Quick Questions, Quick Answers - Thread #24

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:34 am

Thank you very, very much...

User avatar
Tyler F
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:07 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 7:40 am

Is it possible to remove a spell from a RACE?

RemoveSpell works on actors, and removes the Spells added to the Actor fine, but the ones that are part of their Race do not seem to remove like this; I would prefer being able to script them, rather than having to create a patch, just to keep things easy.

User avatar
Ricky Rayner
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 2:13 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 9:03 am

Well looking at the wiki page for the http://www.creationkit.com/Race_Script, SKSE has added some GetSpell functions but no Add or Remove ones. So looks like the answer's no, unless you ask nicely in the SKSE thread

- Hypno
User avatar
Tina Tupou
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:37 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:27 am

Thanks for that example, mate. With the description on the wiki I never figured it out how the correct syntax is.

Okay, my goal: Get the actor value of the player and trigger an OnHit() event of the player character.

What I've done: Making a quest, setting up the questalias "PlayerRef", set it to PlayerRef, added the following script to "PlayerRef" and selected for the property "_RefAliasPlayer" the PlayerRef of this quest.

Scriptname onHitTrigger extends Quest{...}ReferenceAlias property _RefAliasPlayer auto event OnHit(ObjectReference akAggressor, Form akSource, Projectile akProjectile, bool abPowerAttack, bool abSneakAttack, bool abBashAttack, bool abHitBlocked)		debug.Notification("OnHit triggered")		Actor playerRef = _PlayerRef.GetReference() as Actor		if playerRef != None		debug.Notification("playerRef is " + playerRef.GetLeveledActorBase().GetName())	endIf	endEvent

Tested it in-game and the event OnHit wasn't triggered once. Why?

User avatar
suniti
 
Posts: 3176
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:22 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:03 am

If this script is attached to a reference alias, it needs to extend ReferenceAlias, instead of Quest as it does now (in the first line).

User avatar
Tyler F
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 8:07 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 9:07 am

Under magic effect, is it possible to change the casting art size? When I try to do it directly(in the fx window) there are only 3 options, none of which would allow any size change.

Thought I'd add. Is it possible to change the projectile size within the creation kit?

User avatar
Eve Booker
 
Posts: 3300
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:53 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:10 am

I need to write a script that would make guards unequip their helmet when they are not in combat and automatically equip it as soon as they enter combat and automatically unequip it again once the fight it over. This script would be added to guard templates. The only thing I know about scripting is how to tweak certain existing scripts to have them do or not do what I want them to do or not to do. Beside this, I cannot write a script on my own and I suspect that, if I began learning how to script today, it would take at least six months before I'm able to write the script I want. (sigh)

So, does anyone know of an existing script that would do something similar to what I'm looking to do, so that I can use it as a model?

Thanks!

User avatar
Krystal Wilson
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 9:40 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 2:14 am

Doesn't Serana do something like? Maybe you could have a look at the script that causes her hood to be unequipped.

Another question, how do I locate the texture files within the creation kit? I know how to manually find it using a bsa extractor or FO3 Archive utility but I'd like to know how to change them and apply them as well.

When I open up an object, I can only see the mesh/model.

User avatar
Sammi Jones
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 7:59 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:29 pm

I open up an object in the ck, find where its at and then use nifskope to find the texture sets. Would be nice to see if you get the DIR in the ck though, dont think you can

User avatar
Miragel Ginza
 
Posts: 3502
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 6:19 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:45 pm

My understanding of how they work was incorrect, I've done some more research and now I know how they work. Thanks anyway.

OT: I've made my first texture! It's just 1 plain colour but it looks like it should. :)

User avatar
James Potter
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:40 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 9:40 am

I have the PS3 version and would like to "take a look under the hood", like the official page says.

Is it possible to access the just the data without the game in the creation kit, like the scripts or AI packages?

User avatar
saxon
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 2:45 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 5:18 am

Try this. The only thing I am unsure about is if the guards bodies will be removed after death. I think by going to the Dead state, the script should stop making them persistent? Hopefully someone else can confirm this.

Spoiler
Scriptname helmetScript extends ActorForm guardHelmetEvent OnInit()  unequipHelmet()EndEventFunction unequipHelmet()  UnequipItemSlot(30)EndFunctionEvent OnItemRemoved(Form akBaseItem, int aiItemCount, ObjectReference akItemReference, ObjectReference akDestContainer)  guardHelmet = akBaseItem  GoToState("HelmetIdentified")EndEventState HelmetIdentified  Event OnItemRemoved(Form akBaseItem, int aiItemCount, ObjectReference akItemReference, ObjectReference akDestContainer)  EndEventEndStateEvent OnCombatStateChanged(Actor akTarget, int aeCombatState)  if aeCombatState == 0    unequipItem(guardHelmet)  else    equipItem(guardHelmet)  endifEndEventEvent OnDeath(Actor akKiller)  goToState("Dead")EndEventState Dead  Event OnInit()  EndEvent  Function unequipHelmet()  EndFunction  Event OnItemRemoved(Form akBaseItem, int aiItemCount, ObjectReference akItemReference, ObjectReference akDestContainer)  EndEvent  Event OnCombatStateChanged(Actor akTarget, int aeCombatState)  EndEvent  Event OnDeath(Actor akKiller)  EndEventEndState

Edit: fixed the OnCombatStateChanged Event, was opposite of what it should have been. (Also, after revisiting the Wiki's page on persistence, I'm more confident that the script shouldn't cause any persistence problems and that the guard's corpses should be cleaned up as normal after they die)

User avatar
Michelle Smith
 
Posts: 3417
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 2:03 am

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 9:29 pm

Nevermind, just found out. It's possible by downloading the kit from other sources, but not worth the trouble, since you have to use the notepad and a web browser to read the files and can't even use the kit to improve your game. :confused:

User avatar
Steeeph
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:28 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:52 am

Hey, it's true! I had forgotten about that. Thanks! :)

Thank you! :)

User avatar
Lauren Dale
 
Posts: 3491
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:57 am

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 10:47 pm

How is "FavorExcludedFaction" used? Should it be added to all NPCs from a mod not intended to be picked up by the radiant quest system regardless of voice type and location?

User avatar
Jonathan Montero
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:22 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:01 am

Any suggestions on how to exit the container menu with Papyrus? DisablePlayerControls doesn't work even though it does for the inventory menu. TapKey doesn't work either, at least not inside the OnMenuOpen event.

User avatar
Lilit Ager
 
Posts: 3444
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:06 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 8:27 am

How do I set up a quest alias that will remain empty until I fill it via script? Is creating an alias with the default settings and then just ticking the "optional" box enough to accomplish this?

User avatar
Carys
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:15 pm

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 9:48 pm

activating the container should do, at least that's how you get pc out of furniture

User avatar
Robert Garcia
 
Posts: 3323
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:26 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:38 am

yes.

User avatar
RObert loVes MOmmy
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 10:12 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:07 am

Do water activators always lose their transparency if you use TranslateTo() on them? I'm working on a water puzzle where you move a block under a waterfall. When it first moves under the waterfall I use MoveTo() to get the water objects onto the block, then there are two more positions that are still under the waterfall so I use TranslateTo() on all of them together. As soon as the TranslateTo() begins the opacity of the water activator changes to what it looks like when it's just over the void and stays that way until I use a MoveTo() on it again. It looks pretty bad having it suddenly change. I guess I could do a really slight TranslateTo() on it after the initial MoveTo() to make it opaque all the time, that would at least be better than having it changing in the middle.

User avatar
Imy Davies
 
Posts: 3479
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:42 pm

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 9:29 pm

That isn't working either.

User avatar
Add Meeh
 
Posts: 3326
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 8:09 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 3:16 am


You need to either make your own activator, or use an existing one, that has a special keyword. Off the top of my head i cant remember it but you should be able to find it. Search in the keywords in the ck for water. Its watermoveable or words to that effect :)
User avatar
Judy Lynch
 
Posts: 3504
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:31 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:51 pm

Hmm... well I did find a water activator with the "movable" keyword, but adding that to a duplicate of the one that I need didn't seem to change anything. There aren't any keywords with water in them. I have to use one of the long water puddle ones as it's the only one that fits in the block without anything sticking out. It looks acceptable with the translateto done on it right after the moveto. Looks better than my water jets that go perfectly straight or make a 90 degree turn in mid air instead of an arc anyway ;) The other option is to switch to a couple of the splash effects and not have the water activator at all which might actually look better if I can get it scaled right and all still move in sync. The water activator is a really subtle effect at this size and distance from the player, when it's doing what it's supposed to be doing anyway.

User avatar
Daddy Cool!
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:34 pm

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 9:50 pm

Does anyone know of a mod that allows detail npc customization that allows exporting? I remember using one a while back but I can't remember the name

User avatar
My blood
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:09 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 11:07 am

http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/17018/??

User avatar
Claire Lynham
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:42 am

PreviousNext

Return to V - Skyrim