Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Twelfth

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:47 am

I posted a link in the previous page, IIRC.

Okay, I read up on that but how do I create the actual configuration file (is it just a text file with a specific extension)?
User avatar
Jack
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:08 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:11 am

I have one magic effect script with the syntax:
set ThatOtherQuestScript.doonce to 0
in the scripteffectfinish block. But when I compile it, it says there's an unknown variable or function "doonce" in the magic effect script, like it's not checking the quest script I'm telling it to. There is definitely a doonce variable in the quest script, but not one in the magic effect script.

That line should be something like: "set MyQuest.doonce to 0"

To get/set variables in quest scripts, you use the quest EditorID
To get/set variables in an object script, you use the reference EditorID. The reference must be persistent
User avatar
Tiffany Castillo
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:09 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 3:47 am

Looks Up: Gosh Darn it, I need to type faster... :D

I know you can have one script check the value of a variable in another script, but can the first script change the value of the other script's variable as well? Do they have to be of the same script type (both quest scripts)?

I have one magic effect script with the syntax:
set ThatOtherQuestScript.doonce to 0
in the scripteffectfinish block. But when I compile it, it says there's an unknown variable or function "doonce" in the magic effect script, like it's not checking the quest script I'm telling it to. There is definitely a doonce variable in the quest script, but not one in the magic effect script.


Try finding the Quest in the Quest Tab, press 'F2' (which should let you change it's name) and use Ctrl+C, so you can guarentee you've got the correct Quest Name (don't forget that even a letter out can cause issues). If it's like your example (ThatOtherQuestScript), you're using the Script name, rather than the Quest Name.
User avatar
Maeva
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:27 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:19 am

Okay, I read up on that but how do I create the actual configuration file (is it just a text file with a specific extension)?

It doesn't even require an extension as long as it's a text file with valid batchscript syntax. .ini is the standard though, you should probably stick with that.
User avatar
Caroline flitcroft
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 7:05 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:01 am

It doesn't even require an extension as long as it's a text file with valid batchscript syntax. .ini is the standard though, you should probably stick with that.

Thank you. :)
User avatar
Dan Stevens
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:00 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:15 am

QQuix/CDM: Thanks a lot. Leave it to me to switch'em around like that. :facepalm:

I do have another, unrelated question though.

I made a scripted summon spell by following http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Scripting_Tutorial:_Summoned_Creatures tutorial. It all works fine except my summoned creature won't fight for me. If I go into combat, it just stands there while I get pummeled. The creature is a new one copied from a vanilla one. I gave it the PlayerFaction and an AI package to follow the player with the flags Must Complete, No Idle Animations, Allow Falls, & Defensive Combat marked. It has Agression: 5 , Confidence 100 , Energy level 75 , & Responsibility 0. Are any of these settings causing my summoned critter to not engage in combat?

Correction: My summoned creature will fight against another hostile creature or bandits in the wilderness or dungeons. But not against non-hostile NPCs who turn hostile against me when I engage them in combat. In other words, the critter seems to fight only when the enemy starts the fight, not when I provoke it. Is there a way to make my critter fight everyone I'm fighting against?
User avatar
Lawrence Armijo
 
Posts: 3446
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:12 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:54 am

Try giving it an escort package instead of follow
User avatar
Patrick Gordon
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:38 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:23 pm

Red.Murder: I think that your messagebox is causing the problem. You have sufficient conditions to deal with the choice but you may not be catching what the GetButtonPressed was. You'll need to add another condition that says:

[b]if (choice == -1);Still waiting for choice.return[/b]elseif (choice == 0);A choice has been made;Do somethingelseif (choice == 1);etc


However if you do this then the "Set DoOnce to 1" that you have in there will prevent the script from executing again, so consider scrapping that.

Erm, hope I helped a bit.

Edit: http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/MessageBox_Tutorial
User avatar
El Khatiri
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:43 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:38 am

Try giving it an escort package instead of follow


That was a no-go. I ended up tweaking the aggression a little till I found an acceptable threshold. It seems 17 is a good enough value to have your summoned creatures attack whoever's attacking you regardless of who started the fight, but without the carried over aggression against essential NPCs who "wake up" after taking a good thrashing.
User avatar
Alan Cutler
 
Posts: 3163
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 9:59 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:57 am

How do I add sounds to a creature?

I downloaded Lore Creatures Expansion and have added the .Nif file and got the animations showing and all that, but in the sounds tab there are no sounds in the list. What do I do now?
User avatar
Allison C
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:02 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:45 am

If a quest in a mod is marked as initially active, is it started when the mod is added to an already-active game? And if not, where can you do the "StartQuest" for it, without a "Chicken and egg" problem?
User avatar
!beef
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:41 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:19 am

If a quest in a mod is marked as initially active, is it started when the mod is added to an already-active game? And if not, where can you do the "StartQuest" for it, without a "Chicken and egg" problem?

Unstarted quests start when initially active is checked. They'll even start if you clean-save and activate the mod again.
User avatar
J.P loves
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:03 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:14 pm

How do I add sounds to a creature?

I downloaded Lore Creatures Expansion and have added the .Nif file and got the animations showing and all that, but in the sounds tab there are no sounds in the list. What do I do now?

Ok I figured it out that I have to right click in the window to select sounds etc, but I don't see the sounds in the list that I want to use. I have looked in the Data Folder and the sounds I need are indeed in the right Sounds folder, but they don't show up in the CS list, why is this?
User avatar
Robert Devlin
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:19 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:38 am

Alright, this script is crashing the game. I don't get why. BrilliantGlassContainerREF refers to a container holding only the brilliantGlassLL, and I am trying to move items from the chest to the player then reset the cell so it can happen again

ScriptName BrilliantGlassScriptShort ActivatedBegin OnEquipSet Activated to 1EndBegin GamemodeIf Activated == 1	BrilliantGlassContainerREF.RemoveAllItems Player	Player.RemoveItem BrilliantGlass 1	ResetInterior BrilliantGlassCell	Set Activated to 0EndifEndBegin MenumodeIf Activated == 1	BrilliantGlassContainerREF.RemoveAllItems Player	Player.RemoveItem BrilliantGlass 1	ResetInterior BrilliantGlassCell	Set Activated to 0EndifEnd

User avatar
Suzie Dalziel
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:19 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:25 am

I want to remove the effect that makes my character invisible when I have a persistent chameleon effect on one of my equipments. It really drives me insane and I want to remove it so I can still see myself while I'm wearing a chameleon item.

I could use player.setactorrefraction 0 but I'd only like it affect the player when they have the chameleon affect on them.

Can someone make a quest script or something for this?
User avatar
Nathan Maughan
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:24 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:57 am

I want to remove the effect that makes my character invisible when I have a persistent chameleon effect on one of my equipments. It really drives me insane and I want to remove it so I can still see myself while I'm wearing a chameleon item.

I could use player.setactorrefraction 0 but I'd only like it affect the player when they have the chameleon affect on them.

Can someone make a quest script or something for this?

See http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=1014389.
User avatar
Jessica Stokes
 
Posts: 3315
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 11:01 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 7:45 pm

What is the best way to fix dirty dialogue edits (assuming there is one)?
User avatar
Betsy Humpledink
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:56 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:01 pm

What is the best way to fix dirty dialogue edits (assuming there is one)?

Mod cleaning on the http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Mod_Cleaning_Tutorial
User avatar
Damned_Queen
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:18 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:00 am

Anyone know of a way to read when the play is standing on top of water (waterwalking), but not actually swimming in it? I've tried placing an activator below the player's feet and using IsInWater or IsSwimming and neither seem to work, whether the activator is enabled or not.
User avatar
Del Arte
 
Posts: 3543
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 8:40 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:09 am

Anyone know of a way to read when the play is standing on top of water (waterwalking), but not actually swimming in it? I've tried placing an activator below the player's feet and using IsInWater or IsSwimming and neither seem to work, whether the activator is enabled or not.

Use http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/HasMagicEffect and IsUnderWater
User avatar
Pete Schmitzer
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:20 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 11:47 pm

Use http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/HasMagicEffect and IsUnderWater

Are you saying IsUnderWater actually returns true when water walking, or that I should try that on the activator?
User avatar
Mandi Norton
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:43 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:26 pm

Are you saying IsUnderWater actually returns true when water walking, or that I should try that on the activator?
Neither. As a matter of fact, they don't tell if the player's on water. Try this
if ( player.hasMagicEffect WAWA ) && ( player.isUnderWater == 0 || player.isSwimming == 0 )   set rRef to getFirstRef 66 ; - water form   while ( rRef )	  if ( rRef.getDistance player < 9 )	   ; the closest you can get to detecting if the player is on water	  endIf   loopendIf

User avatar
lucile davignon
 
Posts: 3375
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:40 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:57 am

Ha, you can call the water itself as a reference? That helps a lot :lol: thank you.
Unfortunately, I have absolutely no idea how to use loops though. That was something I knew I needed to learn soon.
Problem is I have no idea where to go to find out about that; the Wiki doesn't seem to have any information on it, or even the existence of the function itself.
User avatar
Sarah Unwin
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:31 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:47 am

I haven't tried it meself, but do post you findings.

Unfortunately, I have absolutely no idea how to use loops though. That was something I knew I needed to learn soon.
Problem is I have no idea where to go to find out about that; the Wiki doesn't seem to have any information on it, or even the existence of the function itself.
It's pretty simple. The OBSE command doc explains their usage - http://obse.silverlock.org/obse_command_doc.html#Flow_Control_Functions. The wiki article on http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/GoTo should get the basics straight.
User avatar
DAVId Bryant
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:41 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:36 am

Mod cleaning on the http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Mod_Cleaning_Tutorial

Thanks! (I should have thought of that!) :embarrass:
User avatar
Lyd
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:56 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion