[discussion] Cs Script Editor Wish List

Post » Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:35 am

I read through the named ones at the top, but there are so many other replies I did not read through the responses. So sorry if this has already been named (or I miss read the ones posted at the top) but I would like a "Did you mean?" function. Whenever you put a invalid or incorrect function it is gives a recommendation of a correct function.
Well, IntelliSense does suggest command and variable names as you type.
User avatar
Alkira rose Nankivell
 
Posts: 3417
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:10 pm

WOW this will definetly help all scripters I have a good scripter friend i am sure can offer some suggestions I'll tell him hope this is done soon...COOL
User avatar
Ash
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:59 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:55 pm

Have implemented Bookmarks and the "Last Known Caret Position" feature requested by spookyfx. Both are stored as directives in the script itself.
User avatar
Cat
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:10 am

Post » Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:51 am

What features would i like to see?

Support for OOP, project management, support for multi-threaded scripts, support for encapsulation - inheritance - and polymorphism!

Perhaps i went too far...
User avatar
Richard Dixon
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:29 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 4:15 pm

What features would i like to see?

Support for OOP, project management, support for multi-threaded scripts, support for encapsulation - inheritance - and polymorphism!

Perhaps i went too far...
Well, you missed metaprogramming.
User avatar
laila hassan
 
Posts: 3476
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:53 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 3:47 pm

Well, you missed metaprogramming.



Touché my friend, touché...
User avatar
Kayleigh Williams
 
Posts: 3397
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 10:41 am

Post » Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:04 am

Before anything else let me start by thanking you for creating this, i am sure its going to be excellent.

A feature i would like is the possibility of saving while the script editor is open. I ask this because i always have to try my scripts like a thousand times before getting them right, and every time i have to close the script window, save the plugin start the game and later open the script editor again and search for the script. It may not seem like a big deal but when you do this 10 or 20 times in a row it can get tiresome.
User avatar
Casey
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:38 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:07 pm

A feature i would like is the possibility of saving while the script editor is open. I ask this because i always have to try my scripts like a thousand times before getting them right, and every time i have to close the script window, save the plugin start the game and later open the script editor again and search for the script. It may not seem like a big deal but when you do this 10 or 20 times in a row it can get tiresome.
There is actually a vanilla INI option that fixes that. Search for Useful Construction Set INI Settings on the Wiki.
User avatar
-__^
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 4:48 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:53 pm

The command table is now read from the memory. On to the esm/esm reader!
User avatar
Vicki Blondie
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:33 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:02 pm

some sort of save or error confirmation would be nice. it's a real beginners trap when you click save, but the script doesn't save and no error pops up, and you close it thinking it has saved. happens with certain errors
User avatar
Raymond J. Ramirez
 
Posts: 3390
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:28 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:52 pm

some sort of save or error confirmation would be nice. it's a real beginners trap when you click save, but the script doesn't save and no error pops up, and you close it thinking it has saved. happens with certain errors
Some syntax error which cause that behaviour are handled. OBSE's preprocessor should handle the rest (or at least its better part).
User avatar
Laurenn Doylee
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 11:48 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:02 pm

Some syntax error which cause that behaviour are handled. OBSE's preprocessor should handle the rest (or at least its better part).


that's good, it catches me out so many times :brokencomputer:
User avatar
Shaylee Shaw
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:55 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:50 pm

So I'm totally not reading the rest of the thread before I post this feature request.

I would love to be able to jump from a Call function directly to the function script. Formulator is approaching 200 scripts and I'm starting to lose track of what's still not actually implemented. :P

In fact, better still if you can store your own metadata would be a little checkbox for function scripts: "Not Fully Implemented." That way calls to them would compile, but could be turned red (or whatever) as a reminder.
User avatar
Rik Douglas
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:40 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:56 pm

So I'm totally not reading the rest of the thread before I post this feature request.

I would love to be able to jump from a Call function directly to the function script. Formulator is approaching 200 scripts and I'm starting to lose track of what's still not actually implemented. :P

In fact, better still if you can store your own metadata would be a little checkbox for function scripts: "Not Fully Implemented." That way calls to them would compile, but could be turned red (or whatever) as a reminder.
Jumping into function scripts has been on the agenda for awhile now. In fact, IntelliSense stores variable and function metatdata in its database. For example, take the following function:
scn zzTestFS; function description; more text; NOT IMPLEMENTEDfloat fExtra   ; Extra datastring_var svEntryPoint   ; Entry point nameref rTarget    ; Target actorbegin function { svEntryPoint rTarget fExtra }   ; codeend
When you type in call and hit a delimiter, the ISense box pops up with the names of defined functions. Selecting an option would show a tooltip along the lines oft:
User Function
zzTestFS

function description
more text
NOT IMPLEMENTED

3 arguments:
Entry Point name [String Var]
Target Actor [Ref]
Extra Data [Float]
Double clicking on a call statement should also bring up the subsequent UDF's tooltip. Good enough or have you got suggestions ?
User avatar
Beth Belcher
 
Posts: 3393
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:39 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:38 pm

Good enough or have you got suggestions ?

Definitely will serve. My wish list item would be a way to flag something that's visible without having to actually click on the function... a tag that lets you set the color of the text, for instance. So I don't have to go through clicking everything to know if I missed one.
User avatar
Dean Brown
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:17 pm

Post » Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:15 am

Definitely will serve. My wish list item would be a way to flag something that's visible without having to actually click on the function... a tag that lets you set the color of the text, for instance. So I don't have to go through clicking everything to know if I missed one.
While assigning color to text is quite possible, it got one nasty quirk - It can be un/re-done with the Ctrl+Z/Y key combo. This was actually the reason why I dropped syntax highlighting. I could fix that by painting the text manually but that would probably require a rewritten implementation of the renderer; something I'd rather avoid.

You can however use bookmarks as a workaround, as marked lines numbers are colored differently.
User avatar
Lizs
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:45 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:06 pm

Edit: Wrong thread. :P
User avatar
Cat
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:10 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:29 pm

This is coming along rather quickly, can't wait to try it all out. Any ETA on a beta/alpha?
User avatar
Mylizards Dot com
 
Posts: 3379
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 1:59 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:43 pm

This is coming along rather quickly, can't wait to try it all out. Any ETA on a beta/alpha?
I'll probably release the beta after I'm done with the plugin reader. It'll need a newer build of OBSE to work, meaning it'll stay in beta until OBSE 18a is out.
User avatar
Amie Mccubbing
 
Posts: 3497
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 11:33 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:48 pm

I would be happy to get a "compile all" command only for an activated plugin.
User avatar
Emma
 
Posts: 3287
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:51 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:21 pm

I would be happy to get a "compile all" command only for an activated plugin.
Might be possible. I'll look into it.

Some good news: I recently discovered a couple of functions that could greatly improve IntelliSense, among other things. For instance, the editor can now look up remote variables on any valid reference.
User avatar
Jennie Skeletons
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:21 am

Post » Tue Mar 15, 2011 2:41 am

IntelliSense is less stupid now - It supports variable list lookup for scriptable forms, http://i659.photobucket.com/albums/uu320/shademe/Untitled-63.jpg, suggests quests and local variable names when using assignment functions and can tell which functions need a calling reference.

Preprocessor macro are less limiting now and allow most delimiters in their value fields.
User avatar
Alex [AK]
 
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:47 pm

How about displaying the script's current character count & character limit and the compile size (as of the last compile) & compile size limit? Would be handy to know when you're approaching the limits and need to consider condensing or splitting it across multiple scripts.
User avatar
Eibe Novy
 
Posts: 3510
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:32 am

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:22 pm

How about displaying the script's current character count & character limit and the compile size (as of the last compile) & compile size limit? Would be handy to know when you're approaching the limits and need to consider condensing or splitting it across multiple scripts.
Compiled size won't be an issue as I'll be going through the bytecode anyway, for the offset viewer. But why bother with character limit when it's been removed ?
User avatar
Robert Bindley
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 5:31 pm

Post » Mon Mar 14, 2011 8:54 pm

Ah, good point. That was a brain fart on my end...I was thinking in terms of the vanilla limit. There might still be a use for it in terms of the that limit to note the scripts that don't use OBSE commands but still require OBSE to compile.

Also, I may have been wrong about OBSE removing the limit all together. It likely just increased the limit to a higher and harder to hit value.

Would have to asks scruggs, or go digging through OBSE's source to be sure :shrug:
User avatar
Patrick Gordon
 
Posts: 3366
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:38 am

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion