How to change spell length in Construction Set

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:14 am

Im using the wiki tutorial and the script is set to thirty seconds and I cant find the notes on how to change it. How can I change the duration from 30 to 100?
User avatar
Sarah Knight
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:02 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:51 pm

it's embedded in your script. This line:

if ( timer > 30 ) ;Creature is dead and fade timer passed


edit that '30' to a different length and you'll be golden.

Really though. I've said this before - one topic is enough. The moderators don't like it when you open several topics on the same subject. I'm not just being facetious i'm trying to help you. It's difficult to help people who spread different parts of their questions across different topics because we don't know who's told you what.

HeX
User avatar
Eilidh Brian
 
Posts: 3504
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:45 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:23 pm

Well I made a topic. Then I moved on to another topic for a different question. But people started replying to my old topic and i was desperate for answers so I just went with it. This morning I woke up and started working on it and thought it was a new problem so it should be in a different topic. But im sorry didnt realize it was getting that annoying. I have one last question, any idea how to make the skeleton a different color or add flames to him? I have a tutorial on how to recolor flames but nothing like adding flames or colors to a summon.
User avatar
Jack Walker
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:25 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:04 pm

You'll need a magiceffectshader. play it on your skeleton in the script using the command described here:

http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/PlayMagicShaderVisuals

you can make him purple in the same way, but you'll need to define your own effect (whereas there is already a perfectly acceptable flame effect shader)
User avatar
Guy Pearce
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:48 pm

Im slightly confused. Sorry im new lol. Do I insert that effect into the script anywhere?
(PlayMagicShaderVisuals FireDamage)
User avatar
DAVId MArtInez
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:16 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:47 am

just under this part:

;Now we move our creature to the Player
;Move the creature reference to the worldspace of the Player
SUMN.moveto Player 30 30 10
;Make our creature visible and active
SUMN.enable


add SUMN.pms FireDamage

That should do it.


Nothing wrong with being new, we all had to learn somehow :)

I'm glad you're getting into the exciting world of scripting. You can do very interesting things once you get your head around it. Doing is the best way to learn, so do the tutorials, build this mod, build some more and spend a lot of time reading on the CS wiki.

You can always ask for help here too of course, but make sure you do some reading first so you have an idea whet you're (and we're) talking about.

Welcome to the forums anyway.

HeX
User avatar
OnlyDumazzapplyhere
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:43 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:15 pm

Thank you I really appreciate your help and everyone else.
User avatar
Lexy Dick
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:15 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:27 pm

Well I made a topic. Then I moved on to another topic for a different question. But people started replying to my old topic and i was desperate for answers so I just went with it. This morning I woke up and started working on it and thought it was a new problem so it should be in a different topic. But im sorry didnt realize it was getting that annoying.
Just one more point: Please make your topics in http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/forum/24-construction-set/ next time :)
User avatar
XPidgex Jefferson
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:39 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:16 pm

The visual effect didnt work it gave me and error it said invaild effect shader firedamage for parameter effect shader ID.
That and my skeleton still only lasts 30 seconds. I put in what you said lol.
User avatar
Courtney Foren
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:49 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:16 pm

sorry i didn't read all the way through your script. you'll need to edit this line too:

if ( timer > 28 ) && ( playonce == 1 )


since that starts your creature dying after 28 seconds

check that the magic shader you want to use actually is called firedamage. It sounds like you've got the editorID wrong.

more info on shaders here:

http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Effect_Shader
User avatar
Johnny
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:32 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:40 pm

I just fixed that too lol.
so what exactly do I type in or do I have to used the effect shader that you just posted?
Im so confused. Truly im so sorry for taking up your time and being annoying.
User avatar
OJY
 
Posts: 3462
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 3:11 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:03 pm

that's okay. I'm not in front of the CS at the moment, so I can't give you exact instructions.

Basically in the CS look up the magic shaders, find the firedamage (or the flame atronach one) and look at the name in the editorid column. that's what you want to be typing in the script. If memory serves the one you want is "effectFireDamage"

so the line would be:

SUMN.pms effectFireDamage

HeX
User avatar
Dj Matty P
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:31 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:17 pm

It didnt give me an error that time but it also didnt put the flames on the summon do i have have to add it to the summon through the AI package or spell first?
User avatar
Harry-James Payne
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 6:58 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:18 pm

remove this line from your script:

SUMN.pms effectSummonMythicDawn 1


That's overrding the effectfiredamage shader
User avatar
GPMG
 
Posts: 3507
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 10:55 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:59 am

I removed it but the fire is still not on the summon.
Heres my script

ScriptName SummonSusanoSCR

;This script can be used as a template for custom summoned creatures/NPC's

float timer
float fade
short playonce
ref SUMN

Begin ScriptEffectStart

;Set temp reference for scripting.
;Allows faster transition of script as template. Also allows for leveled summon.
set SUMN to SummonSusano1REF
;Reset our creature if re-summoned before time runs out on spell
SUMN.disable

;Now we move our creature to the Player
;Move the creature reference to the worldspace of the Player
SUMN.moveto Player 30 30 10
;Make our creature visible and active
SUMN.enable
SUMN.pms effectFireDamage

set fade to 1 ;Resets the alpha fade variable to 1

End

Begin ScriptEffectUpdate

if ( timer > 100 ) ;Creature is dead and fade timer passed
;Move our creature back to it's holding cell
SUMN.kill
SUMN.moveto CreatureCageREF 0 0 10
;Reset our creature if dead
SUMN.resurrect
;Set our creature to an unprocessed state
SUMN.disable
endif

;Adjust timer state for early fade/disable upon death
if ( SUMN.getdead == 1 ) && ( timer < 100 )
set timer to 100
endif

if ( timer > 0.1 ) && ( playonce == 0 )
;Play effect for creature entrance
set playonce to 1
endif


;Increment timer
set timer to timer + GetSecondsPassed


if ( timer > 100 ) && ( playonce == 1 )
;Play effect for creature exit/death
SUMN.kill
set playonce to 2
endif

if ( playonce == 2 )
;Fade creature for exit/death
set fade to fade - 0.03
SUMN.saa fade
endif


End

Begin ScriptEffectFinish

;Move our creature back to it's holding cell
SUMN.moveto CreatureCageREF 0 0 10
;Reset our creature if dead
SUMN.resurrect
;Set our creature to an unprocessed state
SUMN.disable

End
User avatar
claire ley
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:48 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:53 am

not sure why it wouldn't be playing. Could you try setting the scale of your creature to a normal size and see if it plays then. The issue may be to do with the scaling of the shader. You'll need to test that so I'll know though.
User avatar
Ymani Hood
 
Posts: 3514
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:22 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:55 pm

It didnt work when he was at the normal size either
User avatar
Jessie Butterfield
 
Posts: 3453
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:59 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:17 pm

hmm. that shader has worked fine for me in the past. In fact I make extensive use of it in UVII

Try looking up the editorID of the flame atronach shader, or just trying something different like ghosteffect just to see if it works.
User avatar
Wayland Neace
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 9:01 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 2:33 pm

how about the ghost effect? I would be satisfied with that. Think it would work?
User avatar
Chrissie Pillinger
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:26 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:38 am

nvm ghost effect didnt work either
User avatar
ashleigh bryden
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 5:43 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:04 pm

try moving

SUMN.pms effectFireDamage

into the ScriptEffectUpdate code block

I don't really work much with spells, but I've used shaders often enough to achieve various effects (including ghosts and fire damage)
User avatar
Mike Plumley
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:45 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:08 pm

That also failed to work. Im very unlucky.
User avatar
Vivien
 
Posts: 3530
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 2:47 pm

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:41 pm

I dunno then i'm afraid. Not sure what's causing your problem. Maybe somebody else will be able to see what I'm not seeing. It is hard to debug scripts when you can't see them running.
User avatar
Emma
 
Posts: 3287
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:51 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:16 pm

Well I appreciate all your help. You took up a lot of time helping me.
User avatar
Stacy Hope
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:23 am

Post » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:11 am

Instead of using SUMN.pms effectFireDamage, try using SUMN.Addspell AbAtronachFlameEffect. That will give your skeleton the same ability spell that gives Flame Atronachs their flame effect.
User avatar
JUan Martinez
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:12 am

Next

Return to IV - Oblivion