Is there any way to?

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:11 pm

Is there any way to have a weapon fire another weapon?

I know its a bit weird but here is why I'm asking. I created my first mod based off of the tutorial. It is a simple grenade launcher but the problem I'm having, and thanks to Gunmaster95's help we've gotten it to work...sort of. What I originally had done was created a new ammo type out of standard missiles. I took the missiles and changed them to grenades. Then, I went into the projectile screen and had the gun use the "Frag Grenade Thrown" animation as the projectile being fired out of the barrel. The issue the two of us ran into was that we could not get the ammo that I created and the grenade to "explode" on impact with the target. The grenade would hit the target doing minimal damage and then bounce away. Then it would explode, sometimes too late to be effective.

The only way we found to achieve what we wanted was to set the weapon up as a "Rock-It-Launcher" type of weapon but then we'd be able to basically put anything we wanted in iit. Gunmaster managed to get it down to only accept "Frag Grenades" but the weapon now has to be loaded via the "RiL" menu; which is actually quite annoying. I feel it defeats the purpose of my weapon mod; in my description I state it is a "6 Round Launcher" but with the "RiL" menu you could in effect put the 400 "Frag Grenades" you have accumulated over the 1000 hours you've played into the gun. Not cool.

So, what I am looking at doing is taking the "Frag Grenade" making a duplicate and changing the copied one from a "Thrown Weapon" to an "Ammo Type". Is this possible or am I stuck making a grenade ammo type from an existing ammo type?

To check out the mod I created and the one that Gunmaster95 helped change around you can get both files here: http://fallout3nexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=11254
User avatar
Destinyscharm
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 6:06 pm

Post » Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:55 am

This probably should be in the GECK forum, not the mod forum.

Your 'Projectile' has a radio button for 'Trigger on Impact' which will make it blow up when it hits something.
You are probably using a projectile that is set to a 'timer' instead.

Your weapon #1 description above would work fine with the correct projectile type.
User avatar
Yung Prince
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:45 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:50 pm

How do I determinewhat projectile from the list is not on a timer? Or is there a way to change it? Also, in my mod I made an ammo crate containing said grenades I made. I set the crate to respawn but I don't know when it respawns the items. How do I find out the frequency of the spawns and is there a way to change them?
User avatar
john page
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 10:52 pm

Post » Thu Apr 08, 2010 3:06 am

The projectile is determined from the weapons properties page, under the 'Art and Sound' tab. It states 'Projectile' with a drop-down list.
The projectiles themselves had the type on them, impact, times or proximity.

You can find this all in your Object Window.
>Special Effects >Projectile
>Items >Weapon

I have not seen objects respawn in this game except in NPC containers. That is one reason I made a mod to do that with some randomness thrown in. I scripted many of the containers.
http://www.fallout3nexus.com/downloads/file.php?id=8682

Moderators usually do not read the threads. You click the 'report' button under your name and ask them to move the thread.
User avatar
Laura Ellaby
 
Posts: 3355
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:59 am

Post » Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:01 am

What I was trying to help him achieve was a gun that used the games standard vanilla Frag Grenades as ammo. We got it all working the only problem was when you hit R to reload, it brings up a menu like with the Rock-It-launcher where you can then stuff every grenade you have into the gun and then use. Is there any way to use grenades as ammo without having it do this? Or would we have to create a unique ammo type in order for this to work? Since i had to add FragGrenade to a formlist to let me use it as the ammo source...
User avatar
Alada Vaginah
 
Posts: 3368
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:31 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:28 pm

No, you cannot use a weapon as ammo except like the Rock-It Launcher does. Just keep track of the number of grenades the player has in inventory and match it with 'Grenade Ammo' when the gun's equipped.
User avatar
Madison Poo
 
Posts: 3414
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:09 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:00 pm

Yea that gives me an idea. If I do additem and say to add a negative amount will it remove them? Or will it not let me do that? It would just save me work if I could. Otherwise I will use a different block for remove item.
User avatar
Stephanie I
 
Posts: 3357
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 3:28 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:32 pm

Ok, I just made what you were asking for.

1. Copy the 'GrenadeNukaProjectile' and make a new projectile called 'V64GrenadeNukaProjectile'.
2. Change the radio button from 'Alt Trigger' to 'Trigger on Impact'.

3. I take the Missile Launcher >weapon.
4. Change the Ammunation to 'GrenadeList'
5. 'Art and Sound' Tab:
6. Changed Projectile to my newly created 'V64GrenadeNukaProjectile' object.
7. Change the Impact Data Set to 'GrenadePhysicalImpactHackDataSet'.

The weapon lets you load any ammo that is on the grenade list, and Lobs it out the barrel where it explodes on impact.
User avatar
Mimi BC
 
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 10:30 pm

Post » Thu Apr 08, 2010 1:57 am

Oh thats cool, one thing though. Will it actually change the visual object that comes out of the barrel depending on what you load in? Or will it always look the same? Also this allows for pulse and plasma's too doesnt it?
User avatar
He got the
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 12:19 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:09 pm

What I created was 'down and dirty' so the projectile always looks the same since you can only select one projectile. And the explosion is also always the same since its tied to the projectile.

[EDIT]
Looking at the rockit launcher, it does not have a 'explosion' on the projectile, so perhaps if you uncheck that, it might work like you want.
User avatar
adame
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 2:57 am

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:58 pm

If you really wanted to spend the time on it, could you make the projectile a formlist and then have what it generated be dependant on what ammo is fired from the gun? Or is this impossible?
User avatar
Pete Schmitzer
 
Posts: 3387
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:20 am

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:59 pm

Just removing the 'explosion' did not allow the grenade to explode. At least until I shot them with my pistol as they lay on the ground. :lmao:

But, to explode on contact, you will need a 'projectile' that has the 'impact' explosion type instead of the timed. Or you could shorten the timed to a smaller number. :shrug: But you would want your own projectile type or you would change the way the grenades work in the game.
User avatar
Liv Staff
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:51 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 10:30 pm

The rockit launcher doesn't launch the items you load into it. It launches copies of it's projectile, which are set to have that item's art and have that item be the 'On pick up' item. Much like Frag Mines- the mine you throw isn't the same one you pick up from containers, but it has a 'on pick up' item that is.
Launch anything with a script, the script won't run and when you 'pick it up' afterwards it'll have fresh script variables.
User avatar
ShOrty
 
Posts: 3392
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:15 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 6:57 pm

Thanks for all the help on this guys. This is my first mod so I'm kind of playign around with different options and trying them out to see the end result. I appreciate all the help too.
User avatar
Mizz.Jayy
 
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 5:56 pm

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:19 pm

If you are willing to use FOSE you could use SetProjectile to change the projectile depending on what you put in the weapon.
User avatar
TOYA toys
 
Posts: 3455
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 4:22 am

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:31 pm

I have FOSE, just don't really know how to use it. So, basically if I use FOSE I could take a Grenade Projectile and turn it into an ammo type? Instead of doing what I did and create an ammo type from an existing ammo through the GECK.
User avatar
Kirsty Wood
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 10:41 am

Post » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:23 pm

No, but Harmy's wrong so I wouldn't worry about it.
We can set the projectile, but only to other projectiles. And we can't detect what the player's loaded into the gun anyway so the point is moot.
User avatar
Chris Jones
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 3:11 am

Post » Thu Apr 08, 2010 12:33 am

Ok, thanks.
User avatar
Tinkerbells
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 10:22 pm

Post » Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:12 am

No, but Harmy's wrong so I wouldn't worry about it.
We can set the projectile, but only to other projectiles. And we can't detect what the player's loaded into the gun anyway so the point is moot.


Whoops, sorry.
User avatar
Sophie Payne
 
Posts: 3377
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:49 am


Return to Fallout 3