Execopt Problem

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:45 pm

Encountered an issue, got error message "access to the path 'fpu.exe' is denied".

Contents of log.txt:

0001EA52:0041FA52
[esp+0x0070]=([esp+0x0040]-[esp+0x0050])
[esp+0x0074]=([esp+0x0044]-[esp+0x0054])
[esp+0x0078]=([esp+0x0048]-[esp+0x0058])

Patched:
fld dword [esp+0x40]
lea ecx,[esp+0x68]
fsub dword [esp+0x50]
push ecx
fld dword [esp+0x40]
lea edx,[esp+0xa4]
fsub dword [esp+0x50]
push edx
fld dword [esp+0x40]
lea ecx,[esp+0xd8]
fsub dword [esp+0x50]
fstp dword [esp+0x70]
fstp dword [esp+0x74]
fstp dword [esp+0x78]


with:
lea ecx,[esp+0x68]
push ecx
lea edx,[esp+0xa4]
push edx
lea ecx,[esp+0xd8]
movss xmm0,[esp+0x40]
movhps xmm0,[esp+0x44]
movss xmm1,[esp+0x50]
movhps xmm1,[esp+0x54]
subps xmm0,xmm1
movhps [esp+0x74],xmm0
movss [esp+0x70],xmm0

Benchmark:
FPU: 00:00:00.0312002
SSE: 00:00:00.0312002
Ratio: 1
------------------------------------------------


Not sure how to interpret.
User avatar
luis ortiz
 
Posts: 3355
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:30 pm

I'm not a Windows user, but whenever I see "access to the path ... is denied" kind of messages, the first thing that comes to mind is that you have a problem related to UAC (if you are running Vista or later). If you are running the program under "Program Files" maybe you could try putting it somewhere else, or run it with admin privileges?
User avatar
Adam
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 2:56 pm

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:39 am

I'm not a Windows user, but whenever I see "access to the path ... is denied" kind of messages, the first thing that comes to mind is that you have a problem related to UAC (if you are running Vista or later). If you are running the program under "Program Files" maybe you could try putting it somewhere else, or run it with admin privileges?


No. It's not UAC. The reason is Windows 7.

I tried it with the RC back then and I got the same error. UAC was disabled.
User avatar
Tiffany Holmes
 
Posts: 3351
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:28 am

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:33 am

But even with UAC disabled, there are most likely still permissions in place over the Program Files folder (and a few others), unless they were manually cleared. Better to install Morrowind to your own directory somewhere and avoid the potential problem, I'd say.
User avatar
Bellismydesi
 
Posts: 3360
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:25 am

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:30 pm

From the log, exeopt has obviously created and run a copy of fpu.exe successfully, so the error must come from trying to delete it again after running. That means that the problem is more likely to be something holding a file lock open even after exeopt has closed it, such as poorly written antivirus software.
User avatar
SiLa
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:52 am

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:47 pm

Even with UAC disabled there can be issues with the permissions set on files in Windows 7 and Vista so those need to be changed. Follow the instructions at the below link on your Morrowind directory. (same instructions work for Windows 7 and Vista)

http://www.blogsdna.com/2159/how-to-take-ownership-grant-permissions-to-access-files-folder-in-windows-7.htm
User avatar
kyle pinchen
 
Posts: 3475
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:01 pm

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:05 am

No. It's not UAC. The reason is Windows 7.

I tried it with the RC back then and I got the same error. UAC was disabled.

UAC behavior changed between releases and RC. Even after release there were some updates.

But nothing can escape from "run as administrator-install somewhere else than program files" combo.
User avatar
Tyrel
 
Posts: 3304
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:52 am

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:02 pm

Actually if you change the security permissions on the files to give users full permissions you can have it wherever you want and don't have to run as administrator. The only problem is that you have to do that for everything so it is better to make sure your files are not in Program Files so that you only need to change permissions on things that still have problems.
User avatar
Bitter End
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:40 am

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 4:14 pm

From the log, exeopt has obviously created and run a copy of fpu.exe successfully, so the error must come from trying to delete it again after running. That means that the problem is more likely to be something holding a file lock open even after exeopt has closed it, such as poorly written antivirus software.

Stupid McAfee! At least it was free................

Thanks, TS. So, it did work. Cool.
User avatar
Bigze Stacks
 
Posts: 3309
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:07 pm

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 11:04 pm

Even with UAC disabled there can be issues with the permissions set on files in Windows 7 and Vista so those need to be changed. Follow the instructions at the below link on your Morrowind directory. (same instructions work for Windows 7 and Vista)

http://www.blogsdna.com/2159/how-to-take-ownership-grant-permissions-to-access-files-folder-in-windows-7.htm

Thanks, I thought I had given everything admin rights. I'll check out the link.
User avatar
Trevi
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:26 pm


Return to III - Morrowind