Repairing the Cogs of Morrowind #22

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:37 am

I think the BSA redate would fit better with the MCP than MGE. Everyone uses the MCP (or should), and the BSA redate is something that needs to be done for everyone, not just MGE users.
User avatar
Pumpkin
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:23 am

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:31 pm

I meant, forcing BSAs to the right modified date if Steam is detected. Saves another step in the modding process.

Just noticed that swift casting means that hotkeys have to be patched so as not to cause the ready magic stance. I hesitate to fix NPCs because of scripts using the GetSpellReadied function, if anyone can think of a conflict please inform me.

Found out how blight weather disease works:
One check per frame.
p = weather transition [0..1] * disease chance [from ini] * frame delta time [seconds]
if p >= roll [0..1] you contract a random blight disease

I'll save you the probability mechanics, it's expected you contract blight disease every 6 seconds in a blight storm. The problem with the code is that it adds a blight spell but doesn't activate it, so you have no stat loss at all. Considering that MCP should work properly with the default settings, I think it's best to turn off this feature completely rather than make the player suffer everything at once.
User avatar
sam westover
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:00 pm

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:48 pm

I'll save you the probability mechanics, it's expected you contract blight disease every 6 seconds in a blight storm. The problem with the code is that it adds a blight spell but doesn't activate it, so you have no stat loss at all. Considering that MCP should work properly with the default settings, I think it's best to turn off this feature completely rather than make the player suffer everything at once.


But that's not true really. :) Using powers by NPC needs modding as stated before, map extension need TR, Str-based hand-to-hand gets too strong with werewolves as you state in the readme. So, maybe it's better to make a "WARNING-Bad on the default" section for such fixes? If there is a code for blight storms, why not give us a chance to mod it to perfection?

P.S. Fast spellcasting is just great!
User avatar
louise hamilton
 
Posts: 3412
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:16 am

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 9:47 pm

Because disease chance is an ini edit, which is not modular, while a mod script can just check the weather and add one of the blight spells at its own rate without further problems.
User avatar
Auguste Bartholdi
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:20 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:12 am

Because disease chance is an ini edit, which is not modular, while a mod script can just check the weather and add one of the blight spells at its own rate without further problems.

Yep, you're right. Global script will fit better anyway. :)

I just hope you'll not ignore possible future new features just because they doesn't fit into the game without additional modding. More possibilities is always better.
User avatar
bonita mathews
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 5:04 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:16 am

http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=26348

  • Swift casting. NPCs can cast while holding weapons, and are a bit faster on the draw. Really needs testing for possible animation bugs. Quick slots no longer cause a stance change.
  • Blight storm disease disable. Should be working.
  • Russian Argonian thingy. Argonian specific swim animation wasn't playing due to the translated race name.

User avatar
nath
 
Posts: 3463
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:34 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:38 am

I just gave beta 2 a shot and it seems that when casting "target" spells without a weapon drawn, it causes it to shoot the projectile before the actual casting animation has finished. So in other words it shoots first and then plays the casting animation afterwards. So far I've only tried this with Destruction spells, so I'm not sure if it is affecting the other spell classes as well.
User avatar
Cassie Boyle
 
Posts: 3468
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:33 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:37 am

Ah, it seems like it only occurs in first person. It's similar to the instant crouch casting bug - I found that it's caused by the animation time index not being updated for the first frame of the cast animation, and the game thinks it's finished casting already. It's fixable.
User avatar
[Bounty][Ben]
 
Posts: 3352
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 2:11 pm

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:09 pm

I put everything that has no noticeable effect on the base game in the default-on fixes category. HD cutscenes was primarily made to stop Morrowind crashing when you feed it something larger than 640x480. Scroll price stuff should probably go in the more visible area, I suppose. Can you remove the 256 from the front of the Map Expansion? That's the patch id. Spellmaking max. magnitude is 500, not 1000, and it's useful for feather, and even ... uh disintegrate. Yeah, so uh, Merry Christmas.


I dunno, it just seemed like all of the 1.9 fixes got tacked on at the very end. hi-def cutscene support seemed like it would go in the first category along with the improved animation support, the scroll price modifier probably belongs in gameplay mechanic changes along with the soul gem rebalance edit and [censored], and the save file limit warning is more of an interface change. Or, at least that's what I'd assume.

Anyways, I'll edit out the 256 part. And It looks like you've since edited the spellmaking magnitude, thus making my witty commentary significantly less funny :(

I'll fix it.

( And because disintegrate is cumulative over time, it can still be pretty effective at a 100-point cap :P )
User avatar
Bitter End
 
Posts: 3418
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:40 am

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 7:56 pm

Thank you so much Hrnchamd for MCP and the continuous support.

I have a small long lasting bug affecting the weight of hand made potions.
Sorry if it has already been reported.
MCP 1.9 doesn't fix it.

Use case:
- use your Mortar & Pestle
- select 2 compatible types of ingredients
- create (or try to) potions until one of the stockpiles runs out of ingredients
- do not exit the alchemy interface!
- select other compatible ingredients
- make new potions

The new potions will have a smaller weight than they should.
If you empties a second stockpile of ingredients (without exiting the alchemy interface), then the next potions will be even lighter, and so on.

Using this bug, one can easily create lots of very light potions.
User avatar
james tait
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:26 pm

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 7:57 pm

Oblivion spell casting? One of the handful of improvements Oblivion had over Morrowind!

Another brilliant one! Nice job!
User avatar
Blaine
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:24 pm

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:11 am

http://www.tesnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=26348

  • Swift casting. Casting on-target spells should play the full animation before cast in all cases, and fixes the instant crouch cast issue. Hopefully this is final, check 1st and 3rd person anims.
  • Alchemy bug fix. Fixes potion weight, and also useless ingredients making potions lighter. Merged with potion name fix in bugs section.

User avatar
Lucky Boy
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:26 pm

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:58 am

That was fast, the bug seems fixed, thx.
However the weight calculation seems to have changed: with 2 ingredients weighing 0.10 I now create potions weighing 0.07 instead of the expected 0.10.
User avatar
Madeleine Rose Walsh
 
Posts: 3425
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:07 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:53 am

Hmm, I checked it again. Potion weight is now total ingredient weight / (number of active effects+1). This means useless ingredients make it heavier but more effects make it get lighter. Is this an acceptable tradeoff?
User avatar
Misty lt
 
Posts: 3400
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 10:06 am

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:16 pm

I've thought about it a bit, and it's definitely acceptable.
I'm not sure if the extra effects making it lighter is entirely intuitive, but on the other hand, I can't think of anything better. :P

Oblivion style casting is awesome, except when you're used to Morrowind style and keep inadvertently firing off spells. :)

I was wondering if you would be able to do anything about the numerous sound problems in Morrowind.
Namely stuff like the double sound bug (where the sound is played twice, giving the impression of increased volume), and things like how various volume sliders constantly reset themselves to absurdly loud levels. For example; my effects volume changes to way above the maximum I can set it to every time I change cell, and sometimes more often. I've heard that the second problem might be a script problem, but I haven't found anything at all detailed about it.

Anyways, it'd be awesome if there's anything you can do.
The speed you've been releasing this stuff is amazing. Keep it coming!
User avatar
Damian Parsons
 
Posts: 3375
Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:48 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 10:26 am

I was wondering if you would be able to do anything about the numerous sound problems in Morrowind.
Namely stuff like the double sound bug (where the sound is played twice, giving the impression of increased volume), and things like how various volume sliders constantly reset themselves to absurdly loud levels. For example; my effects volume changes to way above the maximum I can set it to every time I change cell, and sometimes more often. I've heard that the second problem might be a script problem, but I haven't found anything at all detailed about it.

Doesn't the patch already fix these?
- StreamMusic volume fix. StreamMusic script command always sets music volume to maximum, this patch prevents that.
- Loud armor / shield fix. Fixes occasional ridiculously loud armor hit sounds.

Those are the only sound problems I have ever heard, and they are now fixed,
User avatar
J.P loves
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:03 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:02 am

My first problem is pretty much like the the StreamMusic thing, except with effect volume.

And the second is when you're say, equipping something quickly, and the sound is played at double volume.
It isn't really a problem outside of the inventory, or not that I've noticed. But it is incredibly annoying.
User avatar
Laura Tempel
 
Posts: 3484
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 4:53 pm

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:44 am

Doesn't the patch already fix these?
- StreamMusic volume fix. StreamMusic script command always sets music volume to maximum, this patch prevents that.
- Loud armor / shield fix. Fixes occasional ridiculously loud armor hit sounds.

Those are the only sound problems I have ever heard, and they are now fixed,


I actually reported similar problems awhile back. It would seem that the armor battle noises aren't the only ones subject to max voume overflow errors.
User avatar
Vickey Martinez
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:58 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:29 am

I actually reported similar problems awhile back. It would seem that the armor battle noises aren't the only ones subject to max voume overflow errors.


I just noticed this the other night with the "repair armor" sound effect. When clicking on an object to be repaired multiple times in rapid succession, and failing to repair it repeatedly, about one time out of three that "failure" SFX will play several degrees louder than normal. Not sure if the same is true for the SFX that plays when a repair is successful...my current PC has a terrible armorer skill. :P
User avatar
Bethany Watkin
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 4:13 pm

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:37 pm

I was wondering if you would be able to do anything about the numerous sound problems in Morrowind.
Namely stuff like the double sound bug (where the sound is played twice, giving the impression of increased volume), and things like how various volume sliders constantly reset themselves to absurdly loud levels. For example; my effects volume changes to way above the maximum I can set it to every time I change cell, and sometimes more often. I've heard that the second problem might be a script problem, but I haven't found anything at all detailed about it.

Volume sliders are stored in the registry, so you have to run Morrowind as admin for them to stay where they are. In fact, the damn registry has permissions just like files do. Maybe if you give full user access for the Morrowind key it would solve a few problems.


And the second is when you're say, equipping something quickly, and the sound is played at double volume.
It isn't really a problem outside of the inventory, or not that I've noticed. But it is incredibly annoying.

Could you be more specific how it happens, and where. I have to find the exact action where it makes the sound.


I just noticed this the other night with the "repair armor" sound effect. When clicking on an object to be repaired multiple times in rapid succession, and failing to repair it repeatedly, about one time out of three that "failure" SFX will play several degrees louder than normal. Not sure if the same is true for the SFX that plays when a repair is successful...my current PC has a terrible armorer skill. :P

This is a good report. I never seem to get this to happen. Where is your effects volume slider set to?
User avatar
Beast Attire
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:33 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 2:25 am

I honestly thought it was a more well known issue. I suppose not, or you'd have fixed it already.
Anyway, to be more specific, you can reproduce it in a couple of ways;
  • Take and replace an item from the inventory swiftly and repeatedly.
  • As Tyraa said, repairing items quickly.
  • Basically any action in the inventory/a menu which can be repeated at high speed.

I don't think it's a problem with the inventory specifically, just that the sounds are played in quicker succession.
User avatar
Assumptah George
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:43 am

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:13 pm

I honestly thought it was a more well known issue. I suppose not, or you'd have fixed it already.
Anyway, to be more specific, you can reproduce it in a couple of ways;
  • Take and replace an item from the inventory swiftly and repeatedly.
  • As Tyraa said, repairing items quickly.
  • Basically any action in the inventory/a menu which can be repeated at high speed.

I don't think it's a problem with the inventory specifically, just that the sounds are played in quicker succession.


I tend to most commonly experience this problem when selling off items very quickly... with my effects slider either one notch or two away from the top (I can't remember if I ever tested it with the effects slider maxed out or not).
User avatar
Joie Perez
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 3:25 pm

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:21 pm

This is a good report. I never seem to get this to happen. Where is your effects volume slider set to?


*checks* Looks like my effects slider is set to max.
User avatar
Alessandra Botham
 
Posts: 3440
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 6:27 pm

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:06 am

I just went back ingame to do some more testing, and it has disappeared entirely. :\

The only change I made was to go into properties, and untick 'File is ready for archiving'.
It's since reticked itself, but I'll test more and see if that actually has any affect, or if it was just a coincidence.

Edit:
Started it up again, this time without unticking 'File is ready for archiving'.
No change from last time, effects volume is fine, I don't get double sounds, no issues at all, so far as I can tell.
Further testing is evidently warranted.

Edit2:
Yeah, I'm pretty sure the 'File is ready for archiving' is unrelated.
It doesn't make a difference either way.

That said, I'm not sure if I changed anything else.
User avatar
Chenae Butler
 
Posts: 3485
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:54 pm

Post » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:47 am

i have a suggestion:
is it possible to increase the range at wich sounds are played? for example shoot a spell on target into the sky and you will notice how the sound fades just perfect but at some range it stopps abruptly. its very noticeable when i walk through the swamps - the environment soundfiles get stopped before they faded out completely.
another sound issue is that you can hear the door close sound only when you look at the door.
i play with full dolby digital 5.1 and exchanged all sounds with ones from oblivion - but i remember to have this prob before.
User avatar
Tammie Flint
 
Posts: 3336
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 12:12 am

PreviousNext

Return to III - Morrowind