Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Eighteenth

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:58 pm

okay, so judging from how you set up the script, there isn't a broadcast event of NPC death that could be tagged onto to execute the script?
Correct. You have the OnDeath block, but that must be in a script of the creature that dies, i.e. added to every argonian in your case - which you don't want to do for compatibility reasons.

I had hoped to make it something like a subroutine, that wouldn't affect CPU usage except when it actually has something to do, rather than just monitor the game world constantly.
But you don't have to run the script more than once every 2 seconds or so (set fQuestDelayTime to 2), so it shouldn't have any noticeable effect on the CPU usage.

second question, Why the token? Couldn't I just see if they have the heart, and if not, add it?
Because then a new heart would be added immediately after you looted the previous :)
User avatar
Britney Lopez
 
Posts: 3469
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:22 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:19 am

Landscape generation:

I am looking for this, and don't understand. I have seen it mention in a tutorial, and in someone's readme.. but I have no idea where to find it. I think it's related to the height map editing window, but I'm not sure.

This is a quote from the readme

"Using the ones in this mod is just the same. If you open up the regions generator you will see them sitting there in the list"

And while I am not using their resources, I still can't find anything like this.

Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
Vahpie
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 5:07 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:57 am


I managed to solve my issue doing a check against GetAV Health after you wake up:
if ( vampireSlept ) && ( Player.GetAV Health > HealthSlept )		Player.ModAV2 Health NoHealthSlept		set vampireSlept to 0		set doonce to 0	else		set vampireSlept to 0		set doonce to 0	endif

So no need to check for day and hour... so far. I'm sure I will find a situation that will make this check uneffective, like if using Fortify Health, but so far it works well.

I have another question. Is there some way of making an actor receive extra damage from a certain weapon? Preferably not by scripting/enchanting the weapon itself. I plan using tokens added by an activator via spell to actors, so that actors with the token would receive extra damage from weapons which contain the words "silver" or "mithril". But I can't recall this having been done before in any mod I know of. Adding the tokens is easy enough, modding a weapons' stats too with Obse, but altering the damage dealt by them only when hitting actors with the token seems... impossible. Could someone hint me, or at least recommend a mod that does something similar?
User avatar
Lisa
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:57 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:59 pm

Is it possible to scan a cell for existing xmarker and is there a new OBSE thread the old one has expired
User avatar
Mel E
 
Posts: 3354
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:23 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:56 am

Is it possible to scan a cell for existing xmarker and is there a new OBSE thread the old one has expired

You can walk the cell using GetFirstRef+GetNextRef or GetFirstRefInCell+GetNextRef looking for ststics and, for each found, check if it is an XMarker or if it is a particular XMarker you need to locate.

Something like:

set reff to getfirstref  28   ;	Staticwhile reff	if reff.getbaseobject == xmarker ;<or>	if reff == MyXMmarker	   ; do stuff														endif	set reff to getnextrefloop


The new OBSE thread is http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=1059220
User avatar
Josephine Gowing
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 12:41 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:34 am

um ... d-oh! :ninja:

Is it possible to scan a cell for existing xmarker and is there a new OBSE thread the old one has expired
Ref. walk through through the cell's statics and compare each's objectID with the XMarker. So, yes. http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=1059220&hl=.
User avatar
brandon frier
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:47 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:17 am

Thanks QQuix,I figure it out after I posted here I wasn't using GetBaseObject so I wasn't finding a match.
User avatar
Steven Hardman
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 5:12 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:49 am

I would like to place xmarkers in player home's as ref point's for a mod I am working on.would this break existing mods that have modified the stock homes and if so is there any other way this can be done.
User avatar
Darren Chandler
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:03 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:26 am

If you are just sticking xmarkers in the cell, there should be no issues.
User avatar
Damian Parsons
 
Posts: 3375
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:48 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:53 am

I want to know how I can change the value of crime gold the player gets from killing an NPC
User avatar
Hussnein Amin
 
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:15 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:41 pm

I want to know how I can change the value of crime gold the player gets from killing an NPC

Look in Gameplay->Settings fir the iCrimeGoldMurder entry and change it to whatever you want.
User avatar
Add Me
 
Posts: 3486
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 8:21 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:01 pm

Look in Gameplay->Settings fir the iCrimeGoldMurder entry and change it to whatever you want.

Thanks, but is there a way to change it for certain factions. What I mean is: killing NPC in Faction A=1000 crime gold, Killing person in faction b=0crime gold
User avatar
Shirley BEltran
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 4:14 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:27 am

Thanks, but is there a way to change it for certain factions. What I mean is: killing NPC in Faction A=1000 crime gold, Killing person in faction b=0crime gold

Just make the NPC evil (which is to say, only put him in evil factions).

Killing evil dudes is no crime.

(Yeah, don't try to think about it too hard... and by all that is holy don't try to apply RL logic here, or worse yet this logic to RL!)
User avatar
Ladymorphine
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:22 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:05 pm

Quick question hoping for a quick reply: Can't find this in the wiki, but then again, I'm not feeling too patient with the wiki search today. Does anyone know the exact game units range for ranged spells...are they all the same as I assume or do they differ?
User avatar
Miss K
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:33 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:21 am

Is it possible to add xmarkers with PlaceAtMe and if so would they then be delete able with DeleteReference
User avatar
Stefanny Cardona
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 8:08 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:49 am

Is it possible to add xmarkers with PlaceAtMe and if so would they then be delete able with DeleteReference
Yes. DeleteReference will work on any placeAtMe object that isn't an actor. So, yes again.
User avatar
Genevieve
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 4:22 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:02 pm

Yes. DeleteReference will work on any placeAtMe object that isn't an actor. So, yes.

Thanks, this should help alot.
User avatar
Sherry Speakman
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:00 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:15 am

I'm trying to make it so that no one not belonging to a certain faction is allowed inside an area of an exterior at night. IF the player goes in the area at night I want to count as tresspassing and have guards arrest the player. Is this possible?
User avatar
sw1ss
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 8:02 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:26 am

I'm trying to make it so that no one not belonging to a certain faction is allowed inside an area of an exterior at night. IF the player goes in the area at night I want to count as tresspassing and have guards arrest the player. Is this possible?


Will http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/SendTrespassAlarm work? Obviously you'd need some guards nearby though.
User avatar
sunny lovett
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:59 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:52 pm

Will http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/SendTrespassAlarm work? Obviously you'd need some guards nearby though.


That would be perfect actually. I could just put trigboxs in various entry points. Thanks! :thumbsup:
User avatar
Yvonne Gruening
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:31 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:32 am

I need to stop an actor, just one, from reacting when enemies enter his area, and when they attack him. I just need him to stand totally still and take it, and still be able to sell the player stuff. Quick way to do this?
User avatar
JD FROM HELL
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 1:54 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:49 pm

Make him a ghost.

No, this does not mean adding the Ghost Ability, but give him a script which essentially says

Begin OnLoadsetghost 1EndBegin OnHitstopcombatstopcombatalarmonactorEnd

Ghosts can't take weapon or magic damage, won't initiate combat, and won't be the combat target of anyone unless something goes horribly wrong (that's why the second block).

Example for an ingame ghost is Haskill.
User avatar
Bereket Fekadu
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:41 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:50 pm

That'd be good, except I need him to take damage
User avatar
Tyler F
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:07 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:24 am

Haven't tried either of these, but maybe:

SetUnconscious 1
SetRestrained 1

Will work.
User avatar
michael flanigan
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 2:33 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:37 pm

That nearly works. When attacked he stays still (though while initiating the run animation, no big deal) and you can talk to him, except after being hit once the player is unable to buy things off of him...
User avatar
Roberta Obrien
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:43 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion