Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Eleventh

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:29 pm

My question again:
How to erase those fake shadows on the ground? They are usually under the trees, around the rocks, around the paths. The look like http://www.shrani.si/f/20/13P/2Ghi23L9/drevo1.jpg.

Annoying when you change the ground textures or alter landscape, they still remain in their places.

Please help.
User avatar
Gemma Flanagan
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 6:34 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:42 am

Are you meaning specific type of creature or specific instance (RefID). The answer probably differs.

If it's one specific instance, then the Sithis Rose arrow may be a model to work from, as it is scripted to kill one specific victim.


I figured it out. Thanks!
User avatar
Joey Avelar
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:11 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:53 am

^^ I've already read through that section thoroughly, setting them to prefer ranged combat works in theory, not in practice 0_o
I have a modified fire atronoch that I gave a fire spell and it never wants to cast it even though I gave it like 2000 mana, instead it just attacks even though I gave it 0 attack damage.

Make sure you give your creature a higher value for its magic skills.

How to erase those fake shadows on the ground? They are usually under the trees, around the rocks, around the paths. The look like http://www.shrani.si/f/20/13P/2Ghi23L9/drevo1.jpg

Annoying when you change the ground textures or alter landscape, they still remain at their places.

Those are the canopy shadows of trees. You want them disabled - Replace their textures with a dummy one. TO get the CS cell view to update - Try switching to a different cell/worldspace
I want to script it so that my neato sword would do an instantly kill on a specific creature, let's call it sdSpider.

My sword sdSpidersBane, if it's equipped would do an instant kill on these creatures if it is equipped and the Spider is hit by it.

Is this possible and if so how would I pull it off. Quest stage would have to be in the if statement too.

Add the a script effect to the weapon's enchantment with the following script:
begin scriptEffectStart   if ( getIsID sdSpider ) && ( getStage zzQuest XX )	  kill   endIfend


Need some help with positioning : How do I position an actor directly behind another ? Oblivion's co-ordinate system gets me confused, as it is. Any help is appreciated.
User avatar
Richard Dixon
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:29 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:44 am

Need some help with positioning : How do I position an actor directly behind another ? Oblivion's co-ordinate system gets me confused, as it is. Any help is appreciated.

Something like this should do.
(and I have a text on Oblivion coordinate systems in http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/User:QQuix. This code is mostly from there)

Float xAngleFloat xxTrigAngle  Float xDeltaXFloat xDeltaYFloat xDistance;=================================; Get:  DeltaX and DeltaY; From:	Angle and distance;=================================set xAngle to FirstActorRef.getangle Z + 180set xDistance to 50; distance from the first to the second actorif  xAngle > 360  set xAngle  to xAngle - 360endif if  xAngle <= 90  set xxTrigAngle  to 90 - xAngleelse  set xxTrigAngle to 450 - xAngleendif set xDeltaX to xDistance * cos xxTrigAngle set xDeltaY to xDistance * sin xxTrigAngleSecondActorRef.MoveTo FirstActorRef xDeltaX xDeltaY; or use SetPos instead of MoveToset xAngle to FirstActorRef.getangle Z SecondActorRef.SetAngle Z xAngle

User avatar
Rob
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:26 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:45 am

Something like this should do.
(and I have a text on Oblivion coordinate systems in http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/User:QQuix. This code is mostly from there)

*snip

Ah ... ! Thank You, QQuix ! I did recall that there was a article in the wiki that explained it, but couldn't find it ( kept looking for "coordinate system" ). You could move it into a new article - Will be quite an asset. I will be glad to help with that, if you wish.
User avatar
Claire Jackson
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 11:38 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:30 am

... You could move it into a new article - Will be quite an asset. I will be glad to help with that, if you wish.

Since you offered . . . feel free to turn it into an article, if you feel like it. Correct, rewrite, complement, rephrase, retitle as you see fit. (not sure if you offered that much but, hey, doesn't hurt to suggest)
As I say at the top of the page, I am not comfortable with writing, so the initial idea was to dump some [noncommittal?] text there in case somebody considers it worthy of improvement and turns it into something better or, at least, better written.
User avatar
Killer McCracken
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:57 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:53 pm

There is similar code on this page: http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Summon_Object
User avatar
Angus Poole
 
Posts: 3594
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:04 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:41 am

Hey!

I need your assistance with something. There's this house mod I have - with Vanilla it's ok, but there's a UL that modifies that exact area. I tried loading both the house mod and the UL in CS, setting none of them as active, fixing the positioning and saving it in a new esp.

This method failed though. If I loaded only the new esp, the house had no interior cell (my character fell into the void). If I loaded them both, there were two houses in the outside cell.

I also tried loading just the UL and the house, and setting the house as active. However, that seems to ignore the UL changes to the area (I assume it gives the active mod priority even if it loads before?).

What's the best way to solve this issue? I want to keep both a vanilla compatible version, and a UL compatible one (either a single esp or a patch for the other one).

Cheers!

cc
User avatar
Karine laverre
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 7:50 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:12 am

For the best method, someone else will have to answer, but here are some facts:
- if two mods alter landscape of the same cell, landscape of the mod loaded last will overwrite other one.
So if you want UL landscape and your house, change the date of the house mod to be older than UL, and load both with house mod active, then arrange the house to fit on the UL landscape.
- since you've loaded two mods without either one active, moved house a bit and saved it as a new mod, you've created new mod that contains only changes that you have done but your house mod isn't changed. For creating third mod that will edit your house mod, you have to ESMify both UL mod and your house mod and make third one dependent of them both. Don't forget to ESPify tham back before playing.
User avatar
Erin S
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 2:06 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:40 am

Is there a script function that affects whether Npc's can hear you or not, like how blind stops Npc's from hearing you????

thanx
User avatar
Stephanie I
 
Posts: 3357
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 3:28 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:55 am

How do you set up an ini for a mod? Is it a .txt file and then you runbatchscript txtfilename (with OBSE)?

On the http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Con_SaveINI wiki page it says:
Writes all the .ini files.

That just means it saves the all the values in the ini, correct?
Also if I call this in a script does it lag the game for a second or two (like Con_Save)?
User avatar
Cat
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:10 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:43 am

Since you offered . . . feel free to turn it into an article, if you feel like it. Correct, rewrite, complement, rephrase, retitle as you see fit. (not sure if you offered that much but, hey, doesn't hurt to suggest)
As I say at the top of the page, I am not comfortable with writing, so the initial idea was to dump some [noncommittal?] text there in case somebody considers it worthy of improvement and turns it into something better or, at least, better written.

Will do !

There is similar code on this page: http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Summon_Object

Missed that one as well :facepalm: Thanks, mate :)

Is there a script function that affects whether Npc's can hear you or not, like how blind stops Npc's from hearing you????

thanx

Come again ?

How do you set up an ini for a mod? Is it a .txt file and then you runbatchscript txtfilename (with OBSE)?

On the http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Con_SaveINI wiki page it says:

That just means it saves the all the values in the ini, correct?
Also if I call this in a script does it lag the game for a second or two (like Con_Save)?

The console command saveINI is used to save the game's INI file ( Oblivion.ini). For your purpose, you'll need to set up a text file ( INI if you wish to follow convention :) ) and use the following code to initialize it :
runBatchScript "Data\<or whatever directory>\XXX.ini"

The function is pretty fast and doesn't cause any performance issues.
User avatar
Jason King
 
Posts: 3382
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 2:05 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:06 am

and I have a text on Oblivion coordinate systems in http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/User:QQuix.


Thank you for this!
User avatar
Bek Rideout
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 7:00 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:13 am

Can magic effect items have a negative magnitude? If so, how? I've tried a few methods, but the lowest I've gotten so far is 0.
User avatar
Everardo Montano
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:23 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:06 am

Hey!

Thanks for the reply!

For the best method, someone else will have to answer, but here are some facts:
- if two mods alter landscape of the same cell, landscape of the mod loaded last will overwrite other one.
So if you want UL landscape and your house, change the date of the house mod to be older than UL, and load both with house mod active, then arrange the house to fit on the UL landscape.


If I try this, then the landscape around the house in the CS is the same as without UL. Setting the house to load as active seems to hide all the changes made by the UL mod.

As for the other choice, if I can use just one esp in the long run, I'd rather not make another one as a patch.

cc
User avatar
christelle047
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:50 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:02 am

Hey!
Thanks for the reply!
If I try this, then the landscape around the house in the CS is the same as without UL. Setting the house to load as active seems to hide all the changes made by the UL mod.
As for the other choice, if I can use just one esp in the long run, I'd rather not make another one as a patch.

cc


If I understand correctly, you'd like to save .esp slot? Use TES4Edit to load your house mod and delete all changes to landscape. After that, do the first method that I have described to you.
User avatar
Darlene Delk
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:48 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:44 am

Is there a way through script to get the height scale value of a race?
User avatar
Karen anwyn Green
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:26 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:10 am

Is there a way through script to get the height scale value of a race?

Would http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/GetScale do the trick?
User avatar
Elizabeth Davis
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:30 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:10 am

Would http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/GetScale do the trick?

jut what I needed, thanx :).
User avatar
Big mike
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:38 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:29 pm

Can magic effect items have a negative magnitude? If so, how? I've tried a few methods, but the lowest I've gotten so far is 0.

Nope, as far as I know. bg must know more.
User avatar
victoria gillis
 
Posts: 3329
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:02 pm

Can magic effect items have a negative magnitude? If so, how? I've tried a few methods, but the lowest I've gotten so far is 0.

Probably impossible, but why would you want to do that if I may ask? Most magic effects that would be interesting to have a negative magnitude simply have an opposite magic effect.
User avatar
Bird
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:45 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:54 am

Probably impossible, but why would you want to do that if I may ask? Most magic effects that would be interesting to have a negative magnitude simply have an opposite magic effect.


I was toying with the idea of negating a constant effect enchant by applying a negative constant effect of the same type. Actually I'm still trying other workarounds as I think of them.
User avatar
Project
 
Posts: 3490
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 7:58 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:35 am

Hi!
Before I start editing my mod, please help me clear something up...
1. question:
If something is a token and if there's:
additem [i]something[/i] 1

in dialogue response's result script box, will something be added to player or to NPC that says that?
I need it to be added to NPC.

2. question:
If token is unplayable ring (clothing instead of misc object), and is added to player, does it have any negative effects? I notice that it is added, but it can't be seen in inventory because it's unplayable. I want it invisible.
User avatar
Chloe Botham
 
Posts: 3537
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:11 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:14 am

Do the AI check boxes "unlock" "lock door" work with custom doors? (I don't seem to be having any luck with it.) And if not is it possible to simply script shop doors to unlock for certain hours of the day?
User avatar
Rob
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:26 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:16 am

Do the AI check boxes "unlock" "lock door" work with custom doors? (I don't seem to be having any luck with it.) And if not is it possible to simply script shop doors to unlock for certain hours of the day?

Script:
begin gamemodeif gamehour >= 22 || gamehour < 8	lockelse	unlockendifend


Something like this placed on the door will work, but AI should also work and I think that it would be better that script.
User avatar
Stace
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:52 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion