terminal heading change script

Post » Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:57 pm

I'm trying to change the Robco OS heading that displays when a terminal is activated on a specific terminal only. I found a script at the http://geck.gamesas.com/index.php/Useful_Scripts that says it does just that, but returns 2 errors with the Geck Powerup:

1) mismatched begin/end block starting on line 7
2) script command setgamesetting is a console only command

Much appreciated if anyone could help me tweak this thing to functionality. It's a minor thing but would provide a nice touch to a mod I'm fooling with. This is my first crack at the geck and modding and scripts are still very much a foreign language to me. The script per the above link is as follows:
....................................................

ScriptName TerminalChange

Short toggle
Float minitimer
Short activated

Begin OnActivate player
set activated to 1
Activate ;For people without FOSE, still works.
con_setgamesetting sComputersHeader1 "GREAT ACADEMY OF VALHALLA"
con_setgamesetting sComputersHeader2 "Republic of Valhalla"
con_setgamesetting sHackingHeader "VALHALLA REPUBLIC TERMLINK PROTOCOL"
con_setgamesetting shackingintro01 "WELCOME TO VALHALLA REPUBLIC TERMLINK"
con_setgamesetting shackingintro06 "Initializing Valhalla Republic MF Boot Agent v2.1.9"
con_setgamesetting shackingintro09 "Copyright 2156-2234 Academy of Valhalla"
End

Begin MenuMode
if activated == 1
set activated to 2
endif
End

Begin GameMode
if activated == 2
set activated to 0
;On shutting down the terminal. Makes sure it doesn't show up on others.
con_setgamesetting sComputersHeader1 "ROBCO INDUSTRIES UNIFIED OPERATING SYSTEM"
con_setgamesetting sComputersHeader2 "COPYRIGHT 2075-2077 ROBCO INDUSTRIES "
con_setgamesetting sHackingHeader "ROBCO INDUSTRIES ™ TERMLINK PROTOCOL"
con_setgamesetting shackingintro01 "WELCOME TO ROBCO INDUSTRIES ™ TERMLINK"
con_setgamesetting shackingintro06 "Initializing Robco Industries™ MF Boot Agent v2.3.0"
con_setgamesetting shackingintro09 "Copyright 2201-2203 Robco Ind."
endif
End
User avatar
Nitol Ahmed
 
Posts: 3321
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 7:35 am

Post » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:13 am

Are you starting the Geck with nvse_loader.exe -editor?
User avatar
Travis
 
Posts: 3456
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:57 am

Post » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:00 am

geckpu-nv-14.exe, it is a fork of the geck power up, downloaded from http://www.newvegasnexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=41642#content, as the 1.3 version was not displaying error messages in scripts. Running as admin from a win7 32 os.
User avatar
mimi_lys
 
Posts: 3514
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:17 am

Post » Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:44 pm

With that version of powerup, NVSE error checking support is through a plugin. You need to put nvse_plugin_geckpu-nv-14.dll in the Data\nvse\plugins\ directory. Then launch the Geck with nvse_loader.exe -editor, otherwise, your script is not going to compile with the con_SetGameSetting NVSE function. geckpu-nv-14.exe is just for vanilla scripts.
User avatar
Daddy Cool!
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:34 pm

Post » Tue Dec 06, 2011 1:21 pm

Outstanding, thank you very much. Works like a charm now. It had been long enough since I had installed nvse that I wasn't even aware that option to start the geck was available to me. Much appreciated!
User avatar
lolly13
 
Posts: 3349
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:36 am


Return to Fallout: New Vegas