[relz] Land Magic

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:42 pm

That one TES4Edit can't find though, and I don't know if this is the result of an error I made or the result of something else because the valid form ID for the actual texture should be 0100F8EC, but it seems something is referencing it as 0200F8EC which is obviously wrong. Might be helpful if when subrecord errors are found, the record they're attached to is displayed too.


I have the lost spires too and there is no error here so I'd bet on a bad manipulation :P.
Anyway new debug version uploaded(LandMagicDebugV2) it should give the record where it happened but it's a translated formID(ie global context).
You should replace the number NNXXXXXX you get by 01XXXXXX(if it's not starting with 00 that is) (that's the reason why I didn't put it to start with as I don't keep the original formID).
User avatar
Campbell
 
Posts: 3262
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:54 am

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:33 pm

Caught the exception processing a ATXT subrecord!Caught subrecord processing exception in record of type: LANDFormID of the record(global): 747EProgram Exception:Error formID, out of range formID!


I think this is a genuine bug then, because formID 747E corresponds to the LAND record for cell 13,4 and I scoured it in TES4Edit and all of the ATXT subrecords list Rock01 [LTEX:0100F8EC] as the texture defined there.

Erm... or not. Loaded and resaved in the CS, problem disappeared. Makes me wonder now what might have happened.
User avatar
Emma
 
Posts: 3287
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:51 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:32 am

Caught the exception processing a ATXT subrecord!Caught subrecord processing exception in record of type: LANDFormID of the record(global): 747EProgram Exception:Error formID, out of range formID!


I think this is a genuine bug then, because formID 747E corresponds to the LAND record for cell 13,4 and I scoured it in TES4Edit and all of the ATXT subrecords list Rock01 [LTEX:0100F8EC] as the texture defined there.

Erm... or not. Loaded and resaved in the CS, problem disappeared. Makes me wonder now what might have happened.


Can you upload your Lost Spires esp somewhere so I try to reproduce the bug?
User avatar
Lexy Corpsey
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 12:39 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:37 am

Wish you'd have asked that about 30 second sooner, I already saved over it and the problem disappeared. Though I have another that cropped up, also with a valid formID in the CELL record:

Loading NRB4+UL-II+LtPD+OCOD Patch.espInvalid formID: 6002A31Listing possible formIDs:Formid starting by 0Corresponds to: Oblivion.esmFormid starting by 1Corresponds to: LetThePeopleDrink.espFormid starting by 2Corresponds to: road+bridges.espFormid starting by 3Corresponds to: xulImperialIsle.espFormid starting by 4Corresponds to: NRB4+UL-II+LtPD+OCOD Patch.espCaught exception processing a XCLR entry: 0Caught subrecord processing exception in record of type: CELLFormID of the record(global): 5F33Program Exception:Error formID, out of range formID!


04002A31 should be perfectly valid. TES4Edit does not list it as an unknown ID. If you need me to PM you a link to these ESPs I can do that.

I don't know where your utility is getting 06002A31 from.
User avatar
Cameron Garrod
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:46 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:07 am

Wish you'd have asked that about 30 second sooner, I already saved over it and the problem disappeared. Though I have another that cropped up, also with a valid formID in the CELL record:

Loading NRB4+UL-II+LtPD+OCOD Patch.espInvalid formID: 6002A31Listing possible formIDs:Formid starting by 0Corresponds to: Oblivion.esmFormid starting by 1Corresponds to: LetThePeopleDrink.espFormid starting by 2Corresponds to: road+bridges.espFormid starting by 3Corresponds to: xulImperialIsle.espFormid starting by 4Corresponds to: NRB4+UL-II+LtPD+OCOD Patch.espCaught exception processing a XCLR entry: 0Caught subrecord processing exception in record of type: CELLFormID of the record(global): 5F33Program Exception:Error formID, out of range formID!


04002A31 should be perfectly valid. TES4Edit does not list it as an unknown ID. If you need me to PM you a link to these ESPs I can do that.

I don't know where your utility is getting 06002A31 from.


Well it's taken raw from the file at that point :P.
the number after the XCLR entry indicates the index of the XCLR entry that contains the invalid formid(in this case the first value listed), 04002A31 may be valid but that's not the issue, the issue is the value given in the XCLR subrecord.

