Spawning NPCs

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 4:05 pm

OK so I've created my character. He won't attack me and I have a patrol for him to follow. He moves from point A through a few markers up until an idle marker where hopefully he will say some dialogue. Problem is, when I start the game and open up the map, He's already in the final position.

I guess what I'm looking for is either:

a) a way to spawn the NPC at my command
b) a way to freeze all NPCs and their patrols until I issue a command that starts them all at once.

Also, is there a way to reset my characters start position from inside the map?


I'll probably be asking a lot of stupid basic questions on these forums. Thanks for helping.
User avatar
Daddy Cool!
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:34 pm

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 7:39 pm

Just put a condition on the package, like GetGlobalValue. Make a global, set it as needed, use EvaluatePackage to force them to pick a package.
User avatar
roxanna matoorah
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 6:01 am

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 8:20 am

I'm confused by almost everything you said.
User avatar
Frank Firefly
 
Posts: 3429
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:34 am

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 7:08 pm

To ellaborate...

By adding a condition to your packages, you can control when they start. As TTT said, if you define a global variable then use the value of that variable in a condition you place on your package, you can set the value of that global from within the console and then call the 'evalutepackage' or 'evp' command to get the NPC to start a specific package at the time you want them to.

So, lets say you make a global called MyNPCPackage. Then you can add a condition to your package(s) that uses the GetGlobalValue condition and have it evaluate true when the varibale equals 1. You could put the same condition on another package with the condition evaluating true when the variable equals 2, and so on. Then in the game, if you set the value of MyNPCPackage to 1 and then call an evp on the NPC, he will start to perform the first package. If you then set MyNPCpackage to 2 and call an evp on the NPC, he will start to perform the second package, and so on.
User avatar
sophie
 
Posts: 3482
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:31 pm

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 2:00 pm

OK very cool. Thank you so much. So is there a way to bind keys in Fallout 3? If I could bind a key to each action I can time it in game.
User avatar
MARLON JOHNSON
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 7:12 pm

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 1:17 pm

OK very cool. Thank you so much. So is there a way to bind keys in Fallout 3? If I could bind a key to each action I can time it in game.
User avatar
ZANEY82
 
Posts: 3314
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:10 am

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 12:16 pm

I've just released a tutorial on doing just this, using FOSE's http://fose.silverlock.org/fose_command_doc.html#IsKeyPressed function. If binding keys to scripted actions is what you're interested in, then check it out - http://www.cipscis.com/fallout/tutorials/detecting_keypresses.aspx

Cipscis
User avatar
Stat Wrecker
 
Posts: 3511
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 6:14 am

Post » Sat May 07, 2011 2:37 pm

I've just released a tutorial on doing just this, using FOSE's http://fose.silverlock.org/fose_command_doc.html#IsKeyPressed function. If binding keys to scripted actions is what you're interested in, then check it out - http://www.cipscis.com/fallout/tutorials/detecting_keypresses.aspx

Cipscis

Cipscis, has anyone told you lately that you friggin rock?
Thanks!
User avatar
Jennifer Rose
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 2:54 pm


Return to Fallout 3