Light Switches

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 12:41 pm

I'm currently trying to find out how I would go about creating a light switch to turn lights on & off, but I can't find any info on the web. Anybody have any idea how?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: I also need some other scripting help. In my mod, the player will have a pet tiger, and I wondered if it was possible for the player to give the tiger a custom name without changing it through the console?
User avatar
Britney Lopez
 
Posts: 3469
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:22 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 6:13 am

Create an activator that activates a light source ?
User avatar
AnDres MeZa
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 1:39 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:42 pm

I understand what you mean, but if the light source is already active, then what will it do?
User avatar
Khamaji Taylor
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:15 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 9:05 am

my knowledge of scripting is little, and I mean a little...I can't explain the tiny bit of knowledge I have of scripting, so don't think that what I say is the truth, I may be wrong.

But if you put the activator...for the use of this example let's say one of those Aylied switches.

well in aylied ruins there is the switches you push that open the iron gate, if you look into the script is says something about only doing it once, so if the player is to push it again, the event won't happen again.
I would imagine if you were to use that script and alter it a bit (and tie it to a light source) it would work in...generally...the same fashion.

That is my best guess, but, as I said, I may be wrong, and I couldn't write the script for you.
User avatar
Matt Bee
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:32 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:22 pm

Perhaps have a variable in there so that when the light is switched on (i.e. the first time activated), the value of that variable is set to 1. Each time that button is activated, it checks if that variable is 1, if it is then the light goes off and the variable is set back to 0.
User avatar
Zosia Cetnar
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:35 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:31 am

If you are talking about every light in the game.. good luck.

If you are talking about modding a single light, that's easy.

Give the light a ref ID like .. um.. "a0light1"

Set it to be initially disabled. Now make a script on an activator (this is your light switch).

short ActivatedBegin OnActivateIf ( Activated == 0 )a0light.enableset Activated to 1ElseIf ( Activated == 1 )a0light1.disableset Activated to 0EndIfEnd


It's been a while since I've scripted, so this is good practice, considering what I have planned on my mod next.. :P That should work, unless it's been so long that I overlooked something important. I am a bit rusty.

If you want to do something more complicated, like having a "lit" and "unlit" candle where the lightsource is, and want to change them, that isn't tough either. Same principle applies.
User avatar
Dawn Porter
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:17 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:32 am

Thankyou very much for your help, I'm just about to test it out now.
User avatar
Lewis Morel
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:40 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:02 am

a0light.enable

You missed the 1 at the end of the reference ID there. It should be there obviously to keep the reference ID example consistent. :)


Alternatively it can be done like this, which directly checks whether something is disabled or not. That way you don't have to set the light specifically to disabled or enabled by default for it to work.

Like Adrius suggested give your light a ref ID like 'a0light1'.
Begin onactivateIf ( a0light.GetDisabled == 1 )a0light1.enableElseIf (a0light.GetDisabled == 0 )a0light1.disableEndIfEnd

User avatar
Harinder Ghag
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:26 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:21 pm

Yeah that works just as well, and thanks for pointing out the typo.

Told you I was rusty :P

I am going to be doing a lot of enable/disable checking and such in a puzzle script I am going to start developing either tonight or tomorrow.. it is going to be a major [censored].
User avatar
Joey Bel
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:44 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 6:28 am

Thanks for that.
I also need some other scripting help. In my mod, the player will have a pet tiger, and I wondered if it was possible for the player to give the tiger a custom name without changing it through the console?
User avatar
Max Van Morrison
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 4:48 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 9:21 am

Keep in mind that if you're going to have several lights, they all have to have their own unique ID otherwise every light switch will turn on every light at the same time.

Feel free to download the Bella Vista house mod in my sig and pick it apart, that house has lights and switches throughout.
User avatar
Frank Firefly
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:34 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:38 am

Begin onactivateIf ( a0light.GetDisabled == 1 )a0light1.enableElseIf (a0light.GetDisabled == 0 )a0light1.disableEndIfEnd



There's no need for the second check here, as it is obvious, so the script can be even shortened to this ;]

Begin OnActivateIf (a0light1.GetDisabled)  a0light1.enableElse  a0light1.disableEndIfEnd

User avatar
Euan
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 3:34 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 12:40 pm

There's no need for the second check here, as it is obvious, so the script can be even shortened to this ;]

Right. Now the script is as light as it can be (pun intended). :)
User avatar
Darren
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 2:33 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 12:03 pm

Ok, so if I wanted 3 separate light switches, that would mean making 3 separate activators each with an different script?
Also, is it necessary to make the light the parent of the activator?
User avatar
Ernesto Salinas
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:19 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 6:28 am

Yep, three separate switches, for three separate lights. I don't think parenting matters here.
User avatar
Angus Poole
 
Posts: 3594
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:04 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:53 am

Parenting matters. If you make light as a child to activator then enabling/disabling it won't work ;]
User avatar
Talitha Kukk
 
Posts: 3477
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 1:14 am


Return to IV - Oblivion