How do I print debug text to console?

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:30 am

Anyone here know how to spit out debug text into the console? I need to do a lot of checking up on about 6 global variables every couple of seconds.
User avatar
DAVId Bryant
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:41 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:47 pm

You don't want it to screen, you'll never keep up with the spew of text

Take a look at this: http://www.creationkit.com/FAQ:_My_Script_Doesn%27t_Work!

Works well (for me, anyway)
User avatar
W E I R D
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 10:08 am

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:33 pm

"There is currently no text in this page." ?
User avatar
Sweets Sweets
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:26 am

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:00 am

I assume h4vent meant http://www.creationkit.com/FAQ:_My_Script_Doesn%27t_Work!.

I don't think there is a way to spit output to the console, but you can output it into external log files. Take a look at the http://www.creationkit.com/Debug_Script for the functions you'll need.

Cipscis
User avatar
James Shaw
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:23 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 2:26 pm

I am currently looking into just using a message...
message.show()
is not working .... bleh
User avatar
Gavin boyce
 
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:19 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:48 am

Alright, so I want to attempt just setup a message to display that spits out the 6 global variables as it will make it easier for me to test.
The compiler tells me any message that I try to display as "variable ATHSUpdateFull is undefined"

yet I look at examples of messages being used by scripts in the game and it seems like all they do is MarriageRestedMessage.Show() and it seems to work... Not sure what I am missing...

how do I make use of the xxx.Show() command??
User avatar
Becky Cox
 
Posts: 3389
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:38 am

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 7:51 pm

You need to call Show on your message (as a property).

Also, you may want to try Debug.Messagebox.
User avatar
Sara Lee
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:40 pm

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:38 am

How do I call show message as a property?

Currently I am thinking that a simple show message would be best because I might leave in the option to turn on a message that shows stats for those variables whenever you go into your inventory.

I think I figured it out.
Thanks Qazaaq!
User avatar
Darlene Delk
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:48 am


Return to V - Skyrim