GOTY Script Tidy

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 6:08 am

Oblivion script optimization actually optimized the scripts,

=============================
Explaination
=============================
Some might not believe that rewriting scripts can cause it to drain less cpu power, some scripting experience is required to understand it, heres an example:

Before:

if timer <= 0 && getstage MQ15 == 58 && OrtheRef.getdead == 0
set timer to 5
sayTo player MQ15EldamilWarning
endif

if timer <= 0 && getstage MQ15 == 66 && getdistance player < 1000
if suicide == 0
set timer to sayTo player MQ15EldamilWarning
set suicide to 1
endif
endif

if suicide == 1 && getstage MQ15 == 66 && timer <= 0
setstage MQ15 67
endif


Before the optimalization, this script would check 9 things, no matter what. These are:
timer <= 0
getstage MQ15 == 58
OrtheRef.getdead == 0
timer <= 0
getstage MQ15 == 66
getdistance player < 1000
suicide == 1
getstage MQ15 == 66
timer <= 0


After:

if timer <= 0
if getstage MQ15 == 58
if OrtheRef.getdead == 0
set timer to 5
sayTo player MQ15EldamilWarning
endif
elseif getstage MQ15 == 66
if getdistance player < 1000
if suicide == 0
set timer to sayTo player MQ15EldamilWarning
set suicide to 1
elseif suicide == 1
setstage MQ15 67
endif
endif
endif
endif


After the optimalization, it will check for only one thing, no matter what. Lets take a look at the posibilitys:

option 1: timer > 0
only 1 question is needed here 8 questions less
option 2: timer <= 0 getstage mq15 == 58 ortheref.getdead == 1
3 questions needed 6 questions less
option 3: timer <= 0 getstage mq15 == 58 ortheref.getdead == 0
3 questions needed 6 questions less
option 4: timer <= 0 getstage mq15 != 58 getstage mq15 == 66 getdistance player >= 1000
4 questions needed 5 questions less
option 5: timer <= 0 getstage mq15 != 58 getstage mq15 == 66 getdistance player < 1000 suicide == 0
5 questions needed 5 questions less (original needs 10 here)
option 6: timer <= 0 getstage mq15 != 58 getstage mq15 == 66 getdistance player < 1000 suicide == 1
5 questions needed 5 questions less (original needs 10 here)
option 7: timer <= 0 getstage mq15 != 58 getstage mq15 != 66
3 questions needed 6 questions less

You can see that it doesnt which option it is it takes less questions/checks to find out if the conditions are met for specific things. Scripters will notice that the script will do exactly the same, no matter what the variables are, but with less checks. A check just takes more cpu power then nothing does.

User avatar
Steph
 
Posts: 3469
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:44 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 2:05 pm

I discovered an error with one of my fixes. The point in Tribunal where King Helseth asks you to fight Karrod is broken. Clicking on the dialogue topic 'fight my champion' yields a syntax error.

(Probable reason: In the topic 'fight my champion', entry 'That is correct. I have come to know you...', instead of using:

Set "King Hlaalu Helseth".FightDay to DaysPassed

it appears a more appropriate fix ought to be:

Set "helsethScript".FightDay to DaysPassed)

The workaround then, when you get the error, is to open the console (~ key), type

Set "helsethScript".FightDay to DaysPassed

press ENTER, then close the console with the ~ key again. Helseth should tell you to return the next day to fight Karrod.

Note, this should only apply to FULL tidy versions of GOTYST. The Minimal Impact version should not get this error.

I apologize and will include a repair in a future release.
User avatar
Karine laverre
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:50 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 12:22 pm

I suppose this has to be bumped, but do you have any idea when you will release another update for this?
User avatar
Lilit Ager
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:06 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 4:38 am

I discovered an error with one of my fixes. The point in Tribunal where King Helseth asks you to fight Karrod is broken. Clicking on the dialogue topic 'fight my champion' yields a syntax error.

(Probable reason: In the topic 'fight my champion', entry 'That is correct. I have come to know you...', instead of using:

Set "King Hlaalu Helseth".FightDay to DaysPassed

it appears a more appropriate fix ought to be:

Set "helsethScript".FightDay to DaysPassed)

The workaround then, when you get the error, is to open the console (~ key), type

Set "helsethScript".FightDay to DaysPassed

press ENTER, then close the console with the ~ key again. Helseth should tell you to return the next day to fight Karrod.

