Quick Questions -- Quick Answers, The Twelfth

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:46 pm

Eleventh Thread : http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=996298
Tenth Thread : http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=974783
Ninth Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=957607
Eighth Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=937577
Seventh Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=912613
Sixth Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=878165
Fifth Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=856832&hl=0
Fourth Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=845521
Third Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=810878
Second Thread: http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=766739 - Archived.

Onwards and upwards !
User avatar
REVLUTIN
 
Posts: 3498
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 8:44 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:09 am

How to change those dark textures (canopy shadows?) on the landscape?
And why some texures don't apply in certain cells, making those sharp borders between types of textures? How to overcome that?

Examine http://www.shrani.si/?43/vG/3CtMtPg2/terrain.png picture, for instance ...
User avatar
Tyler F
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:07 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:23 am

92% chance I missed this, but I couldn't find detailed documentation about this with my searching. Any method of time-specific script effects? OBSE or no, how to make undead spawn only after midnight but die at dawn.

Point me in the right direction if I did miss this ;)
User avatar
Sarah Unwin
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:31 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:52 am

Hey, im almost certain ive seen this info before but cant seem to find it in my search.

Anyone know the size of the tamriel worldspace in terms of cells? Im wondering how much it is compared to a 64x64 size of land. So basicaly is it bigger than what this tutorial will give you, http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/WorldBuilding_101

Thanks for any information :P
User avatar
Guy Pearce
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 3:08 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:18 am

...
Anyone know the size of the tamriel worldspace in terms of cells? Im wondering how much it is compared to a 64x64 size of land. So basicaly is it bigger than what this tutorial will give you, http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/WorldBuilding_101
...

Check http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=5703
Cyrodiil is about 107 x 90 cells
User avatar
Bellismydesi
 
Posts: 3360
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:25 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:27 pm

I can't figure out how to use SetNthEffectItemScriptNameEX. I have a float variable called dstotal, and I want to set the 2nd effectitem on my apparel enchantment called dsench to say "dstotal magicka/sec". So I tried this line:
setntheffectitemscriptnameex "%g magicka/sec" dstotal dsench 1

but the script won't compile and save. Any suggestions?

Also: do I need to change dstotal to an integer (like using by using ceil)? Or can I somehow make it so that only one decimal place shows?
User avatar
James Potter
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:40 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 10:06 pm

I can't figure out how to use SetNthEffectItemScriptNameEX. I have a float variable called dstotal, and I want to set the 2nd effectitem on my apparel enchantment called dsench to say "dstotal magicka/sec". So I tried this line:
setntheffectitemscriptnameex "%g magicka/sec" dstotal dsench 1

but the script won't compile and save. Any suggestions?

Also: do I need to change dstotal to an integer (like using by using ceil)? Or can I somehow make it so that only one decimal place shows?

Pass the enchantment in a ref variable. Or, better, pass the scriptname as a string variable to SetNthEIScriptName.
string_var namelet name := $dstotal + " magicka/sec"SetNthEIScriptName $name dsench 1

92% chance I missed this, but I couldn't find detailed documentation about this with my searching. Any method of time-specific script effects? OBSE or no, how to make undead spawn only after midnight but die at dawn.

Point me in the right direction if I did miss this ;)

Depends on how you are spawning them. If they are spawned from leveled lists and the list only contains undead, put a marker script on the leveled list like:
if (gamehour > 5); if it's between midnight and 5am  disable; don't spawn stuffelse; at night  enable; spawn stuffendif

This should prevent the list from spawning anything from 5am until midnight. A script would be needed on the undead creatures spawned by the list to make them die at dawn. Something like
if (getDead == 0)  if (gamehour > 5 && getparentworldspace); it's after dawn and the creature is outside	kill; maybe add a shader effect or something to show it burning in the sun  endifendif

If the leveled list also spawns other (non-undead) things, you wouldn't be able to use a marker script; you'd have to put everything in the creature script.
User avatar
Louise
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 1:06 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:02 pm

Thanks for the help! I had something like:
short cTime
set cTime to GetCurrentTime
if cTime <= 21 && >= 5
;spawning stuff
elseIf
disable

But nadda. Zip. Nothing. No spawning. I'll try out what you suggested ^_^
User avatar
Lucky Boy
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:26 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:45 am

Thanks Scruggsy. Worked great.
User avatar
Anthony Rand
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 5:02 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 12:08 pm

Is there a way to simulate casting a spell, for the purpose of increasing your skill in that spell's school?
User avatar
Hope Greenhaw
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:44 pm

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:47 pm

If possible,

How do I add specific factions to races in the CS? for example, If I would want all imperials including the player to be allied to all Xivilai, how would I accomplish such thing?
User avatar
Kevan Olson
 
Posts: 3402
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:09 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:42 am

All I want to do right now is use the Construction Set to change the Player Actor facegen values for my character (because I need to clamp the sliders to get a specific face). There was a time when I created and released my own housing mods for Morrowind on TES Nexus and PES, but that was... well, long ago.

Which modules do I need to have loaded? How do I load my saved game (for the character whose face I want to change) into the CS for editing?
User avatar
Suzie Dalziel
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:19 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 5:48 am

Is there a way to simulate casting a spell, for the purpose of increasing your skill in that spell's school?

http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/SetSkillUseIncrement 0

If possible,

How do I add specific factions to races in the CS? for example, If I would want all imperials including the player to be allied to all Xivilai, how would I accomplish such thing?

You'll need to do it during run time. http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/GetFirstRef through every cell's actors, compare their race and then change faction relationships.

All I want to do right now is use the Construction Set to change the Player Actor facegen values for my character (because I need to clamp the sliders to get a specific face). There was a time when I created and released my own housing mods for Morrowind on TES Nexus and PES, but that was... well, long ago.

Which modules do I need to have loaded? How do I load my saved game (for the character whose face I want to change) into the CS for editing?

The CS can't be used directly to change anything in your game save. For your purpose, goto the console and call showracemenu. That will bring up the facegen menu. Modify all you want and create a new game save. Load for it to see your changes.
User avatar
Marina Leigh
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 7:59 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:00 am

The CS can't be used directly to change anything in your game save. For your purpose, goto the console and call showracemenu. That will bring up the facegen menu. Modify all you want and create a new game save. Load for it to see your changes.


I don't just want to change the features, I need the sliders to be clamped. For example, if you move a given slider during facegen, oftentimes some related sliders will be automatically adjusted along with it.

That makes inputting the exact values for a face someone else has designed quite difficult, since once you get a number set properly and move on to the next slider, that next slider can alter the value you input for the previous slider. The only way to clamp the sliders so that they all move completely independently is to use the CS.

However, I think I have found a utility (Oblivion Face Exchange Lite) that should alleviate my problems somewhat, since I can now simply use that utility to input slider values and alter my save file.
User avatar
Sunnii Bebiieh
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 7:57 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:17 am

how do you make items not appear in the loot menu when you killed someone?
i want some keys not to appear

and one more

can you make a npc drink and wander at the same time or atleast stand up?
User avatar
Greg Swan
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:49 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 4:08 am

how do you make items not appear in the loot menu when you killed someone?
i want some keys not to appear

and one more

can you make a npc drink and wander at the same time or atleast stand up?

. http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/How_do_I_make_an_Item_Un-Stealable
. Needs specific editing of the idle animation. But the whole point of idle animations is that they play when the actor is idling.
User avatar
naome duncan
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:36 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:28 am

. Lookie loo
. Needs specific editing of the idle animation. But the whole point of idle animations is that they play when the actor is idling.



hehe yea okay i dont want to mess with animations yet but thanks for the answer! :D
User avatar
Calum Campbell
 
Posts: 3574
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:55 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:09 pm

The script in "Lookie loo" is not working on my key.
it just says that the item i add (the key) need to be a duplicate or samething?
User avatar
katie TWAVA
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 3:32 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 8:48 pm

another qustion how do you make a character make the same dance as the Dancer in SI? i've tried to take a look at the dancers script and packages but it dident make any sence to me, even though i tried to copy a part of the dancers script to my own
User avatar
Milad Hajipour
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:01 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:16 am

Thanks Shademe. Those skilluse functions are just what I was looking for.
User avatar
James Baldwin
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:11 am

Post » Thu May 26, 2011 9:27 pm

The script in "Lookie loo" is not working on my key.
it just says that the item i add (the key) need to be a duplicate or samething?

Post your script

another qustion how do you make a character make the same dance as the Dancer in SI? i've tried to take a look at the dancers script and packages but it dident make any sence to me, even though i tried to copy a part of the dancers script to my own

Make sure your NPC fulfills the conditions required for teh dance idle to start and call pickIdle on it. Alternatively, define your own idle with the dance's kf file. Here's http://cs.elderscrolls.com/constwiki/index.php/Forcing_Idle_Animations
User avatar
Marion Geneste
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:21 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:01 am

scn AwsAwiaThugsKeyScriptBegin MenuMode 1008  RemoveItem AwsAwiathugsKey 1EndBegin GameMode  AddItem AwsAwiathugsKey 1End



About the idle Animations, how am i just going to follow the tutorial and then add the dance animation and then its working?

My BSA unpacker does not unpack the entire game? so there's no dancer .kf what do i do then?
User avatar
Courtney Foren
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:49 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:29 am

I figured it out thanks :D
User avatar
Solina971
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:40 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 2:43 am

i have tried to add the dance animation to a breton but it does not work, is it because the animation is only for imperials? its a little strange?
User avatar
Lilit Ager
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:06 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 1:45 am

Nevermind
User avatar
Marnesia Steele
 
Posts: 3398
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:11 pm

Next

Return to IV - Oblivion