Quick Question -- Quick Answer, Part Fifteen

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:38 am

Is there a way to cancel a running idle animation I started using player.pickIdle?
User avatar
Lalla Vu
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:40 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:23 am

Is there a way to "freeze" the PC temporarily while sitting? In my testing, DisablePlayerControls causes the PC to stand first. I want the player to sit still for a speech given by a tomato. :D

Thanks,
Steve
User avatar
Colton Idonthavealastna
 
Posts: 3337
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:13 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:03 pm

Is there a way to "freeze" the PC temporarily while sitting? In my testing, DisablePlayerControls causes the PC to stand first. I want the player to sit still for a speech given by a tomato. :D

Thanks,
Steve


Try player.setrestrained 1
User avatar
casey macmillan
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 7:37 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:04 am

How do I define an item as a ref in an object script, and then use that ref in a quest script thats running?
User avatar
BEl J
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:12 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:47 am

To FillyTheBish

Use ref's for sure in quest scripts and then you can in your object script check the ref's from your quest script. Not hundred percent sure though, but it should give you something to work with


How do you add a script effect to a potion that you drink?
and what is the prober "begin" in that script?
User avatar
Lil Miss
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:57 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:28 am

Is there a way to cancel a running idle animation I started using player.pickIdle?
Might fail. Get the player over-encumbered instead.

How do I define an item as a ref in an object script, and then use that ref in a quest script thats running?

set rRef to
set zzQuest.rRef to rRef


?

How do you add a script effect to a potion that you drink?
and what is the prober "begin" in that script?
Use OBSE's http://obse.silverlock.org/obse_command_doc.html#Magic functions.
User avatar
brandon frier
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:47 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:12 am

How would I get an object to MoveTo right in the player's crosshairs?

I'm not good at math and I'm thinking that this would deal a lot with math. :ahhh:
User avatar
Matt Terry
 
Posts: 3453
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 10:58 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:16 pm

How would I get an object to MoveTo right in the player's crosshairs?

I'm not good at math and I'm thinking that this would deal a lot with math. :ahhh:
There was a code snippet on the wiki that did just that, except it was along the ground ( that can be changed pretty easily ).
User avatar
Betsy Humpledink
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:56 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:32 am

There was a code snippet on the wiki that did just that, except it was along the ground ( that can be changed pretty easily ).

Oh ok, thanks, I found it on a summon bed script by Wrye...
User avatar
Tasha Clifford
 
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 7:08 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:37 am

Oh ok, thanks, I found it on a summon bed script by Wrye...


You can check out what I did with http://tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=25513. It is based off of the summon bed script.
User avatar
maddison
 
Posts: 3498
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:22 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:26 pm

You can control+click multiple images in DDS Converter and it will convert every image before closing.


I've never gotten that to work in DDS Converter 2.1. No amount or type of clicking, doubleclicking, or dragging/dropping the files allows me to convert them. I highlight them, set my output folder, and click Convert and nothing happens. I doubleclick them, nothing happens. I drag and drop them anywhere, everywhere all over the interface and nothing happens. The only thing I've gotten to work is to copy and paste the file's name into the Image File List field, then click the [.\] button, then click Convert. But doing it that way you can only convert one file at a time which tends to get pretty tedious when you have 10+ files to convert.
User avatar
Tiffany Castillo
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:09 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:22 am

Might fail. Get the player over-encumbered instead.


I'm not sure if my writing wasn't clear enough and you misunderstood me. I have the player perform a 20sec animation sequence (priestactivate from SI) while casting a spell, but that spell is set up so it may be interrupted. I need the player to stop playing the animation if the spell fails. If it's not possible to stop an animation sequence before its end then I will have to discard the long sequence and use several short ones.
User avatar
Lovingly
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:36 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:45 am

Use OBSE's Magic Item functions.



is there a way to do it without having to use OBSE`? i really don't want to make my mod required of OBSE
User avatar
Oceavision
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:52 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:46 am

I'm not sure if my writing wasn't clear enough and you misunderstood me. I have the player perform a 20sec animation sequence (priestactivate from SI) while casting a spell, but that spell is set up so it may be interrupted. I need the player to stop playing the animation if the spell fails. If it's not possible to stop an animation sequence before its end then I will have to discard the long sequence and use several short ones.


You could try http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/SetRestrainedon the player for a frame. You'll have to test it as I don't know if it interrupts animations or not. Just remember to "unrestrain" the player afterwards so they're not stuck anymore.
User avatar
Hazel Sian ogden
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 7:10 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:25 am

You could try http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/SetRestrainedon the player for a frame. You'll have to test it as I don't know if it interrupts animations or not. Just remember to "unrestrain" the player afterwards so they're not stuck anymore.


Unfortunately that won't work, as the player is already restrained for the duration of the spell. I'm calling the setrestrained after pickidle, so I guess you got the answer now. ^^
However, You gave me an idea on what I could try. Thanks. :thumbsup: ;)
User avatar
Kate Norris
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:12 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:28 am

set rRef to
set zzQuest.rRef to rRef

I can't get that to work. I set the rRef to the item, and have rRef defined as a Ref. But on the second line it says Unknown Variable or Function 'rRef' and Line Is Missing Variable Name In Set Command
User avatar
kasia
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:46 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:17 pm

I can't get that to work. I set the rRef to the item, and have rRef defined as a Ref. But on the second line it says Unknown Variable or Function 'rRef' and Line Is Missing Variable Name In Set Command

Have you defined "ref rRef" in the zzQuest script? You must do that before the object script will be able to use that line.
User avatar
Harinder Ghag
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 11:26 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:52 am

Have you defined "ref rRef" in the zzQuest script? You must do that before the object script will be able to use that line.

Ah yes, should of thought of that, so obvious. Thanks.
User avatar
saharen beauty
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 12:54 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:32 am

In order to run a combat mod,it requires me to have the original powerattack animations.
But according to my old GOTY backup,there are no original meshes of those.
So technically the animations should revert if i removed the powerattack meshes...?
Somehow i doubt that.

Any intel on this?

Thanks.
User avatar
laila hassan
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:53 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:21 pm

Thanks for the setRestrained pointer; it did the trick. Now I want an annoyingly undroppable ingredient. The quest here has Sheogorath as a tomato. Once the PC picks it up, I want it to return to the inventory within a minute or two regardless of what the PC does, until quest completion. This sounds a lot like how Clavicus Vile's familiar acted, but with an ingredient there are another couple of ways (eating & alchemy) to dispose of it. The behavior I'd like is to permit the player to do whatever he likes to the ingredient, but then to have it reappear shortly thereafter in the inventory with any other instances (if dropped) disabled.

Thanks,
Steve
User avatar
Mariaa EM.
 
Posts: 3347
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:28 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:19 am

Thanks for the setRestrained pointer; it did the trick. Now I want an annoyingly undroppable ingredient. The quest here has Sheogorath as a tomato. Once the PC picks it up, I want it to return to the inventory within a minute or two regardless of what the PC does, until quest completion. This sounds a lot like how Clavicus Vile's familiar acted, but with an ingredient there are another couple of ways (eating & alchemy) to dispose of it. The behavior I'd like is to permit the player to do whatever he likes to the ingredient, but then to have it reappear shortly thereafter in the inventory with any other instances (if dropped) disabled.

Thanks,
Steve


Make a quest script:

ScriptName PutUniqueScriptNameHereBegin GameModeIf PutYourQuestEditorIDHere.GetStage == PutNumericValueOfQuestStageHere && Player.GetItemCount PutYourTomatoEditorIDHere < 1	 Player.AddItem PutYourTomatoEditorIDHere 1End IfEnd


And attach that to your quest.
User avatar
Victor Oropeza
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 4:23 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:49 am

I'm not sure if my writing wasn't clear enough and you misunderstood me. I have the player perform a 20sec animation sequence (priestactivate from SI) while casting a spell, but that spell is set up so it may be interrupted. I need the player to stop playing the animation if the spell fails. If it's not possible to stop an animation sequence before its end then I will have to discard the long sequence and use several short ones.
My bad - I pick up on "running" and ignored "idle animation" :) Using playGroup idle 1 should work for most of the time. As an alternative, you could create a reset idle animation ( that uses the vanilla idle_facegen.kf file ) and add a pickIdle call to play it. That should effectively stop any running idle. It's quite infallible - I use it alot.

is there a way to do it without having to use OBSE`? i really don't want to make my mod required of OBSE
:nope:
User avatar
Nicole Elocin
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:12 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:47 am

is there a way to do it without having to use OBSE`? i really don't want to make my mod required of OBSE


Every time a modder sacrifices mod quality to avoid OBSE, the modgods kill a kitten.

There's no reason to be scared of OBSE. There's also no reason to not install it, unless you have the D2D version of Oblivion, and that's a super small market share.
User avatar
how solid
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:27 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:07 pm

I've never gotten that to work in DDS Converter 2.1. No amount or type of clicking, doubleclicking, or dragging/dropping the files allows me to convert them. I highlight them, set my output folder, and click Convert and nothing happens. I doubleclick them, nothing happens. I drag and drop them anywhere, everywhere all over the interface and nothing happens. The only thing I've gotten to work is to copy and paste the file's name into the Image File List field, then click the [.\] button, then click Convert. But doing it that way you can only convert one file at a time which tends to get pretty tedious when you have 10+ files to convert.

Well, that's weird, I've never had to set the output folder manually. Do you have "Autoset output folder" checked under General in the Options?
User avatar
Pumpkin
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:23 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:22 am

Well, that's weird, I've never had to set the output folder manually. Do you have "Autoset output folder" checked under General in the Options?
Dump DDS Converter. Grab ImageConverter - Batch operations are a breeze.
User avatar
leigh stewart
 
Posts: 3415
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 8:59 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion