MGE Hardware Survey

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 4:30 pm

ATI HD3650 AGP 1gb ram
WinXP home
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ [this is the problem area, can't run any version mge 3.8]
User avatar
Austin England
 
Posts: 3528
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:16 pm

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:54 pm

GTX 295

That's all I know.
User avatar
Jade Muggeridge
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 6:51 pm

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:17 am

As I said about twelve hours ago... http://www.mediafire.com/?yxxikt3jzjz. I'm not sure if his code was merged into MGE with revision 119 or not, but its probably plain as day to you =)

In what testing I did of this build, it seemed to correctly cache light data (his test shader performed as he expected it to), but he also claimed that there was instability of some things which I'm not sure about. :shrug:
User avatar
Cody Banks
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:30 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 4:25 pm

Had voted!

I've been considering some changes to MGE that would improve performance and add new features

Thanks Liztail ! :twirl:
User avatar
Pixie
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 4:50 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:09 pm

As I said about twelve hours ago... http://www.mediafire.com/?yxxikt3jzjz. I'm not sure if his code was merged into MGE with revision 119 or not, but its probably plain as day to you =)

In what testing I did of this build, it seemed to correctly cache light data (his test shader performed as he expected it to), but he also claimed that there was instability of some things which I'm not sure about. :shrug:

Thanks a ton!

It would probably eventually be plain as day if I start diving into the code, but I think it would save me a lot of time if I knew a bit more about what I'm looking at first, if possible. I tried searching a bit (until I got sick of the flood control) and didn't come up with much. Do you know if there is high level description of what it is supposed to do posted somewhere? For example, does it calculate light maps for static objects, do a light pre-pass render, create light probes in the scene, or something else? Just a basic description of what it is and the gist of how it works would be really awesome.

Thanks again =)
User avatar
Wayne Cole
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 5:22 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:58 pm

Thanks a ton!

It would probably eventually be plain as day if I start diving into the code, but I think it would save me a lot of time if I knew a bit more about what I'm looking at first, if possible. I tried searching a bit (until I got sick of the flood control) and didn't come up with much. Do you know if there is high level description of what it is supposed to do posted somewhere? For example, does it calculate light maps for static objects, do a light pre-pass render, create light probes in the scene, or something else? Just a basic description of what it is and the gist of how it works would be really awesome.

Thanks again =)

As far as I know, it only passes Morrowind's 8 directx lights position, color, intensity? to shaders. The pack contains a demonstration shader but I got mixed results.

Edit: There is changelog too. I noticed it also have a per channel HDR feature. I didn't notice that before.
Edit2: There wasn't much progress on that, because lights were wrongly reported. And peachykeen wasn't sure about how to fix it. But finding light info inside the memory was a good start I guess.
User avatar
james kite
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:52 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:00 pm

I talked briefly with Peachykeen about this, but I might as well also pitch the discussion here. Can it be done shaderwise instead? like we are doing with say, grass for example? So you will tag it as something and it will appy a shader that in it's turn applies the darkmap/detailmap? Sounds more feasible?

I was thinking more about this, and an idea occurred to me. What if there was a way to specify a different NIF file for MGE to use in the distance for your object? Then if you had a big difference in the look due to the loss of the extra maps, you could make a different version that had a single texture that had all of the maps pre-mixed into a single base map that made it look more like the full quality version that has separate dark maps and such. I think this would be fairly easy to implement and would also let people create low-poly versions of NIF files to help improve the performance of distant rendering. I think the biggest question is whether people would actually use it, though.

As far as I know, it only passes Morrowind's 8 directx lights position, color, intensity? to shaders. The pack contains a demonstration shader but I got mixed results.

Edit: There is changelog too. I noticed it also have a per channel HDR feature. I didn't notice that before.
Edit2: There wasn't much progress on that, because lights were wrongly reported. And peachykeen wasn't sure about how to fix it. But finding light info inside the memory was a good start I guess.

Ah, gotcha! That's not exactly what I was thinking when global illumination was mentioned, but pretty cool none the less! Thanks a lot for clarifying it =)
User avatar
Steve Fallon
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:29 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:43 pm

I was thinking more about this, and an idea occurred to me. What if there was a way to specify a different NIF file for MGE to use in the distance for your object? Then if you had a big difference in the look due to the loss of the extra maps, you could make a different version that had a single texture that had all of the maps pre-mixed into a single base map that made it look more like the full quality version that has separate dark maps and such. I think this would be fairly easy to implement and would also let people create low-poly versions of NIF files to help improve the performance of distant rendering. I think the biggest question is whether people would actually use it, though.

Well, I know I would, but my mod is trying to make use of and really show-off MGE but I can't say for others I would honestly guess that they would not. They would rather have it simple I believe.
User avatar
Leonie Connor
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:18 pm

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:37 pm

Well, I know I would, but my mod is trying to make use of and really show-off MGE but I can't say for others I would honestly guess that they would not. They would rather have it simple I believe.

Well I took a look and sure enough if only took about 5 lines of code to implement it so I went ahead and did so =) The way it works is that you can put a NIF file in the same location as the original one with the same name except "_dist" is tacked on to the end before the extention.

So for example, there's a file called "Ex_imp_dragonstatue.nif" in the Data Files\Meshes\x folder that contains the dragon statue you see in Ebonheart. I found anther file in there that was this crazy huge Daedric tower thing. I made a copy of the file in the same folder where the original dragon statue NIF was and then renamed it to "Ex_imp_dragonstatue_dist.nif" Now in my game when I look at the dragon statue from far away it looks like there's a giant Daedric tower there instead =) And of course when I get closer it fades away to be replaced by the original dragon statue.

So you could use this to make optimized distant versions of your meshes, and other people could do things like release low res sets of meshes that you can just drop in your folder and MGE will pick them up instead of the non "_dist" version.

Not sure when it will be released, but it's committed to SVN =)
User avatar
Tanya Parra
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:15 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:50 pm

Well I took a look and sure enough if only took about 5 lines of code to implement it so I went ahead and did so =) The way it works is that you can put a NIF file in the same location as the original one with the same name except "_dist" is tacked on to the end before the extention.

So for example, there's a file called "Ex_imp_dragonstatue.nif" in the Data Files\Meshes\x folder that contains the dragon statue you see in Ebonheart. I found anther file in there that was this crazy huge Daedric tower thing. I made a copy of the file in the same folder where the original dragon statue NIF was and then renamed it to "Ex_imp_dragonstatue_dist.nif" Now in my game when I look at the dragon statue from far away it looks like there's a giant Daedric tower there instead =) And of course when I get closer it fades away to be replaced by the original dragon statue.

So you could use this to make optimized distant versions of your meshes, and other people could do things like release low res sets of meshes that you can just drop in your folder and MGE will pick them up instead of the non "_dist" version.

Not sure when it will be released, but it's committed to SVN =)

Excellent work Liztail =) And a personal thank you. I will see if I can put this to good use, maybe I can find other uses for it as well, think, think.
User avatar
meg knight
 
Posts: 3463
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:20 am

Post » Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:32 am

Great to see you dabbling with MGE again, LizTail! :)

Anyway, my GPU is http://www.amd.com/uk/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-4000/hd-4870/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-4870-specifications.aspx and for gaming I use Windows XP. That covers all of the poll questions...
User avatar
Josee Leach
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:50 pm

Post » Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:10 am

SM5.0 DX11 Win7 x64 Radeon HD 5870.

Can't wait to see what comes of this.
User avatar
rae.x
 
Posts: 3326
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:13 pm

Post » Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:53 am

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600)
Intel® Core™ 2 Quad CPU Q8300 @ 2.50GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
ATI Radeon HD 5770
8192MB RAM

Which would mean, if I'm correct, Shader Model 5.0 and DX11. Thanks for the great work and continued support on MGE! :foodndrink:
User avatar
Louise Andrew
 
Posts: 3333
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 8:01 am

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:51 pm

Long time lurker here. I've enjoyed MGE greatly and would be happy to help out by contributing information to the survey. :)

I recently ordered a Radeon HD 5850 so I should be making use of it, hopefully, very soon.


Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Intel Core i7 920
ATI Radeon HD 5850 DX11 SM5.0


Thank you for all the hard work!
User avatar
Sxc-Mary
 
Posts: 3536
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:53 pm

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:33 pm

Thanks again to everyone who answered the survey! This information has been really helpful =)
User avatar
leni
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:58 pm

Post » Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:25 pm

System A:
XP Home x86 and 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Celeron x64 3.5 GHz, 3 gb RAM
Radeon HD 2400 Pro, AGP (512mb), DirectX 10 & SM 4.0 (some tools report it as a DX 10.1 card, it's a VisionTek and every card I've ever gotten from them (~8 Radeons) are above specs)

System B:
XP Pro x86 (soon to upgrade to 7x64)
AMD Phenom 2 x64, 3.1 GHz/4 cores, 4 gb RAM
Radeon HD 4350, PCIe (1 gig), DX 10.1
User avatar
Cartoon
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:31 pm

Previous

Return to III - Morrowind