[wip] 1 button torch toggle

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:33 pm

EDIT: sry i got ahead of myself
User avatar
dean Cutler
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:29 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:45 pm

Now my curiosity is peaked!
User avatar
Margarita Diaz
 
Posts: 3511
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 2:01 pm

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:49 am

Now my curiosity is peaked!


Mine too!
User avatar
C.L.U.T.C.H
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:23 pm

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:23 pm

Mine too!

I know this is OT, but I have to comment on your sig, if Oblivion had deverse environments like Morrowind, then I would disagree with your sig, however, since all of its environments look exactly the same, there is little point in exploration, and will therefore, reluctantly, agree with it. :P
User avatar
Laura-Lee Gerwing
 
Posts: 3363
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:46 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:38 pm

I know this is OT, but I have to comment on your sig, if Oblivion had deverse environments like Morrowind, then I would disagree with your sig, however, since all of its environments look exactly the same, there is little point in exploration, and will therefore, reluctantly, agree with it. :P


:rofl:

Can I sig that please? :D
User avatar
saharen beauty
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:54 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:39 am

If you are interested in this, would you mind testing it out for me.

http://www.mediafire.com/?1c183byel13gq5r

this esp adds 1 item with a script, once you are in game:

player->additem, "torch" 1 : just to make sure you have a regular torch in your inventory
player->additem, "mf_torch_toggler" 1

set the torch toggler to one of your hot keys and see if it works.

here is the simple script the toggler runs:

Spoiler
Begin Mf_torch_toggleshort OnPcEquipshort TorchEquippedIf ( OnPcEquip == 1 )	set OnPcEquip to 0	if ( torchEquipped == 1 )		player-> additem, "chitin_shield" 1		player-> equip, "chitin_shield"		player-> removeitem, "chitin_shield" 1		set TorchEquipped to 0	else		If ( player->GetItemCount, "torch" > 0 )     <------ my game doeesnt like this line and the script stops here, but if i change it to look for torch_257 or any other torch it works fine.			player-> equip, "torch"			set TorchEquipped to 1		else			Messagebox, "You no longer have a torch"			player-> additem, "chitin_shield" 1			player-> equip, "chitin_shield"			player-> removeitem, "chitin_shield" 1			set TorchEquipped to 0		endif	endifendifend


I just need to see if my game is corrupt or if this is a bug in morrowind. For some reason if the line ( getitemcount, "torch" ) is on a holdable light sorce or a global script the game doesnt recognize it.
User avatar
Teghan Harris
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 1:31 pm

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:01 pm

If ( player->GetItemCount, "torch" > 0 ) <------ my game doeesnt like this line and the script stops here, but if i change it to look for torch_257 or any other torch it works fine.



Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I've seen such mistakes before....Are you sure you actually made a light object with ID "torch"?
User avatar
rheanna bruining
 
Posts: 3415
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:00 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:05 pm

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I've seen such mistakes before....Are you sure you actually made a light object with ID "torch"?



The ID "torch" is an item all ready in the game and i didnt alter it, I added my fake torch and its called "Mf_torch_toggler" and it has a that script attached to it.

But like I said if I change that line to:

getitemcount, "torch_257"
player->equip, "torch_257"

it works.

EDIT: the origional script works fine if only the morrowind.esm is used to create the esp, and if the morrowind.esm is used in game. Once I create the .esp with MW.esm, BM.esm, and TRI.esm with the same script and load the game with the same masters it doesnt work, i get a error: script error expression , then another error: left eval. Something in bm or tri is messing something up, and this IS a fresh install with the patch.

Now I can work around this by changing the id of "torch" to "torchMF", but I don't know if that's a good idea or not.
User avatar
Alyce Argabright
 
Posts: 3403
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 8:11 pm

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:30 pm

Compile & save your mod with only Morrowind.esm loaded, you don't need Tribunal.esm or Bloodmoon.esm resources anyway.
You can avoid generating dirty GMST loading http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Utilities.Detail&id=74 or clean the mod after saving it with http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=utilities.detail&id=34 orhttp://code.google.com/p/mlox/downloads/detail?name=tes3cmd-0.37o-2010.08.20.7z&can=2&q= http://code.google.com/p/mlox/wiki/Tes3cmd#clean_-_Clean_plugins_of_Evil_GMSTs,_junk_cells,_and_more modname.esp.
Also, you'd better avoid asymmetrical spaces, sometimes they may cause errors
player-> placeitem ;<-- risky
player ->placeitem ;<-- risky
player->placeitem ;<-- good
player -> placeitem ;<-- good
if ( variable== 1 ) ; risky
if (variable == 1 ) ; risky
if ( variable == 1) ; risky
if ( variable == 1 ) ; good
User avatar
James Hate
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 5:55 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:35 pm

Once again thank you, abot, i finally get it now. As long as I compile it with MW.esm only it will work with bm. and tri.

I need to learn to slow down and think out things before I act on them. I'm like a squire ll jacked up up on cocaine.

I can finally finish this up now.
User avatar
lucile davignon
 
Posts: 3375
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:40 pm

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:19 am

I know this is OT, but I have to comment on your sig, if Oblivion had deverse environments like Morrowind, then I would disagree with your sig, however, since all of its environments look exactly the same, there is little point in exploration, and will therefore, reluctantly, agree with it. :P


I made that sig as a counter to one by another member. So many flame wars were started oven that stupid feature that it just isn't funny. Personally, I cannot imagine playing the game without it and it is one of the features I want the most in Morrowind. It really svcks to have to travel one hour (real time) in the game world to find a single item and then have to travel another hour to get back. But, I digress...
User avatar
Emily abigail Villarreal
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:38 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:20 pm

:rofl:

Can I sig that please? :D



Absolutely
User avatar
Emily abigail Villarreal
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:38 am

Post » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:37 pm

Personally, I cannot imagine playing the game without it and it is one of the features I want the most in Morrowind. It really svcks to have to travel one hour (real time) in the game world to find a single item and then have to travel another hour to get back. But, I digress...

Unlike Oblivion, you do have access to the intervention spells for a quick return to town, it's oh 2 seconds to return to town. There are some inexpensive amulets enchanted with them, so you don't even need to be a mage.

Also with a little MGE magic you can enjoy exploring, as there are real distinct landmarks and long lines of sight to navigate with, weird mushroom things, actual small settlements and scary ruins. You might even meet interesting travellers. Not like forest, forest, forest and a wolf you might .. experience otherwise.
User avatar
Chrissie Pillinger
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:26 am


Return to III - Morrowind