Modify Commanded Actor Limit

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:27 pm

Hello I'm trying to make a very basic mod, that increases the amount of summons a conjurer can control via the conjuration perk tree. I have added the modify commanded actor limit to novice, apprentice, adept, expert, master, with a value set to 2, 4, 6, 8, 10. I had then tweaked twin souls to double the value.

In game with a point in novice, I am able to get the two summons. However when I select the perks I'm unable to go beyond that two limit. Ei. New summons despawn previous summons, I had been using atronachs / wrathman for testing and seems to be universal.

I wish to know where I need to go next in regards to tweaking this seemingly coded limit, I have searched through the spell lists over and over again trying to find a spell modification to the summon wrathman or any conjuration spell i nregards to a twin souls modification or even a limit in it's regards. I had tweaked gameplay settings imaxsummon I believe was the name and set that to 20 to see if it would do anything to no avail. If anyone has any knowledge where I should be going or doing it would be wonderfully appreciated.

Edit: Found out what is wrong, in order for this to work you cannot set value = http://forums.bethsoft.com/topic/1413981-modify-commanded-actor-limit/0.00 in regards to the modify commanded actor limit, if you do it permanently sets the limit to that and will not be changed regardless of added values or changed set values. By turning it all to Value = Value + #.00 I was able to increase the set value increment between the perks. I hope this helps others as well for those who are curious.
User avatar
Naomi Lastname
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:21 am

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:06 am

Perhaps SKSE's http://www.creationkit.com/SetGameSettingInt_-_Game:
Game.SetGameSettingInt("iMaxSummonedCreatures", iMaxSummons)
?

That one did it for Oblivion. If it works, keep in mind that the setting will revert to its normal value when the game closes and you'll have to http://www.creationkit.com/Complete_Example_Scripts#Maintenance.2Fupdate_code_which_runs_once_per_save_load_and_shows_a_message_when_a_mod_is_updated_or_first_loaded.
User avatar
Invasion's
 
Posts: 3546
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 6:09 pm

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:19 am

It is possible to do without SKSE.

Create a perk to modify Commanded Actor Value, mine is set to 10.
I have a condition on my Entry Point which points to a specific keyword "MagicSummonRodentSwarm"(This keyword is specific to my mod).

Next i have a spell which has 10 magic effects which all summon the same creature. Each effect has conditions on the spell. Only when the conditions are true does it allow the additional creatures to be summoned.

For example, when i am at level 19 and conjuration level 50, i can summon 5 Skeevers, however at level 49 and conjuration 100 i can summon 10 skeevers.

What you may need to do is to create a spell which combine all your summons into one, and use conditions on each effect which checks for the various perks.

I have only ever used this method for summoning multiple creatures of one type.
User avatar
sexy zara
 
Posts: 3268
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:53 am

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 8:36 am

Mainly for my own curiosity, i changed the dark souls perk to 4. I was able to summon 4 different types of creature, a familiar, flame atronach, storm atronach and a Dremora Lord.
Even modifying this to 10 allowed me to summon 10 creatures

I would suspect, you may have not set up the conditions correctly on your new perks.

Double click on the Perk Entry of Twin Souls, then click on the Spell tab. This will list the 5 conditions which twin souls have. These would be required on your perk entries.

If these are set up correctly, try changing your novice perk to a higher number, and only selecting that perk.

I'm wondering if a conflict occurs if you have more than one perk which modifies the commanded actor limit.

EDIT - Just another thought when you set up your entry points for the Commanded Actor Limit, did you use "Set Value" or "Add Value".
If you used Set Value, you may need to use "Add Value" instead.
User avatar
Andres Lechuga
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:47 pm

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:58 am

I'm fairly new to this and going sort of deep for a first try, trying to muscle my way into mod creating, so I'm looking for basic stuff that i recognize and can tweak etc. Where exactly is the spell tab in regards to Twin Souls, and the 5 conditions, assuming I'm in the right spot: Actors > perk > twin souls. The conditions I see are Getbaseactorvalue conjuration 100 AND perk dark souls or elemental potency. Thank you for the replies so far. If there is any place in particular in regards to your method of multiple summons as via a tutorial etc. i would be really thankful. I don't want to mess up base spells or mess with and potentially break them ingame. I will let you know what happens with the value set to 5 via novice.

Well it seems that when I put the perk in novice to 5 it will allow me to summon 5 boneman. Should I change the value action in the other perks to add value = http://forums.bethsoft.com/topic/1413981-modify-commanded-actor-limit/value + 0.00? - Scratch that I'll try and see what happens.

Tried still defaults to 2, it seems that value doesn't want to be modified again after the value is set. I had it originally as set value = http://forums.bethsoft.com/topic/1413981-modify-commanded-actor-limit/#.00 then twin was multiply value by 2.00 when I did the add values to all but the novice skill using the novice skill to set it at 2, then adding... hmm going to try and turn that to add value and see what happens.


Final Edit: Found out what is wrong, in order for this to work you cannot set value = http://forums.bethsoft.com/topic/1413981-modify-commanded-actor-limit/0.00 in regards to the modify commanded actor limit, if you do it permanently sets the limit to that and will not be changed regardless of added values or changed set values. By turning it all to Value = Value + #.00 I was able to increase the set value increment between the perks. I hope this helps others as well for those who are curious.
User avatar
KRistina Karlsson
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:22 pm

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:38 pm

Underneath those 3 conditions you list within Twin Souls, is the perk entry Modify Commanded Actor Limit.
Either double-left click (or right click, then select edit) on the entry.

This will bring up a new box. It will have 2 tabs - Perk Owner and Spell.
Click the Spell Tab.
You will then see the five conditions which i mentioned before.
User avatar
Sabrina Steige
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:51 pm

Post » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:47 pm

I see it and thank you.
User avatar
Adrian Morales
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:19 am


Return to V - Skyrim