As for the file I don't have the courage to install all that just to test it :P.
But check the XCLR entry in tes4edit of cell 5F33, it should be invalid...
User avatar
Maya Maya
 
Posts: 3511
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 7:35 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:41 pm

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/8164/xclr.jpg

What's invalid about that? TES4Edit says nothing is wrong there. "Check for errors" turns up nothing.
User avatar
Darren Chandler
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:03 am

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 6:17 pm

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/8164/xclr.jpg

What's invalid about that? TES4Edit says nothing is wrong there. "Check for errors" turns up nothing.


Can you send me just the patch esp or give me a link to where to download it?
Or you version if you made any change to it :).
User avatar
Taylah Haines
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:10 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:34 am

http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/download.php?id=52059

Identical to the file I'm using locally since I created it :)
User avatar
Trey Johnson
 
Posts: 3295
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:00 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:31 pm

http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/download.php?id=52059

Identical to the file I'm using locally since I created it :)


Ok I used my magic...hexeditor, looked up the value and it turns out as the first value of XCLR in CELL 5F33.
You can check it out yourself if you have an hexeditor, it's at offset 8e84(36484 in decimal)... 31 2A 00 06.

As to why tes4edit choose to display it as 04002A31 I have no idea...
But the bug is definitely not on my side, unless there is something special to do with formIDs in XCLR subrecords but I have not read anything about it...
User avatar
Kahli St Dennis
 
Posts: 3517
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:57 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:47 am

Well I'm not sure why it would be showing up that way, but I'll see what happens if I remove the entry, leave TES4Edit, then reapply it after reloading. Sometimes I really hate having to deal with patch files :P

You could possibly see if it's safe to assume anything beyond the last valid index should just be reindexed? I don't know how the underlying gory details work, you're operating well above what I know about these things.
User avatar
jessica breen
 
Posts: 3524
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:04 am

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 3:40 pm

Well I'm not sure why it would be showing up that way, but I'll see what happens if I remove the entry, leave TES4Edit, then reapply it after reloading. Sometimes I really hate having to deal with patch files :P

You could possibly see if it's safe to assume anything beyond the last valid index should just be reindexed? I don't know how the underlying gory details work, you're operating well above what I know about these things.


Well that's apparently what Tes4edit does, change the 06 to the last valid one(04), maybe it also looks up relative formID(without the index) who are similar but I don't know if that's what Oblivion does...
Wouldn't you rather know about the error than tolerate it anyway? :P
If you don't have an hex editor I can change the value to 04 and upload it somewhere if you want to see what is the result in tes4edit(it will probably still show the same)...
User avatar
Farrah Barry
 
Posts: 3523
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:00 pm

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:44 am

Assuming these kinds of errors can cause crashes, yes, I'd certainly prefer knowing about them.

Don't need a hex editor, removing the offending entries and re-adding them again solved it. I suspect TES4Edit may have a bug in it's "clean masters" function since that's the only thing I can think of that would have caused this, and it happened on every patch I've had to make that's had masters removed by TES4Edit.

Your utility went to completion after fixing them all (thankfully not many) and produced this:

----Optimizing Tree...Now calculating heightmaps...Number of HeightMaps processed: 61627Checking for tears, this may take a while...----Checking Worldpsace: TamrielNumber of cells fixed: 199Checking Worldpsace: ToddlandWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ToddTestLand2Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: MQ15TestWorld3Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: EmptyWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SEWorldNumber of cells fixed: 35Checking Worldpsace: TestTreeWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestHopeTreesWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SETestWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SETheFringeNumber of cells fixed: 6Checking Worldpsace: SETheFringeOrderedNumber of cells fixed: 12Checking Worldpsace: SENSBlissNumber of cells fixed: 7Checking Worldpsace: SENSCrucibleNumber of cells fixed: 3Checking Worldpsace: SENSPalaceNumber of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: SETestGrantWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SEVitharnWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: BloatedFloatAtSeaWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: CamoranParadiseNumber of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: TestMurkDwellerWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestHungerWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestShamblesWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestRegionWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestExRuinWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestGnarlWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: MS14WorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: BrumaWorldNumber of cells fixed: 12Checking Worldpsace: BravilWorldNumber of cells fixed: 26Checking Worldpsace: AnvilWorldNumber of cells fixed: 14Checking Worldpsace: LeyawiinWorldNumber of cells fixed: 37Checking Worldpsace: CheydinhalWorldNumber of cells fixed: 19Checking Worldpsace: SkingradWorldNumber of cells fixed: 20Checking Worldpsace: OblivionMQKvatchWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestGragtownNumber of cells fixed: 49Checking Worldpsace: TestWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: MS37WorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestFortRuinsixtWarehouseWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ICTheArcaneUniversityNumber of cells fixed: 10Checking Worldpsace: ICMarketDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 14Checking Worldpsace: ICArboretumDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 14Checking Worldpsace: ICTalosPlazaDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 37Checking Worldpsace: ICElvenGardensDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 14Checking Worldpsace: ICTempleDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 15Checking Worldpsace: ICArenaDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 10Checking Worldpsace: ICImperialPrisonDistrictNumber of cells fixed: 14Checking Worldpsace: ICImperialPalaceNumber of cells fixed: 15Checking Worldpsace: MS13CheydinhalOblivionWorldNumber of cells fixed: 26Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD004Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestGatekeeperWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KvatchPlazaNumber of cells fixed: 20Checking Worldpsace: ChorrolWorldNumber of cells fixed: 18Checking Worldpsace: AnvilCastleCourtyardWorldNumber of cells fixed: 12Checking Worldpsace: DAPeryiteRealmNumber of cells fixed: 65Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD001Number of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD002Number of cells fixed: 4Checking Worldpsace: TestElytraWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestFleshAtronachWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestBaliwogWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: MQ14OblivionWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestCreaturesGrummiteWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ICImperialPalaceMQ16Number of cells fixed: 7Checking Worldpsace: ICTempleDistrictMQ16Number of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD003Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD005Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SEManiaGardenWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SEDementiaGardenWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD006Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: MQ10BrumaOblivionGateWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestJyggylagWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KvatchEastNumber of cells fixed: 11Checking Worldpsace: TestCreatureSkeletalHoundWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SETestCylarneWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: DreamWorldNumber of cells fixed: 4Checking Worldpsace: KvatchEntranceNumber of cells fixed: 7Checking Worldpsace: TestAyleidWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SETestIslandWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: PalePassWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: DreamWorld02Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TGTempleOfTheEmperorZeroNumber of cells fixed: 3Checking Worldpsace: E3KvatchNumber of cells fixed: 3Checking Worldpsace: ArkvedsTowerWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: DABoethiaRealmWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: OblivionRD007Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestMattWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TestAlanBearsWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: CybiadesWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KRStage5Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KRStage3Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KRStage4Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KRStage2Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: KRStage1Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WFIslandWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WFMerchantWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WFSlumsWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WFWealthyWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808TempleOfPhobosWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808TempleOfFleshWorldNumber of cells fixed: 7Checking Worldpsace: A808MausolioumWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808MausolioumLichLandNumber of cells fixed: 32Checking Worldpsace: A808UnderworldDarkWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808RiversOfBloodWorldNumber of cells fixed: 38Checking Worldpsace: A808Qugur01Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808BloodCastleWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808TestLandWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808BloodyFortWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808AttundeleaWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: a808FinalBattleWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808AttundeleaWorldCOPY0000Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: a808FinalBattleWorldCOPY0000Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808BloodyFortWorldCOPY0000Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A808MausolioumWorldCOPY0000Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: GTAesgaard2Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ZZBUTCHERTheABYSS01Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ZZLEGACYDreamWorld01Number of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: ZZTOTFTheABYSS02Number of cells fixed: 48Checking Worldpsace: ZZRUINTheAfterlifeNumber of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: ZZRUINTheAbyssNumber of cells fixed: 48Checking Worldpsace: ZZMALBrumaWorldDUMMYWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: A909MiniAesgaardExteriorNumber of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: A909MiniAesgaardSavageNumber of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: A909HellNumber of cells fixed: 6Checking Worldpsace: AANascostoWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: LostDeityShrine01Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WarlockPlane01Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WarlockPlane02Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: WarlockPlane03Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: 0HODRedMountainNumber of cells fixed: 36Checking Worldpsace: 0HODDeadWorld2Worldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: SSotAWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: AEDInteriorWorldspaceWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: AEDSnowyWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: aaTESAOublietteWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: TESAHalloween01DMNightmareEndWorldNumber of cells fixed: 4Checking Worldpsace: aaTESAWillieSeaWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: aaaJTOblivionWorldspaceWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: VHQKillZoneWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: VHQ06CastleWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: VHQVulnasOblivionWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: vhq07HarbourwordWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: vhq07RoundWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: vhq07castleapproachWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: AFKDranasTombWorldNumber of cells fixed: 2Checking Worldpsace: ANQCorinthePalaceWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ANQVerkarthHillsWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ANQCorintheGardenWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ANQOrcrestGateWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ANQOrcrestTownWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: FeldscarOblivionRealmWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: xulBRRAyleidHallsLyeseliWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: ForsakenHouseWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: BartholmWorldWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: BHSlartholmWorldNumber of cells fixed: 8Checking Worldpsace: BHNarcissaAtSeaWorldspace is ok!Checking Worldpsace: BartholmWorldWorldspace is ok!----Total number of cells fixed: 1055Repacking Heights...Number of cells that couldn't get repacked properly: 244They will not be saved.Cleaning the tree for the patch...Creating Patch...LandMagicPatch.esp created, don't forget to activate it!


There are worldspaces being reported with fixes that I wouldn't expect have been touched, such as TestGragtown. Literally speaking, yes, it has a tear, but since Oblivion.esm is the only thing touching it that seems like it should be ignored for the sake of less clutter in the resulting land patch.
User avatar
Tiffany Carter
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:05 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:03 am

There are worldspaces being reported with fixes that I wouldn't expect have been touched, such as TestGragtown. Literally speaking, yes, it has a tear, but since Oblivion.esm is the only thing touching it that seems like it should be ignored for the sake of less clutter in the resulting land patch.


For v0.3 I will maybe add a little edit where you can put a list of worldspace EditorID to ignore like "*Test*;ToddLand" if you want, should be quite easy to do.
I'd also like to eliminate masters in the final files who are not involved in the patch. Thinking about it I may as well add a loader option if you just want to make a patch for 2 or a limited amount of mods. And then there are the texture fixups...Quite a lot to do :P.
User avatar
Channing
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:05 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:22 pm

Well that's apparently what Tes4edit does, change the 06 to the last valid one(04), maybe it also looks up relative formID(without the index) who are similar but I don't know if that's what Oblivion does...
Wouldn't you rather know about the error than tolerate it anyway? :P
If you don't have an hex editor I can change the value to 04 and upload it somewhere if you want to see what is the result in tes4edit(it will probably still show the same)...



Assuming these kinds of errors can cause crashes, yes, I'd certainly prefer knowing about them.

Don't need a hex editor, removing the offending entries and re-adding them again solved it. I suspect TES4Edit may have a bug in it's "clean masters" function since that's the only thing I can think of that would have caused this, and it happened on every patch I've had to make that's had masters removed by TES4Edit.


I mentioned this to Elminster, and he says you cannot compare what you see in a hex editor with what you see in TES4Edit.
FormIDs that are being displayed are mapped from file specific FormIDs to global (load order dependant) FormIDs

User avatar
Sunny Under
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:31 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 4:41 pm

Great idea, I'll be testing this out as it develops:)
User avatar
Juan Cerda
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:49 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:31 pm

I mentioned this to Elminster, and he says you cannot compare what you see in a hex editor with what you see in TES4Edit.
FormIDs that are being displayed are mapped from file specific FormIDs to global (load order dependant) FormIDs



It's exactly what my program does with formIDs and that's where it detects the error.
When a mod has 4 masters a formID in that mod any formID starting with 05 or more is not valid(I'm speaking local file formID here)...

The fact is, tes4edit should detect an error...
User avatar
bimsy
 
Posts: 3541
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:04 pm

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 3:09 am

At the very least, when writing such a file, tes4edit probably should be correcting these formIDs, although I'm thinknig the game itself is doing something similar which is why you don't hear about problems with other types of IDs that stuff like this declares invalid.
User avatar
MISS KEEP UR
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 6:26 am

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:38 pm

At the very least, when writing such a file, tes4edit probably should be correcting these formIDs, although I'm thinknig the game itself is doing something similar which is why you don't hear about problems with other types of IDs that stuff like this declares invalid.


In my opinion that's wishful thinking.
I think at best the game ignores the formID(which in the case of the XCLR I'm not sure is critical), anyway that's what I would do(and my personal experience tell me Oblivion isn't very tolerant to errors :P).
User avatar
Sabrina Steige
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:51 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:53 pm

HI DarklyDreaming

Thanks for the tool man! Unfortunately I'm experiencing similar issues that Arthmoor reported.

Here is my Debug record...

Loading OC+Cheydinhal Falls Patch.espInvalid formID: 4000ED3Listing possible formIDs:Formid starting by 0Corresponds to: Oblivion.esmFormid starting by 1Corresponds to: xulCheydinhalFalls.espFormid starting by 2Corresponds to: OC+Cheydinhal Falls Patch.espCaught exception processing a XCLR entry: 0Caught subrecord processing exception in record of type: CELLFormID of the record(global): 6FD2Program Exception:Error formID, out of range formID!


Here is a pic of the http://img37.imagefra.me/img/img37/2/3/24/far327/f_1nad2km11csm_bd253e9.jpg...

Arthmoor, if you happen to see this, do you have any opinions?
User avatar
Solène We
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 7:04 am

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:35 am

I need to upload fixed versions of the patch file you tripped over, because it's one of the ones that it tripped over for me too. The patches work in the game just fine because the regions only do one thing - make sure the city name shows up properly on the map and when you walk up to doors and such. So far they always have, so I really do think the game is correcting the formID on the fly at load.

What I don't know for sure is how an incorrect formID is being stored to begin with, and not knowing that makes it difficult to try and prevent in the future.
User avatar
tiffany Royal
 
Posts: 3340
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 1:48 pm

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:01 am

In my opinion that's wishful thinking.
I think at best the game ignores the formID(which in the case of the XCLR I'm not sure is critical), anyway that's what I would do(and my personal experience tell me Oblivion isn't very tolerant to errors :P).

The game does correct these formIDs. I tested it myself when I stumbled across this situation way back when I was updating Wrye Bash, and confirmed what was happening with Wrye and ElminsterEU. See my reply in CBash for a fuller treatment, but basically any modIndex greater than what's defined in the MAST sub-record belongs to the mod. Doesn't matter if it's one higher (what's usual), or 3 higher as in what far327 shows. It occurs in a few records in Oblivion.esm itself; since it has no masters, any modIndex belongs to Oblivion.esm.

Edit:
I can think of a few situations where these formIDs can occur. As I said though, they aren't really a problem.

In order of likelyhood:
1) The file had multiple masters, and the mod was worked on, resulting in formIDs with a high index. The masters were then removed from the file, but the tool didn't remap the high index to the lower one.
2) The file was split from another mod, and the merge tool didn't remap the formIDs just right.
3) The file was merged with another mod at some point, and the merge tool didn't remap the formIDs just right.
User avatar
Mizz.Jayy
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:56 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:12 pm

Is the "Save repairs even if can't repack the heightmap properly" a good idea? I get what it does, but I'm not sure if I should check it off :shrug:
User avatar
zoe
 
Posts: 3298
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:09 pm

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:45 am

1) The file had multiple masters, and the mod was worked on, resulting in formIDs with a high index. The masters were then removed from the file, but the tool didn't remap the high index to the lower one.


Close, the files still have multiple masters, but the unneeded ones were stripped out by the "clean masters" function. The thing that gets me is that the regions weren't added until I'd saved out and reloaded.
User avatar
Lawrence Armijo
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:12 pm

Post » Thu Jan 14, 2010 1:50 am

Nvm...
User avatar
Melissa De Thomasis
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:52 pm

Post » Wed Jan 13, 2010 7:36 pm

Bump for release of v0.3:

v0.3:
-Added "Bashed Patch, 0.esp" to the ignore list so you can put the LandMagicPatch.esp before the bashed patch(in fact now you should), if your bashed patch is named something else, well I'm sorry.
-Fixed the formID conversion, apparently formID starting by more than (number of master)+1 are part of the current mod.
-Cleaned up a bit the program so it wouldn't hang up when handling certain errors(basically changed all return error values to throw exceptions instead).
-Now it doesn't require all the mod to be there, only those it modifies(yay!).
-Desactivated the "Save repairs even if can't repack the Heightmap properly" because of a bug in repacking if you check that option.
User avatar
Causon-Chambers
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:47 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion