Forcing objects already on an enable parent to disable via a

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:42 am

I've got a dilemma I'm trying to work around with groups of objects already set up on a vanilla enable parent that I want to gain more specific control of.

For example, when the Alduin attack begins a marker named “MQ101AlduinAttackEnableMarker1” enables, which among other things swaps the buildings in Helgen from their normal state to the destroyed ones you have after the attack is all over with.

I need to be able to swap them back to their un-destroyed state individually over a period of time. For example, starting with the biggest one like the Inns you have all around the game world. Then a week or so (in game) later swap a couple of the smaller ones, and so on.

The problem is that I can disable the AlduinAttackMarker no problem, but that swaps everything back all at once since the un-destroyed stuff is set to "opposite of parent". I had hoped I could create an alias for these objects already attached to the AlduinAttackMarker, and disable or enable them as I needed in quest stages.

As a test, I tried it on the fallen tree laying up against that Inn sized building, but it doesn't seem to work. I just set it up as an Object reference like anything else, but I'll be damned of I can get it to disable like that. I assume because it's already set to a vanilla enable parent?

So I guess my question would be is there any way to disable objects already set to an enable parent individually?

In a couple of other instances like some of the rubble piles, I can overcome this problem by disabling the marker they're attached to, adding in some new rubble piles of my own so it looks like they never disappeared, then disabling them as I need to. But this Alduin marker has me stumped.
User avatar
Stephanie Nieves
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:52 pm

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:03 pm

EDIT - I just tried it with a regular Object Reference property "BalokFallenTree" and filled it with the fallen tree I'm trying to disable and that didn't work either. I used "BalokFallenTree.Disable()" in my quest stage with a debug notice that it's setting the stage and still no dice. I'm going to start from a vanilla save with no mods just to be sure. I'll have to slog through my entire quest to get to this point though...sigh.
User avatar
Tiff Clark
 
Posts: 3297
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:23 am

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:05 pm

Enable parentage will override anything else going on. You could 'BalokFallenTree.SetScale(0)' instead.
User avatar
Dark Mogul
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:51 am

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:52 am

How about just making a duplicate of each of the pieces you want to control, setting them as initially disabled, then enable then when needed?

For the disabling side of things, JustinOther's suggestion of shrinking them out of the way should work

- Hypno
User avatar
Gaelle Courant
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 11:06 pm

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:28 pm

Thanks, I'll use the setscale. And Hypno, I'll be doing that a lot too, but unfortunately that won't work when groups of objects are set opposite of parent and disabling their enable parent makes them show up when I don't want them to.

One question though, could setting the scale of several building sized objects like this cause me any potential problems? I seen to remember one of the video tutorials mentioning that the devs didn't like to set scale more than half their intended size. And I'll be scaling quite a few objects it looks like.

Thanks again!
User avatar
Sylvia Luciani
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:31 am

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:01 am

Well crap. That worked, but the tree is still visable floating above your head, lol. I tried 'BalokFallenTree.SetPosition(16000.0000, -82644.0000, 0.0000)' to try and move it underground, but that didn't seem to do anything.

Stuck again... :swear:
User avatar
keri seymour
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:09 am

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:59 am

IIRC, the third coordinate should be the z-axis, unless I'm very confused.

Another option might be to not move it so far.
User avatar
Jerry Jr. Ortiz
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 12:39 pm

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:52 am

IIRC, the third coordinate should be the z-axis, unless I'm very confused.

Another option might be to not move it so far.

well, the x & y are the vanilla coordinates, so that should have just moved it straight down.
User avatar
gary lee
 
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:49 pm

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:46 am

Some form types don't like to move. Try making the tree an Activator or MoveableStatic, then
BalokFallenTree.MoveTo(BalokFallenTree, 0.0, 0.0, -30000.0)

Deostades was right about SetPosition(X, Y, Z), so if the X and Y were vanilla, that line wouldn't move the object. Try 'BalokFallenTree.SetPosition(16000.0000, -82644.0000, -30000.0000)' before changing its form type.
User avatar
sw1ss
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:02 pm

Post » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:04 pm

Thanks, I ended up using the setscale on the houses and they are hidden now. But I'll try the setposition on some other stuff.
User avatar
Mizz.Jayy
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:56 pm


Return to V - Skyrim