Quick Questions, Quick Answers - Thread #24

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:31 am

Yep, that was it, thanks!

How do modders make people look like their famous counter parts?

http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/27955/

http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/26437/

User avatar
Taylah Haines
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:10 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:01 am

Is it possible to call a function in a script attached to an object, that is spawned from another script?

Another way to put it:

Object A has a script that spawns Object B. Object B has a script with a function I'd like Object A to be able to call.
User avatar
Milagros Osorio
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:33 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:50 am

ScriptBName BScript = (thingB as objectReference) as ScriptBNameBScript.callBFunction()

That should do it.

User avatar
Nancy RIP
 
Posts: 3519
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:42 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 8:16 am


Cheers!

Answered two questions I've been thinking lately about. The one I asked, and what do functions mean that look like the ones you posted :)
User avatar
Dawn Porter
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:17 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 10:18 am

:D Glad to hear. Just found this out myself, actually, after staring at the script for those soul gem magic trap pedestals for a few hours :D

User avatar
Glu Glu
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:39 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:49 am

By the way, what is that called when you declare a script like that? Is there a wiki page for it? :)
User avatar
Johanna Van Drunick
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:40 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 5:55 am

It is -sort- of described on the Variables and Properties page, but it's pretty hard to follow, and they focus more on doing this through properties than on-the-fly. I haven't seen it elsewhere on the wiki. I could maybe add a blurb to the Function Reference page.

What helps me is to think about how this is basically the same as working with any other type. You just have to remember that every type (like Actor, Weapon, etc..) is really actually a script.

ScriptBName BScript = (thingB as objectReference) as ScriptBNameBScript.callBFunction()

==

Event OnItemAdded(form akBaseItem, ....)  Weapon BWeapon = (akBaseItem as objectReference) as Weapon  BWeapon.Fire()  ;(use "Fire" function that is unique to this instance of the Weapon script that is natively attached to the weapon)
User avatar
Sara Lee
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:40 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 2:44 am

Thanks for the info mate. I've used the same method for casting actors and races etc, just never a script. Now i know how :)
User avatar
SEXY QUEEN
 
Posts: 3417
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 7:54 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 3:06 am

A description now added here, hopefully with no errors:

http://www.creationkit.com/Function_Reference#Accessing_Functions_From_Other_Scripts

User avatar
adam holden
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:34 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 11:19 am

Does anyone know how bethesda made their animations? l read they used 3ds max, I'm wondering if they used the CAT system or if they used standard bones system.

When i imported the skeleton awhile ago, it look alot different than those two bone systems i mentioned above. and also would like to know if you can use any system to export the animations

User avatar
john palmer
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:07 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 2:54 am

had that, did two things: empty water's "reflect" list and add "isMovable" keyword to water, now i have that no more, so i figure one of these fixed it :-)

User avatar
i grind hard
 
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:58 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:27 am

i have a problem getting them fill bucket / pour bucket thingies to work.

my package goes travel to fill > activate fill num1 > travel to pour > activate pour num1, which is just what the vanilla carry-stuff-packages do,

and from where they are used in vanilla game, i don't see the furnitures need to be linked or anything, so why's this not working?

(all before and after this in the package run as should, so i figure it's not the pack. and furnitures are both in a location (ext) owned by the npc that should use them)

edit: ...and being at it, another idle problem i'm currently struggling with, got some play-flute-markers, npc does use them and play his flute, but i get no flute sounds whatsoever, any clues?

User avatar
Jessica Thomson
 
Posts: 3337
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:10 am

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 9:38 pm

Ok i figured out the bones issue, they are using the standard bone system in max, it probably sqaushes the bones from either the havok or the import/export at some point.

