Quest start with note?

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 3:54 am

Hi all,

Ok so the situation is this, I am making a short quest for a house mod and I need help with triggering the start of the quest. I want it so the player has to pick up a note which activates the quest, but I've noticed there is not area for script on a notes editor window.

Anyone know if this is actually possible?

Edit: I've just realised this is in wrong forum category, maybe :P

User avatar
Mizz.Jayy
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:56 pm

Post » Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:27 pm

It should be possible. Just have a sub-quest with a script that starts the real quest. Something like:

If
player.hasnote StartHouseQuest
StartQuest HouseQuest
EndIf
User avatar
Smokey
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 11:35 pm

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:11 am

Ok so I decided to attach a script to the actual quest, but what I've wrote doesn't work, as in I can't save it so there are obviously errors. Any help on this?

snc MobileHomeQuest

IfQuestStarted == 0

IfGetHasNote FNDLC02MobileHome01

SetStage MobileHomeQuest 10

SetQuestStarted 1

Endif

Endif

Got most of this idea from another source, but not sure its right

User avatar
Sasha Brown
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:46 pm

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 4:26 am

You can't just use QuestStarted, you have to specify which quest it is. It sound like you're not using the Geck Power up utility. http://www.nexusmods.com/newvegas/mods/41642/?It adds the missing error messages in the GECK so you'll know at least what line to problem is on.

User avatar
OTTO
 
Posts: 3367
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 6:22 pm

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 12:33 am

Ok, could you show me an example?, because I have no idea what to write in there. It's been a long time since I did even basic scripting. :P

User avatar
kitten maciver
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:36 pm

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 2:10 am

Maybe you mean StartQuest:

http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php?title=StartQuest

On a side note, I suggest the http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php?title=Category:Getting_Started#My_First_Vault_Tutorial_Serieson the geck wiki, it's pretty useful for the first steps in modding, it covers all the basics

User avatar
Lauren Dale
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:57 am

Post » Tue Mar 10, 2015 9:35 pm

Yes, that's right. There's no such thing as QuestStarted. I'd highly recommend that you take a look at the existing functions that are used in the game. You'll probably be able to come up with a syntax that will work:

http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php?title=Category:Functions_%28GECK_1.1%29

PS: This is probably the function you'd need to use:

http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php?title=GetQuestRunning

So it would probably be something like

If GetQuestRunning MobileHomeQuest == 0 && player.GetHasNote FNDLC02MobileHome01StartQuest MobileHomeQuest EndIf
User avatar
Sasha Brown
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:46 pm

Post » Wed Mar 11, 2015 3:37 am

answered in FO3 geck forum but just some observations here :

You could use "queststarted", but it is a quest variable. You must declare it in the quest script otherwise it will not work

ScriptName HouseQuestScriptshort queststarted

and you can use HouseQuestScript.queststarted as any variable

You don't need this variable anyway. Use GetQuestRunning or GetStageDone instead if you want to test if the quest has started in gamemode.

But better use the script I posted in the other forum than have a script running in gamemode and checking 30 times per second if the player has the note or not, even when he is not in the house.

User avatar
Jeneene Hunte
 
Posts: 3478
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:18 pm


Return to Fallout: New Vegas