Repairing the Cogs of Morrowind #16

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:34 pm

As for the larger map you really need to test dynamic things, like enemy navigation, shooting arrows, collision detection for spells/projectiles, picking up small items etc. Errors can build up over several calculations, specifically collision detection because it involves intermediate calculations.

Cool, I will look into it
User avatar
Amanda Leis
 
Posts: 3518
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:57 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:13 pm

( Player->GetItemCount "torch" > 0 )

Upon examination, it's a compiler error with the CS. The compiler fails to translate "torch" correctly, forming an undefined type and empty id, instead of an object with id "torch". Separating the function call and if statement on different lines doesn't do anything, it is likely an error in the symbol table.

Possible solution:
# Compile the script with MWEdit, it works correctly in this case. MWEdit still isn't perfect, it breaks dialogue if you use it to edit dialogue / dialogue scripts.

Either way, you should note this down in the script for a reminder to other modders / your future self.
User avatar
Lou
 
Posts: 3518
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:56 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 7:46 am

Thank you and Tetchy both for helping me verify that it's actually a problem with the script engine and not the script itself. I'm sure you can understand it was a very frustrating (and baffling) problem. Although if the error is in the construction set and not in Morrowind.exe, I suppose there's no chance of a patch. Still, I appreciate the confirmation, the explanation of the problem, and your description of a usable workaround.
User avatar
megan gleeson
 
Posts: 3493
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:01 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:23 pm

Ok............ after some long looooooong testing, i have found no problems picking up even the smallest of item's (such as gold coins)

Ive also been fireing fireballs at every lame ass breton i could, with no difference from being at "0, 0"

I also put together quite a few building's that require to be peiced together, and that has no problem either.

Pathgrids work fine

As i have noticed already, the only problem i can see (which in my opnion is not a problem atall) is that your character can be slightly jittery, but other than that ther are no problems atall

Actually, only one other problem, it takes aggggggggggeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssss to walk to falkreath from balmora :P
User avatar
Mandy Muir
 
Posts: 3307
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:38 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 3:11 am

Greetings Hrnchamd,
I'm not sure if this has been noted before, but I think I've found a small problem with the fix for NPC AI potion drinking.

In my case, I have a companion in AIFollow mode, using a simple companion script based on Grumpy's template. When we get into combat, and I do damage to the enemy, my companion drinks his health potions! If I turn off the NPC potion fix, then he no longer does so. This is not particularly harmful or anything, just mildly disconcerting. Could you check that fix and see if it is behaving as intended? Thanks.
User avatar
u gone see
 
Posts: 3388
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:53 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:19 pm

I can't help but wonder: how do you make something like this?
User avatar
Greg Cavaliere
 
Posts: 3514
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 6:31 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 6:17 pm

I can't help but wonder: how do you make something like this?

To the impartial observer, the process appears to be a guy staring at the screen for a long time without typing much, and swearing occasionally. Really most of what I do is make documentation on how Morrowind works. Run it through a debugger, change one thing in Morrowind and note what functions are called, and what data structures change. Then there's a lot of logical deduction to guess the side effects of each function, and exactly what the data is supposed to represent. Once everything is explained in maximum detail then it is usually clear what to change. I rely on a solid base of knowledge on how things are supposed to work to be able to spot mistakes.

Greetings Hrnchamd,
I'm not sure if this has been noted before, but I think I've found a small problem with the fix for NPC AI potion drinking.

In my case, I have a companion in AIFollow mode, using a simple companion script based on Grumpy's template. When we get into combat, and I do damage to the enemy, my companion drinks his health potions! If I turn off the NPC potion fix, then he no longer does so. This is not particularly harmful or anything, just mildly disconcerting. Could you check that fix and see if it is behaving as intended? Thanks.

Thanks. That's pretty interesting, none of the AI code is particularly clear so I could have introduced that side effect in there somehow.
User avatar
bimsy
 
Posts: 3541
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:04 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 2:33 am

I have a feature request: A patch to enable the crosshair in the new 3rd person view introduced by MCP. It will make the game better imho and shouldn't be too hard to do.
User avatar
Ashley Campos
 
Posts: 3415
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 9:03 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 10:16 am

I have a feature request: A patch to enable the crosshair in the new 3rd person view introduced by MCP. It will make the game better imho and shouldn't be too hard to do.

Did you know that Adul created such a mod?
http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=1032606&hl=
User avatar
Mizz.Jayy
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:56 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 12:14 am

Did you know that Adul created such a mod?
http://www.gamesas.com/bgsforums/index.php?showtopic=1032606&hl=


No, I didn't know. Thanks for the link :)
User avatar
Chantelle Walker
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:56 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 8:57 pm

i will like to see the bribes increase the mercantile skill not speechcraft...a big hope for my imperial salesman :)
User avatar
Dalia
 
Posts: 3488
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 12:29 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:53 pm

To the impartial observer, the process appears to be a guy staring at the screen for a long time without typing much, and swearing occasionally. Really most of what I do is make documentation on how Morrowind works. Run it through a debugger, change one thing in Morrowind and note what functions are called, and what data structures change. Then there's a lot of logical deduction to guess the side effects of each function, and exactly what the data is supposed to represent. Once everything is explained in maximum detail then it is usually clear what to change. I rely on a solid base of knowledge on how things are supposed to work to be able to spot mistakes.


Haha, don't mind me, but I do program. Python, Java, a little C, and a lot of web dev with PHP, AJAX, and all sorts of other stuff, using abstraction techniques.
So I'm not completely clueless. Just aware of how much I don't know.

I am very curious as to how you made this. All I can gather, is that your methods sound a lot like some of the things I read about making trainers and cracks. (No I don't.)

When you have the time, please, point me towards something that would help me learn how to "repair the cogs of Morrowind" as you are doing :D

(I will be doing my own research soon as I am done with exams. Trying to keep my information mooching at a minimum.)
User avatar
benjamin corsini
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:32 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 12:10 am

First of all, many Thanks to Hrnchamd for all his hard work on the MCP, which has become an essential part of any Morrowind set-up.
Recently I have come across a minor issue with, or rather an inadvertent side effect of, the Hand to Hand fix. Basically, as Werewolves are actually NPCs and not creatures, they are also affected by it. Since they are very strong encounters with them are substantially more difficult than before. Would it be possible to change the fix so that it does not apply to NPCs that have transformed into werewolves? Alternatively, I suppose a plug-in that tones down werewolves by lowering their strength so that their attack would deal damage similar to the vanilla game would also remedy the problem. If neither option is possible, it might be worth adding a note about this to the description of the Hand to Hand fix, so that users can better decided whether they would like to enable it or not.
Since I am already posting, may I use this opportunity to mention two things that have always slightly annoyed me in Morrowind and which the Code Patch might be able to amend? Firstly, when a lockpick or probe is used up, characters automatically go to Hand to Hand, even when there are more of the same type of lockpick or probe in the player's inventory. Yet when using up a repair hammer or prong it is automatically replaced with another one if one of the same type is available. Would it be possible to make lockpicks and probes behave in the same way?
Secondly, would it be possible to have one slot for arrows and one for bolts, rather than one slot for both? This would make it possible to quickly switch between bows and crossbows without having to swap out ammunition every time.
Once again, many Thanks for all your hard work, it is very much appreciated!
User avatar
Allison C
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:02 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 9:18 pm

Hello all, from what i understood this patch is able to fix the limited map size as posted here http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=19510. Though after installing the patch i found that Telvannis (from the Tamriel Rebuilt's Morrowind Province mod) was still missing the right half of its landmass on the world map. Does anyone know how to fix this or the cause of this problem?
User avatar
lacy lake
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 12:13 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 11:05 pm

@rupsie: I'd try updating a copy of your saved game using Mash update map option
User avatar
lucile davignon
 
Posts: 3375
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:40 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 5:01 am

@rupsie: I'd try updating a copy of your saved game using Mash update map option

Do that,
but also double check that you activated the map fix in the patch. I believe it is turned off by default.
User avatar
SiLa
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:52 am

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 6:13 am

Do that,
but also double check that you activated the map fix in the patch. I believe it is turned off by default.


Updated the world map with Wrye Mash, no effect (doesn't matter if i got World Map Gridlines on or off). So how can you look into a mod/the patch and change the files so it does activate the map fix, cant find any description on that in the readme file or any of the other given files (in the patch documentation folder) (also cant find anything in TES construction set to do that, though i'm quite inexperienced with that). (i dubble checked that i have set the patch on active)
User avatar
kiss my weasel
 
Posts: 3221
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:08 am

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 2:11 am

Whenever I modify my character's magicka amount via the console (player-> setmagicka X), and you save, or rest, or reload, or any number of things, my magicka is always rest to whatever my intelligence is. This isn't even how magicka is determined to begin with in the game (Intelligence is only a base factor, not the only factor in determining what my magicka amount should be), and it's really annoying to have to re-modify it time and again. This is made even more peculiar by the fact that editing fatigue and health levels works just fine; neither of them get reset like magicka does. So my question is, could the MCP incorporate a fix for this bug, so that it resets using the normal formula for determining magicka levels? (Or better yet, get it to not reset at all, like fatigue and health)
User avatar
Vera Maslar
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:32 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 12:43 am

One thing i must say, after patching, the Disintegrate spell (armor/weapon) dont work, after 100 cast of Disintegrate Armor on Divayth Fyr of magnitude 100 points(100 willpower 100 destruction,for a total of 10000 points of armor broken) i killed him with frotst spell and all the pieces of his daedric armor was at 100% of health. Tested in 30 NPC, guards included...the disintegrate weapon is out too

And now, the turn undead spell dont work too....the greater bonewalker dont go away even with magnitude 100

This screwed my 40 level breton mage.... thanks!
User avatar
jodie
 
Posts: 3494
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:42 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 1:18 am

This screwed my 40 level breton mage.... thanks!
So, restore the backup of the original file and wait for a fixed patch.
User avatar
Darlene DIllow
 
Posts: 3403
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:34 am

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 7:04 pm

So, restore the backup of the original file and wait for a fixed patch.

Exactly.
Like all mods, the patch comes with the warning that you use it at your own risk.
No need to be condescending towards Hrnchamd about a problem you find.

Also, did Disintegrate ever work right to begin with? :P Those spells always seem to be very ineffective for me.
User avatar
Jeff Turner
 
Posts: 3458
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 5:35 pm

Post » Fri May 27, 2011 10:12 pm

Exactly.
Like all mods, the patch comes with the warning that you use it at your own risk.
No need to be condescending towards Hrnchamd about a problem you find.

Also, did Disintegrate ever work right to begin with? :P Those spells always seem to be very ineffective for me.


Disintegrate always worked for me. I've never had a problem with it.

Turn Undead... I dunno if that ever worked for me, but I these days I simply add it to area-effect ranged spells to make them look cool.
User avatar
Music Show
 
Posts: 3512
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:53 am

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 1:49 am

i knowkn the backup thing.......
User avatar
Steven Nicholson
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:24 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 5:23 am

Updated the world map with Wrye Mash, no effect (doesn't matter if i got World Map Gridlines on or off). So how can you look into a mod/the patch and change the files so it does activate the map fix, cant find any description on that in the readme file or any of the other given files (in the patch documentation folder) (also cant find anything in TES construction set to do that, though i'm quite inexperienced with that). (i dubble checked that i have set the patch on active)
I don't think the patch would need some mod activation. But if you did not already, try a fresh new game, so you can at least restrict possibilities: if it still does not work from a fresh new game, then it is not a savegame problem, but some compatibility/patch problem, or vice-versa
User avatar
Benji
 
Posts: 3447
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 11:58 pm

Post » Sat May 28, 2011 12:05 am

Not sure if this has been touched on for this, but I remember reading a while back that, unlike some newer games, Morrowind renders everything in front of the player. So, if you're standing in a town staring at a building, it's going to render everything on the other side of the wall that you can't see if it's in your view distance. Is that something that could be fixed with this? It would definitely be something that helped out framerate on pretty much any system.
User avatar
D IV
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:32 am

PreviousNext

Return to III - Morrowind