startqueststopquest console commands issues

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 11:56 am

I don't know if (all of) this is common knowledge but I'll just lave it here. Also, I'll say from start that uninstalling mods is not something you should do in Skyrim.

Most people probably know already that startquest console command won't properly fill quest aliases at quest startup.

What I just found out is:

1. that using stopquest from console before a so called "clean save" will make a start enabled quest not to start if you reinstall or install an update of that mod after the clean save (another thing persisting in the save it seems)
2. if using startquest from console then if some aliases will be filled then those aliases will be cleared again if you load a save.
So, startquest from comsole is not safe even for a quest with no aliases needed to be filled at starup and don't follow an uninstall procedure that suggests a stopquest command if you think you may want to install that or an update of that mod again.
If you bugged your game already like this and you really need to force a quest to start without touching the mod it is in, you could try: (Game.getFormFromFile([that_quest_id],[that_mod_file]) as Quest).start() Make a little esp with a new quest (start enabled) and place that in it's onInit() event, sstart game, load bugged save, save, quit game, remove that esp, continue from the new save.
User avatar
Roberto Gaeta
 
Posts: 3451
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:23 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:18 pm

I suppose another way in addition to yours is to add an empty stage that'll never be needed in a traditional sense, with its only purpose being to hold the Stop() function. So when you want to inform users on how to stop your quest, just have them type(console command) setstage questID queststage that is holding Stop().

User avatar
Stephanie Kemp
 
Posts: 3329
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:39 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 3:01 pm

My suggestion is about what one can do if the original mod didn't provide any help with this. Also, I don't know if using what you proposed will let the quest autostart after a clean save update...most likely a similar thing would be needed for start.

User avatar
Star Dunkels Macmillan
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:00 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:15 pm

This also effect OnInit? Because I've been using startquest for my mod, but it's unreleased and still in testing phase, with no *real* way of starting it yet. I noticed my OnInit doesn't work unless I use startquest, which doesn't make any sense.

the thing I said about stop, well, hmm.. got me there on the Start() issue.

..I also didn't know startquest can cause that issue. LOL is there ANYTHING that is safe to do in this game? Doesn't seem like it.

User avatar
James Rhead
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 7:32 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 6:57 pm

I never knew about this bug, but with one of my mods I used to have users use StartQuest to start an Uninstall Quest that would Uninstall the mod. This worked without any problems - users would uninstall using this method and then make a clean save and install the update with no hitches.

Since the uninstall Quest didn't have any aliases to fill, it worked good for that purpose - the Uninstall quest had a script instead that stopped all the other quests via papyrus. So that might be another alternative to use to get around this issue.

User avatar
dean Cutler
 
Posts: 3411
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:29 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 2:22 pm

More needs to be tested but I guess now you know what to be careful at, even combinations of auto start and allow restart may behave differently...

Using a helper quest to manage this would be ok, the same way my getFormFromFile().start() seems not affected by any issue. But are you saying that after you stop the quest like that it will autostart the same quest on update...this looks strange compared to what I sayd at #1 but who knows with this game, or you don't expect any quest to autostart after clean save and update?

User avatar
luis ortiz
 
Posts: 3355
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 8:21 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 7:08 am

I think you're still probably right about what you said originally. In my case, all the other main quests were stopped through the script (which I'm guessing is the safe way to do things), the only console command entered was to StartQuest the uninstalling quest, which then stopped all the rest. But I know some users did this successively over several versions (using StartQuest on the same uninstall quest each time) and it always worked fine for updating.

User avatar
evelina c
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:28 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 5:26 pm

Please do double check this, I was testing my mod for compatibility with another one and that other one I was messing with with the console to check its current release and the available beta so my focus was on multiple things...also all this after midnight :)

Also you may find issue reports in your mods comments that seemed impossible but now in a new light...

User avatar
Hella Beast
 
Posts: 3434
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:50 am

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 4:50 pm

Good point - I'll have to keep that in mind :)

User avatar
Britney Lopez
 
Posts: 3469
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 5:22 pm

Post » Sun May 18, 2014 8:44 am

Right. Because the majority of people love to rely on the console commands to come save the day, forgetting that they are basically debug schemes not designed to be used in a consistent way.

I'm reminded of this mod that somehow allows console commands to be used in papyrus. Uh oh.

User avatar
Robert Devlin
 
Posts: 3521
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 2:19 pm


Return to V - Skyrim