Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The 25th

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 3:13 pm

If you mod with the SI injected Oblivion.esm the mod won't require SI unless you use resources from SI.

Really? Nice. I was under the impression that anything based on the SI modified Oblvion.esm needed that esm to work right.

Great-- that makes my life much simpler. :D Thanks for the quick response.
User avatar
Dalia
 
Posts: 3488
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:29 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 10:07 am

The only downside to using the SI-injected Oblivion.esm is that the CS will load all the SI content and you actually have to look at what you use. Fortunately, just about all the new content has names starting with SE, so it should be obvious.

It also possible to build mods that conditionally include content if SI is in use. This http://http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Combine_your_SI_and_non-SI_mods_into_one_(OBSE,_Patch_v1.1,_Other_mods_too) tells you how.

Any mod you build with the CS patched for SI compatibility needs the same patch level in the game, and that's probably where the confusion arises. The patch for Oblivion itself doesn't give you the SI content, but it does have the support in the engine for what SI needs - e.g. new script functions. It also fixed a bug or two, so really everyone needs that.
User avatar
Mark Churchman
 
Posts: 3363
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:58 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 9:34 am

A question about bashing and merging leveled lists (I know this isn't CS but I'd thought I'd start here anyway):

When you're merging leveled lists in Wrye Bash

If I were to make a mod that adds just items to leveled lists, and assuming that that items' ID's are unique, all I would have to do to make that mod compatible with something like OOO or FCOM would be to merge leveled lists in Wrye Bash and use the batched patch?
User avatar
john page
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 10:52 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 10:55 am

A question about bashing and merging leveled lists (I know this isn't CS but I'd thought I'd start here anyway):

When you're merging leveled lists in Wrye Bash

If I were to make a mod that adds just items to leveled lists, and assuming that that items' ID's are unique, all I would have to do to make that mod compatible with something like OOO or FCOM would be to merge leveled lists in Wrye Bash and use the batched patch?


If all your mod does is add new unique items, then it doesn't matter. If you alter any existing items, then yes.

You should rebuild the bashed patch after every change to your mod list anyhow. It will automatically determine if your mod can and should be merged.
It will show up in the the bashed patch settings for either Merged Patches and/or Leveled Lists.
User avatar
jennie xhx
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:28 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 3:15 am

If all your mod does is add new unique items, then it doesn't matter. If you alter any existing items, then yes.

You should rebuild the bashed patch after every change to your mod list anyhow. It will automatically determine if your mod can and should be merged.
It will show up in the the bashed patch settings for either Merged Patches and/or Leveled Lists.


Ok, thanks.
User avatar
Leonie Connor
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:18 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 12:39 am

I want an NPC to look like stone. (Like the play statue in Bruma) How do I do this?
User avatar
Lyd
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:56 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 8:48 am

I want this item to enable from 6 pm to 8 am, then disable. The item is set 'initially disabled' but isn't appearing at all, when it should.

scn PGLidScript

begin GameMode

if gamehour >= 18 && gamehour < 8

enable

else

disable

endif

end


Any help much appreciated.
User avatar
Prohibited
 
Posts: 3293
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:13 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 8:28 am

I want this item to enable from 6 pm to 8 am, then disable. The item is set 'initially disabled' but isn't appearing at all, when it should.


Your scripts condition says 'if it is past 6 pm and before 8 am at the same time on the same day then enable me'. Which obviously will never be true. Use this instead:

if gamehour >= 18 || gamehour < 8
User avatar
Tania Bunic
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:26 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 5:22 am

Your scripts condition says 'if it is past 6 pm and before 8 am at the same time on the same day then enable me'. Which obviously will never be true. Use this instead:

if gamehour >= 18 || gamehour < 8

Thank you! :)
User avatar
George PUluse
 
Posts: 3486
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:20 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 1:33 pm

If I have meshes house.nif and house_far.nif and in the CS I check 'visible when distant' for house.nif and run TES4LODGen, I'll be able to see that house from far away. Right?
User avatar
Alexandra walker
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:50 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 5:27 am

If I have meshes house.nif and house_far.nif and in the CS I check 'visible when distant' for house.nif and run TES4LODGen, I'll be able to see that house from far away. Right?


You don't actually need to set the VWD flag on it. TES4Lodgen generates without considering it. As long as a _far.nif exists, TES4Lodgen will find and use it.
User avatar
Jacob Phillips
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:46 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 11:45 am

Oh, nice to know that. Are there any more rules?
For example, I have meshes shutter_open.nif, shutter_closed.nif. Will they both use shutter_far.nif (I'd like that in this case, but maybe not in some other case) or does every .nif need its _far? Maybe I should avoid having "_" in the mesh name?

How about spaces in mesh name? Will "Door frame_far.nif" work for "Door frame.nif"?
User avatar
His Bella
 
Posts: 3428
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 5:57 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 4:52 am

I'm trying to store an NPC's race name on a variable, and if it returns a certain name, add +1 to a check short variable. I tried with:
string_var raceshort hasname...let race := GetName (NPCRef.GetRace)if sv_Count "name I want" racelet hasname += 1endiflet hasname += NPCRef.CompareName "other names I want"...

And though it compiles, the script doesn't seem to run in game. Its supposed to play a shader on NPCRef when hasname returns something other than 0, but it only does so if I remove all that string_var stuff.
User avatar
sally R
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:34 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 3:32 pm

Are there any game settings which allow you to change the starting values and bonuses for skills (base, class and specialisation)? I can't find any, but if there are some I don't know about then a change to them could potentially mean a mod I'm working on doesn't behave as expected.
User avatar
IsAiah AkA figgy
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 7:43 am

Post » Mon May 16, 2011 11:29 pm

I'm trying to store an NPC's race name on a variable, and if it returns a certain name, add +1 to a check short variable. I tried with:
string_var raceshort hasname...let race := GetName (NPCRef.GetRace)if sv_Count "name I want" racelet hasname += 1endiflet hasname += NPCRef.CompareName "other names I want"...

And though it compiles, the script doesn't seem to run in game. Its supposed to play a shader on NPCRef when hasname returns something other than 0, but it only does so if I remove all that string_var stuff.

Use eval
User avatar
Kelly John
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 6:40 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 4:05 am

Use eval

Something like:
string_var raceshort hasname...let race := $ (NPCRef.GetRace)if eval (sv_Count "name I want" race > 0 || sv_Count "another name" race > 0 || ...)let hasname += 1endiflet hasname += NPCRef.CompareName "other names I want"...


But as soon as I try to add a third condition to the eval block I get an epic CS crash, with system slowdown included (no blue screen at least, that would be just terrific). Am I doing something wrong (like using OBSE beta 19 :D ?) or is it just that an eval line can't take that much?

Edit: nevermind, I just made two eval blocks with two conditions each and it works. This is the best since sliced cheese... I mean bread!
User avatar
Andy durkan
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:05 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 1:46 am

How can I unmount the PC from his horse without disabling/enabling it? I figured TapControl 5 would do the trick, but it doesn't.
User avatar
dav
 
Posts: 3338
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 3:46 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 6:35 am

But as soon as I try to add a third condition to the eval block I get an epic CS crash, with system slowdown included (no blue screen at least, that would be just terrific). Am I doing something wrong (like using OBSE beta 19 :D ?) or is it just that an eval line can't take that much?

Edit: nevermind, I just made two eval blocks with two conditions each and it works. This is the best since sliced cheese... I mean bread!

I think it is the http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Set. Best ask in the OBSE thread. Know nothing about horses.
User avatar
Marie
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:05 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 7:34 am

Oh, nice to know that. Are there any more rules?
For example, I have meshes shutter_open.nif, shutter_closed.nif. Will they both use shutter_far.nif (I'd like that in this case, but maybe not in some other case) or does every .nif need its _far? Maybe I should avoid having "_" in the mesh name?

How about spaces in mesh name? Will "Door frame_far.nif" work for "Door frame.nif"?


Oh, and another related stupid question... Mesh_far.nif has to be in same folder as Mesh.nif, right?
User avatar
Sophie Louise Edge
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:09 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 2:10 am

Quick question cause I just can't remember. I want my NPC to perform their AI package in every weather except when it is raining, what condition do I use?
User avatar
Emilie Joseph
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:28 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 12:44 pm

Oh, and another related stupid question... Mesh_far.nif has to be in same folder as Mesh.nif, right?


Yes

Quick question cause I just can't remember. I want my NPC to perform their AI package in every weather except when it is raining, what condition do I use?


http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/IsRaining
User avatar
Kate Norris
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:12 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 3:21 am

Thanks! :)
User avatar
Cameron Wood
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 3:01 pm

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 1:04 pm

While a rider is on a horse, the rider's AI overrides the horse's. If AddScriptPackage is used to give the horse an AI package, will it take effect after the rider dismounts, or not at all?
User avatar
Chris Duncan
 
Posts: 3471
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:31 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 5:58 am

Edit, I think this question will need more then just a quick answer, after all.
User avatar
Luis Reyma
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:10 am

Post » Tue May 17, 2011 4:25 am

If I make a mod with functions from an OBSE plugin, do the mod users simply need OBSE or do they need the OBSE plugin as well?
User avatar
flora
 
Posts: 3479
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:48 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion