Script Packages

Post » Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:21 pm

My complete lack of experience and newbish-ness is hindering me greatly here and I'm really hoping that you guys will help me out and explain something to me that I just don't understand. I've looked through the wiki and cannot find an explanation to help me.

Here's some background so you understand what I'm confused about. I'm stuck in the purifier. Well, I'm not, and Sarah's not, and I assume RL-3 and Fawkes won't be, but since I'm working on a mod of Charon; well, he is. My mod has BS as a Master and when I first sent Charon through the ending I got the original, vanilla ending and was kicked out of the game. So, having zero clues why this could be, I tore parts of my mod out and tried a lot of different things over the the last two and half days and when tinkering with some scripts I did manage to get the right binks to play. I have come to the conclusion, after playing with packages and variables, etc, that I need to script all of his actions in the purifier; that I cannot use his two original AI packages that handle his actions in the purifier. Or at least I'm hoping this will solve my problem. But, anyway, even to test it I'm stuck because I'm confused about how to do the script package thing. And this is where I am hoping for some guidance.

I can grasp the concept of translating the conditions from AI packages into scripting. I'm all over that. But what I do not understand, and what I really hope someone will explain to me, is what composes the scripting equivalent of the AI package. When I look at the function AddScriptPackage it just requires the "Package ID" which is fine, but, like I said, I'm not understanding where the meat of that package comes from. Am I scripting one? I don't recall seeing an example of one anywhere. The thing about the AI package is all of that what, where, when, etc. is all there in a tasty little package all nice and neat so I'm thinking I need to recreate that. Am I correct or mistaken?

Thanks so much for any help :)
User avatar
Manuel rivera
 
Posts: 3395
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:12 pm

Post » Tue Jul 20, 2010 6:28 am

I can grasp the concept of translating the conditions from AI packages into scripting. I'm all over that. But what I do not understand, and what I really hope someone will explain to me, is what composes the scripting equivalent of the AI package. When I look at the function AddScriptPackage it just requires the "Package ID" which is fine, but, like I said, I'm not understanding where the meat of that package comes from. Am I scripting one? I don't recall seeing an example of one anywhere. The thing about the AI package is all of that what, where, when, etc. is all there in a tasty little package all nice and neat so I'm thinking I need to recreate that. Am I correct or mistaken?

Thanks so much for any help :)


The package ID is an actual package object. It doesn't have to be in the NPC's AI package list. The script command will apply the package and it will run until something interupts it like an EVP.
User avatar
Amanda savory
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:37 am

Post » Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:04 pm

The package ID is an actual package object. It doesn't have to be in the NPC's AI package list. The script command will apply the package and it will run until something interupts it like an EVP.


Okay, wait. Let me see if I am understanding what you are saying.

Script package = AI package

The only difference is the way I'm applying it to the NPC. So instead of it placing it in the NPC's AI package list to apply it to the NPC I am calling it in a script with AddScriptPackage.

Is that correct?
User avatar
*Chloe*
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:34 am

Post » Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:45 pm

That is correct, yes. You can add only 1 script package per NPC. Adding a second willoverride the first. Regular re-evaluations (that occur about every 10 seconds) can end a script package as well, so make sure that if you use one, you setup conditions that will keep it active until you decide to remove it, Setting the "Must reach Destination" flag on a travel package is an example of a condition that would keep it active - meaning it doesn't HAVE to be an actual "condition", but you can use those as well.
User avatar
Jessica Stokes
 
Posts: 3315
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 11:01 am

Post » Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:33 pm

Thank so much guys! You've made my day. I'm off to try it out now.
User avatar
Mario Alcantar
 
Posts: 3416
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 8:26 am


Return to Fallout 3