Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Eighteenth

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:09 am

Thank you for the heads up!
User avatar
CxvIII
 
Posts: 3329
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:35 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:10 am

I'm currently trying to make an EGM using the Conformulator, however it says I need to merge all the Nitri strips, how do I do so in NifSkope?
User avatar
Nicholas C
 
Posts: 3489
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:20 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:19 am

If you open a mod with the OBSE CS, but don't apply any OBSE scripts will it still need OBSE to run.
User avatar
Kari Depp
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:19 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:56 am

If you open a mod with the OBSE CS, but don't apply any OBSE scripts will it still need OBSE to run.

No, as long if you don't use any functions there is no requirement for others. So yes, you can always run CS with OBSE.
User avatar
Rebecca Clare Smith
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:13 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:46 am

Ok so I still need help making an EGM. But I also need help with another thing, I'm trying to replace the arms on the DB armour with those from the Zelot's robe. However looking at the armor on an NPC in the CS the arms are a small incoherent clump at the NPC's feet. Anyone know how to solve this?

EDIT: Ok so I the EGM fits good on human races, however beasts and orc still look choppy. It may be worth noting that I'm trying to make something that includes a face mask.
User avatar
Vera Maslar
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:32 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:52 pm

Hello,
is it possible to affect NPCs (for example adding and removing a spell) that have a certain distance to the Player? For example add a Spell to all NPCs closer than distance 50, and remove it from all NPCs which are further away. If necessary also with OBSE. I would be really happy if there was a solution :D
(It's thought as function that will make all NPCs near the Player aggressive and finally attack him^^)

Thx :)
User avatar
stevie trent
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:33 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:34 am

the arms are a small incoherent clump at the NPC's feet.

This is usually an indication that the vertex weights for that piece are missing. You may have remove the node that provides them, or the bones they reference.
User avatar
Anthony Santillan
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:42 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:13 am

This is usually an indication that the vertex weights for that piece are missing. You may have remove the node that provides them, or the bones they reference.


Sorry I'm a total nifskope noob, could you give a brief walkthrough of the process?

Hello,
is it possible to affect NPCs (for example adding and removing a spell) that have a certain distance to the Player? For example add a Spell to all NPCs closer than distance 50, and remove it from all NPCs which are further away. If necessary also with OBSE. I would be really happy if there was a solution :D
(It's thought as function that will make all NPCs near the Player aggressive and finally attack him^^)

Thx :)


You could use the getdistance function. It's a base CS function so no need for OBSE. I'm not sure exactly what you're trying to do but it'd probably look something like this.

Begin Gamemodeif (NPCREF).getdistance PLayer <= 50(NPCREF).addspell (Spell)elseif (NPCREF).getdistance PLayer >= 50(NPCREF).Removespell (Spell)endifend

User avatar
Naughty not Nice
 
Posts: 3527
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 6:14 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:49 pm

Can anyone explain how BSA file collisions are resolved? I'm planning on dumping my PyFFI'd meshes into a BSA, to keep from over-cluttering my Data folder (I wish there was a friendly, cleaner way to handle these things). As such, I will have two BSA files for the vanilla Oblivion meshes with identical file names.

Will this idea fly, or should I find another method to do this?
User avatar
Stephani Silva
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:11 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:04 am

@ Uglulyx thank you for your answer but the problem with this script is, i need all NPCs as Reference ^^' because the script should affect EVERY NPC next to the player and not only certain ones^^'

My intention is to force all NPCs surrounding the Player in a certain distance to attack the Player without any reason. So the Player should be treated like a creature or something similar. I wanted to achieve this effect by adding the Spell "Aggression" to all NPCs within the certain distance. But to realize that EVERY NPC has to get this spell added and not only certain ones, so i cant use a fixed reference. I hope my Problem is now a little clearer :)
User avatar
Mrs. Patton
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:00 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:42 pm

@ White Shadow
One option is to use a quest script to actively walk through nearby references and make them attack the player. (Useful functions: getfirstref, getnextref, getdistance, startcombat)

Another option is to add scripted tokens to all NPCs when you enter the cell. Each token can carry a reference of the NPC that's carrying it, and force that NPC to attack the player if the player gets close enough.

------------
My questions:

1. Is there a way to reduce the effective attack arc for weapons? For example, based on my testing, I can use my weapon to hit a close target in a 60-degree arc in front of me. Is there any setting or tweak that can controls this arc?

2. Is there a way to increase or decrease a NPC's turn speed?
User avatar
chinadoll
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 5:09 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:38 pm

@documn
1. If you mean the distance of the arc, then you can modify the weapon reach. That will let you attack further out from where you swing (or closer in).

2. You can increase the NPC's speed. But I'm not sure if that will make them turn faster. I guess you could speed up all of the animations of the TurnLeft and TurnRight animation groups and give those animations to the NPC (or play them on the NPC via the script function playgroup). The TurnLeft and TurnRight NPC animation groups include:

bowturnleft.kf
bowturnright.kf
handtohandturnleft.kf
handtohandturnright.kf
onehandturnleft.kf
onehandturnright.kf
sneakbowturnleft.kf
sneakbowturnright.kf
sneakhandtohandturnleft.kf
sneakhandtohandturnright.kf
sneakonehandturnleft.kf
sneakonehandturnright.kf
sneakstaffturnleft.kf
sneakstaffturnright.kf
sneakturnleft.kf
sneakturnright.kf
sneaktwohandturnleft.kf
sneaktwohandturnright.kf
staffturnleft.kf
staffturnright.kf
swimbowturnleft.kf
swimbowturnright.kf
swimhandtohandturnleft.kf
swimhandtohandturnright.kf
swimonehandturnleft.kf
swimonehandturnright.kf
swimstaffturnleft.kf
swimstaffturnright.kf
swimturnleft.kf
swimturnright.kf
swimtwohandturnleft.kf
swimtwohandturnright.kf
twohandturnleft.kf
twohandturnright.kf
walkturnleft.kf
walkturnright.kf
User avatar
Roberto Gaeta
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:23 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:05 pm