Note, this should only apply to FULL tidy versions of GOTYST. The Minimal Impact version should not get this error.

I apologize and will include a repair in a future release.


I found the thread! I guess out of the 1200 fixes this is 1 of 3 fixes so far - excellent job huskobar!
EDIT: I did what Pmmw401 did below to get rid of this error:

"huskobar - I modified the ESM, removing alvisTeriScript, nemindaScript and the dialog entry for Founders Helm with the Enchanted Editor. The warnings file is now clean and the menu comes up immediately. I'll leave this version in my game and see what happens."

The other 2 problems - helsethScript and ColonySeler - can I just delete those 2 scripts to correct the known problems? Reason, I dont like using the console while I am playing ingame - keeps me from cheating or even learning how to cheat.
User avatar
Becky Palmer
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:43 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 2:52 am

Reason, I dont like using the console while I am playing ingame - keeps me from cheating or even learning how to cheat.

Hah, you need to visit the Mage's Guild for a couple of strong Fortify Willpower potions! :)

Go ahead and delete ColonySeler for now. You should be o.k.

Unfortunately, the Helseth 'fix' is not so much a script fix as a dialogue fix. I did a handful of those to get rid of the dumb errors you get when you check dialogue Results in the construction set. ( So now I made an error in game :( ) I didn't make any content changes to helsethScript, so deleting it will do no good. You could try the Karrod fight scenario as is; you might get lucky. But if not, I'm afraid you'll have to hold your nose and make the change manually.
Use the method you quoted or possibly try removing the dialogue entry with Enchanted Editor. The topic is 'fight my champion', the entry 'That is correct. I have come to know you...'
Afterwards, go back to the Mage's Guild and buy a Damage Intelligence spell to use on yourself so you can forget you made the changes. :)

BTW, are you still getting errors with the Alvis Teri quest? I was hoping with the latest GOTYST version that that would be fixed.
User avatar
Laura
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:11 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 10:41 am

Afterwards, go back to the Mage's Guild and buy a Damage Intelligence spell to use on yourself so you can forget you made the changes. :)


Hahahahahaha - too funny. I will delete the script for ColonySeler and then I just have to get "drunk" on damage willpower and then damage intellegence potions for the Helseth quest - lol

"BTW, are you still getting errors with the Alvis Teri quest? I was hoping with the latest GOTYST version that that would be fixed" - I got those errors while using the Full version with MPP and extra esp.

If you want my opinion of the "necessity" to use your mod GOTY Script Tidy - regarding fps gains, I didnt see any significant fps gain (some maybe yes)...but I have a lot of MGE graphic shaders loaded and many high res texture and meshes loaded. One thing I do see is a more consistent fps at around 30.

Regarding dialogue sessions, I swear my dialogue sessions have a very quick and snappy response unlike before - it seemed that after loading the 100-150 esm/esps I was getting a notocable delayed response while in dialogue screens. With 230 esm/esps now loaded with your Goty Script Tidy mod, its like being back to having no mods loaded at all.

Great job and to me a "must have" mod imo, especially if you have more than a 100 esps loaded.
User avatar
Ricky Rayner
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 2:13 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 6:46 am

Pax redoran has one start up error. Script Variable "murderedalvisteri" not found for dialog topic info "EMPTY"

Other than that i've experienced no errors so far, except for the Day passed thing...

Plugin1=Morrowind.esmPlugin2=Tribunal.esmPlugin3=Bloodmoon.esmPlugin4=Morrowind Patch v1.6.5-BETA.esmPlugin5=Object Permanence v2.esmPlugin6=Texture Fix 1.8.esmPlugin7=Texture Fix - Bloodmoon 1.1.esmPlugin8=Beryl's_Head_Replacer_v1.0.esmPlugin9=Aduls_Master_Mod.esmPlugin11=Aduls_Arsenal.espPlugin12=Aduls_Arcane_Armature.espPlugin13=Aduls_Clocks_and_Watches.espPlugin14=Aduls_Leggings.espPlugin15=Aduls_Leggings_Tribunal.espPlugin16=Aduls_Leggings_Bloodmoon.espPlugin17=Sullen's Foxhole.espPlugin18=sm_creatures_01.espPlugin19=sm_creatures_02.espPlugin20=Creatures.espPlugin21=Ravenloft_v0502d.espPlugin22=constance1_0.espPlugin23=LGNPC_NoLore_v0_83.espPlugin24=Lgnpc_SN.espPlugin25=LGNPC_GnaarMok_v1_10.espPlugin26=LGNPC_AldVelothi_v1_20.espPlugin27=LGNPC_MaarGan_v1_20.espPlugin28=LGNPC_HlaOad_v1_32.espPlugin29=LGNPC_Aldruhn_v1_20.espPlugin30=LGNPC_Aldruhn_v1_20_suppl.espPlugin31=LGNPC_Pelagiad_v1_22.espPlugin32=LGNPC_TelMora_v1_20.espPlugin33=LGNPC_Khuul_v2_10.espPlugin34=LGNPC_VivecFQ_v2_10.espPlugin35=LGNPC_TelUvirith_v1_20.espPlugin36=LGNPC_SecretMasters_v1_30.espPlugin37=LGNPC_IndarysManor_v1_51.espPlugin38=LGNPC_VivecRedoran_v1_50.espPlugin39=LGNPC_PaxRedoran_v1_20.espPlugin40=LGNPC_SoulSicknessPatch_v1_00.espPlugin41=Vurt's Leafy West Gash.ESPPlugin42=Vurt's Ashlands Overhaul.espPlugin43=Windows Glow.espPlugin44=Morrowind Crafting 2-1.espPlugin45=Morrowind Crafting Equipment.espPlugin46=Vality's Ascadian Isles Addon.espPlugin47=Vality's Bitter Coast Addon.espPlugin48=Vality's Balmora Addon.espPlugin49=Illy's Solsteim Rumour Fix.espPlugin50=Fair Magicka Regen (Tenth Percent).espPlugin51=LeveledMagicka.espPlugin52=VTA_TravelBM+Trib.espPlugin53=CastReduce-v30.espPlugin54=Better Bodies.espPlugin55=Quick Char.espPlugin56=ARJAN_A_Lords_Men_v2.0.espPlugin57=Better Clothes_v1.1.espPlugin58=CalSurGuardMod.espPlugin59=BetterClothesForTB.espPlugin60=New Argonian Bodies - Clean.espPlugin61=New Khajiit Bodies - Clean.espPlugin62=Toddpower.espPlugin63=Faction Leaders.espPlugin64=StrongVivec.espPlugin65=Dirnae's Slower Walk.ESPPlugin66=HelioS - Darker Weather.espPlugin67=Spect Sorcery pt 1.espPlugin68=vfx_bubble.espPlugin69=CB-frostbolt_foamy.espPlugin70=CB-illusionbolt1.0.espPlugin71=Unique_creeper_purist.espPlugin72=Dark Damage Health.ESPPlugin73=New fire damage effect v1.1 .espPlugin74=EcoAdjMerchantSkills (Disposition Edit).espPlugin75=EcoAdjCrime (Tresspass Edit).espPlugin76=BTB - Alchemy.espPlugin77=BTB - Equipment.espPlugin78=BTB - Settings.espPlugin79=BTB - Character.espPlugin80=BTB - Spells.espPlugin81=Census and Excise Office.espPlugin84=Oluhan V1.13.espPlugin85=Mashed Lists.espPlugin86=All Training spell.espPlugin87=GOTYFullTidyZeroMpp.esmPlugin88=GOTYSTMPPPatch.esp

User avatar
Mark Hepworth
 
Posts: 3490
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:51 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 11:24 am

Pax redoran has one start up error. Script Variable "murderedalvisteri" not found for dialog topic info "EMPTY"

Other than that i've experienced no errors so far, except for the Day passed thing...

Plugin1=Morrowind.esm...Plugin88=GOTYSTMPPPatch.esp



This is because a variable has been changed in GOTY Script Tidy that Pax Redoran needs. Like others say, just deleting the references in the Script Tidy and you will be fine.

Hey huskobar, can we expect anymore updates on this soon?
User avatar
Nice one
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:30 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 3:15 am

Soon, I think. I've just completed a fairly intense round of playtesting one of my 'amalgamation' mods, so I should now have a little more time to devote to acutal work. There are loose ends to tidy up on several revamps I'm doing such as The Underground II, Silgrad Tower, Wizards Islands, FKOA, and tweaked editions of NoM and GCD, along with changes to my Roleplay Suite. Phew! But GOTYST is definitely on the list. Give it maybe, oh, around a month before you can expect a new release.

Meantime... thanks for the reports! It looks like I'll want to make a LGNPC patch.
User avatar
Yama Pi
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:51 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 2:37 am

Soon, I think. I've just completed a fairly intense round of playtesting one of my 'amalgamation' mods, so I should now have a little more time to devote to acutal work. There are loose ends to tidy up on several revamps I'm doing such as The Underground II, Silgrad Tower, Wizards Islands, FKOA, and tweaked editions of NoM and GCD, along with changes to my Roleplay Suite. Phew! But GOTYST is definitely on the list. Give it maybe, oh, around a month before you can expect a new release.

Meantime... thanks for the reports! It looks like I'll want to make a LGNPC patch.



Thank you and good job. Your devotion to detail and quality are admirable. :foodndrink:
User avatar
James Smart
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:49 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 4:48 am

Stupid question, and my apologies if it has been answered already: what if I don't have the GotY disc? My Goty came with MW, TB, and BM discs, not a single DvD disc. Will the script patch work? Again, apologies if this is a frightfully stupid question.
User avatar
louise fortin
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:51 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 1:29 pm

Stupid question, and my apologies if it has been answered already: what if I don't have the GotY disc? My Goty came with MW, TB, and BM discs, not a single DvD disc. Will the script patch work? Again, apologies if this is a frightfully stupid question.

As long as your game is patched to the last version (1.6.1820) it should be compatible.
In your case, you need the official Bloodmoon patch installed. (as you likely already do)
User avatar
Ana
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2006 4:29 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 7:16 am

I don't know how I've been completely overlooking this!!! Great work so far, thank you.
User avatar
Josee Leach
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:50 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 6:30 am

hey, whats the latest update? I dont see a change log or anything for it. or was it some small change?
User avatar
Anna Watts
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:31 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 6:29 am

An update is available http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Mods.Detail&id=8384. Changes aren't huge, but there are enough that I gave it a new version, v2.0.
User avatar
Myles
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:52 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 10:52 am

Help. I had been using ver 2.0.1 with MPP 1.6.4 and VGreetings. I was using the files and mod order for Install 2 choice. WRT VGreetings, I installed all of the esp files except the hit and the attack esps which were generating the cattlekill variable problem.

Today I saw you had released ver 2.0.2 which had patches to fix the problem with those two VGreetomgs files. I downloaded the new ver and removed all the files from ver 2.0.1 in order to do a clean install. That was apparently the wrong thing to do. Now when I try to start the game, it shuts down and gives the warning message: "Missing Masterfile: GOTYFullTidyZeroMPPv2.01.esm, Unable to find masterfile: GOTYFullTidyZeroMPPv2.01.esm"

I no longer have the 2.0.1 rar from which I originally extracted GOTY Tidy Scripts, and a google search didn''t find the older version. I am now assuming that the message means that your ver 2.0.1 has to be installed in order for ver 2.0.2 to work. Honestly, if correct, that's not how I thought the upgrade would work because I don't see earlier versions listed at Planet Elder Scrolls.

Also, the 2.0.2 readme for the vgreetings fix are a bit confusing because the file names referenced in the readme AFAICT don't match the fiel names of the GOTY files in the Install2 folder.

If 2.0.2 requires 2.0.1 in order to run, where is ver 2.0.1 available for download? If 2.0.2 is supposed to run out of the box as it were, then the warning message inidicates a problem that I hope you can fix.

John
User avatar
Kayla Oatney
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 9:02 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 2:57 pm

Just wanted to note an incompatability with http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Mods.Detail&id=6064. When loading this mod with GOTY Script Tidy v2.02 I get the following error:

Script variable "rent" not found for dialogue type TopicInfo "EMPTY"


Just a heads up! Will comment on PES as well.
User avatar
Ricky Meehan
 
Posts: 3364
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 5:42 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 5:43 am

John, to reiterate from http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1135344-problem-between-some-patch-mods/, I somehow managed to upload the wrong files along with the VGreetings patch, so it was my mistake. I do believe I have the right ones up now, my apologies.

The latest Full Tidy mods I left named as v2.01 because they have not changed. However, since the ARCHIVE changed, I chose to give it a new version v2.02. Perhaps that's too confusing and I should name it v2.01a, v2.01b etc. as new patches get added. Thoughts?
Obviously more patches are going to be needed as times goes on as illustrated by b`rad's finding (thanks).

(Man, I can see where THIS is going - patch, patch, patch).
User avatar
Stay-C
 
Posts: 3514
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 2:04 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 11:49 am

John, to reiterate from http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1135344-problem-between-some-patch-mods/, I somehow managed to upload the wrong files along with the VGreetings patch, so it was my mistake. I do believe I have the right ones up now, my apologies.

The latest Full Tidy mods I left named as v2.01 because they have not changed. However, since the ARCHIVE changed, I chose to give it a new version v2.02. Perhaps that's too confusing and I should name it v2.01a, v2.01b etc. as new patches get added. Thoughts?
Obviously more patches are going to be needed as times goes on as illustrated by b`rad's finding (thanks).

(Man, I can see where THIS is going - patch, patch, patch).


Well don't worry too much about it.. I had this running with ALOT of popular mods, and this was the only error I received. Testing Script Tidy with all those mods gave me a boost in FPS it seems, so it's definately a must have.
User avatar
Adam Baumgartner
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 12:12 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 3:34 am

Excellent news. Thank you.
User avatar
Ray
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:17 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 9:36 am

John, to reiterate from http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1135344-problem-between-some-patch-mods/, I somehow managed to upload the wrong files along with the VGreetings patch, so it was my mistake. I do believe I have the right ones up now, my apologies.

The latest Full Tidy mods I left named as v2.01 because they have not changed. However, since the ARCHIVE changed, I chose to give it a new version v2.02. Perhaps that's too confusing and I should name it v2.01a, v2.01b etc. as new patches get added. Thoughts?
Obviously more patches are going to be needed as times goes on as illustrated by b`rad's finding (thanks).

(Man, I can see where THIS is going - patch, patch, patch).


Huskobar,

Thanks for jumping on it so quickly. I'm going to hold off for awhile before unpacking everything. I'm not trying to cause you to have to patch, patch, patch :) Aside from the conflict between the two mods which you are patching, what caused me the greatest confusion was simply that the file names that were referenced in the readmes did not match the files that were unpacked.

I was pretty anxious looking for a file that the readme said to use and not finding it within the files that I had unpacked. That can be pretty stressful. The first thought that crossed my mind was that I wasn't supposed to have deleted the 2.01 files but added the 2.02 files to the existing mix, and OMG where am I going to find 2.01 because I had already deleted it to prevent confusion with 2.02 and 2.01 no longer seemed to be archived for d/l anywhere.. I've seen some of the MW mods do that - probably early mods - but, still, it means having to read things a lot more closely to see if the mod update is to be treated as an incremental update (leave existing files alone and add the new files) or a replacement to earlier versions (delete the files of the previous version and replace with the new files).

It doesn't strike me as particularly important what version number you use; IMO it ought to be something that works for you and iusers can see if they have the latest version. What is important IMO is that the file names in the readme match the file names that are in the package. I appreciated it very much the scenarios you provided with the instructions about whiat sequence to place the files depending upon the presence of MPP and Vgreetings.

John
User avatar
Mandi Norton
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:43 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 12:14 am

The less often you update the actual names of the files, the less often people will have to mess with Wrye Mash to make sure their games run. So I, for one, would definitely appreciate it if the names only change if they are actually updated.
User avatar
lauren cleaves
 
Posts: 3307
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:35 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 4:08 am

This mod sounds really cool.
But can it be used with MPP 1.65b? :unsure:
User avatar
CSar L
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:36 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 8:15 am

This mod sounds really cool.
But can it be used with MPP 1.65b? :unsure:

This mod is independant of the patch project. All it does is work on scripts; the patch project changes the game itself, not the scripts.
User avatar
Kayleigh Mcneil
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:32 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 7:54 am

This mod is independant of the patch project. All it does is work on scripts; the patch project changes the game itself, not the scripts.


Does this give noticeable performance gains?
User avatar
Genocidal Cry
 
Posts: 3357
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:02 pm

PreviousNext

Return to III - Morrowind