Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The 22nd

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:24 am

There's no DispelNthActiveEffect function. I'm not even sure if I can find a magic effect and then find the spell that added it so that I can remove that one... but even if I could I wouldn't do that, because spells can include many magic effects, and those other possible effects should remain active.

What I'd need is a way of making the game believe that the player just did something that would remove the invisibility from him, like activating a door or attacking someone.


Does the spell wear off when you activate something via script? If that is the case you could just make a persistent reference (like a load door with no sound effects and no teleport target) and use activate player on it.

EDIT: Didn't read your first post. Guess it doesn't work then.
User avatar
Laura Elizabeth
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:34 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:28 pm

How about using TapControl?
User avatar
Jerry Cox
 
Posts: 3409
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:21 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 8:50 am

There's no DispelNthActiveEffect function.
It's in the http://obse.silverlock.org/obse_command_doc.html :shrug:

You need a couple of loops I guess
User avatar
Chloe Botham
 
Posts: 3537
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:11 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:02 pm

Oh! Guess I shouldn't rely too heavily on the CS Wiki regarding OBSE functions.

Thank you for your help, yes that function will do. :) There's actually also a GetActiveEffectCodes function, which should make it possible to avoid loops.
User avatar
IsAiah AkA figgy
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:43 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 8:52 am

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1089574-script-processing-when-object-unloaded-the-script-runs-once/page__view__findpost__p__15959294. Worked around.
Now I am having a new one : I drop my book in an exterior cell, go into a (linked via door) interior cell, reload (or call pcb) and go to the exterior again - the book is nowhere to be seen. Is this a vanilla issue also ? Is this already reported ? please someone :bowdown: explain this to me, I am going crazy :sad:
Book is a persistent ref added to the player by :
UDUNconjurationTomeApprenticeREF.activate UDUNnpcContainerREF 1		UDUNnpcContainerREF.removeallitems player
I drop it just after I get it
If I drop it in interior nothing strange happens.

Making the book a quest item does not help !
EDIT : I already have tried moving the npcRef and the bookRef to the cell the player is, having the npc pick the book and pass it to the player while in that cell but it didn't help either
EDIT 2 : having the player activate the book from the remote cell didn't help either nor from the player cell.In short :
		UDUNconjurationTomeApprenticeREF.moveto player 0 0 2048    ; with or without this line		UDUNconjurationTomeApprenticeREF.activate player 1
does not help
Help :flame:
A new section in troubleshooting\obscure bugs is in order.

@Fearabbit : I read someplace in the wiki that hand-made loops are faster than GetActiveEffectCodes :shrug:
User avatar
Josephine Gowing
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 12:41 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 4:09 am

Just copying this from another thread in hopes of getting an answer:

Hi everyone, I'm trying to change the "damage value" on some weapons for RP purposes and I'd like to know if I have to mod the weapon's stats with the construction set or can it be done via cheats within the game.

If so which cheats?

Thanks
User avatar
sophie
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:31 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:00 pm

I'm feeling stupid today. Why does this code snippet:

messagebox "OOO Options" "%+-1.0f Fish Spawns" FishSpawnIndicator "Geomancy" "Harvest Containers" "Light of Dawn" "Lock Options" "Torch Hotkey" "Done"

Produce this effect: http://i49.tinypic.com/260sxs9.png

FishSpawnIndicator is a Float variable set to 1 or -1.
User avatar
Dominic Vaughan
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 1:47 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:57 pm

messagebox "OOO Options" "%+-1.0f Fish Spawns" FishSpawnIndicator "Geomancy" "Harvest Containers" "Light of Dawn" "Lock Options" "Torch Hotkey" "Done"
does ommiting the - help ?
also not sure buttons can be formatted - maybe only the message can
User avatar
Hairul Hafis
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:22 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:26 am

Unfortunately, no.

Maybe it is that buttons can't be formatted. If so, I'll have to change my approach a bit.
User avatar
Melanie Steinberg
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:25 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:59 am

I don't suppose there's a way to get a menumode block that only runs when you get a perk message for the journeyman/expert/master levels of a magic skill.

Menumode 1011 would seem to get me most of the way there, but also includes many other things as well that I don't want. Hopefully there's a method using OBSE, but my ignorance of OBSE functions is killing me.

Any ideas?
User avatar
alicia hillier
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:57 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:20 pm

I don't suppose there's a way to get a menumode block that only runs when you get a perk message for the journeyman/expert/master levels of a magic skill.

Menumode 1011 would seem to get me most of the way there, but also includes many other things as well that I don't want. Hopefully there's a method using OBSE, but my ignorance of OBSE functions is killing me.

Any ideas?

If you use OBSE's PrintTileInfo in a Menumode 1011 block, you might find a common trait that you could detect to tell you it's a perk message. Since you already discovered that it's 1011, I assume you have a test setup to play with.
User avatar
Kieren Thomson
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:28 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:41 am

I have two new questions:

1. Is it possible to script an item carried by a NPC so that the Detect Life shader won't play on them? Example: I'm sneaking around a bandit lair and on the other side of the closed door in front of me is a room with four Bandits in it (one boss and three underlings). I have a Detect Life in 100 ft. enchantment active, so I should see all four of them. Can I place a scripted inventory item (armor, ring, amulet or something) on the boss to prevent the shader from playing on him?

2. I have a sword with a script effect enchantment on it, with a duration of five seconds. The script plays the Fire Damage shader and adds an ability spell that does Damage Magicka 45 points for 5 seconds. After five seconds, the DM spell is removed and the FD shader stops playing. The problem: The DM effect gets added on the first strike, removed on the second, added back on the third, removed again on the fourth, etc etc. What this means is that on the first strike, 45 points of magicka are removed from the target and won't start to regenerate for five seconds. If the target is struck a second time before five seconds are up, their magicka begins to regenerate. Strike them a third time and they loose 45 more points of magicka that won't begin to regenerate for another five seconds and so on. I would like to prevent the DM effect from being removed on every other strike. The script I'm using is:

scn TestFiveSecondABAddScriptBegin ScriptEffectStartAddSpell TestDMAB  ;this is the Damage Magicka Ability spellpms effectFireDamageendBegin ScriptEffectFinishRemoveSpell TestDMABsms effectFireDamageend


I've also tried:

scn TestFiveSecondABAddScriptref TargetBegin ScriptEffectStartset Target to GetSelfTarget.AddSpell TestDMAB  ;this is the Damage Magicka Ability spellpms effectFireDamageendBegin ScriptEffectFinishTarget.RemoveSpell TestDMABsms effectFireDamageend


This has the exact same effect as the first script: TestDMAB is added on the first strike, removed on the second, added back on the third, etc etc. How would I go about resolving this (preferably without OBSE)?
User avatar
Lalla Vu
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:40 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:49 am

1. Is it possible to script an item carried by a NPC so that the Detect Life shader won't play on them? Example: I'm sneaking around a bandit lair and on the other side of the closed door in front of me is a room with four Bandits in it (one boss and three underlings). I have a Detect Life in 100 ft. enchantment active, so I should see all four of them. Can I place a scripted inventory item (armor, ring, amulet or something) on the boss to prevent the shader from playing on him?
The mannequins from Reznod's mannequins have a script on them that prevents the detect life spell from being active on them, I believe.
User avatar
FirDaus LOVe farhana
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:42 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:14 pm

How to get a value from a StringMap array that matches the key given of a reference?

I'm trying something like this:

if (ar_HasKey some_array objectRef)

User avatar
Cccurly
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:18 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:25 pm

The mannequins from Reznod's mannequins have a script on them that prevents the detect life spell from being active on them, I believe.

Just downloaded it to check. They do indeed have a script that does that.That may even help me come up with an alternate solution to my other question.
User avatar
Tracey Duncan
 
Posts: 3299
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:32 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 3:29 am

Little update, don't know if it is correct to use.

ar_HasKey someArr someArr[$(objRef)]


someArr is a StringMap array with the object references beying passed as keys.

It is meant to pass the object ID (or ref) to the StringMap array and check if there is one.
"$(objRef)" passes a string with the ID. Is this ok?
User avatar
Leilene Nessel
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:11 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 8:18 am

Unfortunately, no.

Maybe it is that buttons can't be formatted. If so, I'll have to change my approach a bit.
Btw if using obse you could always do smth like :
string_var strlet str := sv_construct "%+1.0f Fish Spawns" FishSpawnIndicatorlet str :=  "OOO Options|" + strlet str +=  "|Geomancy|Harvest Containers|Light of Dawn|Lock Options|Torch Hotkey|Done"messageboxEX $str

An option to toggle this torch hotkey off would be always welcome :)
User avatar
Charles Weber
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:14 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:18 am

There will be an OBSE version, copied from the Cobl options script essentially. I'm currently working on making an OOO configuration menu for the OOO.esm itself for people that don't use Cobl, and it has to have a non-OBSE version as well.

The OBSE version is so much more elegant than the non-OBSE version. I was trying to think of some way to make it a bit more refined.
User avatar
CSar L
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:36 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:39 pm

Hi , I wanted to force PC to wake up in specific time so I used a quest, a quest script with WakeUpPC and GameHour. So happens nothing. When I test it I Wait/Sleep normally. Anyone can help me?
Thanks.
User avatar
Enny Labinjo
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 3:04 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 4:50 am

The mannequins from Reznod's mannequins have a script on them that prevents the detect life spell from being active on them, I believe.

Okay, I tried that script and it didn't work. The Reznod script is:

Scriptname ReznodMannequinDisableDetectLifeBegin ScriptEffectUpdate     StopMagicShaderVisuals LifeDetectedEnd


I also tried several variations to try to get it to work with no success. My most recent script is:

scn StopDLEffectScriptBegin ScriptEffectStart     StopMagicShaderVisuals effectDetectLife     SMS effectDetectLife     StopMagicShaderVisuals LifeDetectedEnd


Any other ideas on how to get this to work?
User avatar
Madeleine Rose Walsh
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:07 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 12:39 pm

NoOnE? :facepalm:
User avatar
OnlyDumazzapplyhere
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:43 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:34 am

Okay, I tried that script and it didn't work. The Reznod script is:
Any other ideas on how to get this to work?
How is the script applied on the mannequin? It looks like it is a magic effect script, so is it an ability type spell that is constant effect? Are you doing the same thing?


NoOnE? :facepalm:
Post your actual script. Also, is the quest active? Is it "Start Game Enabled"?
User avatar
xxLindsAffec
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:39 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:45 pm

How is the script applied on the mannequin? It looks like it is a magic effect script, so is it an ability type spell that is constant effect? Are you doing the same thing?

I can't tell how it's applied. It is a Magic Effect script, but it doesn't seem to be applied to anything. The only spell added by the mod is the Pose spell for the mannequins, which uses a different script. It's not an enchantment either. I'm lost. :shrug: Is there another way to prevent the shader from playing on select actors?
User avatar
TOYA toys
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:22 am

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:40 am

showler first thank you for answering;
I writing here so everybody who has trouble with same think can find an answer.

Yes the Quest is Start Game Enabled.Also I add GetPlayableRace==1 <= or without it.
The Script returs with no errors.
Here is Script;

Scn LazysheepherdWakeUpQuestScript

Begin MenuMode 1012 ; As you know it's for waiting/Sleeping Menu. Also I tried with GameMode, And MenuMode only.
WakeUpPC ; Thats not works :shakehead:
Message"Hello" ; I wanted to add this for testing, message works when I waiting.
End

Thanks.
User avatar
Soraya Davy
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2006 10:53 pm

Post » Thu Jul 22, 2010 8:09 am

I can't tell how it's applied. It is a Magic Effect script, but it doesn't seem to be applied to anything. The only spell added by the mod is the Pose spell for the mannequins, which uses a different script. It's not an enchantment either. I'm lost. :shrug: Is there another way to prevent the shader from playing on select actors?

I opened it up in tes4Edit and there is this ReznodMannequinAbility under +spells which has as a script effect this script you posted- try it this way
Alternatively search for a topic I made for the same question where shadeMe started talking about shaders (don't ask me what exactly lol) :D

EDIT : I do hope this one works - it will be a very simple solution to a rather difficult problem. 4 more to go lol
User avatar
Trevor Bostwick
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 10:51 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion