EMERGENCY: Quest refuses to start via script.

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 9:07 pm

Okay, I have a few hours to fix this so hopefully you guys can throw some solutions at me!

I have a simple setup; one quest completes via dialogue, it completes itself and marks the next quest for start, then stops. The issue is that the next quest won't start. Breaking the quest line. I haven't touched this setup in a long time, so I'm not sure what caused it to break.

The odd thing is that you can start the quest up with the console just fine using setstage. The script simply refuses to start it. I tried having it all in the end fragment of the dialogue, as well as setting the stage of the current quest. Then putting a fragment in that stage to start the next quest. Neither works. The current quest is completed and all goes well there, but the next one is never booted up.

This is NOT an alias issue, or setup issue with the second quest. It starts just fine via console, as well as the testing cell I have set up that plops you down right at it's start. It just refuses to start from this quest.

I'm wondering if scripts are lagging for some reason. So I'll be messing with when I tell the current quest to stop. But in the meantime, I'd appreciate if you guys could throw any suggestions you have at me! I'm releasing my mod tomorrow, so I need to figure out what the heck is going on here.

Thanks,

AJV

User avatar
Emily abigail Villarreal
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 9:38 am

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:18 pm

To-do list mate:

  1. Check the property is still filled and pointing to the correct quest. Even add a new property, new name, and use that in your Start() function instead.
  2. Check that the quest isn't set to start via any other method than default. IE not via Event.
  3. Use Setstage() in place of Start().
  4. Check you've not got another stage ticked as the Startup stage in the quest.

Go... quick, run! :smile:

User avatar
Soph
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 8:24 am

Post » Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:21 am

1. Check. Checked it, and even moved the scripting into the stage for the current (ending) quest. No dice.

2. Nope. No event or anything, not SGE either.

3. Check, no dice.

4. No stages marked as startup.

I can start it via console just fine, just the scripting doesn't seem to want to let it fire. I've moved where I stop the quest, so I'm going to try that now.

User avatar
RaeAnne
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 6:40 pm

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:33 am

post your script.

i just wanna see it. probably can't help but im intrigued by this script :D

User avatar
Julia Schwalbe
 
Posts: 3557
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:02 pm

Post » Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:26 am

If no stages have the Startup Stage box ticked, then I'm surprised they ever started before using Start() :confused:

User avatar
Scott Clemmons
 
Posts: 3333
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:35 pm

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:39 pm

Okay I think I'm close to the issue. The aliases are FORCED, but not allow reserved, (Though forced are by default supposedly, being forced and all). I've run into issues using even the console, so I think the engine finally figured it out and got finicky. I've marked them as allow reserved now and I'm going to test and see if that works.

My script is literally just something like this:

NewQuest.SetStage(5)

NewQuest.SetObjectiveDisplayed(5)
Self.Stop()

Simple stuff. I'm off to test this, I hope it works!

User avatar
ruCkii
 
Posts: 3360
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:08 pm

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:23 am

Okay, crisis averted. It was an alias reservation issue. Even though forced ref's are supposed to be inherently allow reserved, I had to mark mine as such manually. Now the quest continues with no worries. IT worked via console before because the current quest would stop after the new one failed to start up, freeing the aliases.

The odd thing is that the engine didn't care for the last year or so as this quest worked fine, but thank god I figured it out. I'm off to prepare other stuff as I think I've tied up all of the last minute loose ends. Thanks for the quick suggestions guys! I really appreciate it. :)

User avatar
keri seymour
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:09 am

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:13 pm

If you need anything else mate let us know :)

User avatar
Chenae Butler
 
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:54 pm

Post » Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:15 pm

B1gBadDaddy earned +5 prestige as deputy Falskaar firefighter.

User avatar
Je suis
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:44 pm


Return to V - Skyrim