My questions:

1. Is there a way to reduce the effective attack arc for weapons? For example, based on my testing, I can use my weapon to hit a close target in a 60-degree arc in front of me. Is there any setting or tweak that can controls this arc?
http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/FCombatHitConeAngle
User avatar
Daddy Cool!
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:34 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:38 pm

Well...

I made a new race that was smaller than 1.0, and after they go unconscious or die they grow a bit.

How do I fix that?
User avatar
Keeley Stevens
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 6:04 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:38 am

http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/FCombatHitConeAngle

Dude shadeMe, sometimes you come out of the cuts with all kinds of brilliance. Thanks a lot.
User avatar
xxLindsAffec
 
Posts: 3604
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:39 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:13 am

@documn
1. If you mean the distance of the arc, then you can modify the weapon reach. That will let you attack further out from where you swing (or closer in).

2. You can increase the NPC's speed. But I'm not sure if that will make them turn faster. I guess you could speed up all of the animations of the TurnLeft and TurnRight animation groups and give those animations to the NPC (or play them on the NPC via the script function playgroup). The TurnLeft and TurnRight NPC animation groups include:
(scary list of animations)

1. Nah, I didn't mean the weapon reach. But thanks anyway. :)
2. Thanks for the info, but I am not up to the challenge of editing all those animations. Oh well.
User avatar
Danger Mouse
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 9:55 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:01 am

@documn Thank you very much, I think the token-thing will do it^^
Just one question on the tokens: how do i add them to all NPCs in my cell? Sorry fur so many stupid questions but I didn't do much quest-scripting or similar things^^' just tons of simpler scripts that affect the player only^^'
User avatar
yermom
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:56 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:04 pm

This is what I did in one of my mods. This is a quest script an should be an ok starting point for you. It checks if the player enters a new cell; if so, it adds a token to every nearby actor. Note that you'd have to create a quest to attach this script to, and make sure the quest is active (either use the StartQuest function or set the quest as "Start Game Enabled").
scn QUESTSCRIPTref cellref actorbegin gamemodeif cell == player.getparentcell	returnelse	set actor to getfirstref 69 1label 10	if actor		if actor.getitemcount token == 0			actor.additem token 1		endif		set actor to getnextref		goto 10	endif	set cell to player.getparentcellendifend

Of course you'd need to create a token (weightless, slotless, valueless, unplayable item) and attach a script that forces the token's carrier to attack the player if the player gets too close. In this script I used a distance of 150, which is the default activation distance.
scn TOKENSCRIPTref actorbegin onaddset actor to getcontainerendbegin gamemodeif actor.getdistance player < 150	actor.startcombat playerendifend

User avatar
Brooke Turner
 
Posts: 3319
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:13 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:20 am

Thank you SO much :D I wished I could hug you xD
It works great^^ I added a few more conditions (like if the player is detected by the acting NPC, increased the distance to 1500 and so on), made a Faction which is added to and removed from the Player to check if he is transformed or not and now it finally works exactly how i've always wanted it to :D
There is just one single issue which is more funny than really bad: If a "normal" NPC sees me before a Imperial Watch and attacks me, the NPC commits a crime and is afterwards attacked by the Guards if i transform back and surrender to the guards xD
User avatar
Matt Gammond
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:38 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:58 pm

I'd like to make a script that switches between two different models of an armor by unequiping and reequipping it. For instance the player first equips it, model A shows, then unequips and reequips, model B shows, reequips again, back to model A.

The reason I'm doing this is because I have a hood which includes a mask but the mask doesn't fit nicely on all races but I still want an option for those races to use it.

Nonetheless could anyone give me some help figuring out a way?
User avatar
Celestine Stardust
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 11:22 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:42 am

Increment a global counter ( in a quest script ) on equipping the armor ( you might want to make sure it's unequipped first ). Switch the model whenever the counter is an odd number.
User avatar
Prohibited
 
Posts: 3293
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:13 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:14 pm

Well I was more considering use two separate items, for model A would be one item, model B would be another. Or would it just be simpler to add a messagebox prompt on equip?
User avatar
Gill Mackin
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 9:58 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:22 pm

Well I was more considering use two separate items, for model A would be one item, model B would be another. Or would it just be simpler to add a messagebox prompt on equip?
Well, it up to you. I'd think using a counter would be more opaque.
User avatar
Jose ordaz
 
Posts: 3552
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:14 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:36 am

Is there a way to set a size for a worldspace? I need to make a 5X5 space, but when I enter 5 into all of the XY coordinate things, I can still go through 6, 7, etc.
User avatar
Yama Pi
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:51 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:15 pm

Is there a way to set a size for a worldspace? I need to make a 5X5 space, but when I enter 5 into all of the XY coordinate things, I can still go through 6, 7, etc.
Those values are only used for the worldmap for that worldspace (together with the X/Y dimensions). I don't think there is a way to close off a world without placing alot of collision boxes and/or huge steep mountains.
User avatar
Jason White
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:54 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion