How to Run in SLI Mode without flicker!!! [FIX]

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:13 am

So Wanting to run in SLI mode without flickering here is what I did:

First make sure you are using the latest BETA drivers & you have the latest SLI profile from Nvidia:

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx?lang=en-us
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia-multigpu-SLI-profile-update-v7-driver.html
(it says it's for the demo, but works for the game too)

Add the following to both of your cfg files (autoexec & system):

r_MultiGPU = 1

Make sure the following line is commented out or remove from autoexec.cfg:

;sys_spec_postprocessing=3

Explanations and exact cfg files to follow

Try it out... I hope it works for you.

-------------------------------

edit (3/28/11): It looks like those who have gotten it to work with Crossfire are using the 11.4 Preview drivers & it only works in Single Player, hope that helps out the Crossfire users too.
Only way to fix it for XFX is to run the game with bioshock profile from RadeonPRO however you do lose performance. The only other option is to use the 1.0 .exe
-------------------------------

edit (3/27/11):

Wasdie has updated his config maker to include extreme settings & the MultiGPU fix, however it still leaves in the Post Processing line so you will need to go in and remove it. His app can be found here:

http://www.gamesas.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=12953

Also the mouse Acceleration & Smoothing setting in the app are a little buggy so you will want to double check that those settings were applied correctly. I also updated the config files below to reflect the changes.

-------------------------------

P.S. @Crysis Team / EA -- I am currently an unemployed test engineer... I live about 5 miles away from you Salt Lake EA office if you want to hire me. =)

User avatar
kelly thomson
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:18 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 3:57 am

It looks like there is a glitch in the processing of SLI where you graphics cards are trying to run SLI mode & Crysis 2 is trying to run SLI mode and for some reason they are conflicting...

By default Crysis 2 has this line (r_MultiGPU = 2) which is SLI/XF Autodetect, but for some reason that is busted. (0 if off & 1 is on) (thanks nuclearnav for the info, you are correct)

if you set:

r_MultiGPU = 1

then SLI mode works fine, if you have GPU monitors you will see that both GPUs are being used, there are also some other tweeks I am using to minimize the stress on my graphics cards.

You need to place the r_MultiGPU = 1 in both the system.cfg files & the autoexec.cfg file for it to work 100% of the time, if you leave it out of the system.cfg the multiplayer doesn't work; if you leave it out of autoexec.cfg then it only works about 1/2 the time. I don't know why this is, but it's what I have found.

Here is my autoexec.cfg file:

Code:
sys_spec_shading=4
sys_spec_gameeffects=4
sys_spec_objectdetail=4
sys_spec_particles=4
sys_spec_physics=4
sys_spec_shadows=4
sys_spec_sound=4
sys_spec_texture=4
sys_spec_water=4

; This has to be commented out for SLI mode!!!
;sys_spec_postprocessing=2

r_UseEdgeAA=3
r_TexMaxAnisotropy=16
r_PostMSAA=0
r_ColorGrading=1
r_SSAO=1
r_HDRBloomMul=0
r_HDRBrightLevel=1
r_FSAA=1

r_motionblur=2
g_radialBlur=1

e_shadows=1

g_skipIntro=1
g_enableInitialLoginScreen=0

cl_fov=90
pl_movement.power_sprint_targetFov=85

i_mouse_accel=0
i_mouse_accel_max=100
i_mouse_smooth=1

cl_zoomToggle=1
cl_crouchtoggle=1

r_VSync=1

r_MultiGPU=1
sys_MaxFPS = 60

and my system.cfg

Code:
; crysis2

sys_game_folder=GameCrysis2
sys_dll_game=CryGameCrysis2.dll
sys_user_folder=Crysis2

r_ShaderCompilerServer=192.168.14.180;192.168.14.181

log_IncludeTime = 1
sys_languages = "english,french,spanish,german,turkish,russian,polish,italian,czech,japanese,chineseT"

log_verbosity = 0

sys_PakLogInvalidFileAccess=0
sys_float_exceptions=0

g_language = English

; Needed to fix SLI flicker bug
r_MultiGPU = 1

; With out this set to 60 both my cards run at 98%
; With this set to 60 my cards run at about 60% power
sys_MaxFPS = 60


Hopefully this helps everyone out, and maybe the Crysis programmers too.

edit (3/27/10): updated cfg files & placed notes about needing to be in both the system.cfg & autoexec.cfg.

User avatar
lucile
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 4:37 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:47 pm

cant for the life of me find autoexec :(
User avatar
An Lor
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:46 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:53 am

It may not be there, if not just create it. It should go in the same folder as your system.cfg file.

also you can download this tool:

http://wasdie.blogspot.com/2011/03/crysis-2-advanced-video-options-version.html

and it will create one for you, if you use the above tool make sure you comment out (or delete) the sys_spec_postprocessing line.
User avatar
Catharine Krupinski
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:39 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:43 am

works perfectly on my gtx295 THX!!!
User avatar
josh evans
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:37 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:46 pm

Nice find if someone can test this on a crossfire setup to would be awesome becus the performance on my 4870x2 is rubbish at the moment!!
User avatar
Jose ordaz
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:14 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:31 am

fusion, you say this worked for your gtx 295? I have the same card but still get flickering even when i try this fix. What drivers do you use and do you have either of the sli updaes from evga and nvidia? Do you get flickering in nanovision and with certain shadows?

Infact it gives me a strange depth of field glitch when i use them auto exec and system cfg settings
User avatar
Claire Jackson
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:38 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:47 am

i also have gtx295, and this doesnt work, i dont have flickering, but only one gpu is working.
win7 x64 and 267.24 drivers.
User avatar
Javaun Thompson
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:28 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:42 am

Btw guys i thought back in the day with crysis orginial r_MultiGPU=2 was automatic detection of dual or single card setups?

r_MultiGPU=0 forced single, =1 being forced dual, =2 being automatic detection?

I might be wrong jus want someone to clarify! thanks
User avatar
Adam Baumgartner
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 12:12 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:44 pm

Fembel, have you installed the sli profile updates from nvidia or evga? If so make sure the multi gpu rendering mode in crysis 2 profile in the nvidia control panel is set to alternate frame rendering 2. Both gpus will work then and you will see a big jump in frames but then you will get the flickering like I have. it's driving me crazy
User avatar
Carlos Rojas
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:19 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:24 am

just tried it no luck. crossfire 6990s here
User avatar
Lizbeth Ruiz
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:35 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:29 am

It's either on (1) or off (0). There is no 2...
If you put 2 in there it will prolly not recognise it and default to 0...

User avatar
Kortniie Dumont
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 3:09 am

@gman1986 -- Did you remember to edit out the postprocessing setting?

Also try turning vsync on (or off) for me it flickers (not the same flicker) when I have it turned off -- but I think that is an issue with my monitor, not the game or graphics card.

you could also try adding in:

sys_MaxFPS = 60

to the system.cfg

Lastly try commenting (;) out all the stuff in you autoexec.cfg file except the r_MultiGPU=1 and see what happens.

Let us know! =)

@Agamemnon_71 -- the default for r_MultiGPU is 2 (at least on my machine)... So not sure where you got your info from.
User avatar
Robert Garcia
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:26 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:51 am

...in crysis 2 profile in the nvidia control panel is set to alternate frame rendering 2. Both gpus will work then and you will see a big jump in frames but then you will get the flickering like I have. it's driving me crazy

I downloaded the latest SLI updates from Nvidia & when I select Crysis 2 it has a profile for it. Try deleting out your Crysis 2 nvidia profile (from the control panel) and readding it -- or try restore defaults -- and see if that works.
User avatar
Emily Rose
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:56 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 3:46 am

@gman1986 -- Did you remember to edit out the postprocessing setting?

Also try turning vsync on (or off) for me it flickers (not the same flicker) when I have it turned off -- but I think that is an issue with my monitor, not the game or graphics card.

you could also try adding in:

sys_MaxFPS = 60

to the system.cfg

Lastly try commenting (;) out all the stuff in you autoexec.cfg file except the r_MultiGPU=1 and see what happens.

Let us know! =)

@Agamemnon_71 -- the default for r_MultiGPU is 2 (at least on my machine)... So not sure where you got your info from.

Where do you find that default value?
User avatar
Becky Cox
 
Posts: 3389
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:38 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 10:00 am

yeah i edited out the post processing bit and have played with vsync with no luck. Maybe its something to do with the 200 series cards. Thanks for the help tho
User avatar
Sandeep Khatkar
 
Posts: 3364
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:02 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:05 am

I'm not saying you're wrong but the fact is there is no default values for multigpu unless you use an editor.
You might actually be on to something here. I've tried 0, 1 and 2 without success now.
That might mean nothing, or that some other settings in your autoexec or system configs is to "blame"
User avatar
Heather Dawson
 
Posts: 3348
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:14 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 6:47 am

Fembel, have you installed the sli profile updates from nvidia or evga? If so make sure the multi gpu rendering mode in crysis 2 profile in the nvidia control panel is set to alternate frame rendering 2. Both gpus will work then and you will see a big jump in frames but then you will get the flickering like I have. it's driving me crazy
thank u kind sir, i did just that, now the game runs wayyy better, but guess what i have no flickering
i just added crysis2.exe to the profiles manually. and changed to "force alternate 2"
i should also mention im using a system.cfg suggested on the first page in this thread, and no autoexec.cfg

my system.cfg
Code:
; crysis2

sys_game_folder=GameCrysis2
sys_dll_game=CryGameCrysis2.dll
sys_user_folder=Crysis2

r_ShaderCompilerServer=192.168.14.180;192.168.14.181

log_IncludeTime = 1
sys_languages = "english,french,spanish,german,turkish,russian,polish,italian,czech,japanese,chineseT"

log_verbosity = 0

r_MultiGPU = 1

sys_PakLogInvalidFileAccess=0
sys_float_exceptions=0

g_language = English

con_restricted = 0
r_displayinfo = 1

sys_MaxFPS = 60
User avatar
Thomas LEON
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:01 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:36 am

Well I have 2 HD 5870 cards and this helped some. I had to put the autoexec.cfg file in my sys file cause the way it was stated above it locked my pc up. I'm running win 7 64 bit btw.
User avatar
zoe
 
Posts: 3298
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:09 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:40 am

im glad it worked for you, wish it also worked for me lol I hope either crytek or nvidia fix it quick
User avatar
Hussnein Amin
 
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:15 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:09 pm

thank u kind sir, i did just that, now the game runs wayyy better, but guess what i have no flickering
i just added crysis2.exe to the profiles manually. and changed to "force alternate 2"
i should also mention im using a system.cfg suggested on the first page in this thread, and no autoexec.cfg[/code]

changing "force alternate 2" in nVidia control panel works alone - ie both GPU's are used on my GTX295. however its unstable and frame rates will drop randomly to unplayable levels and stay like that for 5-10 seconds. this is with not editing of system config.
User avatar
Andrew Tarango
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:07 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:31 pm

with the nVidia SLI fix and the EVGA one also, i get both GPU's working again but the same random frame rate drops occur.. i then have to Alt+Tab out and back to get it to work as it should again. very annoying.. im sure nVidia and ATi could have released some optimised drivers for this game by now as i believe that is the only issue - the drivers..

also i get no flicker (i did in some cases when using that Graphics Enhancement tool that was posted in another thread here - needles to say i deleted it and reverted the system config back to stock and removed the autoconfig).
User avatar
JaNnatul Naimah
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:33 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:55 am

Post-processing cfg entry, regardless of being set at 1, 2 or 3 makes my game look like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9pHunEbDFy0

Removing it fixes it.
User avatar
Lawrence Armijo
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:12 pm

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 12:29 am

Love your work m8.
Running 2 GTX470's in SLI, stock clocks, extreme mode, 1920x1200.
Previously I was running the beta drivers with nvidia sli profile but was only getting an average of 35fps, albeit without flickering. Not happy with the 35fps, I Installed the 266.58 driver with the evga sli profile. This gave me around 60-100fps, depending on the map, but introduced flickering. Once I applied your suggestions to the autoexec and system files, no flickering : ))
Now the wait for DX11, high res textures and whatever else Crytek has installed for PC users. I'm 100% sure they will come through with something special for us. PC users made Crytek who they are today. They would not have forgotten that.

User avatar
Rach B
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:30 am

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:03 am

What do you lose when you remove post processing? Or does deleting that change nothing graphically?
User avatar
Carlos Vazquez
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 10:19 am

Next

Return to Crysis