get the shaders to work. My MGE settings are correct (I have checked the necessary boxes etc.) The HDR shaders seem to do what they are meant to but:

All bloom/truebloom shaders seem far to bright

All DoF shaders make the entire screen equally blurry and tweaking makes no difference.

SSAO shaders do absolutely nothing.

Sunshaft rays just make everything much darker as though I had turned down the gamma.

And several versions of these shaders just make the frame go black or grey.


I have tried all the up to date shaders as well as older versions and I have loaded them in the correct order and tried most other orders as well. Of course I tried the shaders individually too. I have the feeling I have missed something basic. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I am normally a very placid person but I am starting to become a little frustrated now. :confused:
User avatar
Melanie Steinberg
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:25 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 6:26 pm



I have tried all the up to date shaders as well as older versions and I have loaded them in the correct order and tried most other orders as well. Of course I tried the shaders individually too. I have the feeling I have missed something basic. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I am normally a very placid person but I am starting to become a little frustrated now. :confused:


I have had exactly the same experience in previous years, and I will be watchin this thread closely for an answer as well! I apologise for any false hope I gave you when you see a reply on your topic, just thought I'd let you know you weren't alone! I want to get my game like the screenshots too!
User avatar
Fluffer
 
Posts: 3489
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:29 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 5:06 am

All bloom/truebloom shaders seem far to bright


Try some settings from Vurt.

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1048188-relz-vurts-weather-settings-for-bloom/page__hl__vurt


All DoF shaders make the entire screen equally blurry and tweaking makes no difference.


Here is a tip (don't remember who posted it)

Towards the end of knu's DoF shader, replace this:CODE    return float4(color.rgb / amount, 1);}technique T0{    pass { PixelShader = compile SM dof(); }    pass { PixelShader = compile SM smartblur(); }}with this:CODE    return float4(color.rgb / amount, 1);}float4 handsback(in float2 tex : TEXCOORD ) : COLOR0{    float4 dofimage = tex2D (s3, tex);    float4 ce = smoothstep(99,100, tex2D(s1, tex).r);    float4 image = tex2D(s0, tex);    float4 hands = (1 - ce) * image;    float4 rest = dofimage * (ce);    float4 mix = rest + hands;    return mix;  }technique T0{    pass { PixelShader = compile SM dof(); }    pass { PixelShader = compile SM smartblur(); }    pass { PixelShader = compile SM handsback(); }}


At least it fixes blurry hands and weapon.

Can't help you with anything else, sry :)
User avatar
Jodie Bardgett
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:38 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 9:06 am

Have you tried posting in the MGE thread?
User avatar
Bethany Watkin
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 3:16 pm

3.8.0b is ancient, I don't think it even supports SSAO or sunshafts.
User avatar
Suzie Dalziel
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:19 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 4:51 pm

Thanks Die Jedi but I have already twaeked the DoFs as you suggest. I now have a bloom shader that is sufficiently dim.

Fergus, I already searched all the forums for this information but everybody who has problems seems to have got a lot farther than I have (unless they can't activate shaders at all). Generally, people's shaders seem do what you'd expect but not perfectly and they have to be tweaked in some way or added in a different order. Mine just do completely the wrong thing (and more specifically not the right thing, as with the Sun rays. darkened screen but no rays anyway). Thanks for the tip though, I will post on an MGE thread soon.
User avatar
jason worrell
 
Posts: 3345
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 12:26 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 3:24 pm

I am using mge3.8.0b



This right here is your problem, any shader that requires depth information will not work with 3.8.0b, you will need one of the SVN revisions past 3.8.1 SVN 118 in order to get Sunshafts, Depth of Field, or SSAO to work correctly, and many of the newer bloom shaders also require some of the updated shader info from the newer SVN versions as well.

TBQH, I suggest just using SVN 178, it has pretty much all of the features required to run just about every shader out there, minus a couple designed specifically for 186.
User avatar
Siobhan Thompson
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:40 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 4:10 am

3.8.0b is ancient, I don't think it even supports SSAO or sunshafts.


Hey Povuholo, I knew someone would reply at the same time I did. I have suspected this for some time but when I try to update MGE the page I get to always seems to indicate That 3.8.0b is the latest version. Thanks for clearing that up. So I'll back-up my MGE settings and just over-write with a newer version? Can I expect any problems updating MGE?
User avatar
Elisha KIng
 
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 12:18 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 6:02 pm

Thanks every-one, I downloaded SVN 178 and everything works splendidly. :twirl:

Going to get some screenshots and enjoy good old Vvardenfell.
:violin: :violin: :violin:
User avatar
Quick Draw III
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:27 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 4:53 pm

Hey Povuholo, I knew someone would reply at the same time I did. I have suspected this for some time but when I try to update MGE the page I get to always seems to indicate That 3.8.0b is the latest version. Thanks for clearing that up. So I'll back-up my MGE settings and just over-write with a newer version? Can I expect any problems updating MGE?

yea, someone really needs to put a link to the newest revisions in the sourceforge page, i had the same problem and it took me a while of searching and some assistance to find it.
User avatar
Alexander Lee
 
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:30 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 6:57 pm

yea, someone really needs to put a link to the newest revisions in the sourceforge page, i had the same problem and it took me a while of searching and some assistance to find it.

The sourceforge page for MGE downloads has all the pertinent links, it's just a matter of expanding the file tree.

There's also a direct link to the most recent revision provided at the bottom of the http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1135315-morrowind-graphics-extender-mge/. -_-
User avatar
Cathrine Jack
 
Posts: 3329
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:29 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 5:31 pm

If you open any trueBloom shader in the editor, you'll see about a dozen settings at the top with description. A couple of them will influence brightness. I can give you more details if you have specific questions, otherwise, just play with the settings a lot. :)
User avatar
Alexandra Ryan
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:01 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 2:02 pm

Thanks guys. Now I will never play Morrowind again. . . I'll spend all my scant spare time drooling over graphics.

It took about an hour before I stopped gawping. Then I slew a pair of cliff-racers and spotted a super-secret isle far over the Eastern Sea and then I gawped for another hour. :celebration:

Maybe I can get Hrnchamd's shadows to work next. . .
User avatar
Cccurly
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:18 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 6:26 pm

Hmm. On my return to Vvardenfell I found that I had animated grass (I had static grass before) and it isn't happy grass. There are broken mid-sections of grass floating just above the rest. Any one know what caused this and how to get rid of it?
User avatar
Chenae Butler
 
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:54 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 3:39 pm

*my guilt is here* delete this as soon as you see, mr. moderator
User avatar
Nina Mccormick
 
Posts: 3507
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:38 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 3:33 pm

Hmm. On my return to Vvardenfell I found that I had animated grass (I had static grass before) and it isn't happy grass. There are broken mid-sections of grass floating just above the rest. Any one know what caused this and how to get rid of it?

@Dread_HAZARD
make sure you are using the proper grass meshes for animated grass - you can find links for them thru the MGE documentation via the FAQ on the MGE OP.


win 7 64x. I just can't get SVN 178 working, keep receiving "MGEgui stopped working"

@Mellow
No need to cross post, nor hijack this thread. You've already asked this in the MGE thread (which is the appropriate place for MGE related issues), and it looks to be responded to there. -_-
User avatar
Harry Leon
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:53 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 7:43 pm

Tetchy said: "make sure you are using the proper grass meshes for animated grass - you can find links for them thru the MGE documentation via the FAQ on the MGE OP."

Thanks Tetchy but let me explain what I did. I tried animated grass a week ago. It looked great but it caused player collision as though it were a static. The result was that I couldn't move anywhere so naturally, I unloaded the mod. Next I loaded Vality's static grass which didn't cause the collision issue. Now, after updating MGE, my grass has become animated and 'broken' :shrug: and I have no idea why. I can't find anything that I might have loaded that would cause this. Maybe I ought to load a new animated grass mod. . .
User avatar
Grace Francis
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 2:51 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 4:43 am

Tetchy said: "make sure you are using the proper grass meshes for animated grass - you can find links for them thru the MGE documentation via the FAQ on the MGE OP."

Thanks Tetchy but let me explain what I did. I tried animated grass a week ago. It looked great but it caused player collision as though it were a static. The result was that I couldn't move anywhere so naturally, I unloaded the mod. Next I loaded Vality's static grass which didn't cause the collision issue. Now, after updating MGE, my grass has become animated and 'broken' :shrug: and I have no idea why. I can't find anything that I might have loaded that would cause this. Maybe I ought to load a new animated grass mod. . .

