OGE "Oblivion Graphics Extender"

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:20 pm

Just a quick post to say I'm still alive and working on the project. I had quite a severe bout of food poisoning so I really wasn't in the mood to do anything. I'm not up to date on the thread so I'll give it a read through later. I'm still not 100% better, I've only managed to eat a bowl of soup in the last 3 days. I'm just going to try to eat some solids now. Wish me luck. (Whoever says being food poisoned is the easiest way to lose weight is lying. It's the worse possible way I can think of).

I'm half way through the save/load routines. They are a bit tricky because it's something I have to get right first time. (I don't want future versions of the plug-in have to decode between several different versions of the save file format). So I have to think ahead a bit as well.
My condolences and best regards, mate :cake: But bear with me please, have you any ideas on the save record format ? Or are you yet to think of one ?
User avatar
Marta Wolko
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:51 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:58 pm

Better to just set the compatibility flag to the compile call.


Changing half variables to floats worked as per wrinklyninja's suggestion. Thanks wrinklyninja! I'd have tried your method too if I'd have known what you meant. Is one method better than the other performance/bug/other wise?
User avatar
Jon O
 
Posts: 3270
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 9:48 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:30 pm

Changing half variables to floats worked as per wrinklyninja's suggestion. Thanks wrinklyninja! I'd have tried your method too if I'd have known what you meant. Is one method better than the other performance/bug/other wise?
Setting the flag will remove the need to modify the shader file after each install.
User avatar
A Lo RIkIton'ton
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:22 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 12:03 am

Sadly OBGEv2 disables antialiasing for me, only just noticed. I'm only using old OBGE mods (Ambient Dungeons, Motion Blur and Move Forward Blur) so am using the obge packaged with motion blur and it works fine. Will keep an eye on development here tho.
User avatar
josh evans
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 1:37 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:33 pm

I would like to make use of the plugins you guys have done, however it's not clear what kind of performance hit there is. I just don't want to turn my borderline slide show into a still image :)
User avatar
Mélida Brunet
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:45 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:46 pm

I would like to make use of the plugins you guys have done, however it's not clear what kind of performance hit there is. I just don't want to turn my borderline slide show into a still image :)

The only thing you'll take a hit from is SSAO; everything else doesn't really do much to performance.
User avatar
IsAiah AkA figgy
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:43 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:08 am

Good to know :)
User avatar
Alexxxxxx
 
Posts: 3417
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:55 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:17 pm

Do you think it would be possible to implement a fake form of AA? Some games, like S.T.A.L.K.E.R., have a built in mechanic where you can implement a blur shader that acts as AA, since AA is not able to be used in it, which masks the jaggedness of edges without AA. That way, I guess it could be a temporary solution to the problem of not being able to use AA with OGE, and it could be a solution for those who wish to smooth the edges of objects while using HDR.

Just a question.
User avatar
Javaun Thompson
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:28 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:55 pm

Unfortunately the SSAO shader is not the most optimized; and seeing as you've already applied the fix, you've basically done all you can do. At this I'd simply wait for a newer, more well optimized release.

Actually, it's as optimized as I can get it until more scene information is made available. The surface normals will go a long way towards getting something that is half way decent performance wise, as well as the directional occlusion stuff everyone has been interested in. Most of the GPU power is going into extrapolating what the surface is doing, trying to replace the information the surface normals would have provided outright.

...but we won't see the normals for a while, I'm sensing.

I wasn't able to come up with any ways of getting any better performance out of the shader as it is now, but any one of you is free to try and optimize it yourself, or even just throw out some ideas. If something plausible comes about, I'd be happy to try it out.
User avatar
matt oneil
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:54 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:17 pm

Do you think it would be possible to implement a fake form of AA? Some games, like S.T.A.L.K.E.R., have a built in mechanic where you can implement a blur shader that acts as AA, since AA is not able to be used in it, which masks the jaggedness of edges without AA. That way, I guess it could be a temporary solution to the problem of not being able to use AA with OGE, and it could be a solution for those who wish to smooth the edges of objects while using HDR.

Just a question.
I added edgeAA to the edge detection shader yesterday.
User avatar
Samantha Jane Adams
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:00 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:21 pm

I`m glad that you stop by Scanti, hope you get better soon :wave:
Good luck with the save/load routines.

shadeMe, I was planning to reduce the pinkness level in your colormood.fx file and maybe add a little earth color (brow,red,orange), but I have no idea how to do it.
Could you please guide me on how to ? :angel:
User avatar
Andres Lechuga
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 8:47 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:52 am

shadeMe, I was planning to reduce the pinkness level in your colormood.fx file and maybe add a little earth color (brow,red,orange), but I have no idea how to do it.
Could you please guide me on how to ? :angel:
Do you have the latest version ? I added a few more comments after the first upload. In any case, you'll need to change the moodR/G/B variable(s)' values. R = Red component of the filter, G and B = Green and blue components respectively. An orange palette should be essentially have the following values :
const float fRatio = 0.25;	// blend ratio (0-1)const float moodR = 0.50;	// mood color red componentconst float moodG = 0.35;	// mood color green componentconst float moodB = 0.2;	// mood color blue component

User avatar
Lizbeth Ruiz
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:35 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:13 pm

Thank you for your quick replay shadeMe :icecream:
User avatar
Claire Mclaughlin
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:55 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:22 pm

I added edgeAA to the edge detection shader yesterday.
Ha. I didn't even notice that it had that feature with it. All I could tell it could do from the screen shots was make Oblivion look more Borderlands-ish. Thanks for telling me that. :tops:
User avatar
Tiffany Carter
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:05 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:46 am

Tested out the values you add, liked it a lot, thank`s shadeMe :foodndrink:
User avatar
Ebony Lawson
 
Posts: 3504
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:00 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:29 pm

What is the order that the fx are supposed to be listed in shaderlist.txt,

on first page never mind me..

No sense in making new post

I added edgeAA to the edge detection shader yesterday.


Thank you for edge detection

almost has good looking has ATI AA and Edge Detect ..Far are Stuff in particular, and mid range stuff.

Here is some pics of your Edge Detection AA at work..Nice

http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p305/corepc/ScreenShot544.jpg

http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p305/corepc/ScreenShot545.jpg
User avatar
Emily Rose
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:56 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:53 am

I'm trying to get my head around this vertex shader stuff, got a couple of questions:

1. Can you have a shader with only a vertex shader part to it, or does there always need to be a pixel shader?

2. The pixel shader is run after the vertex shader, but does that run off the changes made by the vertex shader, or just from the original frame?

Thanks in advance for answers. :)

EDIT: Oh, and if someone could give me example code of a vertex colour change, and the same thing, but using the pixel shader, that'd be great. I understand pixel shader, but vertex is new to me. :(
User avatar
IM NOT EASY
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:48 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:51 pm

Vertex processing can be further subdivided into a few major blocks of processing: notably, transformation, lighting, and to a limited extent, texture coordinate transformation. Transformation involves taking position data as it's stored in a vertex structure and transforming it into a 'screenspace' position. 'Screenspace' refers to the 2D plane that represents the viewer's window onto the world. If you like, it's the front of the monitor in the real world, and the viewer's position in the game world.

The pixel rasterizer will take all of the information passed through from the vertex processor and compute a final pixel color, based on these values. A basic example of its usage might be to take the diffuse color and multiply it with the texture color (using the texture coordinates to retrieve a color from the current texture).

Here's a sample of a single vertex shader:

Technique T0{	Pass P0	{		VertexShader = decl    		{			stream 0;			float v0[4]; // Position RH			float v7[2]; // Texture Coord1			float v8[2]; // Texture Coord2			float v9[2]; // Texture Coord3			float v10[2]; // Texture Coord4			float v11[2]; // Texture Coord5			float v12[2]; // Texture Coord6    		} asm {			vs.1.1			def c0,1,1,0,0			def c1,2,2,1,1			sge r0.xzw,v0,c0			slt r0.y,v0,c0			mul r0,r0,c1			sub r0,r0,c0			mov oPos,r0			mov oT0,v7		};	}}

User avatar
Danielle Brown
 
Posts: 3380
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:03 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:37 pm

Sorry, I don't speak ASM. HLSL for me. :D Though the bit about the rasteriser was what I wanted to know for my second question, thanks.

EDIT: I had a look at the MGE shaders, only VShader2.fx is an HLSL vertex shader, and I tried following it's example, but no matter what, when I set the PixelShader = NULL; the screen will be solid white (minus HUD of course). Anyone know why?
User avatar
Marine Arrègle
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:19 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:50 pm

As of sunday, 01/09/10 at 11:17 PM, Scanti's Latest Test http://dl.dropbox.com/u/519253/OBGEv2.dll - USE AT YOUR OWN RISK.
To load shaders, simply use the LoadShader "" command in the console menu. (also allows for use of selective shaders, instead of all at once)


I feel dumb asking this...but what is the command to turn the shaders off?
User avatar
Heather Dawson
 
Posts: 3348
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 4:14 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:21 pm

As far as I know, there is none, yet.
User avatar
Stacey Mason
 
Posts: 3350
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:18 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:18 pm

I'm not sure there is one that you can use from the console. There's RemoveFullScreenShader, but that requires the output of LoadShader to run, which you can get using the console, unless you assign it to some random quest variable, which is a pretty bad idea.
User avatar
Sharra Llenos
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:09 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:13 pm

Ha. I didn't even notice that it had that feature with it. All I could tell it could do from the screen shots was make Oblivion look more Borderlands-ish. Thanks for telling me that. :tops:
The edgeAA screenshots haven't been included in the OP.


What is the order that the fx are supposed to be listed in shaderlist.txt,

on first page never mind me..

No sense in making new post



Thank you for edge detection

almost has good looking has ATI AA and Edge Detect ..Far are Stuff in particular, and mid range stuff.

Here is some pics of your Edge Detection AA at work..Nice

http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p305/corepc/ScreenShot544.jpg

http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p305/corepc/ScreenShot545.jpg
It just creates the illusion of AA, unlike ATi's edge detection AA ( which uses standard AA techniques on just geometric egdes, instead of sampling the whole screen ). Looking closely at the edges will show jaggies regardless of edgeAA. But what the heck - it's willing suspension of disbelief in any case :D
User avatar
DeeD
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 6:50 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:35 am

The edgeAA screenshots haven't been included in the OP.


It just creates the illusion of AA, unlike ATi's edge detection AA ( which uses standard AA techniques on just geometric egdes, instead of sampling the whole screen ). Looking closely at the edges will show jaggies regardless of edgeAA. But what the heck - it's willing suspension of disbelief in any case :D


Now there are some images to post of edgeAA at work..

Now if you can get the close up cell to look that sharp has well that would be great.

If you want I could make a Comparsion shot has I cannot get the detail on mid range and far distant stuff to even be that sharp with AA 4x (12 Edge Detect Turned On) and AF 16XHQ Turned On with my 3650..
User avatar
Hussnein Amin
 
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:15 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:43 pm

I feel dumb asking this...but what is the command to turn the shaders off?

ShowTestShader 0
User avatar
Zach Hunter
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:26 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion