[Relz/Beta] MiniMap - HUD Element

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:43 pm

Hmm, not exactly what I had hoped. Could you check two quick things? First a script variable: MiniMap.bToggleLOD. Second are two XML value, you can get it by typing this in the console: set MiniMapDebug to GetMenuFloatValue "_minimap\_screen_ratio" 1004 and set MiniMapDebug to GetMenuFloatValue "_minimap\_grid_size" 1004

[edit]
Wait a minute, you say your resolution is currently 1152x864? But that's not a widescreen ratio, right? :unsure:
[/edit]


I can't check them just now because I'm not at my PC, but I'll do it ASAP. No, it's not a WS resolution, but the montior itself is. I've been flicking through my resolutions, hence the chance from a WS to a non-WS-- I've had no luck with any of them :(
User avatar
Marion Geneste
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:21 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Here ya goes.

1680x1050 (16:10)

MiniMap.bToggleLOD = 1
screen ratio = 1.6
grid size = 257.33

http://img38.imageshack.us/i/16801050one.png/

http://img9.imageshack.us/i/16801050two.png/

http://img9.imageshack.us/i/16801050three.png/

No crashing on my end, just graphical glitches
User avatar
Anthony Santillan
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:42 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:24 pm

Here ya goes.

1680x1050 (16:10)

MiniMap.bToggleLOD = 1
screen ratio = 1.6
grid size = 257.33

http://img38.imageshack.us/i/16801050one.png/

http://img9.imageshack.us/i/16801050two.png/

http://img9.imageshack.us/i/16801050three.png/

No crashing on my end, just graphical glitches
Ok, I've uploaded a new test version. Don't be alarmed by the lack of MiniMap, I've disabled every grid except the center one. I've also removed the cropping traits, best case scenario there is no stretching. Worst case scenario, it still stretches (I most certainly hope it is the former).
User avatar
michael flanigan
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:33 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 12:30 pm

No stretching on the new upload, looks perfect

http://img21.imageshack.us/i/half1c.png/

http://img196.imageshack.us/i/half2.png/
User avatar
Dragonz Dancer
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 11:01 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:12 pm

No stretching on the new upload, looks perfect

http://img21.imageshack.us/i/half1c.png/

http://img196.imageshack.us/i/half2.png/
Ok, atleast we're making progress. :) I've uploaded yet another test file. This time with all grids visible, I expect some overlap/misalignment but I could be mistaken. Also, there are two things I'd like you to check:
Set MiniMapDebug to GetMenuFloatValue "_minimap\_test_x" 1004
Set MiniMapDebug to GetMenuFloatValue "_minimap\_test_y" 1004
These two values corrospond to the cropx/y of the screen itself. I suspect they are different for widescreen users, heck, maybe even different for the more unusual resolutions (like 1152x864). If that is the case then I have a decent idea on how to fix it. Hope to hear good news. :)
User avatar
Roberta Obrien
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:43 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:19 pm

Both values are 20

There's no stretching at all now, just slight misalignment!
User avatar
Richard
 
Posts: 3371
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 2:50 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 11:55 am

Yup, all thanks to you. Without your interfering it would still be sitting on my harddrive, waiting to be released. :P As for ModWaterShader, again thank you, the info Scanti posted in the OBSE thread has been a big help. I now change the Amplitude setting of the water to 0, this results in smooth water textures, there can still be a bit of color difference between two grids but atleast now it won't be all http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l243/Kyoparadox/ScreenShot9-1.jpg?t=1249287178 for textures that have been generated during a sunny day.
:intergalactic: Super !
User avatar
Naomi Ward
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:37 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 11:45 am

I've uploaded a new version. This time I've made all the minor positioning values configurable in the ini. This should hopefully help me determine what values they should have for people that experience the stretching.

[edit]
Wait a second! I just tried out a resolution of 1280x1024 and I was able to reproduce the problem! Finally! Now I'm still a bit confused as to why 1024x768 works without problems and 1280x1024 doesn't. It's the same ratio. Awell, it must be something like that only the width affects the problem and thus widescreen users are more likely to be affected.

Atleast now I can properly test potential fixes. :)
[/edit]

[edit2]
Small update for those reading this thread. I think I finally discovered the true cause of the stretching/misalignment problems and turns out it wasn't caused by widescreen itself. Instead it happened when the width of the screen was different than 1024 (at which I always play) or 800 (no idea why taht works without problems while other resolutions didn't with the default values).

In a way it makes sense the width of the screen messes things up, cause when you have a widescreen resolution it simply stretches the screen. And since the precise values were discovered through alot of trial-and-error on a 1024x768 resolution. Hence the couple of reports by users with a 1280x1024 resolution that also got the stretching (cause the width is different). I just tested it with default values on 640x480 and I got a screwed up MiniMap.
[/edit2]

-kyoma
User avatar
Kelsey Anna Farley
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:33 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:45 pm

Wait a second! I just tried out a resolution of 1280x1024 and I was able to reproduce the problem! Finally! Now I'm still a bit confused as to why 1024x768 works without problems and 1280x1024 doesn't. It's the same ratio.


Nope, different ratios. 1024x768 is a 4:3 ratio. 1280x1024 is a 5:4 ratio. ;)

In a way it makes sense the width of the screen messes things up, cause when you have a widescreen resolution it simply stretches the screen.


Depends on the game. In Oblivion, and virtually any other game released in the last 3-ish years (with some exceptions), the screen doesn't stretch - the display is either expanded horizontally (ideally) or cut off vertically (not good). Oblivion expands horizontally, increasing the viewable area.

But you definitely need to take the aspect ratio into account in a mod like this. You have it working for 4:3 from what I understand, and just need to adjust it for the other popular aspect ratios - 5:4, 16:10, and 16:9. They're all going to require different tweaking.
User avatar
Jerry Cox
 
Posts: 3409
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:21 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:19 am

Nope, different ratios. 1024x768 is a 4:3 ratio. 1280x1024 is a 5:4 ratio. ;)
Oh yea, you're right. :facepalm:

But you definitely need to take the aspect ratio into account in a mod like this. You have it working for 4:3 from what I understand, and just need to adjust it for the other popular aspect ratios - 5:4, 16:10, and 16:9. They're all going to require different tweaking.
Well so far I got a list of resolutions and which setting to use accordingly. There doesn't appear to be a clear system to it, then again, I might just be overlooking the obvious. I'll post it in a while, maybe you can make some sense of it.

This is what I mean, on the left the resolutions and on the right the needed 'screen width' to make everything line up properly (for the calculations, it doesn't matter what resolution you got, as long as the 'fake width' is of a matching value). If I had to guess I'd say it is more related to which Menus folder is used (Menus -> 1280, Menus80 -> 1024 and Menus50 -> 640).

1280x960	->		12801280x800	->		12801280x768	->		10241280x720	->		10241152x864	->		12801024x768	->		1024848x480	->		640800x600	->		1024720x480	->		640

-kyoma
User avatar
BlackaneseB
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 1:21 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:10 am

Well, I installed it. Playing at 1680x1050 (16:10 ratio), and using these INI settings, recommended in the documentation:


set MiniMap.iBaseGrid to 195set MiniMap.iBaseCropX to 20set MiniMap.iBaseCropY to 20set MiniMap.iBaseOffsetX to -15set MiniMap.iBaseOffsetY to -2


http://luchaire.gamersoasis.net/Oblivion/mm1.jpg :)

This will now be on my "must have" mod list. ;)
User avatar
Tamara Primo
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:15 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:23 am

Well, I installed it. Playing at 1680x1050 (16:10 ratio), and using these INI settings, recommended in the documentation:


set MiniMap.iBaseGrid to 195set MiniMap.iBaseCropX to 20set MiniMap.iBaseCropY to 20set MiniMap.iBaseOffsetX to -15set MiniMap.iBaseOffsetY to -2


http://luchaire.gamersoasis.net/Oblivion/mm1.jpg :)

This will now be on my "must have" mod list. ;)

Actually if you look closely you'll see it isn't lined up completely at the borders. But that should be fixed in the next version. :)
User avatar
Liii BLATES
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 10:41 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:12 pm

You mean the doors overlapping the frame?
User avatar
teeny
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:51 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:49 am

You mean the doors overlapping the frame?

Nope, the bridge in the upper right corner.
User avatar
Craig Martin
 
Posts: 3395
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:25 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:09 am

Kyoma, I might have missed it in the .ini, but could we get an option to hide the Map Zoom info? Just a small personal thing, so not necessary if it's a lot of coding.

Goodnews/badnews: The map is working almost perfectly now :) The only issue is the Trees cutting off occasionally, which is a known bug :) Unfortunately, I'm still getting CTDs. I can't enter the IC Market district without the game crashing to Desktop :(
User avatar
benjamin corsini
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:32 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:06 pm

Kyoma, I might have missed it in the .ini, but could we get an option to hide the Map Zoom info? Just a small personal thing, so not necessary if it's a lot of coding.

Yea sure, it's just something I trew in at the last moment and due to the widescreen-issue I haven't had a chance to tweak those things yet. Easy as pie (no, not as cake, cause that would be a lie ;)).

Goodnews/badnews: The map is working almost perfectly now :) The only issue is the Trees cutting off occasionally, which is a known bug :) Unfortunately, I'm still getting CTDs. I can't enter the IC Market district without the game crashing to Desktop :(
Hmmm, not very good. Does it happen every time? Even when it shouldn't have to generate textures? :unsure: I think it's about time I re-add the debug code, it might be able to help determine if it crashes at a specific point.
User avatar
Dona BlackHeart
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:05 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:22 pm

Every time.

Looking at the console, I've also noticed a Script error of some kind (can't remember the exact wording, but something about it not being compiled because of a variable did not return correctly, or something similar... When I'm back at my PC, i'll get the exact wording).The Map seems to work fine despite this, but then the CTDs, don't know if it is related.
User avatar
Harry Leon
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:53 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 9:23 pm

Wow, this is massively impressive! Great work! :tops:
User avatar
Abi Emily
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:59 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:51 pm

kyoma: this looks great! I'm quite impressed with this. Scruggsy and I have been diving into the OLMP implementation and we've at least found where uGridsToLoad is used - I am not sure whether we can provide a function to use a different value and produce the maps, but we'll give it a try.
User avatar
Jennifer Munroe
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 12:57 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:31 am

Every time.

Looking at the console, I've also noticed a Script error of some kind (can't remember the exact wording, but something about it not being compiled because of a variable did not return correctly, or something similar... When I'm back at my PC, i'll get the exact wording).The Map seems to work fine despite this, but then the CTDs, don't know if it is related.
I just experienced a CTD myself when entering the IC Market District (well, I fast traveled, walked towards a new grid, CTD). Strange but atleast I can test things myself now. :shrug:

[edit]
A quick test by turning the bShowDoors setting off revealed the CTD comes from the door scanning code. Still not sure why it CTDs, maybe there is some sort of special door in the IC Market District which needs special handling.
[/edit]

-kyoma
User avatar
Donald Richards
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 3:59 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:27 pm

I just experienced a CTD myself when entering the IC Market District (well, I fast traveled, walked towards a new grid, CTD). Strange but atleast I can test things myself now. :shrug:

[edit]
A quick test by turning the bShowDoors setting off revealed the CTD comes from the door scanning code. Still not sure why it CTDs, maybe there is some sort of special door in the IC Market District which needs special handling.
[/edit]

-kyoma


Heh, I was just about to post that I had my first CTD with this mod in the same place. It happened as I was approaching the door that leads out of the market to the Imperial Isle. Possibly of related interest, none of the shop doors in the ICMarket (I use Better Cities btw) were showing on my minimap either.
User avatar
Breautiful
 
Posts: 3539
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 6:51 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:41 pm

Heh, I was just about to post that I had my first CTD with this mod in the same place. It happened as I was approaching the door that leads out of the market to the Imperial Isle. Possibly of related interest, none of the shop doors in the ICMarket (I use Better Cities btw) were showing on my minimap either.

The crash has been confirmed and I know the cause. It should be easy to fix since the function that causes the crash isn't needed anymore. As for the door icons, that is a bug on my end. Fixed in next version.
User avatar
Andy durkan
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:05 pm

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 2:38 pm

Version 0.6.0 is up. Critical update, should fix any and all stretching/overlapping/misaligning issues as long as you have the MiniMap.iScreenWidth set to the correct value. See the ini for better instructions. Also has several bug fixes, including one that causes a CTD when entering the IC Market District (possibly other locations as well).
User avatar
Camden Unglesbee
 
Posts: 3467
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 8:30 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 4:01 pm

Way to go! It's working brilliantly now :) 10/10!
User avatar
lucy chadwick
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:43 am

Post » Sun Aug 08, 2010 5:15 pm

Way to go! It's working brilliantly now :) 10/10!
Good to hear I didn't screw something up at the last minute. :P Btw, do you think http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/images/26220-1-1249466886.jpg is enough to explain the iScreenWidth setting?
User avatar
Lewis Morel
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:40 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion