Shelter from Magnus' Blaze 6

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:26 am

Ah, most welcome; thank you for the prompt and helpful response.

Having added that water texture, I can now load into the world without shaders and without distant land, without issue.

Enabling shaders and attempting the same results in this:

Spoiler

MGE XE 0.8.19
>> CreateD3DWrapper
-- CreateD3DWrapper calling Direct3DCreate9
<< CreateD3DWrapper
>> D3D Proxy CreateDevice
-- D3D Proxy Factory OK
<< D3D Proxy CreateDevice
>> CreateInputWrapper
<< CreateInputWrapper
-- Proxy Keyboard OK
-- Proxy Mouse OK
-- Proxy Mouse OK
>> HUD init
-- Proxy Mouse OK
>> Distant Land init
>> Distant Land init shader
-- Shader compiled OK
-- Shadow map shader compiled OK
-- Depth shader compiled OK
>> Distant Land init post shaders
>> Post Process shader init
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\SSAO HQ.fx loaded
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\Depth of Field.fx loaded
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\Sunshafts.fx loaded
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\Underwater Effects.fx loaded
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\Underwater Interior Effects.fx loaded
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\Bloom Soft.fx loaded
-- Post shader Data Files\shaders\XEshaders\HDR.fx loaded
-- Shader chain indicates HDR On
<< Post Process shader init
>> Distant Land init depth
>> Distant Land init shadow
>> Distant Land init water
>> Distant Land init world
>> Landscape Load
!! Could not load world texture for distant land
-- HUD release


I would note that I do not have distant lands turned on, as I have not successfully generated them. I would not expect that they should be loaded, then.

I wonder if this might occur either on account of the shaders requiring them, or perhaps because distant lands have been partially (and incompletely) generated.


I am uncertain as to both which versions of .net I have installed and which I need. If this would suffice, it may be of help in determining either,

.net x86) http://i.imgur.com/rQyGx.png

.net x64) http://i.imgur.com/a39Fr.png

I have run all of my outstanding Windows updates. This seemed to include a number of security fixes for .net, though I'm unsure beyond that.

I still seem to be receiving an identical error when attempting to generate distant land:

Spoiler

System.EntryPointNotFoundException: Unable to find an entry point named 'GetCompressedVertSize' in DLL 'MGE3/MGEfuncs.dll'.
at MGEgui.NativeMethods.GetCompressedVertSize()
at MGEgui.DistantLand.DistantLandForm.workerCreateStatics(Object sender, DoWorkEventArgs e)
at System.ComponentModel.BackgroundWorker.OnDoWork(DoWorkEventArgs e)
at System.ComponentModel.BackgroundWorker.WorkerThreadStart(Object argument)


Thanks again.
User avatar
Robert Jackson
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:39 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:40 pm

Ah, most welcome; thank you for the prompt and helpful response.

Having added that water texture, I can now load into the world without shaders and without distant land, without issue.

Enabling shaders and attempting the same results in this:

-snip-

I would note that I do not have distant lands turned on, as I have not successfully generated them. I would not expect that they should be loaded, then.

I wonder if this might occur either on account of the shaders requiring them, or perhaps because distant lands have been partially (and incompletely) generated.

IIRC, shaders that need depth info passed to them require that distantland be enabled. Unless Hrnchamd has lifted that restriction for his build.

I still seem to be receiving an identical error when attempting to generate distant land:

Spoiler

System.EntryPointNotFoundException: Unable to find an entry point named 'GetCompressedVertSize' in DLL 'MGE3/MGEfuncs.dll'.
at MGEgui.NativeMethods.GetCompressedVertSize()
at MGEgui.DistantLand.DistantLandForm.workerCreateStatics(Object sender, DoWorkEventArgs e)
at System.ComponentModel.BackgroundWorker.OnDoWork(DoWorkEventArgs e)
at System.ComponentModel.BackgroundWorker.WorkerThreadStart(Object argument)


Thanks again.

Another user was getting the same exception recently - what graphics card and video drivers are you using?
User avatar
Ownie Zuliana
 
Posts: 3375
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:31 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:30 am

I'm getting two kinds of graphical glitches here, and I'm not sure why.

The first is that at certain distances I get holes in land meshes:
http://oi56.tinypic.com/qy972r.jpg
http://oi55.tinypic.com/2gwxq3m.jpg
http://oi52.tinypic.com/2hg6wxh.jpg
http://oi53.tinypic.com/2njvvuu.jpg

The second is weirder. I was in front of a hill, and on the other side of the hill were some kriin (creature from PirateLord's "Creatures" mod) and a guar. I could see the creatures through statics (rocks, in this case) whether or not there was land behind the statics. However, I couldn't see the creatures through the land mesh by itself.
http://oi56.tinypic.com/a0bbye.jpg
http://oi54.tinypic.com/313iyog.jpg

Any ideas on what's causing either?
User avatar
Sunny Under
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 5:31 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:38 pm

Resolved.

My shader enabled crash was the result of having incompletely generated and disabled distant land; resolving my second issue resolved my first.

My distant land generation crash was a result of using the 3.8.0 stable release MGEfuncs.dll; swapping in the MGEfuncs.dll from the 3.8.2 beta release resolved the issue.

I just said resolved far too much. I'm tired. I need a thesaurus.

Also, my game is now beautiful. Thank you so much.
User avatar
Rik Douglas
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 1:40 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:08 pm

Thanks for 0.8.20. Alt-Tabbing with MGE is great, because sometimes you just don't want to exit but other things are beckoning...

The fog color does look much better at the fog transition boundaries. With MWSE back, HUD mods returning, and so forth, the only outstanding issue with XE that is noticeable (to me, anyway) is the pop in/out of statics http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHoiNloy_6g. I had a better video ready to illustrate this but the music here was more enjoyable.

Great work!
User avatar
Stace
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:52 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:45 am

I'm getting two kinds of graphical glitches here, and I'm not sure why.

The first is that at certain distances I get holes in land meshes:
Land Mesh 1
Land Mesh 2
Land Mesh 3
Land Mesh 4



I've been getting this exact issue myself. Tried regenerating distant land, but still happens. It didn't in prior versions of XE
User avatar
Nicole Kraus
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 11:34 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:29 am

I'm getting two kinds of graphical glitches here, and I'm not sure why.

The first is that at certain distances I get holes in land meshes:

The second is weirder. I was in front of a hill, and on the other side of the hill were some kriin (creature from PirateLord's "Creatures" mod) and a guar. I could see the creatures through statics (rocks, in this case) whether or not there was land behind the statics. However, I couldn't see the creatures through the land mesh by itself.

The first one is where the lower detail distant land mesh collides with the one Morrowind draws. It's a bit tricky to get it to overlap properly without clearing the z-buffer totally and causing rendering problems with things that cross the divide like the water plane. I'm still trying to resolve it somehow.

The second one I have no idea. Try turning actor shadows on/off and see if that makes a difference, I think it's caused problems before.


My shader enabled crash was the result of having incompletely generated and disabled distant land; resolving my second issue resolved my first.

My distant land generation crash was a result of using the 3.8.0 stable release MGEfuncs.dll; swapping in the MGEfuncs.dll from the 3.8.2 beta release resolved the issue.

I'll have to address the distribution package soon since it seems like it's causing problems. Have fun.


The fog color does look much better at the fog transition boundaries. With MWSE back, HUD mods returning, and so forth, the only outstanding issue with XE that is noticeable (to me, anyway) is the pop in/out of statics http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHoiNloy_6g. I had a better video ready to illustrate this but the music here was more enjoyable.

Can you tolerate the alpha stipple fade-in in standard MGE, I don't think I can. I'll have to make a special case alpha blend for meshes in the transition zone, but that seems a little messy to do at the moment.
User avatar
Lucky Boy
 
Posts: 3378
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:26 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:06 pm

I noticed something weird with water reflections in interiors, where when jumping, the reflection seems to "lift", or rather stay the same. It becomes dynamic again when landing.
User avatar
Schel[Anne]FTL
 
Posts: 3384
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:53 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:39 pm

I can't seem to get this to work, originally I had the same issue as Whuppe and I solved it using his method. But nothing works in game, its as if I did not have MGE XL at all. No fps shower, does not skip moive, no distance land,etc(and I checked them and there were no issues generating land,etc). I know this is vauge but the only way I can describe it is that its like I don't have it. As if I don't even use MGE, no errors, no anything when I load MW up. Game plays fine, just does not have MGE stuff going on.

I checked the wiki and the suggestions(when MGE does not appear during startup for 1 second) did not help, could I be over looking something?
User avatar
Laura
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:11 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:19 pm

During play morrowind spawns a small window called "activemovie window" at odd intervalls. This drops me out of the game. Is this from MGEXE?
User avatar
Matthew Aaron Evans
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:59 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:57 am

I can't seem to get this to work, originally I had the same issue as Whuppe and I solved it using his method. But nothing works in game, its as if I did not have MGE XL at all. No fps shower, does not skip moive, no distance land,etc(and I checked them and there were no issues generating land,etc). I know this is vauge but the only way I can describe it is that its like I don't have it. As if I don't even use MGE, no errors, no anything when I load MW up. Game plays fine, just does not have MGE stuff going on.

Is there a mgeXE.log in the Morrowind directory? I need that. Please follow the reporting guide in the first post.


During play morrowind spawns a small window called "activemovie window" at odd intervalls. This drops me out of the game. Is this from MGEXE?

This is a codec-related problem. Morrowind uses Windows codecs to play the background music, and there is a problem somewhere that is causing it to pop up that window instead of playing it in the background. You'll have to search around for answers because it's a general Windows issue.
User avatar
Zoe Ratcliffe
 
Posts: 3370
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:45 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 7:44 am

Can you tolerate the alpha stipple fade-in in standard MGE, I don't think I can. I'll have to make a special case alpha blend for meshes in the transition zone, but that seems a little messy to do at the moment.


Quite true, the standard MGE solution isn't necessarily desirable either. Whenever a solution eventually gets implemented it will be a great triumph for MGE XE. In the meantime, I can continue being so thunderstruck by the rest of your enhancements that I won't notice it so much =). It'd been month or so since I really got the chance to delve into Morrowind and I had forgotten how great 0.8 has shaped up to be.
User avatar
electro_fantics
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:50 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:42 am

This? (don't know were the spolier tag is)

MGE XE 0.8.20
MWSE dll injected
>> CreateD3DWrapper
-- CreateD3DWrapper calling Direct3DCreate9
<< CreateD3DWrapper
>> D3D Proxy CreateDevice
-- D3D Proxy Factory OK
<< D3D Proxy CreateDevice
>> CreateInputWrapper
<< CreateInputWrapper
-- Proxy Keyboard OK
-- Proxy Mouse OK

And I forgot to mention I don't know what you mean when you say remap the marcos key, what key? None of the keys under the editor list a function, I am confused.
User avatar
Charity Hughes
 
Posts: 3408
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:22 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:56 am

Hmm I just got SLI working and i notice no performance increase at all, is there supposed to be one?

NVM i do see a big FPS increase in most areas, just still heavily wooded, grassy areas i see around 10 fps increase.
User avatar
Eliza Potter
 
Posts: 3481
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 3:20 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:28 pm

I fix the problem, I notice MCP was not working and I relized I was using the wrong MW file to start MW, I used the correct one(which I had to fix because of the snowflake error, which is why I ignored it before) and MGE X loads.
User avatar
sara OMAR
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:18 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:04 am

Hello! : )

I just want to thank you again for the amazing work done on this project, MGE XE is more and more better over the time, and works without major issues! Congrats! ^^
Well... I admit I have some 'it is possible to' questions to ask... I hope you don't mind... :tongue:


1) Firstly, I'm wondering if it will be possible to add the possibility to have distant lights (i.e. being able to see the emitted lights at Vivec from Ebonheart, for example...)? This is very highly that such feature will have a very huge impact on the framerate, but why not? C:

2) Then, as said by someone else in the SWG's Skies V4 WIP topic, will it be technically possible to determine the weather conditions in cells rendered by MGE XE, and show that in game, for example having a storm approaching from the distance, seeing the smoke rising from Red Mountain or a thunderstorm in the distance? This point seem very complex, I admit... :/


Thanks for your reply, and good luck!
User avatar
Isabella X
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:44 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:46 am

Hello! : )

I just want to thank you again for the amazing work done on this project, MGE XE is more and more better over the time, and works without major issues! Congrats! ^^
Well... I admit I have some 'it is possible to' questions to ask... I hope you don't mind... :tongue:


1) Firstly, I'm wondering if it will be possible to add the possibility to have distant lights (i.e. being able to see the emitted lights at Vivec from Ebonheart, for example...)? This is very highly that such feature will have a very huge impact on the framerate, but why not? C:

2) Then, as said by someone else in the SWG's Skies V4 WIP topic, will it be technically possible to determine the weather conditions in cells rendered by MGE XE, and show that in game, for example having a storm approaching from the distance, seeing the smoke rising from Red Mountain or a thunderstorm in the distance? This point seem very complex, I admit... :/


Thanks for your reply, and good luck!

This would be epic. I'll give you more cake if you can do it Hrnchamd.
User avatar
Trey Johnson
 
Posts: 3295
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:00 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:21 pm

The second is weirder. I was in front of a hill, and on the other side of the hill were some kriin (creature from PirateLord's "Creatures" mod) and a guar. I could see the creatures through statics (rocks, in this case) whether or not there was land behind the statics. However, I couldn't see the creatures through the land mesh by itself.

I have the same thing, but only when raining and I can see everything trough meshes or landscape, not just some animals and npc's. Looks like rain triggers transparency on meshes, kinda weird. The only issue I have actually. Everything other is working great.
http://i.imgur.com/9KODE.jpg


Btw its possible to make Crysis 2 alike motion blur with MGE XE?
User avatar
Jack
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:08 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:50 am

The second is weirder. I was in front of a hill, and on the other side of the hill were some kriin (creature from PirateLord's "Creatures" mod) and a guar. I could see the creatures through statics (rocks, in this case) whether or not there was land behind the statics. However, I couldn't see the creatures through the land mesh by itself.
http://oi56.tinypic.com/a0bbye.jpg
http://oi54.tinypic.com/313iyog.jpg

Any ideas on what's causing either?

I've had this happen, and I'm pretty sure it's happened with regular Morrowind. If not, then it's happened with regular MGE for sure.
User avatar
Philip Lyon
 
Posts: 3297
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:08 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:14 am

Just wanted to thank you for this incredible experience! I'm a huge graphics junkie and proud of it. Seeing shadows in Morrowind, coupling them with the beautiful shaders and the flora overhauls, then traveling to Solstheim is as close to playing Skyrim as you can possibly get!

Just out of curiosity - what value do you guys use for cell draw distance? I'm using 15 atm but I'd love to push that as far as possible for some really great vistas (Oblivion-esque). Are there any mods that could help raise my framerate, allowing me to push the cell draw distance further? I currently average 20fps outdoors. Running with a Q6600 and a GTX280.
User avatar
Jeremy Kenney
 
Posts: 3293
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 5:36 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:20 pm

My First question has probably been addressed here recently somewhere, but I cannot see it after a quick search.

What exactly is holding up Dynamic Water in this MGE build?

The alpha stipple fade-in, is there any way that I could reenable it myself? Personally I much prefer it to popping objects- I really do notice the latter.

Is it possible to get support for more map types in the distant land (from what I can tell distant land supports diffuse, normal and omnilight env maps. However if say I wanted to see a glow map on the distant land (an idea I had was to create a glowmap based on all of the lightsources in the exterior cells of the game). Alternatively would it be possible to do an actual lightmap?

If either above option is remotely feasible would it be possible to have mge generate the lighmap or glowmap during distant land file creation?

Another question about the distant land file creation wizard- would it be possible for MGE to generate an image of all of the grass that gets generated for each cell from an aerial perspective (the idea behind this- something I have wanted to do for a while is to blend a texture of the grass into the distant land texture?

I have another general question about distant land texture creation as well, though it doesn't necessarilly concern XE. When generating distant land textures there is noise that gets blended with the users textures, Oblivion does something similar. In the files of MGE I have run across the file I think is responsbile for the noise before and have contemplated changing it (also gets used for various filter operations I think). I wish to use an extremely big and detailed texture- will that crash the file creation wizard (sorry, can't test this for myself right now as I am seperated from my new rig that is capable of running mge).

I apologize for all of the questions, the features I have requested are for some of my own mod projects- ambitious as they are. I realize you are busy ironing out bugs with this release and your other projects so the last thing you need are requests for new features etc... But I cannot play this without the dynamic water- despite the wonderful strides you have made in so many other areas. Thank you for all of the work you have put into this project , MGE and Morrowind in general- you really are a godsend for this community.
User avatar
Alina loves Alexandra
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:55 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:47 am

And I forgot to mention I don't know what you mean when you say remap the marcos key, what key? None of the keys under the editor list a function, I am confused.

It's in the "macro editor" on the in-game tab.


1) Firstly, I'm wondering if it will be possible to add the possibility to have distant lights (i.e. being able to see the emitted lights at Vivec from Ebonheart, for example...)? This is very highly that such feature will have a very huge impact on the framerate, but why not? C:

2) Then, as said by someone else in the SWG's Skies V4 WIP topic, will it be technically possible to determine the weather conditions in cells rendered by MGE XE, and show that in game, for example having a storm approaching from the distance, seeing the smoke rising from Red Mountain or a thunderstorm in the distance? This point seem very complex, I admit... :/

It's very possible to have each static to be affected by a few lights, but there are problems with this. Big statics can have far too many lights attached for them to all display correctly; landscape has the same problem. Secondly, the game uses many environmental fill lights that need to be filtered out. This is a great idea, though.

I don't understand how to provide a good impression of distant weather, I haven't really seen anything like that in 3d engines before. It seems like it would need a lot of art assets to do.


Btw its possible to make Crysis 2 alike motion blur with MGE XE?

There could be player motion blur, but no object based motion blur. I don't think it will add much to the experience compared to the fps drop.


Just out of curiosity - what value do you guys use for cell draw distance? I'm using 15 atm but I'd love to push that as far as possible for some really great vistas (Oblivion-esque). Are there any mods that could help raise my framerate, allowing me to push the cell draw distance further? I currently average 20fps outdoors. Running with a Q6600 and a GTX280.

Apart from draw distance, shaders are the main thing affecting frame rates. SSAO and sunshafts are the slow ones. You could also try turning off detailed shadows, actor shadows are pretty bad performance.
User avatar
Ryan Lutz
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:39 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:06 pm

So I finally got around to setting this up since I was thinking I might have use of the GMST editing functionality. I must say that it is amazing. I'd have done it sooner, but all I've been doing is testing my mods. Let me tell you; when I stepped into the courtyard of the Census and Excise Office and saw the shadow on the wall, I was floored. I just kinda stopped there for a moment, and turned around to look at the tree.

Not long after I saw this awesome light effect on the wall above the kitchen sink caused. It looked like a candle flickering, but was just sunlight shining through leaves blowing in the wind. It felt strangely surreal. I'm a bit of a light-freak, if you will, so seeing stuff like this in Morrowind is just amazing.

The new GUI is excellent! The old one always felt unorganized with too much empty space. The only major thing I could complain about is the pop-in/out when I'm using exponential fog. While the MGE method isn't very attractive, it blends into the fog much more nicely.

Now that I have this all setup though, I am reminded of a problem. Maybe it's what I was really thinking of before, I dunno. The issue is, overridden objects don't cast reflections when enabled, like the chargen and Firemoth boats. I'm pretty sure I mentioned it in an old MGE thread. Can that be fixed?

On that note, shouldn't you add "FM_boat_island" to the default list as well?
User avatar
Britta Gronkowski
 
Posts: 3475
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:14 pm

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:58 pm

There's no way to know when the game enables or disables objects. The only way to do it is to scan every cell occasionally. There's also a bit of work in matching references to the current load order.

I hope the grass is working okay in windy weather now.
User avatar
Hussnein Amin
 
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 2:15 am

Post » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:07 pm

0.8.21 release

XE

Closed interiors no longer use scattering fog. This should fix strange surface and underwater reflections in interiors.

Land bias for distant land adjusted again to minimize artefacts.

Cleaned up a lot of distant land init/release resource code. Should reduce memory use a little.

Possible fix for actors showing through geometry in combination with rain. Really needs testing because I never see it.
User avatar
rae.x
 
Posts: 3326
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:13 pm

PreviousNext

Return to III - Morrowind