"I tried animated grass a week ago. It looked great but it caused player collision as though it were a static."
You left the grass plugins enabled in Morrowind Launcher(or Wrye Mash). When it is strictly stated that they are for MGE distant land wizard only. They shouldn't be left activated in Morrowind Launcher.

Install animated grass mod.
Activate plugins temporarily in Morrowind Launcher(so distant land wizard load them automatically) OR manually add them in distant land wizard.
Generate distant land.
If you chose the temporarily activate method, deactivate grass plugins in Morrowind Launcher.
Enjoy your animated grass! :)
User avatar
Rebecca Dosch
 
Posts: 3453
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:39 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 5:26 am

"I tried animated grass a week ago. It looked great but it caused player collision as though it were a static."
You left the grass plugins enabled in Morrowind Launcher(or Wrye Mash). When it is strictly stated that they are for MGE distant land wizard only. They shouldn't be left activated in Morrowind Launcher.

Install animated grass mod.
Activate plugins temporarily in Morrowind Launcher(so distant land wizard load them automatically) OR manually add them in distant land wizard.
Generate distant land.
If you chose the temporarily activate method, deactivate grass plugins in Morrowind Launcher.
Enjoy your animated grass! :)


Again, thanks for the help but I don't have the collision problem. As I said higher up, this grass looks fine, is animated and does not cause collision but there is another, disconnected piece of grass floating a few inches above the rest of the grass. I can still see the non-animated grass underneath it. So this grass with the extra floating piece is not the non-animated grass (it's there as well) and it's not the grass for distant land (because it isn't causing collision, thanks for clearing that up). I don't know where it came from but it seems to date from when I updated MGE. . .
User avatar
Valerie Marie
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:29 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 3:06 pm

Now I have another problem. I did a quest in Tamriel Rebuilt where teleportation magic was disabled (rescue some one from a daedric shrine). Now I've discovered that it never re-enabled and I can't teleport at all. Re-loading the game doesn't help. . .
User avatar
lucile
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:37 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 6:37 pm

Now I have another problem. I did a quest in Tamriel Rebuilt where teleportation magic was disabled (rescue some one from a daedric shrine). Now I've discovered that it never re-enabled and I can't teleport at all. Re-loading the game doesn't help. . .



That would be an issue with Tamriel Rebuilt, or perhaps a bad load order, but MGE is a seperate program from Morrowind, and while it intecepts directx calls, it does not actually effect any gameplay mechanics, what you are experiencing is bug to report in the Tamriel Rebuilt thread.
User avatar
Angela
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 9:13 am

I know, I know, you're perfectly right. I'll take it to another thread. Any ideas on the grass though?
User avatar
Neil
 
Posts: 3357
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:08 am

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 5:07 am

I know, I know, you're perfectly right. I'll take it to another thread. Any ideas on the grass though?

Did you look at the MGE documentation as I suggested? Here's the http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/morrgraphext/index.php?title=Creating_Distant_Land to the pertinent directions (most importantly, follow step 4) - you need to be using Liztail's modified version of the grass meshes.
User avatar
Lucie H
 
Posts: 3276
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 11:46 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 4:17 pm

I'm pretty sure that the issue is because the grass .esp's are still checked in MGE. If you want static grass you need the correct mesh and texture versions, then you need to check the .esp's in Morrowind and NOT in MGE (basically the opposite of animated grass) otherwise MGE will try to animate your static grass and cause the issue. If you have it checked in both then that causes either weird looking grass and/or you can't walk through the grass.

I'm having issues with sunshaft, for some reason it stopped working. I changed a bunch of climate related options so I suspect that the problem is there. All my shaders work fine and there's no graphical issues, but I just don't get any sunshafts (yet I did a while back before I tweaked my settings). Anyone have a idea of how I broke the shafts (oh my that sounds bad)?

Thanks!
User avatar
matt white
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:43 pm

Post » Wed May 11, 2011 10:51 am

By "climate related options", do you mean INI edits? I can't test now, but I think sunshafts' strength are affected by the Glare View line under each weather setting. Maybe.
User avatar
Ashley Clifft
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 5:56 am

Next

Return to III - Morrowind