Body Part IDs for unused biped nodes (consensus?)

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:27 pm

Hi

Can someone please help me out? I've place some actors with this script:

Event OnLoad()
Debug.Notification("Loaded!")
HasHand = Self.HasNode("Hands")
Debug.Notification("Person has hand? " + HasHand)
HasHead = Self.HasNode("head")
Debug.Notification("Person has head? " + HasHead)
Debug.Notification("Moving weapon to hand")
SomeObject.SplineTranslateToRefNode(Self, "hand", 1.0, 1.0, 10)
;SomeObject.MoveToNode(Self, "Hand")
EndEvent

Why is it saying FALSE to everything? Doesnt actors have nodes? One of them is default race, thanks.
User avatar
Claire Lynham
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:42 am

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:20 pm

first of all, what you're trying to do is not going to work. you can move an object to a actor node like the hand, but the actor will not actually "hold" it. the object is just going to float in air and as soon as the character walks away the object will be left behind suspended in air, nor will it follow the hands movement during the idle animation.

and secondly, it is returning false because the name of the nodes are likely incorrect. you may need to open up the skeleton nif in an editor or nifskope to see the actual name of the node

someone else with more knowledge about this kind of thing may be able to give you a netter suggestion for setting up whatever it is you are trying to do, in which case you might be better off making a new thread because that is outside the scope of the subject of this topic (this topic is about forming a consensus for the use of unnamed body nodes on the biped).
User avatar
Harry Leon
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:53 am

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:42 am

Many thanks for your answer.

No need to open new topic, thats what I needed to know, in other words, nodes are useless, at least to me, to what I wanna do. If the names are incorrect I can't get their location with the function, etc.
User avatar
Chloe Mayo
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:59 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:39 am

No need to open new topic, thats what I needed to know, in other words, nodes are useless, at least to me, to what I wanna do. If the names are incorrect I can't get their location with the function, etc.

umm... It's not that the names of the nodes are incorrect in and of themselves. It's more that the ones you are using are probably not the same as the names of the nodes in the skeleton. If you follow Amethyst's advice and look at it with nifskope you'll find out what the node are actually called, and if you use those names your code might work.
User avatar
carley moss
 
Posts: 3331
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 5:05 pm

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:08 pm

umm... It's not that the names of the nodes are incorrect in and of themselves. It's more that the ones you are using are probably not the same as the names of the nodes in the skeleton. If you follow Amethyst's advice and look at it with nifskope you'll find out what the node are actually called, and if you use those names your code might work.

Thanks for the reply.

Thing is I don't know how to use nifskope, also, don't you find strange that NORMAL actors don't have the correct name in nodes? All I needed was/is:

-Node names that function with Self.HasNode(),
-Hand node name that functions with this
-Head node name that functions with this
-Etc....
User avatar
Johanna Van Drunick
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:40 am

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:44 pm

Thing is I don't know how to use nifskope, also, don't you find strange that NORMAL actors don't have the correct name in nodes?

Well, I don't know what Beth's naming conventions may have been. But to my mind here, the correct names for nodes are the ones the developers used. Which is to say the ones that work.
User avatar
ANaIs GRelot
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 6:19 pm

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 3:46 pm

Just to let everyone know, I am working on a mod that will http://www.gamesas.com/topic/1374311-wip-arsenal-visible-weapons-and-stowable-shields/page__fromsearch__1, and after reading the suggestion on page 2, neither of Amethyst's proposed methods will satisfy what I'm trying to achieve. This will very much be driven by a script and the shield will be displayed on the back only when unequipped. I intend to give it a new bone on the skeleton to support it, but this also means I need to use an apparel slot to display it. I will utilize a dummy shield object when equipped on the back.

At minimum, it needs to work with the following things:
Cloaks (45)
Backpack (47)
...and I believe that's it.

I want to make sure that what I'm doing won't make anything explode / incompatible. What would be considered a kosher slot to use for this purpose? Thanks!

Edit: Another option would be to technically define the dummy shield as a "weapon", and create a new Equip Type for the dummy shield and tie the .nif to the new shield bone that way. The disadvantage of this is that the dummy item would show up under Weapons instead of under Armor next to its assigned shield.
User avatar
Andrew
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 1:44 am

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:22 pm

Well, I don't know what Beth's naming conventions may have been. But to my mind here, the correct names for nodes are the ones the developers used. Which is to say the ones that work.

But they should be on the wiki.
User avatar
Kayleigh Williams
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:41 am

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:55 am

thats a good point, i will try to update the wiki on the existing biped named nodes with the actual names from the skeleton when i get a chance
User avatar
Anthony Diaz
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 11:24 pm

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:29 pm

As a follow-up to my last post:

Are any major mods known to use the following slots:

46
49
54
56
60

The 3 mods that I know I want to ensure compatibility with are cloaks (45), Sabre Gear Backpacks (47), and Bandoliers (48,52,53,55,57,58,59). Thanks for the help.
User avatar
Soraya Davy
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 10:53 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:42 am

according to Nivea, Cloaks and Winter is Coming both use slot 46 for the capes (and will be using 45 for scarves)

Black Sacrament armor uses slot 49 for Tasset (waistline armor piece), 56 for Brooch pin (chest area) and 60 for Barrette (misc hair item/accessory)
User avatar
herrade
 
Posts: 3469
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:09 pm

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:24 pm

Thanks a lot Amethyst. In the end I believe I'll go the weapon route, and bypass the need for an apparel slot. If I do use one, I'll be sure to use 54.
User avatar
Mike Plumley
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:45 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:18 am

according to Nivea, Cloaks and Winter is Coming both use slot 46 for the capes (and will be using 45 for scarves)

Black Sacrament armor uses slot 49 for Tasset (waistline armor piece), 56 for Brooch pin (chest area) and 60 for Barrette (misc hair item/accessory)
When I did the first capes in skyrim I did http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=2822, then I settled for using
I settled as well for using the 46 .
User avatar
emma sweeney
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 7:02 pm

Previous

Return to V - Skyrim