Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Nineteenth

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:59 am

Is there a way to avoid an enchantment from displaying its graphic effect when equipping the enchanted item? For example, I'm trying to prevent the white magical whirl that appears on a character every time I equip an item with a fortify attribute effect.
User avatar
Minako
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 9:50 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:49 am

Is there a way to avoid an enchantment from displaying its graphic effect when equipping the enchanted item? For example, I'm trying to prevent the white magical whirl that appears on a character every time I equip an item with a fortify attribute effect.
You'll need to use the setMEXXX functions on each MGEF in the utem's enchantment to swap its particle emitter ( use the magiceffects\null.nif as the interim one ) before equipping the item.
User avatar
Killah Bee
 
Posts: 3484
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:23 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:31 am

Of course, like Martin said, "OBSE can turn anything to good"
Another thing I'm starting to get worried about... do you need to be a computer genius, or at least have good knowledge of computer architecture, to make good scripts? Because now that at last I can appreciate the work that scripters do, every time I take a look at the scripts done by some OBSE using modders, I am... don't know the right word... :blink: ... they are incredible, yet to them it seems like a game to create gigantic scripts in which everything does exactly what is supposed to do and nothing more, no errors, no wasted resources, it doesn't seem to take them too much time, and hardly any bug reports because there aren't any real bugs!
The CS wiki is handy but IMO definitely not enough for reaching that level, and if you start adding extra stuff like Pluggy, array, strings... I don't even know what those things do or can do! So, where do these people get that knowledge? Probably is just experimenting doing what you like and enjoying it, or is there other explanation?
User avatar
Laura Tempel
 
Posts: 3484
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:53 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:38 am

Of course, like Martin said, "OBSE can turn anything to good"
Another thing I'm starting to get worried about... do you need to be a computer genius, or at least have good knowledge of computer architecture, to make good scripts? Because now that at last I can appreciate the work that scripters do, every time I take a look at the scripts done by some OBSE using modders, I am... don't know the right word... :blink: ... they are incredible, yet to them it seems like a game to create gigantic scripts in which everything does exactly what is supposed to do and nothing more, no errors, no wasted resources, it doesn't seem to take them too much time, and hardly any bug reports because there aren't any real bugs!
The CS wiki is handy but IMO definitely not enough for reaching that level, and if you start adding extra stuff like Pluggy, array, strings... I don't even know what those things do or can do! So, where do these people get that knowledge? Probably is just experimenting doing what you like and enjoying it, or is there other explanation?
I don't believe this could do with a quick answer. But I'd say it's "just experimenting doing what you like and enjoying it".
User avatar
brandon frier
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:47 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:42 am

modAV2 should help you with that. More info on AV functions - http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Category:Actor_Value_Functions.


Hmm, modAV2 doesn't seem to work there....from what I can see that would only restore Alchemy if it had been damaged....
User avatar
Samantha hulme
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:22 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:53 pm

Had a better look at the code then before. I don't see why the cloned weapon's model path should be invalid. In any case, you've got a lot of redundant code in your user function. When you cloneForm a record, you don't just create another base record of the same type, you clone its attributes too. Besides, you're using a base reference instead of a world reference in all of the set* calls. And finally, you've used setEquippedWeaponPoison incorrectly. Take a look at the command doc for the correct syntax.


Oops- that cloneform isn't supposed to be there at all. I tried messing around with cloned forms and didn't think it was viable the way I was doing it. Since I only want to affect the player, I'm trying a different approach: I create one "dummy" form in the construction set, then copy all attributes of the currently equipped weapon to the dummy weapon, then replace the equipped weapon with the copied one. So essentially I'm "cloning" the form, but I'm not creating a new one. My code hasn't seen a rewrite in a long time, so the variable naming is very ambiguous (and in general ugly). Thank god I at least refrained from calling that function "CloneWeaponStats" or something similar. Ugh. Regardless, I removed the cloneform call and my script still isn't working. I consistently get my error message, but occasionally the mesh will be copied (despite giving me the error). It's all very inconsistent at the moment, so I suspect the problem is deeper. I'll start digging. Thanks for your help :)
User avatar
Kellymarie Heppell
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:37 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:19 pm

Hmm, modAV2 doesn't seem to work there....from what I can see that would only restore Alchemy if it had been damaged....
It's happened again ! ModAV should give you the effect you're looking for. Just make sure you reset the stat at a later point.
User avatar
Brandi Norton
 
Posts: 3334
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:24 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:21 am

You'll need to use the setMEXXX functions on each MGEF in the utem's enchantment to swap its particle emitter ( use the magiceffects\null.nif as the interim one ) before equipping the item.


I've tried with SetMagicEffectModel. The script has to equip an item with fortify attributes and skills effects on the player any time it gets unequipped:

short fixedstring_var fixequip01;(is it string_var? and what does string_var mean? i saw it in another script and figured it was what I should use)string_var fixequip02BeginGameMode...if Player.GetEquipped Token == 0 && fixed == 0		set fixequip01 to GetMagicEffectModel FOSK		set fixequip02 to GetMagicEffectModel FOAT		SetMagicEffectModel "Meshes\magiceffects\null.nif" FOSK	SetMagicEffectModel "Meshes\magiceffects\null.nif" FOAT	Player.EquipItemNS Token	set fixed to 1elseif Player.GetEquipped Token && fixed	SetMagicEffectModel fixequip01 FOSK	SetMagicEffectModel fixequip02 FOAT	set fixed to 0;(this is the part not working, its supposed to restore the effects to their previous models, but they remain with null.nif)endIf...

So it seems to work, but for some reason it doesn't restore the fortify skill and fortify attribute effects model (Restoration.nif) at the end. Have I declared the variables correctly?

Edit: this wireless keyboard is unreliable at best...
Edit": I could type in directly which .nif file they should be restored to, but that would be incompatible with graphic replacers of those effects.

Also, is there a way to prevent the equip sound? The CS wiki says there is, but when redirected to spam techniques it only lists how to prevent the sound/messages when adding items, not when equipping them.
User avatar
Patrick Gordon
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:38 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:10 am

I've tried with SetMagicEffectModel. The script has to equip an item with fortify attributes and skills effects on the player any time it gets unequipped:

So it seems to work, but for some reason it doesn't restore the fortify skill and fortify attribute effects model (Restoration.nif) at the end. Have I declared the variables correctly?

Edit: this wireless keyboard is unreliable at best...
Edit": I could type in directly which .nif file they should be restored to, but that would be incompatible with graphic replacers of those effects.

Also, is there a way to prevent the equip sound? The CS wiki says there is, but when redirected to spam techniques it only lists how to prevent the sound/messages when adding items, not when equipping them.
You can look up on string and array variables in the OBSE command doc - It should give you usage info.

When a function takes a string literal as a parameter, and you're passing it through a string_var, you'll need to call the ToString operator on it
	SetMagicEffectModel $fixequip01 FOSK	SetMagicEffectModel  $fixequip02 FOAT

User avatar
Budgie
 
Posts: 3518
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 2:26 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:41 am

It's happened again ! ModAV should give you the effect you're looking for. Just make sure you reset the stat at a later point.


I tried ModAV and it didn't work either. I don't think Alchemy takes fortify skill enchantments into account. The only one that works is SetAV, but even that doesn't give the player the perk if it's set above the next perk-level. Is there any way of forcing perks into place and then resetting them later?
User avatar
SHAWNNA-KAY
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:22 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:29 am

Thanks shadeMe, the $ did the trick. And the OBSE command doc looks like it has a fine piece of info, looking concepts there instead of just commands is what I need.

Edit: quick question. Why do all horses have 50 responsibility? And supposing it is a bug, why wasn't it corrected by the UOP?
User avatar
cassy
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 12:57 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:56 am

Quick question, on the ayleid ruins, there's the Welkynd chain 01 and then welkynd chain 02, I'm trying to find a ruin that uses the 02 chain which is the big one, and I cannot find it. I'm just wondering what ruins has it, and how the crystals inside are set up.
User avatar
Irmacuba
 
Posts: 3531
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:54 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:31 am

Quick question, on the ayleid ruins, there's the Welkynd chain 01 and then welkynd chain 02, I'm trying to find a ruin that uses the 02 chain which is the big one, and I cannot find it. I'm just wondering what ruins has it, and how the crystals inside are set up.



If it's "ARWelkydChain02", I found 2 in Atatar, 1 in Varondo03, 2 in Vilverin03 and 2 in ParadiseCamoranFortress.
User avatar
D LOpez
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:30 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:04 pm

Quick question, on the ayleid ruins, there's the Welkynd chain 01 and then welkynd chain 02, I'm trying to find a ruin that uses the 02 chain which is the big one, and I cannot find it. I'm just wondering what ruins has it, and how the crystals inside are set up.
Right click on the chain in object win > Use info
User avatar
Daddy Cool!
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:34 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:17 pm

How about changing the facial expression of an NPC ? I want my npc to have an expression of fear when exiting the dialogue with the player - instead she gives the player a broad smile
User avatar
Milad Hajipour
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:01 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:45 am

How about changing the facial expression of an NPC ? I want my npc to have an expression of fear when exiting the dialogue with the player - instead she gives the player a broad smile

Go to where you edit your dialogue. The dialogue typed is in a box labelled 'response text'. A little below that it says audio. Below that you can change the Emotion Type and Emotion Value. If the type is set to neutral (which is the default) the used expression depends on the NPC's disposition towards you. Otherwise it's whatever you set it as. 'Emotion value' is the intensity of the emotion, and IIRC that can be set between 1 and 100.
User avatar
Zoe Ratcliffe
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:45 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:49 am

Go to where you edit your dialogue. The dialogue typed is in a box labelled 'response text'. A little below that it says audio. Below that you can change the Emotion Type and Emotion Value. If the type is set to neutral (which is the default) the used expression depends on the NPC's disposition towards you. Otherwise it's whatever you set it as. 'Emotion value' is the intensity of the emotion, and IIRC that can be set between 1 and 100.

I want to control her expression upon exiting the dialogue, I know how to do it for the responses but when the dialogue terminates she takes an expression according to her disposition I guess. Plz help !
Thanks in advance
User avatar
neil slattery
 
Posts: 3358
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:57 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:54 pm

scn PointyStickAnimBegin Gamemodeif (getequipped AESPointyStick == 1)		if ((getmousebuttonpress 256) == 1)			player.pickidle onehandattackrightpointystick.kf		endifendifend

Why is this script not working? it is designed to change the attack animation for only on weapon the animation is fine the dx scancode is right (256) where is it wrong?
User avatar
Sweets Sweets
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:26 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:18 pm

How do I keep guards from going through a door?

I made a place that a certain kind of person goes when they die, and when I punch a person there guards come running up.

I made doors going to different places in Oblivion, and made sure they wouldn't mess with Open Cities or Improved Cities by placing them outside of the gate.

Guards just burst through locks that require keys, is there anyway to stop their lock destroying rampage?

P.S. If I put the door marker high up, would that help?
User avatar
James Baldwin
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:11 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:48 am

AFAIK, NPCs can only go through a locked door if they have the key for it, or if it leads to a cell owned by a faction they are part of. But maybe guards can override this when they chase the player, I'm not sure.
Check the "Minimal Use" on the door, it will not be used by the NPCs pathfinding and should help.
User avatar
Brian Newman
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:36 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:32 am

AFAIK, NPCs can only go through a locked door if they have the key for it, or if it leads to a cell owned by a faction they are part of. But maybe guards can override this when they chase the player, I'm not sure.
Check the "Minimal Use" on the door, it will not be used by the NPCs pathfinding and should help.

I just set the people's responsibility to 0, just so the guards won't come.

Thanks anyway though. :)
User avatar
I’m my own
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:55 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:41 am

I want to control her expression upon exiting the dialogue, I know how to do it for the responses but when the dialogue terminates she takes an expression according to her disposition I guess. Plz help !
Thanks in advance

Ah, I misread your post.

I don't know if that's possible...
User avatar
jadie kell
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:54 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:29 am

I want to control her expression upon exiting the dialogue, I know how to do it for the responses but when the dialogue terminates she takes an expression according to her disposition I guess. Plz help !
Thanks in advance
Use an idle anim. Copy the idle_facegen.kf idle and use this http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Facial_expressions_in_animations to add facial expressions to it.


scn PointyStickAnim Begin Gamemode if (getequipped AESPointyStick == 1)		 if ((getmousebuttonpress 256) == 1)			 player.pickidle onehandattackrightpointystick.kf		 endif endif end

Why is this script not working? it is designed to change the attack animation for only on weapon the animation is fine the dx scancode is right (256) where is it wrong?
Your pickIdle syntax is incorrect. So is getMouseButtonPress'. Look up their wiki articles ( and the one on Idle Animations while you're at it ). Secondly, use onKeyDown instead of getMouseButtonPress as you don't want to call the pickIdle condition every frame.
User avatar
Big mike
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 6:38 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:07 am

What happens when you use pushactoraway on a creature that has no ragdoll skeleton (like wraith, ghost, wisp)? Will it cause a weird bug or will it simply not work? I could test, but since this thread exists...
User avatar
Horror- Puppe
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:09 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:45 am

What happens when you use pushactoraway on a creature that has no ragdoll skeleton (like wraith, ghost, wisp)? Will it cause a weird bug or will it simply not work? I could test, but since this thread exists...
The call doesn't work if the creature attempts to push itself. If a 3rd party pushes it, the call seems to impart the creature the velocity passed to the function. The creature then proceeds to move in the direction of the push (along a straight line). Collision is enabled.

I just tested it ...
User avatar
HARDHEAD
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 5:49 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion