[RELz/WIPz] skaeps' Stuff

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 3:37 pm

Top right corner would do it in a clean screen. But have we find help to get disable hud?
User avatar
Kari Depp
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 3:19 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 2:25 pm

Health bars are coming along nicely. If Indrele is hurt or tired, http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/4617/hb1.jpg. And since I can quickly lock my companion's status, http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/4563/hb2tt.jpg and still keep track of Indrele. Also, the standard yellow enemy health bar above yours will now show everyone's health, without having to attack them. :P The bars are the same color as yours, but are slightly washed out to distinguish them.

There's one odd problem that I noticed so far: the fatigue bar jitters. It happens because the bar's position is calculated according to scale, since scale affects position, and a rounding convention is shifting the bar one pixel back and forth. Just don't look too hard. :P Also, I noticed that if a companion's fatigue drops below zero (i.e. they're knocked down) the fatigue bar will go backwards, too. Out of the frame.

Top right corner would do it in a clean screen. But have we find help to get disable hud?

I'm going to work in a menu asking where you'd like to have the bars. Top left, top right, next to spell icon, and even above the minimap if you're so inclined. If I can, I'd like to add the option to make the bars totally free-floating so you can position them whenever you want with the mouse. That's after I get a release candidate.

It's been asked in the Code Patch thread and in the Graphical Modding with MCP thread, and Hrnchamd mentioned that the scene graph could be altered or something like that. I think he might be looking into it, if he's not busy with the *cough* shadowy business he's working on at the moment. B)
User avatar
Astargoth Rockin' Design
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:51 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 9:35 am

There's one odd problem that I noticed so far: the fatigue bar jitters. It happens because the bar's position is calculated according to scale, since scale affects position, and a rounding convention is shifting the bar one pixel back and forth. Just don't look too hard. :P

Try flooring the value (force it to always round down) or just rounding it. You'll lose a bit of precision, but it shouldn't be noticeable or matter in this case.

Also, I noticed that if a companion's fatigue drops below zero (i.e. they're knocked down) the fatigue bar will go backwards, too. Out of the frame.

Saturate the value. ;)

float healthRatio = saturate( round( ( curHealth / maxHealth ) * 100 ) / 100 );// healthRatio is guaranteed to be rounded to the nearest 0.01f and between 0.0f and 1.0f (eg, the nearest percentagefloat healthRatio = curHealth / maxHealth; // you now have a "raw" ratio, the most-precise percentagehealthRatio *= 100; // scale it from 0-1 to 0-100healthRatio = round( healthRatio ); // round it to the nearest whole number (1%)healthRatio /= 100; // scale back downhealthRatio = saturate( healthRatio ); // clamp from 0 to 1 (<0 becomes 0, >1 becomes 1)

User avatar
Nany Smith
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 5:36 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 5:08 pm

Thanks peachykeen, I'll see if that kind of method helps. I should probably clarify, I'm not using shaders, I'm using HUD functions entirely in Morrowind Script.

[snip]

It's set to use the HOME key right now, I want to see if anyone has problems with that key.


Wow, I just realized that the HUDs in the http://img63.imageshack.us/img63/4364/mgescreenshot387.png and the http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/4617/hb1.jpg are in the exact same place. That is creepy.
User avatar
Katie Pollard
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:23 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 11:39 am

This should have fixed the jittering with the bars. I also moved the textures folder around, the status bar textures are now in Textures\hbar\, much more intuitive. The start script is altered, it should now only bug you once for the positions and not every time you start the game. But this also means that I have to put in a resolution check, or else you'd have to reset it every time you changed resolutions.

Please try it out. I need to know if anyone is having problems with the key setup. As always, comments, suggestions, and the like are welcomed.

How would you guys feel about blood splatters on the screen for a hit fader?
User avatar
michael danso
 
Posts: 3492
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:21 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 9:15 am

Minor update, at my wits' end. Once again, just about near release, catastrophe happens. I added an in-lore book to describe how to use the mod which also doubles as the trigger for the script, and now some crazy stuff is happening. The script apparently decided to forget about magicka entirely, it doesn't show the bar. And as a bonus, the fatigue bar is now using the magicka bar texture. :confused: The script itself has not changed.

[edit] Figured it out, it was a random check that didn't do anything, yet seems to somehow be integral to the script. Should be released soon!
User avatar
Adrian Morales
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 3:19 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 5:46 pm

Companion status bars are FINISHED!

Grab 'em in the first post! :foodndrink:
User avatar
Chantel Hopkin
 
Posts: 3533
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:41 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 7:59 pm

Nice, nabbed! Just curious, how does this work with multiple companions?
User avatar
Greg Swan
 
Posts: 3413
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:49 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 7:04 am

Companion status bars are FINISHED!

Grab 'em in the first post! :foodndrink:


Don't suppose its possible to have a 'multi-companion' version of this mod is it? (I know you could only do so many companions, or your screen would be full of status bars).
User avatar
Chantel Hopkin
 
Posts: 3533
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:41 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 11:50 am

Thanks guys! :) It's one companion at a time for the full HUD, but the yellow bar will show anyone's health if it's less than 100%.

Multi-companion was one of my next plans. I'm thinking of making the status bars minimal, like one bar that shows all three stats, compact. Otherwise, it'd get crowded, fast. :wacko: If I can make some kind of small informative graphic, that'd be better.
User avatar
Antonio Gigliotta
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:39 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 8:46 am

I think something like up to 5 across the top, as are would look ok ... not sure if you can add names above them or anything for handyness.
User avatar
Joey Bel
 
Posts: 3487
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 9:44 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 1:58 pm

Thanks guys! :) It's one companion at a time for the full HUD, but the yellow bar will show anyone's health if it's less than 100%.

Multi-companion was one of my next plans. I'm thinking of making the status bars minimal, like one bar that shows all three stats, compact. Otherwise, it'd get crowded, fast. :wacko: If I can make some kind of small informative graphic, that'd be better.

Yeah, I read the documentation once I got it to my other computer and I understand how it works now. :)
User avatar
Eddie Howe
 
Posts: 3448
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:06 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 6:38 pm

Does anyone use Julan as a companion with the Companion Status Bars mod? If so, are you experiencing any problems or having problems using it?
User avatar
Kim Kay
 
Posts: 3427
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:45 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 10:14 pm

Does anyone use Julan as a companion with the Companion Status Bars mod? If so, are you experiencing any problems or having problems using it?

Julan is my only companion and I just installed this mod today. It's working perfectly for me. No errors, no framerate hit. I'm using the _nohome version.
User avatar
Amber Hubbard
 
Posts: 3537
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:59 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 3:53 pm

Awersume work
User avatar
Darren Chandler
 
Posts: 3361
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:03 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 3:45 pm

Grabbed the Companion Status Bars mod, nice work. :)
User avatar
TRIsha FEnnesse
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:59 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 1:01 pm

Thanks Zaarin, ATSS, povuholo. :)

I have two more questions about the Companion Status Bars mod. Has anyone had any problems saving and loading with it? With the bars active, inactive? I've heard reports that having a companion locked in while saving and then exiting and restarting the game can crash the game after a second. I haven't experienced this myself except during early testing. Also, has anyone been using a creature companion? If so, is it common or unique? I've heard about this causing problems, too, and I want to get a second opinion on both of these issues.

In other news, I had to put my two current projects, the mPod and a pictobox camera mod, on hold. MGE can't read the mouse coordinates correctly at this point. krzymar said he would see about improving the MGE functions, but from what I understand there's a massive code cleanup in progress, so it's going to have to wait until the devs are finished. So now I guess I'll see about adding rain drops, snow flakes, ash, and blood as a screen effect. And maybe a strider mod. If I don't get sidetracked. ^_^
User avatar
priscillaaa
 
Posts: 3309
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 8:22 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 7:05 am

I've been using the companion bar mod extensively lately with having it locked and unlocked on companions. I have had no issues with saving or restarting the game after a save or at least none that seem to be related to the companion bar mod (aka the usual '@@@@@' variable errors from GCD and/or Vampire Embrace).

I'm really liking it, though I do wish the bar would stay up during dialogue or if thats not possible to stay up during menumode.

Oh! I have had one issue though. The status bar location conflicts with the sneak icon when you have it next to the spell icon.
User avatar
Sudah mati ini Keparat
 
Posts: 3605
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:14 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 10:30 pm

I'm eagerly awaiting that Daggerfall HUD. Do you plan to release it for us, Skaep?

Do you think you'll be able to make volumetric clouds? Like this project for Oblivion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvepPxmWhrQ&feature=related

And what would be awesome if we could work with clouds like that is to create spells that make tornados with the clouds, kinda similar to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AshrqMUt2W8&feature=related.
User avatar
Invasion's
 
Posts: 3546
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 6:09 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 8:43 am

I'm really liking it, though I do wish the bar would stay up during dialogue or if thats not possible to stay up during menumode.

Oh! I have had one issue though. The status bar location conflicts with the sneak icon when you have it next to the spell icon.

Hmm, I didn't consider the sneak icon. I don't sneak much. I can add in a sneak check and move the bars while sneaking. And I can add in a persistence option, so you can see the bars in dialogue.

I'm eagerly awaiting that Daggerfall HUD. Do you plan to release it for us, Skaep?

Do you think you'll be able to make volumetric clouds? Like this project for Oblivion: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvepPxmWhrQ&feature=related

And what would be awesome if we could work with clouds like that is to create spells that make tornados with the clouds, kinda similar to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AshrqMUt2W8&feature=related.

I'm sorry to disappoint you, Tes, but it's looking bad for the Daggerfall HUD. MGE can't handle the mouse well, and the buttons would require some tricky workarounds. But don't give up, I will keep working at this! Once the MGE cleanup is done, that will be the biggest obstacle out of the way. Just be sure to remind me. :wink_smile:

Those clouds look sweet, but something like that is way, way out of my league. I'm not much of a shader guy beyond scripting them. vtastek, phal, and peachykeen are the people to ask about that. MGE handles volumetric textures for its water now, and phal is working on some amazing atmospheric effects, so maybe he can take a look at that and get some ideas. :goodjob:
User avatar
Amy Siebenhaar
 
Posts: 3426
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:51 am

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 6:52 am

I've submitted an update to Companion Status Bars to PES. New stuff:
*Added persistence option: next time you read the companion book, you'll have the option to toggle persistence. When enabled, persistence keeps the status bars visible while in menus and dialog.

*Added a sneaking check: when the status bars are positioned next to the spell icon, they will move to accommodate the sneaking icon.

http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Mods.Detail&id=472775&id=8557

I also had to reset my password again. I hope PES isn't making a habit of totally forgetting my password every month.
User avatar
Andy durkan
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 3:05 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 4:27 pm

I've submitted an update to Companion Status Bars to PES. New stuff:
*Added persistence option: next time you read the companion book, you'll have the option to toggle persistence. When enabled, persistence keeps the status bars visible while in menus and dialog.

*Added a sneaking check: when the status bars are positioned next to the spell icon, they will move to accommodate the sneaking icon.

http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Mods.Detail&id=472775&id=8557

I also had to reset my password again. I hope PES isn't making a habit of totally forgetting my password every month.


Just what I was looking for - downloading. Plus I posted in the MGE thread a question for you about your DoF shader.....thanks.
User avatar
KIng James
 
Posts: 3499
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 2:54 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 11:56 am

im wondering if it would be possible to have scrolls/books with there own unique back drop using this method, i know the text might be an issue so i reckon if we made the original scroll/book back drop texture inviable so it doesn't appear in game then we could have our own appear behind the text. we could have all sorts of styles like burned scrolls or bloody books the possibility are endless because i dont know about you but im shore tired of looking at the same old book design. obviously we would need some sort of global script to put a sort of default back drop so that it will work with all scrolls and books added by mods and such, then have a script on a cirtan book/scroll that puts up its own backdrop. what dose every one else think? is this possible with this method?

i also had an idea for enemy health bars, that appear instead of the yellow bar, although this may not be an actual hud piece its self it would have to be a object placed and follows the target something like this maybe

http://common.ziffdavisinternet.com/util_get_image/18/0,1425,i=181063,00.jpg

its the two curved bars that im referring to, that would be billboarded and maybe slightly transparent. its what i would like but it may not be every ones cup of tea

p.s. for the liked picture youll have to select the text because of the comers in the address. just copy and past it in to your browsers address field
User avatar
James Wilson
 
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:51 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 9:28 am

I've submitted an update to Companion Status Bars to PES. New stuff:
*Added persistence option: next time you read the companion book, you'll have the option to toggle persistence. When enabled, persistence keeps the status bars visible while in menus and dialog.

*Added a sneaking check: when the status bars are positioned next to the spell icon, they will move to accommodate the sneaking icon.

http://planetelderscrolls.gamespy.com/View.php?view=Mods.Detail&id=472775&id=8557

I also had to reset my password again. I hope PES isn't making a habit of totally forgetting my password every month.

Thanks for that!
User avatar
Rebecca Clare Smith
 
Posts: 3508
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:13 pm

Post » Tue May 10, 2011 4:53 pm

-clip-
p.s. for the liked picture youll have to select the text because of the comers in the address. just copy and past it in to your browsers address field

Or you could just fix it yourself by using the proper url tags:
[src="http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/topic/1098685-relzwipz-skaeps-stuff/text link in qoutes"]description[/url]


There's a tool bar button to 'Insert Link' (third from the left; looks like a chain link with a green dot).


Regarding your idea, it might be possible to use MGE texture hooks via a script to do what you're proposing. I'm thinking it would need to be scripted so that different hooks would be applied based on the object id - I haven't tried that myself and I'm not sure if that's even doable. Normally, texture hooking is tied to the texture file, so without some way to change which hook should be associated with the texture (which is the same for all books/scrolls) the same hook affect would always be used. :glare:
User avatar
Shannon Marie Jones
 
Posts: 3391
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 3:19 pm

PreviousNext

Return to III - Morrowind