Simplest method to change Barter Menu's "caps" label

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 11:46 am

To complete part of a faction currency mod I need to change the "caps" strings displayed on the Barter Menu depending on the currency being used. However, figuring out how this is accomplished is frustrating as the user-interface tutorials seem scattered, mostly focused on Oblivion, and slightly overwhelming for what I am trying to accomplish. They also seem to be tied to certain mods (such as DarNified) for some reason? I'd prefer avoiding additional requirements if possible.

If there's a comprehensive FO3/FNV User-Interface Tutorial 101 I'd greatly appreciate being pointed in the right direction.
User avatar
Carlos Vazquez
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 10:19 am

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 4:03 am

Comprehensive tutorial... I don't think there is one. It's one of those things you just jump in and play around with.

To do what you want, use the SetUIString NVSE function in MenuMode 1053:
SetUIString "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\BM_CapsLabel" "New String"
User avatar
Tania Bunic
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:26 am

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 9:00 am

Awesome. I knew that I had to use SetUIString but didn't know which arguments to pass.

Thanks a lot.

EDIT: Celebrated too soon. I don't see any changes to either the inventory list headers or the amount transferred display. Is "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\BM_CapsLabel" the wrong argument are is there something else I need?
User avatar
Jessica Colville
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 6:53 pm

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 4:13 am

Oops, I forgot to include which parameter. It's actually...
SetUIString "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\BM_CapsLabel\string" "New String"
User avatar
Scotties Hottie
 
Posts: 3406
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 1:40 am

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 1:41 pm

SetUIString "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\BM_CapsLabel\string" "NCR $"

No luck with the above either. Does it work in your game?
User avatar
Robyn Howlett
 
Posts: 3332
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:01 pm

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 5:15 am

It works fine for me. I even copied and pasted the exact line you have there.
User avatar
Kitana Lucas
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:24 pm

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 5:56 pm

It works fine for me. I even copied and pasted the exact line you have there.

Are you using anything besides NVSE?
User avatar
Jessica Nash
 
Posts: 3424
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:18 pm

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 4:04 am

Are you using anything besides NVSE?
No, I don't think so. Here's the code I used to switch it. The iString variable is there so it doesn't apply every frame and kill the FPS.

short iStringbegin MenuMode 1053	if iString != GetUIFloat "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\visible"		set iString to GetUIFloat "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\visible"		if iString			SetUIString "BarterMenu\NOGLOW_BRANCH\BM_CapsFlow\BM_CapsLabel\string" "NCR $"		endif	endifend
User avatar
Amy Gibson
 
Posts: 3540
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:11 pm

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 4:40 pm

No luck with the above either. Does it work in your game?
You were probably using at the wrong time. To modify values in any menu, it has to be active at the time you're doing it. Also, after closing it and opening it again it will be reset. The script Pelinor posted already accounts for both.
User avatar
Valerie Marie
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:29 am

Post » Mon May 07, 2012 3:38 pm

I know this topic is old and I appologize for necro-posting, but I would like more detailed instructions on how to apply this script in game. I am trying to make the vendors in my mod utilize "credits" instead of "caps", but I am not sure how to implement this without changing all vendors in FONV. Any help would be appreciated-Peace!
User avatar
Charlotte Buckley
 
Posts: 3532
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 11:29 am


Return to Fallout: New Vegas