[Rel] ConScribe

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:55 am

EDIT: without the EnhancedMusicControl in the mix there is no CTD on start. With it (and ConScribe).... KABOOOM!
The EMC plugin is an optional suggestion for Frostcrag Reborn (and available separately at the usual places). It does not appear to me that the author is active anymore.
There was another report of EMC causing CTDs with OBSE v18 - Looks like it's the culprit.
User avatar
saharen beauty
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:54 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:48 am

I installed ConScribe 8.0a with OBMM. Then I started WBv285 and then launched the CS+OBSEv18b6. Then I selected My mod as the active data file and waited for everything to load. Then I opened my script to edit. I added the following two lines:
Scribe "iLocation=%g" iLocation 1
Scribe "iLocationType=%g" iLocationType 1
When I selected "Compile/Save", I got an error: Script command "Scribe" not found.
Are Conscribe commands available while I'm in the CS script editor?
Is there an option to tell the CS to ignore these commands?
User avatar
Undisclosed Desires
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:10 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:54 pm

I installed ConScribe 8.0a with OBMM. Then I started WBv285 and then launched the CS+OBSEv18b6. Then I selected My mod as the active data file and waited for everything to load. Then I opened my script to edit. I added the following two lines:
Scribe "iLocation=%g" iLocation 1
Scribe "iLocationType=%g" iLocationType 1
When I selected "Compile/Save", I got an error: Script command "Scribe" not found.
Are Conscribe commands available while I'm in the CS script editor?
Is there an option to tell the CS to ignore these commands?
Upgrade to OBSE v18 final and try again. If it fails to recognize the command, post the contents of ConScribe.log (found in the same directory as obse_loader.exe).
User avatar
Ann Church
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 7:41 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:38 am

Upgrade to OBSE v18 final and try again. If it fails to recognize the command, post the contents of ConScribe.log (found in the same directory as obse_loader.exe).
That fixed the editing problem.

I must be misunderstanding something in the documentation:
http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Scribe
----------------------------------------------------------
begin gameMode
scribe "This will be printed to the Script log, but not to the console" 0
...
end
----------------------------------------------------------
For this to work, how would the Conscribe.ini look?

This is my INI:
----------------------------------------------------------
[ConsoleLog]
ScribeMode=Static
Includes=
Excludes=
[General]
TimeFormat=%m-%d-%Y %H-%M-%S
LogBackups=-1
RootDirectory=Default
----------------------------------------------------------

This is my code using Scribe (Extracted with Oblivion Script Dumper):
----------------------------------------------------------
; Set choice defaults
set iStatus to 1
set iLevel to 0
set iLocation to 5 ; IC
set iLocationType to 0 ; Str

Scribe "iLocation=%g" iLocation 1
Scribe "iLocationType=%g" iLocationType 1

;--------------------------
; Read default values from INI file
;--------------------------

Scribe "Read default values from INI file" 1
if FileExists "Data\ini\StartChoicesDefaults.ini"
RunBatchScript "Data\ini\StartChoicesDefaults.ini"
Scribe "SCD: Updated values from Data\ini\StartChoicesDefaults.ini" 1
Scribe "iLocation=%g" iLocation 1
Scribe "iLocationType=%g" iLocationType 1
else
Scribe "SCD: Did not find INI file, and will use default/stored values!" 1
endif

;--------------------------
; End Read default values from INI file
;--------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------

This is the static log.log:
----------------------------------------------------------
OBSE Drop Lit Torches Initialised (Ini)
MMO:Init player marker array 0-30
MMO:1st time initialization!
MMO:Did not find ini file, and will use default/stored values!
EE:Updated values from ini file in data\ini\.
EE:Creating location prices lists
EE:Updating location prices lists
EE:Creating merchant prices lists
EE:Updating merchant prices lists
EE:Initing Tamriel Travellers merchant lists
WTF?!
(SL) Streamline attempting to initialize..
(SL) OBSE Version 18.00 Detected - Streamline 3.1 Initializing.
Inn publicans now offer misc items.
CB: Xskills not present. Aborting.
Cobl : 0
CB: cobl detected
CB: cobl index is 4
(SL) SL.ini appears error-free, happy gaming!
CBSkContQ: Woodlore skill intializing...
CBSkCraftingQ: Crafting skill intializing...
CauldQ running
Construction...target is
CBSkContQ: construction skill intializing...
Cobl: Now running OBSE v18.
Cobl: Now running Pluggy v125.
Exterior Cell, Trees 22, Flora 8
Type 1, location Forest
----------------------------------------------------------
There are no Per-Mod or Per-Script logs.
The Scribe messages aren't there. I know the code "set iLocation to 5" above it is being executed.
What am I doing wrong?
I looked at zzPiiiPzzConDump.txt and saw that you use registerLog in zzPiiiPSanityQS.txt, but I didn't think registerLog was required.

Also, In the doc, the keyword for the option "Static Logging" is "Static". What are the keywords to specify "Per Game Load" and "Per Game Session" in the INI file?
User avatar
Silvia Gil
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 9:31 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:44 am

The INI file only configures the settings for the console log. Are the scribe calls the only ones that don't work, i.e, do all other code run correctly ? To create your own log in the Per-Mod folder, you'll need to register a log with the RegisterLog command and pass that log name in scribe's format string. Post the ConScribe log's contents anyway. See if this code works:
registerLog "Temp Log" 1            ; registers a log called Temp Log and sets it as the default output streamscribe "Test Dump|Script" 1        ; should go to a log in the PerScript folderscribe "Test Dump|" 1                 ; should go to the Temp Log in the PerMod folderscribe "Test Dump|Temp Log" 1   ; same as above
The readMe should have more info on the various log modes used by the console log.
User avatar
Michael Russ
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:33 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:34 am

Sorry for the slight tangential... but, where can I find Ashes to Ashes? Is it complete and at all available? I have tried searching.

It's just that I'm going on a bit of a vampire hunting binge, mods-wise (among other things, mind you) and this sounds fantastic, so I thought it'd be worth asking.
User avatar
zoe
 
Posts: 3298
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:09 pm

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:54 pm

Sorry for the slight tangential... but, where can I find Ashes to Ashes? Is it complete and at all available? I have tried searching.

It's just that I'm going on a bit of a vampire hunting binge, mods-wise (among other things, mind you) and this sounds fantastic, so I thought it'd be worth asking.
Very slight indeed ;) a2a 1.0 is in fact completed and in testing. You may try it out by joining the TESAlliance's Beta Tester's guild. In all frankness, I'd appreciate it if you did as it's been sitting there for months now. Some more feedback and I can probably release it.

PS : PM me, if you have questions about unreleased mods of mine, in the future.
User avatar
Jose ordaz
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:14 pm

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:07 pm

The INI file only configures the settings for the console log. Are the scribe calls the only ones that don't work, i.e, do all other code run correctly ? To create your own log in the Per-Mod folder, you'll need to register a log with the RegisterLog command and pass that log name in scribe's format string. Post the ConScribe log's contents anyway. See if this code works:
registerLog "Temp Log" 1            ; registers a log called Temp Log and sets it as the default output streamscribe "Test Dump|Script" 1        ; should go to a log in the PerScript folderscribe "Test Dump|" 1                 ; should go to the Temp Log in the PerMod folderscribe "Test Dump|Temp Log" 1   ; same as above
The readMe should have more info on the various log modes used by the console log.

Ok, I know your commands are executed, because the registerlog command wrote to the D:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\ConScribe.log:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INI Path: D:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Data\OBSE\Plugins\ConScribe.ini
Root set to default directory

Backing up logs...


INI Options:
ScribeMode = Static
Includes =
Excludes =
TimeFormat = %m-%d-%Y %H-%M-%S
LogBackups = -1
RootDirectory = D:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\

ConScribe initialized!

Mod 'StartChoices.esp' registered
Mod 'StartChoices.esp' registered 'TempLog' as a log
Default log index for 'StartChoices.esp' set to 0
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's the code from the HQstQuestScr script in StartChoices.esp:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
registerLog "TempLog" 1 ; registers a log called Temp Log and sets it as the default output stream
scribe "Test Dump|Script" 1 ; should go to a log in the PerScript folder
scribe "Test Dump|" 1 ; should go to the Temp Log in the PerMod folder
scribe "Test Dump|TempLog" 1 ; same as above

Scribe "iLocation=%g" iLocation 1
Scribe "iLocationType=%g" iLocationType 1
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There's nothing in the Static Log.log written from StartChoices.esp
There are no files in the Per-Mod or Per-Script folders.
I also searched the D: partition for "TempLog" and found nothing. You may notice I changed the log name to be one word "TempLog". Easier to search for.
ShadeMe, I would much rather you work on CSE than spend time on this...
User avatar
Amie Mccubbing
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:33 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:56 am

There's nothing in the Static Log.log written from StartChoices.esp
There are no files in the Per-Mod or Per-Script folders.

Try downgrading to 8.0 and see if that helps. There's a similar problem with RefScope's logging when using ConScribe 8.0a, but it works with 8.0.
User avatar
Penny Flame
 
Posts: 3336
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:53 am

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:05 pm

:lightbulb: One thing comes to mind. StartChoices replaces the Start menu in the Main OB screen. So these Scribe commands are executed just after I select "New" as in New game. This is way prior to the player being placed into the Worldspace. Hence there may not be enough time to capture the Scribe commands that follow.

Anyway, I will test with CsonScribe 8.0. Thanks.
User avatar
Dean
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 4:58 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:58 am

Try downgrading to 8.0 and see if that helps. There's a similar problem with RefScope's logging when using ConScribe 8.0a, but it works with 8.0.
You were right...Thanks! :foodndrink:
No I can debug my mods! :D
User avatar
Anna Kyselova
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:42 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:59 am

Try downgrading to 8.0 and see if that helps. There's a similar problem with RefScope's logging when using ConScribe 8.0a, but it works with 8.0.
Looks like I broke something in 8.0a after all. Will take a more clinical look. Thanks :thumbsup:
User avatar
Connor Wing
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:22 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:32 am

PS : PM me, if you have questions about unreleased mods of mine, in the future.

OK, will do. And thanks. :)
User avatar
Mark Hepworth
 
Posts: 3490
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:51 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:19 am

http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=26510
Version 8.0b is out !


Bugfix update. Changes:

8.0b –
  • Fixed a bug introduced in the last update that prevented scribe from working

User avatar
TIhIsmc L Griot
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 6:59 pm

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:26 pm

Using RefScope logging, I'm still seeing the same problem with 8.0b as with 8.0a: no output, no logfile created. In case it makes a difference, I'm using XP 32-bit, and as I've mentioned to you before, RefScope does RegisterLog, Scribe, and UnregisterLog all back-to-back in the same script.

BTW, you should consider using your DLL version number to indicate patch versions. I know what version of ConScribe I'm running because I just installed it, but the version number embedded within ConScribe.dll is 8.0.0.0 for all of 8.0, 8.0a, and 8.0b. You could use a DLL version like 8.0.2.0 or 8.0.0.2 to indicate 8.0b instead.
User avatar
~Sylvia~
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 5:19 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:55 am

Using RefScope logging, I'm still seeing the same problem with 8.0b as with 8.0a: no output, no logfile created. In case it makes a difference, I'm using XP 32-bit, and as I've mentioned to you before, RefScope does RegisterLog, Scribe, and UnregisterLog all back-to-back in the same script.

BTW, you should consider using your DLL version number to indicate patch versions. I know what version of ConScribe I'm running because I just installed it, but the version number embedded within ConScribe.dll is 8.0.0.0 for all of 8.0, 8.0a, and 8.0b. You could use a DLL version like 8.0.2.0 or 8.0.0.2 to indicate 8.0b instead.
Bugger.

Please standby . . .
User avatar
QuinDINGDONGcey
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:11 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:11 am

http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=26510
Version 8.0c is out !


Bugfix update. Changes:

8.0c –
  • Fixed the bug that was thought fixed in 8.0b

User avatar
Guinevere Wood
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:06 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:17 am

Yep, it works now. Thank you!
User avatar
candice keenan
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 10:43 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:57 am

Got a request, a way to reset or clear the content of a registered log. Right now I'm trying to use ConScribe to read from a log (in a similar fashion as how Vector does it) but without a way to clear the log before writing the new settings I can't really complete my mod. :(

[edit]It would be great to be able to specify from which line the log gets purged but I can live with purging it in its entirety to. :) [/edit]
User avatar
Beulah Bell
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:08 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:55 am

Got a request, a way to reset or clear the content of a registered log. Right now I'm trying to use ConScribe to read from a log (in a similar fashion as how Vector does it) but without a way to clear the log before writing the new settings I can't really complete my mod. :(

[edit]It would be great to be able to specify from which line the log gets purged but I can live with purging it in its entirety to. :) [/edit]
You can delete a registered log by setting the delete flag in an unRegisterLog call. Following that with a registerLog call would serve as a purge of the log. I'll add a command to the next update to do just that in any case.
User avatar
YO MAma
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:24 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 12:35 am

You can delete a registered log by setting the delete flag in an unRegisterLog call. Following that with a registerLog call would serve as a purge of the log. I'll add a command to the next update to do just that in any case.
Somehow I managed to completely miss that, and there I was, thinking I looked in each and every corner of the cs wiki. :P
User avatar
Sabrina Schwarz
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:02 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:19 am

Hmm, I can't get it to work. This is the code I'm using and it does not result in a purged log each time the code runs.
	RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1	unRegisterLog "*.*", 1, 1	RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1  ;I want to use the log afterwards

User avatar
Mel E
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:23 pm

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:13 am

Hmm, I can't get it to work. This is the code I'm using and it does not result in a purged log each time the code runs.
	RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1	unRegisterLog "*.*", 1, 1	RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1  ;I want to use the log afterwards

Yeah, that's a bug there. Passing the name of the log explicitly should work.
User avatar
Queen Bitch
 
Posts: 3312
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:43 pm

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2011 9:39 pm

Yeah, that's a bug there. Passing the name of the log explicitly should work.
Thanks, that seemed to work. Although I ran into another bug (I think) with ReadFromLog. Well the bug isn't with that function but how it seems to affect registered logs.

I have this code and currently it does not delete the log like it should. Ofcourse this isn't the actual code as I need it, merely a simplified form used for debugging. When I comment out the ReadFromLog line the file gets deleted as normal. Somehow calling ReadFromLog affects if the log can be deleted or not, maybe the filestream stays open or something? :unsure:
        RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings"        ;Scribe "TESTING LOGS"        let arDump := ReadFromLog "DarN Config - Settings"        unRegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings"                        RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1        Scribe "DELETING"        unRegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1, 1        RegisterLog "DarN Config - Settings", 1        Scribe "DELETED"

User avatar
matt
 
Posts: 3267
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 10:17 am

Post » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:02 am

Thanks, that seemed to work. Although I ran into another bug (I think) with ReadFromLog. Well the bug isn't with that function but how it seems to affect registered logs.

I have this code and currently it does not delete the log like it should. Ofcourse this isn't the actual code as I need it, merely a simplified form used for debugging. When I comment out the ReadFromLog line the file gets deleted as normal. Somehow calling ReadFromLog affects if the log can be deleted or not, maybe the filestream stays open or something? :unsure:
I'm unable to reproduce your issue on my end. Then again, I did make a lot of changes to the code sometime ago - Might have fixed it then. By the way, do you have any other requests ? Now might be a good time to hear them.
User avatar
Leticia Hernandez
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:46 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion