Oblivion Graphics Extender, Thread 13

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:47 pm

It's probably somewhere on the way between compiled code and machine language (assembler?) that stuff gets messed up. I don't think it's much we can do about that; it's in the drivers all that happens.
User avatar
Solène We
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 7:04 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:23 pm

OK, I fixed the search light effect. Now it looks... even more amazing, if you can believe it. :P After that, I sensed a performance hit, but I'm not sure of that. Interestingly, ray passes are being more close to each other now. After that I decreased the passes from 64 to 32. :D Big performance increase and still looks good!!! But presets are broken in the process. Now I have to recalibrate the presets, it is harder than you think.

Now, I have awful if codes inside the lightshaft code, like 10 of these:
	if ( hour > (endsunrise - 2) && hour < endsunrise + 1 )	{		//float trans1 = clamp(min, 0,1);		Exposure = lerp (morningshaftex, noonshaftex, float(min / 59));		Decay = lerp (goldendecay, noondecay, float(min / 59));		saturatex = lerp (goldensaturate, noonsaturate, float(min / 59));	}


Now, how am I gonna take them out? If I can take them out, I may able to reduce the passes to my target 8 with some texture scaling and cheap blurring. I may end up with a SM 2.0 performance shader.

1. Move to an Oblivion script? (I don't know if I can write one, and I'm not sure about the script-shader variable updating performance)
2. Move to vertex shader? (that I can do, if I know how) A float3 output that can be read in pixel shader can do the job.
3. ?

Some insight please?
User avatar
Emily Jeffs
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:27 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 2:07 pm

@vtastek:
I am not entirely sure if I understand what you try to do here.

What I think you mean is:
You want to make sun shaft intensity based on time of day.

If so then I think only 1 line of code is needed.

Back in the old days, when the first plan for god rays was made, I made an EXEL sheet with all kinds of calculations to find the sun position in the sky based on time of day. Sins we did not know the game commands for that at that time.

If I am correct then you only need the following values from the game to make it work.

* Time sun rise
* Time sun set
* Time of day

* Variables
(to get some more options going)

All I need to get some code worked out are all the conditions, variables and variable ranges you like to see in sun shaft intensity based on time of day.

EDIT:
Exposure, Decay, Satururation would have its own line of code I think.
User avatar
Shelby McDonald
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:29 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:18 am

Hey there,

ScreenEffects includes Obge(a very old version) in the download.
I am guessing that it still works with the latest Obgev2 release?
User avatar
Emmanuel Morales
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 2:03 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 10:16 am

Yes I think it should work, but make sure you do not use the old OBGE.DLL file.

OBGEv2.DLL replaces the old OBGE.DLL file.
User avatar
Monique Cameron
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:30 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:39 am

Yes I think it should work, but make sure you do not use the old OBGE.DLL file.

OBGEv2.DLL replaces the old OBGE.DLL file.

Great, I'll let you know when it doesn't.:)
User avatar
Sammygirl500
 
Posts: 3511
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 4:46 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:45 pm

@vtastek:
I am not entirely sure if I understand what you try to do here.

What I think you mean is:
You want to make sun shaft intensity based on time of day.
..................

All I need to get some code worked out are all the conditions, variables and variable ranges you like to see in sun shaft intensity based on time of day.

EDIT:
Exposure, Decay, Satururation would have its own line of code I think.

I'm not the best programmer in the world. :D I created 4 timezones, morning(2 ifs, 1 for transition), evening(2 ifs, one for transition), night(2 ifs, one for past midnight), noon(1 if). I'm sure it can be optimized.(You can see the ifs, inside the godrays.fx, open with notepad)

Shaders are a little different from traditional programs. It is working nice though, the transitions are only active 2 hours in a day, that maybe a good idea for performance, I'm not sure.

But right now, what I need is to extract them out of pixel shader. Preferably to vertex shader.

I've read that constants are not good for compilers.

color = color + 0.5;


Is it good practice to move constants into a float4 consparams.xyzw. I have sunrise sunset start end times in 4 floats, is moving them into a float4, a good idea? What can I look for reducing instructions.(Maybe I can end up with a SM 2.0 shader.)

Spoiler

beta testing needed
godrays v4.3a - the new and improved Bobbi Anderson version :P
edit: Ooops, forgot the link:
http://www.4shared.com/file/259033971/45e98bc1/Godrays43alpha.html

compare it to v4 for
quality,
intensity,
overall look,
performance,
test searchlight effect:
is FOV working correctly?

Thanks for testers in advance.
Also upload some new videos. I wanna see how it looks beside mine.(and hopefully new videos will override the old buggy ones) :)

^^^^^^^^^^
User avatar
Amysaurusrex
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:45 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:14 pm

I was supposed to take a break from Oblivion for a while, but that darn vtastek with his new godrays refuses me to do that :P

The new version looks absolutely breathtaking:

- http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/9283/25773889.png
- http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/4200/50005188.png
- http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/1238/80915415.png
User avatar
Tina Tupou
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:37 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 3:44 pm

I was supposed to take a break from Oblivion for a while, but that darn vtastek with his new godrays refuses me to do that :P

The new version looks absolutely breathtaking:

- http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/9283/25773889.png
- http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/4200/50005188.png
- http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/1238/80915415.png

I think ray slices are a little visible. But some blurring there may fix it.(or increasing number of passes)

What do you think of ray's length? It is more like crysis rays length now.

PS. What's going on there in third pic? :P
User avatar
Leonie Connor
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:18 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:13 pm


What do you think of ray's length? It is more like crysis rays length now.




I think you nailed it :goodjob:
Great work vtastek
User avatar
Zosia Cetnar
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:35 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:42 pm

well I went ahead and downloaded it. The idea of a more visually enhanced Oblivion sounded awesome...but I am having troubles making it work.
I downloaded all the stuff needed, I even have the key in my inventory, I set all the values to my liking...erm...well, a lot of it I had no idea what I was setting, so I just made a guess, nonetheless, I held shift down and activated each one (it even says "toggle on" in the console) but...but nothing changed...

I have read over the readme a few times hoping I might find some help, but sadly no, so, might any one here know what could fix this?
User avatar
Angel Torres
 
Posts: 3553
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:08 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 8:08 pm

well I went ahead and downloaded it. The idea of a more visually enhanced Oblivion sounded awesome...but I am having troubles making it work.
I downloaded all the stuff needed, I even have the key in my inventory, I set all the values to my liking...erm...well, a lot of it I had no idea what I was setting, so I just made a guess, nonetheless, I held shift down and activated each one (it even says "toggle on" in the console) but...but nothing changed...

I have read over the readme a few times hoping I might find some help, but sadly no, so, might any one here know what could fix this?


Same here everything works except for God Rays and DoF. Ive read the readme 3 times and I cant get God Rays and Dof to work. Can anyone help out?

EDIT: I have 2 5870 graphics cards (if it matters)
User avatar
m Gardner
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:08 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:30 pm

Does anyone who's not experiencing DoF and Godrays run an nVidia card? I don't use either effect because the time I tried them out, they didn't do anything, and I haven't worried about it since, but some of you've been mentioning some ATI specific shader thingie... I've an ATI card, so maybe that's why they're not working for me :shrug:
User avatar
Elisha KIng
 
Posts: 3285
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 12:18 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:47 pm

Lot's of ATI cards mentioned that Godrays shader is not working for them. Scanti found out some changes that may help ATI cards, after that:

One user reported the fix worked for him/her, an ATI card user.

One other reported that shaders were working for him/her in previous version of OGE.

The changes are also in the link in my above post.

So not all ATI cards are affected, only some.
User avatar
Nicholas C
 
Posts: 3489
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:20 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 10:58 am

well my graphics card should have no problem running any sort of graphical....anything (to Oblivion standards atleast)
I have a nVidia Galaxy GeForce 9500 (1GB)

I don't think its the graphics card that is preventing things from showing up, I think I might have settings wrong. Is there anyone running this mod just fine who wouldn't mind posting their settings so I can have an example to see if my settings are set right?
User avatar
Ludivine Dupuy
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:51 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 8:01 am

I noticed DOF and GodShader stopped working with the latest versions and the latest OBGE versions as well. I'm using Nvidia GTX285.
I'll double check my install etc...

EDIT - Got GodRays working by adding the .fx file name to my shaderlist.txt file. Guess I thought this .txt file was no longer needed since the support plugin came out. Still working on DOF though.
User avatar
Becky Palmer
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:43 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 12:35 pm

well I played around with settings, setting saturation to arbitrarily large number, and other settings with similar ideas to see if there were any changes and...sadly no, there were no changes. I don't think I am doing something right with the mod...perhaps a little explanation on the .ini file, I guess...
User avatar
Sophie Payne
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:49 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:59 pm

after a break from Oblivion I'm comming back to update this and see changes that remind me of MGE.

Namely the d3dx9_31.dll & d3dx9_41.dll files. I read through the readme and they are only described in debugging:
Q: ScreenEffects/Realistic Health/OVEP Motion Blur/OVEP Forward Motion Blur or setting bUseLegacyCompiler to 1 causes
OBGEv2 to crash. How do I fix this?
A: If your shader uses the half variable type then OBGEv2 will try to use the legacy compiler. If you are missing the
d3dx9_31.dll file then OBGEv2 will crash. You will need to copy over the d3dx9_31.dll from the extras folder into your
Oblivion game folder to fix the problem.
So are these required files or not? If so then do they go in the main Oblivion directory or remain in the extra folder in the main Oblivion directory.

More info in the readme would be great on this.

then if godrays is broken - should I install the older version?

thanks
User avatar
FABIAN RUIZ
 
Posts: 3495
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 11:13 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 5:12 pm

In my view, I feel that this support plugin is the wrong choice. A GUI with effects to select full screen shaders before starting oblivion will be much better (like MGE.) To make it simply, we could develop just an exe program that generates a shaderlist.txt file after you choose what goes into it. Im sure this would require a lot of work but it will save people a plugin spot and you don't have to worry about updating your shader everytime the plugin gets a new feature. Just my thoughts.

Everything works good with version two. I just have the shader.txt file and everything in that loads on start. So if people are running into problems, they could try to dumb back to version two.
User avatar
lauraa
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:20 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 4:13 pm

In my view, I feel that this support plugin is the wrong choice. A GUI with effects to select full screen shaders before starting oblivion will be much better (like MGE.) To make it simply, we could develop just an exe program that generates a shaderlist.txt file after you choose what goes into it. Im sure this would require a lot of work but it will save people a plugin spot and you don't have to worry about updating your shader everytime the plugin gets a new feature. Just my thoughts.

Everything works good with version two. I just have the shader.txt file and everything in that loads on start. So if people are running into problems, they could try to dumb back to version two.


I think that program is a brilliant idea, because obviously I am not doing things right for this mod because it will not work, even though the console is telling me I am.
User avatar
Shannon Marie Jones
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 3:19 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 8:39 pm

In my view, I feel that this support plugin is the wrong choice. A GUI with effects to select full screen shaders before starting oblivion will be much better (like MGE.) To make it simply, we could develop just an exe program that generates a shaderlist.txt file after you choose what goes into it. Im sure this would require a lot of work but it will save people a plugin spot and you don't have to worry about updating your shader everytime the plugin gets a new feature. Just my thoughts.
...


I never like to suggest even more work to be done, but this is a brilliant idea. Anything to make it more like MGE (which I adore).
User avatar
mike
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:51 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 9:10 am

However, I feel that you still need plugin if you want to change any parameter of shader on-the-fly while in game, especially the shader is like color effect.
User avatar
Joey Bel
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:44 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 6:45 pm

However, I feel that you still need plugin if you want to change any parameter of shader on-the-fly while in game, especially the shader is like color effect.

Could I get any help with my problems?
I don't understand what values should be what.
could you post your value list (if it's working for you) here? I just want strong DoF and a strong, thick, black outline (similar to Boarderlands, as stated in the description)
User avatar
adame
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:57 am

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 11:23 am

New godrays is totally ballin'

http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/971/godchapel003.jpg http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/9819/godchapel002.jpg

I noticed that when I tweaked the goldenhourrays parameter, the rays because all slicey and black squares were flickering in them. So I just tweaked it to 1.0 and I doubled the sampling size to 64 over 32. A small 2-3 fps hit but it smoothed the rays out.
User avatar
Adrian Powers
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:44 pm

Post » Fri May 13, 2011 7:22 am

RE: DoF not working on ATI cards:

I'm running an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650 myself, and the latest version of DoF (and Godrays) works fine for me. I'm using the 9.12 drivers ATM, and this is all with latest release of OBGEv2. I'm not sure why it's not working for some people, all that I can think of is that perhaps the wrong defaults are being applied, else it could be a problem with OBGEv2 itself.

Could someone experiencing problems with DoF please check the top of their shader file with this, to make sure you've got the right variables:

Spoiler
/* Depth Of Field Effect by WrinklyNinja. Release Version 6.To Do:- Time based blur changes.- get example values for focus points in different senarios.*///TWEAKABLE VARIABLES.extern bool DoDistanceBlur = false; //If true, reduces DoF to a distance blurring effect, ie. things far away are blurred more than things close up.extern bool DoWeaponBlur = true; //If false, anything really close to you, like your weapon, will not be blurred no matter where your focus is.extern float DoFAmount = 7;//The maximum level of blur. A higher value will give you more blur.extern float FullFocusRange = 0.1; //If a point's depth is within +/- this value of the depth of the focus point, then it is not blurred.extern float NoFocusRange = 0.4; //If a point's depth is outwith +/- this value of the depth of the focus point, then it has the maximum level of blur applied to it.extern float DepthPower = 0.05; /*Controls the linearity of depth. Higher values will stretch it out more, so you can get the range spread further into the distance that you see in game.Suggested Values:Normal DoF: 19Distance Blur: 5001 HawkleyFox method: 0.05*/extern float2 FocusPoint = float2(0.5,0.5);/*The point on the screen which the shader uses as the focus during normal operation. Example values:General 1st person: (0.5,0.5)Blocking 1st person: (0.5,0.3) *///END OF TWEAKABLE VARIABLES.

User avatar
Natasha Biss
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:47 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion