Making an NPC completely static?

Post » Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:30 pm

I'm trying to make an NPC completely static 100% of the time but it's just no go! I want to make an armor/clothing/weapon display npc with just a fixed stood still idle animation (no breath) and no reaction to combat and invincibility (like creatures have a checkbox). I'm buggered if i can figure out how to achieve it, could anyone shed any light for me?
User avatar
SWagg KId
 
Posts: 3488
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:26 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:34 am

One option - give it a constant duration paralyze effect? They hold absolutely still then. You'll have to figure out how to prevent them from falling over, though.
User avatar
Ross Thomas
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:06 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:55 am

setghost 1

Thats the command you need. Should stop him from being attacked or getting hit, or trying to fight. You can still talk to them though, so youd want an empty onactivate block to stop you from starting conversation.
User avatar
Jessica Nash
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:18 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 5:12 am

Fantastic thanks guys! I've already got the no convo sorted! Much appreciated

edit:

Ok neither of those worked...and as to why I am quite perplexed!!!!!

Added an actor effect to the NPC

Paralysis
length 30days
script effect always applies
range touch


and a script

begin onLoad
setghost 1
end


----------
Now it may be that I am just so rusty (and the last Beth kit I used for large scale modding was TES3 for Morrowind) that I am missing something very simple, or I'm just being simple :P
User avatar
kat no x
 
Posts: 3247
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:39 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:24 am

I have little to no knowledge regarding the workings of Mannequins; but there were several mods made for Fallout 3 that had them available. You may wish to check them out as it seems that their functionality is exactly the same in New Vegas :)

How do I know? Well, JustinOther helped me in porting over a Fallout 3 mod that also had a couple of mannequins in. I figured their scripts and such would be totally messed up, but they still work! Just like in Fallout 3, I can talk to them and have them open their inventory to me and everything.

So if all else fails, go grab one of those mods and oogle the scripts :P


Greetz,

Milt
User avatar
Hannah Whitlock
 
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:21 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:10 pm

I have some NPCs, and I use this on their object script:

BEGIN OnLoad   SetActorsAI 0END


They are statue like, don't animate at all unless you activate them. But then if you add an ON activate block like someone else suggested here to prevent that, it might be what you want. You might have to use the setpos commands to put the npc where you want it when loading into the cell.
User avatar
Jon O
 
Posts: 3270
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:48 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:08 am

I have little to no knowledge regarding the workings of Mannequins; but there were several mods made for Fallout 3 that had them available. You may wish to check them out as it seems that their functionality is exactly the same in New Vegas :)

How do I know? Well, JustinOther helped me in porting over a Fallout 3 mod that also had a couple of mannequins in. I figured their scripts and such would be totally messed up, but they still work! Just like in Fallout 3, I can talk to them and have them open their inventory to me and everything.

So if all else fails, go grab one of those mods and oogle the scripts :P


Greetz,

Milt


Surely they wont load with NV GECK, I don't have FO3 so cant use that geck as no master file! I've asked one of my mates to have a ganders for me as he has FO3 and the player secret hideout mod
User avatar
RAww DInsaww
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:47 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:37 am

Ok the setghost DID work I forgot to unload the sep and then reload!

Paralysis still isn't working, I'll try adding that to the script rather than actor effect (if I can work out how).

I also seem to have an issue with getting the npc to face where I want him to! all properly linked to a direction marker but he still turns to the left *grumble*
User avatar
An Lor
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:46 pm

Post » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:16 pm

the paralysis spell range should be "self" not "on touch"
User avatar
IsAiah AkA figgy
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:43 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:04 am

the paralysis spell range should be "self" not "on touch"

There's no Self option in range >.< tried using a conditional but it didn't work either. Slam head on desk time
User avatar
Susan
 
Posts: 3536
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:46 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:00 am

When you say face where you want him to, how do you mean? Is he facing to the left, or is his head tracking to the left?

You need an xmarkerheading, and an AI package running that will make the actor wait and orient himself with the xmarkerheading. You want fallout behavior disabled, and I think theres an option for stopping headtracking somewhere, or maybe its an actor function.

For the paralysis, you need:

A base effect - effect archetype paralysis, with the tickbox for self ticked.

an actor effect - you add your base effect to this actor effect

Then you add the actor effect to your NPC. Its a bit convoluted and made my brain wharbgl the first few times, but it eventually begins to make sense.

Hope that helps.
User avatar
kitten maciver
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:36 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:21 am

When you say face where you want him to, how do you mean? Is he facing to the left, or is his head tracking to the left?

You need an xmarkerheading, and an AI package running that will make the actor wait and orient himself with the xmarkerheading. You want fallout behavior disabled, and I think theres an option for stopping headtracking somewhere, or maybe its an actor function.

For the paralysis, you need:

A base effect - effect archetype paralysis, with the tickbox for self ticked.

an actor effect - you add your base effect to this actor effect

Then you add the actor effect to your NPC. Its a bit convoluted and made my brain wharbgl the first few times, but it eventually begins to make sense.

Hope that helps.


I hadn't linked the xmarkerheading properly, sorted that now!

Base effect is what I've been missing then, I'll give it a whirl. Sounds right to me, like I said, TES3 was the only Bethesda tool i used to the full extent of making quests/new npcs/items etc. so it's been a while! :P Thanks for all your help peeps

edit: still no go with new base effect! This is becoming more hassle than it's worth grr!
User avatar
Samantha Jane Adams
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:00 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:27 pm

Have you tried setrestrained yet? Thought I had mentioned it before but I hadnt.

Have a script setrestrained 1 on the NPC, can do it in the same script you use for setghost 1. Also for the paralysis thing, did you double check everything is linked properly? Your base effect is set to paralysis, your actor effect is set to base effect, and your NPC has the actor effect?

Edit - also you could try setActorsAI 0 , I think it will turn off alarm detection and warnings etc.
User avatar
Isaiah Burdeau
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 9:58 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:18 am

Well, I know this has been done in Fallout 3.

I did something similar but not exact. Some commands to experiment with in NV are like "toggleactorsai" and "setactorsai". http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php/SetActorsAI http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php/ToggleActorsAI . SetActorsAI is probably the better of the two but I've not gotten to mess with it.
User avatar
Kitana Lucas
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:24 pm

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:30 am

HUZZAH! At last it is complete, thanks so much guys! Setrestrained was the nugget I needed for the breathing anim. Superstars the lot of you!
User avatar
Tiffany Carter
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:05 am

Post » Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:24 am

I'm doing this same exact thing, and I seem to get a completely static NPC with just the SetActorAI 0 command. With SetGhost 1 and an empty onactivate block, this seems to be all that's necessary. I also don't see any effect from SetRestrained, is this to keep them from falling over from the paralyze effect mentioned? I don't see any need for it, am I missing something?

Edit: One issue I found is that with SetActorsAI 0, I can still "push" the NPC around by walking into it. Its mesh doesn't move, but its collision presence does, which is undesired behavior. Thought for a second this is what SetRestrained was for, but no luck. All you have to do is set "not pushable" on the NPC under Animation in the GECK though.
User avatar
lillian luna
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 9:43 pm


Return to Fallout: New Vegas