I'll make a thread about the animation, but

Has anyone ever figured out the decal system in skyrim? Idk if there was ever any vanilla decals, but there seems to be some hint to it in nifskope,

i ask, because i wanted to put some new blood and such in the game, I figured i would just use a plane in max and throw on an alpha property over it, i just did it, but wondering if there was a better way

User avatar
Lavender Brown
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 9:37 am

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 10:09 pm

Another question. How can I add a magic effect to a projectile in mid air? There seems to be no option in the projectile window so maybe through the magic effect scripts.

User avatar
NAtIVe GOddess
 
Posts: 3348
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 6:46 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 7:38 am


Its done by dragging TextureSets into the world. An arrow appears showing where the decal will get projected to. You can even manipulate them with papyrus.

Check out Il Ducey's Graffiti mod if you need details

- Hypno
User avatar
Tarka
 
Posts: 3430
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 9:22 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 8:20 am

I assume they don't, but just to confirm, do skyrim.esm or the DLCs use any of the unnamed slotmasks (higher than 43) for armor items? Cant find a way to check slotmask "use info" in the CK.

Edit: Finding the http://www.creationkit.com/Biped_Object page answered my question.

User avatar
Sarah Evason
 
Posts: 3507
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 10:47 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:42 pm

Is there a way to detect if the player is starting a new game? I have a bunch of intialization code that wouldn't need to run if they are.

User avatar
Tania Bunic
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:26 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 12:12 pm


I'm guessing its a sge quest, you could run an if statement and check the following maybe:

http://www.creationkit.com/GetRealHoursPassed_-_Game
User avatar
Pants
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:34 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 7:07 am

Sorry for having so many questions but I have a third now.

Is it possible to overwright the in game spell description without having to duplicate the magic effects used changing the description of those directly? There has to be a more efficient and resource saving way of doing it.

User avatar
Latisha Fry
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 6:42 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 2:09 am

Aha, that looks promising, I will give it a test. Thanks!

In the spell window, there is a box in the lower left that says "Description". If you fill that in, it will override the description that is set in the Magic Effect.

I'm not sure I understand exactly what you wish to do, but depending on the situation, you may be able to figure out a workaround and calculate the midway point (or other point) between the projectile's starting point and target, and place an exposion with the desired effect at that point. Or if you want to add an effect that will trigger on the target at impact, you could dynamically attach an onHit() event to the target that applys the effect when hit by the projectile if your conditions are met.

User avatar
aisha jamil
 
Posts: 3436
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:54 am

Post » Sat May 17, 2014 10:53 pm

I thought that description was for the modder only. I just remade all the effects and did it the inefficient way.

Sorry, by magic effect I meant special effect. For example; A green orb projectile could be on fire while moving through the air.

User avatar
Gisela Amaya
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:29 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:09 am

Is there an ini setting that could force the ck to load the code from the dlcs scripts subfolders, so that we don't have to move the scripts we want to see in the main game source folder?

User avatar
Lily Something
 
Posts: 3327
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:21 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 3:34 am

I am pretty sure the only way to do that is to change the projectile's .nif file (i.e. use a different projectile altogether)

Edit: or you could try using the "Muzzle Flash" option, (I haven't used it before, so not sure how it works) but this would still require using different projectile

User avatar
gemma king
 
Posts: 3523
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 12:11 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:43 am

I tried it out, na, not really what I'm looking for.

I saw http://www.creationkit.com/Projectile_Scriptthough, maybe it can alter the projectile to glow. I know set.alpha will make things transparent. I'm not sure how to do it though. I'll give it a go. If anyone wants to help, my goal is to add a green glow/tail/waves(anything really) effect and to lower the opacity.

How do I use this: ScriptName Projectile extends Form

I was about to add a script from the magic effect box but I take it that won't work.

User avatar
Symone Velez
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 12:39 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 1:23 am

Hey folks, quick question.

I'm trying to create a quest object, a gem specifically, that has a lighting effect attached to it -- one that will show up if the item is dropped, and go away when picked up. How would i add an effect like this?

User avatar
Mark
 
Posts: 3341
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 11:59 am

PreviousNext

Return to V - Skyrim