Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Seventeenth

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:48 am

Is there a script syntax that returns 1 if it's daytime?

Pseudo-code:
If Daytime == 1
Nope. Use the gameHour global to do your computing. ( if gameHour > 6 && gameHour < 19 { //daytime })
User avatar
James Smart
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:49 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:55 am

Really noobie question, but is it possible to rotate trees?

I've searched around, but probably not efficiently and/or not in the right places. :(
User avatar
Bird
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:45 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:07 am

Really noobie question, but is it possible to rotate trees?


I don't think so because of Speedtree, but don't count me on it. I honestly wouldn't know. Just an assumption.

My Q; How do you give a creature dialogue options? Nothing happens when I try to speak to one I've given dialogue to.
User avatar
El Goose
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:02 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:00 pm

Really noobie question, but is it possible to rotate trees?
I don't think so because of Speedtree, but don't count me on it. I honestly wouldn't know. Just an assumption.

You're correct. It's pretty annoying...I understand they left out the x and y angle..as speedtree couldn't grow/display the leaves/branches that way in Oblivion.
but I think they couldn't just disable those two so the Z was disabled along with it. See it as billboards, they always have to be placed as a flat and straight 2D object.
My Q; How do you give a creature dialogue options? Nothing happens when I try to speak to one I've given dialogue to.

//Creatures//
Creatures is a type of actor object that cannot engage in dialogue, commit crimes, wear armor or clothing, or be pickpocketed.
// Dialogue-button//
For NPCs, it creates a view window that shows all possible dialogue responses that are associated with this NPC.
Not functional for creatures because they cannot engage in dialogue.

Impossible, it's the same as trying to turn them into a merchant. Dremora aren't set as creatures, so that's why they can talk. So you'd either have to fake it by creating a creature-suit for a NPC, or an invisible one NPC, simply using message boxes or finding another workaround.
User avatar
kasia
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:46 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:09 am

QQ:

1 Interior Cell, 2 scripts (1 on NPC 1 on Static)

Can i set a variable with the static, and have the npc use that same variable in his script?
User avatar
Ludivine Dupuy
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:51 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:22 pm

QQ:
1 Interior Cell, 2 scripts (1 on NPC 1 on Static)

Can i set a variable with the static, and have the npc use that same variable in his script?

Sure, as long at the NPC stays close to it (same cell) it'll able to use it.
User avatar
Richard Thompson
 
Posts: 3302
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 3:49 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:52 am

Sure, as long at the NPC stays close to it (same cell) it'll able to use it.


Great, thanks Pronam
User avatar
Jennie Skeletons
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:21 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:03 am

1 Interior Cell, 2 scripts (1 on NPC 1 on Static)
Static objects can't have scripts attached to them. Use activators instead (unless that's what you meant).
User avatar
Nitol Ahmed
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 7:35 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:45 am

In the object window, do only the doors which end in ANIM have an animation attatched to them? So the doors which don't end in ANIM (even though they have a double sided texture) don't animate?
User avatar
Nicole Coucopoulos
 
Posts: 3484
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:09 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:09 am

I think that's correct. Non-animating doors are used for dummy doors or loading doors (where you don't see the door move anyway because you are jumping to another cell).

Animating doors are useful for separating rooms in a single cell, of course.
User avatar
RUby DIaz
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 8:18 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 7:53 pm

I think that's correct. Non-animating doors are used for dummy doors or loading doors (where you don't see the door move anyway because you are jumping to another cell).

Animating doors are useful for separating rooms in a single cell, of course.

So even doors which have a texture on both sides (as if they were animated) don't have an animation? That is weird...
User avatar
jadie kell
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:54 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:00 am

I wouldn't say so.. If it's one with a handle it'll enable you to decide where it will be. For others there may have been a(n) (planned) animation in the past
User avatar
Queen
 
Posts: 3480
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:00 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:11 pm

The mesh component is frequently common between them all, so it's not like there any extra work involved. The .nif file gets duplicated and some extra blocks are added to make it movable, but the model doesn't need to be rebuilt or retextured. It's also marginally easier for the scene-builder if it doesn't have to be rotated to face the right way!
User avatar
Chelsea Head
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 6:38 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:19 pm

How do I make an ability (spell) drain magicka over time?

I'm using toggle scripts to activate/deactivate abilities like night eye and I would like my magicka to go down while the spells are active.

Also, using the absorb spell effects, how do I get it to absorb all of the targets health over time?
User avatar
Miss K
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:33 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:55 pm

The mesh component is frequently common between them all, so it's not like there any extra work involved. The .nif file gets duplicated and some extra blocks are added to make it movable, but the model doesn't need to be rebuilt or retextured. It's also marginally easier for the scene-builder if it doesn't have to be rotated to face the right way!
Plus, a two sided door lets you have the doorknob on the right on the way in and on the left on the way out. If the scene-builder is paying enough attention, of course.
User avatar
Hussnein Amin
 
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:15 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:23 pm

How do I make an ability (spell) drain magicka over time?
By adding a damage magicka component that's higher than the player's magicka regeneration (or add Stunted Magicka + damage magicka for easier setting of values).

Also, using the absorb spell effects, how do I get it to absorb all of the targets health over time?

You don't.

There are two problems with this.
1. You can only change the magnitude on the fly using OBSE.
2. Absorb is a tricky magic effect, which is ended automatically once you're too far away from your target. And by "too far away" I mean like three steps away.
User avatar
elliot mudd
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:56 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:06 am

By adding a damage magicka component that's higher than the player's magicka regeneration (or add Stunted Magicka + damage magicka for easier setting of values).

Can't believe I didn't think of that, thanks.


You don't.

Oh


There are two problems with this.
1. You can only change the magnitude on the fly using OBSE.
2. Absorb is a tricky magic effect, which is ended automatically once you're too far away from your target. And by "too far away" I mean like three steps away.

1. So should the magnitude be high enough to cover all the victims health or just a little that gets repeated over the duration?
2. That saves me from scripting it to deactivate when the player leaves the victim them.
User avatar
Greg Cavaliere
 
Posts: 3514
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:31 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:52 am

How do I make an ability (spell) drain magicka over time?

I'm using toggle scripts to activate/deactivate abilities like night eye and I would like my magicka to go down while the spells are active.

Also, using the absorb spell effects, how do I get it to absorb all of the targets health over time?

The problem with trying to do a continuous drain is that the game is also trying to do a positive regenerate magicka and the factors involved are constants except for the Willpower. You can't make the rate negative, but you could stop it by inflicting Stunted Magicka, so that the spell-user would not regen until he stops using the spell. If you try and script a negative effect, you'll likely see steps down with a drift up in between, which would look strange. Since you can use up Magicka to cast the spell, you get an initial drop, so I'd settle for the "no regen until I turn it off" as the penalty.

IIRC the Absorb is a single-shot setup, and the duration is just the time until it turns off. Even if you scripted a sequence of Absorbs of increasing strength and short duration, I'm not sure you could get close enough to the progressive drain you're looking for.
User avatar
Steve Fallon
 
Posts: 3503
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:29 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:05 am

IIRC the Absorb is a single-shot setup, and the duration is just the time until it turns off. Even if you scripted a sequence of Absorbs of increasing strength and short duration, I'm not sure you could get close enough to the progressive drain you're looking for.

Surely if I set the spell effect properties correctly I'll be able to drain any amount of health simply because the lower healths are smaller than the amount I'm draining. A constant drain shouldn't be required if the drain is stronger than my foes. I'm not looking for the drain to get stronger as it goes, I'm just looking for it to go until my foe is dead (which I believe triggers the spell to stop anyway).
User avatar
Brittany Abner
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 10:48 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:42 am

Anybody know a good test cell I can jump to quickly in order to check how lava looks?
User avatar
Epul Kedah
 
Posts: 3545
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 3:35 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:44 am

dont want to make a new thread for this question; thought id post it here:

I need a script for a gate that opens when the player reaches a certain distance from the gate, and closes behind the player instantly after the player enters to the inside. the script should be done so that it can be approached from both sides, from in front and from the back, and the same happens, the gate opens for the player, then closes. Can anyone help me? If theres something i dont understand its scripts!
User avatar
Jessie Rae Brouillette
 
Posts: 3469
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:50 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:50 pm

Considering that this is a thread for quick answers, here's the scripts associated with Integration's "Mir Corrup" gate, which does most of what you want.
scn ibgMirCorrupGateScript; based on MS08FGGateScript; included stuff to make the gate close again. And to play sounds; activated by linked child; activates optionally linked parent after 2 sec delayshort activatedshort openshort nextshort busyshort wantopenshort wantclosedfloat timerfloat closetimerref mySelfref myParentbegin gameMode	if busy == 1		if wantopen == 1			set wantopen to 0			set open to 1			playgroup forward 1			playsound3d DRSHeavyOpen01		elseif wantclosed == 1			set wantclosed to 0			set open to 0			playgroup backward 1			playsound3d DRSHeavyClose01		endif	if isanimplaying == 0		set busy to 0	endif	endif		if open == 1if isanimplaying == 0if busy == 0set closetimer to closetimer + getsecondspassedif closetimer >= 10set busy to 1set wantclosed to 1set closetimer to 0endifendifendifendifendbegin onActivate	if activated == 0		set mySelf to getSelf;		set myParent to getParentRef		set activated to 1	endif	if isActionRef player == 1		if open == 0			message "This gate is opened elsewhere."		endif	elseif busy == 0		if open == 0			set wantopen to 1		else			set wantclosed to 1		endif		set busy to 1	endifend

Then the gate is linked through standard trigger zones that activate their parent. There's already prefabs for this available.
User avatar
George PUluse
 
Posts: 3486
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:20 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:10 pm

thanks. i thought something about GetDistance but it seems i was wrong again on a scripting matter :)
User avatar
Lily
 
Posts: 3357
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 10:32 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:48 am

How do I activate a secret door using one of those Candle Levers? I have looked through the existing ones, but didn't find anything that I thought I could recognize and use... The wiki (TBH) is not really good at explaining anything about stuff like this...
User avatar
djimi
 
Posts: 3519
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 6:44 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:01 pm

My NPCs aren't appearing in-game and I don't know why. I don't really know how to be more specific without going into loads of detail :S any ideas why this might be happening?
User avatar
Soku Nyorah
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 1:25 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion