[WIPz/RELz] Drake's Anthro-Dragon Race (No.6)

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:49 am

First off, awesome work! Second, after reading through this thread, I guess I am the only one with this problem, but when I play as a dragon, over time, the game takes longer and longer to save. It only happens when I play as a dragon though, if I play as any other race, save times are normal. I think it might be due to one of the scripts. also, looking in the cs, the dragon races are set to use custom voice files, but none are included in the mod, so I set it to use the Argonian set, in addition, is there a texture for the upperbody/chest? In the cs, it was set to use the imperial upperbody texture, so I changed it to use the foot texture, with doesn't map out right. buuuut...... overall this is one of my favorite mods, can't wait to see what comes out next!

Thanks, I'm glad you like it so far, and thanks for reviving my WIP thread for once.

Actually you're not the only one encountering this from time to time. It's a reported issue with my scripts not properly cleaning up all string_vars afterwards, which is leading to savegame bloating after some time. I know it's a bad excuse I didn't know you had to clean those up as well back then, as it wasn't mentioned in the docs, but still it's an annoying and by time even game breaking bug I'm dying to fix since it was first reported to me. Unfortunately though script improvements and bugfixes can only take place once I finally got around to buy a new pc and have some free time to actually do it. I officially suspended all my modding projects until further notice a long time ago, but it really hurts to not make any progress anymore for several months.

However, there is a somewhat simple way to fix this, or better yet reset the bloating back to 0 and let it start over with building up again. Just do a clean save the following way:
First you need to change your race to something not coming from my mod. Open the console, type in "showracemenu", close the console (or leave it open all the time), change your race to something non-dragon (without touching any appearance options or anything, as you won't want to alter your appearance, only your race temporarily), open the console again so you are allowed to save your game while the race menu is still open, and then save your game and quit (without ever pressing the done button of the race menu, which would damage your stats and cause several other not-that-obvious issues!).
Next disable my mod and load your new save. This should not complain about missing a plugin for the savegame and you should not get any issues with the race your player is of suddenly gone (you changed it just because of this). Now save your game another time, with my mod not running anymore. This is the clean save, which should be clean of all string_vars or other left-over data junk I forgot to clean up in my scripts. Then quit.
Reactivate my mod again, load your clean save, you should get the initial popup reporting all arrays were initialized successfully again, and the race should be working fine again. Just switch back to your preferred dragon race the same way as the previous time and everything should be back to normal again... or so I hope.

At least this solution was reported to reset loading and saving times back to normal from other users of my mod encountering the same issue.

Yes, the voice set was configured to be a new one of its own, but of course I didn't yet get around to actually create one. Using the Argonian sound set instead should be absolutely fine for now.

No, there is no texture for any other slot than "foot" and "hand". The "foot" texture slot of the race contains the full-body texture (just as with every body mod out there), and the "hand" texture slot contains the detailed wing membrane textures. A custom race created for Robert's Male bodies and TFF female bodies exclusively (as it is right now) does not require any others. Usage of non-fitting items with Vanilla body parts or made for other bodies than these 2 is not recommended and will cause graphical issues. I left the slots not used by any proper body meshes at their defaults, which seems to be Imperial skin textures. So whenever you see Imperial skin on your dragon, you're wearing a wrong item not made for Robert's Male or TFF.

Assigning the full-body texture ("foot") to any of the other slots will not help much, because it's still a wrong mesh in use with a non-fitting texture-map. It doesn't look right having the whole body texture wrapped around your chest or any other body part. In Vanilla there is one seperate texture for every body part, so those body parts are using the whole image space of the respective texture file to wrap around the mesh, while Robert's Male or TFF meshes only use their respective section of the full-body texture.

I can't wait to see it myself either. There's so much already done and so much still only planned, I hate not being able to release/realize it.
But sadly I can't even tell when I will finally be able to go on again... It hurts to make as little progress with my projects as there is in this thread (close to 0 that is)... I miss modding so much already...
User avatar
Melis Hristina
 
Posts: 3509
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:36 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:56 am

Cool thanks, as far as the scripting goes, I'll probably play around with it a bit, now that I know what the problem is, ah the joys of debugging, spending 10 minutes writing the code, and then spending 10 hours debugging, and the texture issue makes since, considering I never got around to actually installing the body mods, I meant to, but never got around to it.

Thanks for the help
User avatar
Darren
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:33 pm

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:45 pm

By the way, I am new to scripting, but I am fairly proficient at java, c and python, so I am unfamiliar with some of these terms. What exactly are string_vars? are they just string variables? also do you know in which script the problem lies?

Thanks
User avatar
SiLa
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:52 am

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:01 pm

By the way, I am new to scripting, but I am fairly proficient at java, c and python, so I am unfamiliar with some of these terms. What exactly are string_vars? are they just string variables? also do you know in which script the problem lies?

Thanks

"string_var" is a variable type introduced by OBSE. These are string variables, yes, but implemented in a way making them string "objects" rather.
You construct them first, initializing counts as implicit constructing ('let myString := "test"' creates a new string object with "test" as content), and they apparently have to be destroyed afterwards.
As soon as you loose reference to such a string object, it will occupy memory (or co-save file) space forever (that is until you deactivate the mod). This is likely the culprit here.

Unfortunately I can't tell from memory which scripts might have been affected by this. The user functions (at least most of them) got their string_vars cleaned up at the end already though. I just didn't know I had to do this for the others as well back then.
User avatar
Kelvin Diaz
 
Posts: 3214
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 5:16 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:47 pm

Ok cool thanks. how do I destroy the string_var, as far as syntax goes?
User avatar
Marlo Stanfield
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 11:00 pm

Post » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:47 pm

Ok cool thanks. how do I destroy the string_var, as far as syntax goes?

I actually had to read that one up myself this time. According to the OBSE docs it's done via http://obse.silverlock.org/obse_command_doc.html#String_Variables.
They either use "sv_Destruct myStringVariable" or "set myStringVariable to sv_Destruct". I personally dislike the latter though. It doesn't sound like any syntax I'm used to. Anyways, apparently you can redirect the pointer to another string_var object via the "set" command, and thus you can also redirect it to a destroyed string_var... how this then destroys the string_var object it was previously pointing to though is still quite unintuitive.
User avatar
Oceavision
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:52 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 6:25 am

so far it looks like the DrakeDragonRaceTokenScript script might be the main source of the save lag, as it has the most string_vars of the scripts. What exactly does this script do? it seems to have something to do with whether or not a certain item is adapted to fit the body, but more than that I can not tell.
User avatar
^_^
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 12:01 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:04 am

Sorry to hear of your troubles since I last posted.

However, I'm glad I was able to help in some way. I did know there were reptiles and such with the outer digit, but most draconic humanoids I've seen depicted in art tend not to have one on the outside, but on the inside. Wither way, it's still been good work.

I also understand the problem with older hardware for your PC. I'm currently fiddling with some CPU heavy projects and my PC just can't handle it.

I hope things are better for you in the new year! I'll bee watching and waiting to see this out to completion! :D
User avatar
Kate Norris
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:12 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:49 am

And a happy New Year to you, too.

First off, I still don't have a new pc or any free time more than a few minutes to answer posts and PMs and am still unable to continue my modding projects.

That being said, how the heck did your post slip under my radar, Muse? I only saw there was a new post at the 5th already when I found my topic with a new post from today. Sorry for not answering sooner.

The DrakeDragonRaceTokenScript actually is the most vital part of my scripting approach. It checks all configured slots if the equipped item has the configured tag(s) in its NIF filename, i.e. has a fitting appearance and is allowed to be worn, and if not, it searches for the configured fitting counterpart to replace the visuals of the equipped item with the fitting ones. If no explicit fitting visuals for the item are found, it will use rather generic fitting visuals, so-called "replacer templates" (currently only the Cloth Wraps, but later there's a whole range of visuals planned, selected according to armor class, item value, etc.), until a real fitting one gets added later on. Additionally, if no item is worn in a specific slot, i.e. human bodyparts are showing, it will equip the special bodyparts configured to be used for this particular slot, so your appearance is repaired again in an instant. There are some other little functions going on in there, like special treatment of combined-slot items (those occupying more than 1 slot at once), if configured, automatic removal from non-dragons' inventories, if added by accident, or simple debug mechanisms so I can always quickly check if all tokens are where they should be and working as intended.

The configuration part is taking place in the quest script. That's where you define the actual races to be controlled by my scripts, which slots, which tags, which special bodyparts, and in which way, forced or optional, etc. But it's the tokens doing all the hard work, also keeping track of all already-adapted items, or replacer templates to be used instead, in the arrays and such.

It's still rather complex and I already improved the whole thing massively ages ago... but for some obscure reason those new scripts never worked right when others implemented them, and there's no way I could test or debug them myself to figure out why. I'm dying to finally give this stuff a go myself, but sadly I still don't see this coming anytime soon.
User avatar
FirDaus LOVe farhana
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:42 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:43 am

Nice to hear from you again Drake. RL takes priority over anything else. :) When you have free time again and a new computer (hopefully sooner then later) you will be able to continue. Until then, be well. :)
User avatar
Fam Mughal
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 3:18 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 2:09 am

Where are you found the Egyptian Armor .Tank you
User avatar
James Wilson
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:51 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:32 am

Where are you found the Egyptian Armor .Tank you

This was a set called Goa'uld Armor which was created by AlienSlof and was available for download as part of her More Male Things (I think). Sadly it vanished from the hosts when she took down all her work and wasn't yet reuploaded when she made her other creations available again.
User avatar
Danii Brown
 
Posts: 3337
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 7:13 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:35 pm

Uh, I can't believe I'm writing this now... but there actually was some "progress" again! (now where's the rubbing-eyes-in-disbelieve smiley when you need one?!)

Alright, I actually managed to gather some free hours for modeling around and such after work was done. My brother's on a workshop with the partners and customers, so I'm in total control of my schedule for a few, very welcome days. Additionally (can this really be only a coincidence?) all of a sudden my Blender decided to be able to render scenes again! I can actually show something off again in real high quality and even animated!

Now, some of you might perhaps remember the one reference pic of mine so many of you liked that much... the "http://www.furaffinity.net/view/1180683/" one I wanted to base my overall proportions on? Well, I guess I succeeded in not even recreating the pose (one of the easiest tasks) but also I managed to turn http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/497/referenceposeold.jpg petty looking dragon-ling (original Robert's V5 muscular, for reference) into http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/1741/referencepose.jpg quite impressive close-combat fighter!

Lately I stumbled across a video tutorial about creating character meshes in Blender, and while the results were far from usable in my eyes (much too low-poly, like ~20-30 polygones for a torso!, and no instructions anywhere on how to make them high-poly) the technique of using the reference image as background in Blender and modeling the whole thing in orthogonal view trying to get it overlapping really intrigued me. I thought "why not using this to try and reshape my Robert's-based body meshes into something more fitting my imagination/goals?" and so I did. Now judge for yourself... did I hit the reference shape or not? :sweat:

The best thing of it is, this was all achieved only by "skeletal" changes, thus I don't need to adapt any meshes at all for this!
As a proof of concept, here are 2 images depicting what happens when you equip standard armor on this new skeleton armature:

http://www.tesnexus.com/imageshare/image.php?id=80655
http://www.tesnexus.com/imageshare/image.php?id=80656

What do you think? Do you like the results as much as I do right now?
You see, just give me some free time and there will be progress! Yay!
I don't like the tail, it's a sad excuse compared to the one in the reference pic. The feet are still the old ones. I need a new neck/head. But apart from these I can simply undo the pose but keep the skeletal changes and eviola I will have a new skeleton armature in rigging pose, ready to work with (for example exporting it into a new skeleton file and letting some testers try out its appearance ingame and how it really affects clothing/armor items then, of course together with a fitting idle, because else the existing animations will undo the skeletal changes, as animations can reshape the skeleton in Oblivion).

P.S.: I'll upload and post the animation(s) I was talking about once they're done and finished up. Sorry for the delay.
User avatar
Euan
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 3:34 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 12:22 am

Whoah I am glad you finally have some free time to mod a bit. I love the direction your Dragon is going it is really looking fantastic. The pictures look great :) Jeez I have to read back some did you get a new PC?
User avatar
Mark Churchman
 
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:58 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 3:36 am

Whoah I am glad you finally have some free time to mod a bit. I love the direction your Dragon is going it is really looking fantastic. The pictures look great :) Jeez I have to read back some did you get a new PC?

This doing was really necessary to me. Lately my imagination was starting to subside, there were no dreams, no ideas, nothing anymore. I'm really glad I finally could "create" something again after this long time, prooving to myself "it's still there". These things really help in counteracting all the negative influences as of late. Only working all night and sleeping all day is really starting to affect my mental condition now. Without this short period of "creativity" I better don't want to know what mental/emotional state I'd have reached by now already. :ermm:

But, now now, how comes you followed the Nexus links to the images but didn't at all notice the paragraph in the descriptions answering your exact question already? Tz tz tz :deal: :nono: :laugh:
Well, no, I didn't yet get enough free time or opportunity to go and buy a new pc. Sorry.
User avatar
Kit Marsden
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:19 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:22 am

Uh, almost forgot to come back...

Here's the promised animation sequence I was talking of:
http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=36866, AVI, HD 1920x1080, x264vfw codec
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EmjpCqiaOcE (really should watch the full thing in loop at some time!)
Drake's such a show-off... and in this video really is showing off! :hubbahubba:
It's a complete idle with other tidbits, just to, well, show off. Every special bone is moved at one time or the other, none is left out. It really shows what all the race actually can do.

Ah, and now you hopefully understand why I want a new tail! :pinch:

I hope you like it.
User avatar
Nicola
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:57 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:24 am

I don't have idle anims in the pre beta. This normal?

edit: uhh when you said it replaces the mesh does it make the first person camera move like 2 feet up compared to regular people? I don't want this and didn't back up files...

actually I can't see any first person animations or weapons. Just the crosshair.
User avatar
Amiee Kent
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:25 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:04 am

I don't have idle anims in the pre beta. This normal?

Totally normal. I avoid replacing any animations for compatibility's sake, thus there are no animations in the pre-beta.
edit: uhh when you said it replaces the mesh does it make the first person camera move like 2 feet up compared to regular people? I don't want this and didn't back up files...

actually I can't see any first person animations or weapons. Just the crosshair.

I answered to a similar question by someone named pdoherty3000 over at TES Nexus in my comments already:
...this seems to be related to this ongoing discussion: http://www.thenexusforums.com/index.php?/topic/288860-ive-been-doing-some-research-into-the-my-1st-person-view-is-too-high-with-dr6-bug/. In short: It is not directly caused by my mod but rather by the fact it's using a custom skeleton in 1st person. So far it seems to happen with Coronerra's and DR6, with Coronerra's and 3rd Person Animations In 1st Person View or even Immersive First Person, and apparently now also with my skeleton and DR6 (maybe even UV?) according to this.

You cannot use the "fix" mentioned in this thread as it only incorporates Coronerra's bones, not mine, for this issue, but if all that's written over there is true, you should be able to use my "Loup Sombre"-compatible 1st person skeleton instead. Now where did I put this file?... it's not in the v0.0.7 complete package... not in the Replacement Skeletons, my... ah, yes, the New Wings And Scaly Textures package it is. There's "skeleton_loupsombre.nif" in "_1stperson". Try this one, just rename it into "skeleton.nif", and tell me if it helped.
...


Now, this is all just an issue with the pre-beta. The next upcoming releases (whenever "upcoming" actually comes up) will be working completely different and no files whatsoever will get replaced anymore nor will any animations be able to conflict with my skeletons or anything...well, at least that's the plan. Let's see how far I will get with this.

On a related but irrelevant note: I'm currently trying to incorporate Coronerra's Maximum Compatibility Skeleton into my new upcoming custom dragons-only skeleton. This means I already did half the job for upgrading the pre-beta skeleton so it supports Coronerra's features. I will release this as soon as I can. But as I said, this has nothing to do with the issue at hand, nor will it fix it. I just wanted to let you people know. :wave:
User avatar
Kahli St Dennis
 
Posts: 3517
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:57 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:47 am

Totally normal. I avoid replacing any animations for compatibility's sake, thus there are no animations in the pre-beta.

I answered to a similar question by someone named pdoherty3000 over at TES Nexus in my comments already:


Now, this is all just an issue with the pre-beta. The next upcoming releases (whenever "upcoming" actually comes up) will be working completely different and no files whatsoever will get replaced anymore nor will any animations be able to conflict with my skeletons or anything...well, at least that's the plan. Let's see how far I will get with this.

On a related but irrelevant note: I'm currently trying to incorporate Coronerra's Maximum Compatibility Skeleton into my new upcoming custom dragons-only skeleton. This means I already did half the job for upgrading the pre-beta skeleton so it supports Coronerra's features. I will release this as soon as I can. But as I said, this has nothing to do with the issue at hand, nor will it fix it. I just wanted to let you people know. :wave:

Thanks, I believe it worked. On the nexus page it shows the arm blade things extending. Does that happen in this version?
Also, with your guardian equipment mod and the update from the pre beta page, the leg armor is still unequipped automatically.
User avatar
Kitana Lucas
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:24 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:37 am

Thanks, I believe it worked. On the nexus page it shows the arm blade things extending. Does that happen in this version?
Also, with your guardian equipment mod and the update from the pre beta page, the leg armor is still unequipped automatically.

Thanks for the feedback, only rarely I am told if an advice helped or not. Glad to know it helped.

Oh, yes, that's confusing indeed. I tend to post images of upcoming features on this page without making it known, so not everything shown there is actually available, yet.
No, there is no way to unsheath your armblades in the current release. They are already rigged to the bones and will move along with them, but it needs an animation first to make these bones move to begin with. I wanted to show potentially interested modders what all they can do with it already, because I am currently unable to do much myself. Everything Drake's doing in the big new video he can already do with the current release, but it needs animations to be created to make him do so.

Thanks for notifying me about the leg armor of the Guardian Equipment. In the update I included every file I had to "change" to the current anatomy but left out those which didn't need any changes. Apparently I totally forgot those things were never released before! I'll see to get this updated as soon as possible and will let you know when it's done either here or in my comments at the Nexus.
User avatar
Jessica Stokes
 
Posts: 3315
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 11:01 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 1:57 am

Nice to hear from you again. :) Looking great at what you posted. I can't wait, however long it takes. xD
User avatar
Lucky Boy
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:26 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:11 am

My god, great to hear from you drake, i like what you did with the muscles, unfortunately, my internet's screwing up and i can get a constant enough connection to stream that video to see the animations :(

i was worried this had gone dead, i am SO glad that my fears have been proved wrong :celebration:
User avatar
Laura Mclean
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 12:15 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:02 am

My god, great to hear from you drake, i like what you did with the muscles, unfortunately, my internet's screwing up and i can get a constant enough connection to stream that video to see the animations :(

i was worried this had gone dead, i am SO glad that my fears have been proved wrong :celebration:

If there's no general issue with downloads due to this, you can as well just download the full HD thing from the Nexus.
It's anyways best to view it in a loop to get the real effect of the animation. As far as I know this is not possible with YouTube.

Oh, and regarding the Guardian Equipment, for those who haven't realized it on their own already, the version on the Nexus now contains the previously missing files also. Now you should be able to wear the "whole" set just as I did.

Hope there will be more progress in the future. But I can assure you, this will never be "dead"... unless I am, of course...
User avatar
Milagros Osorio
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:33 pm

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 7:15 am

hey drake, i was just thinking, what are you going to do when TES V comes out? do you think it'll be possible to port this mod to skyrim? i mean, "dragonborn" seems like a perfect oportunity for this to really shine.
User avatar
Danielle Brown
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:03 am

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:14 am

Hi again Drake
Could you post some untextured model, wireframe and detail pics :drool: ?
BTW nice new texture

@Mr Smiles
There might be some problems porting this to the Skryim like diffrent bones in skeleton.

@Off Topic
Playing F:NV with your race is great:
http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/9055/fnv1.jpg
User avatar
Steeeph
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:28 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion