Workaround for hard-bound keys, AutoHotkey tutorial

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:57 pm

After seeing numerous requests for this topic I decided to set up a very basic tutorial on setting up a non-intrusive solution to fixing Bethesda's hard-bound context menu controls. The solution involves installing http://autohotkey.com/ and setting up a hotkey toggle to switch the keys on your keyboard itself. It's not the solution we should have, which is full keybinding support, and you should let Bethesda know that http://help.bethesda.net/app/fallout_feedback

Pre-compiled script for left-handed users, which does not require AutoHotkey or any knowledge of it: http://www.gamesas.com/topic/1546356-workaround-for-hard-bound-keys-autohotkey-tutorial/page-2#entry24493404 If you just want to start playing with these controls: http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt201/fatesdecision/Lefties-3buttons_zpsltfhvdvx.png

This guide also contains some advanced scripts I've been working on. If you want some cool control tweaks that aren't ever going in the game, check out the control hacks section near the bottom of the post.

Easy example

  • I open up a notepad file, and type
Numpad8::wNumpadDot::Numpad8NumpadAdd::EnterNumpadEnter::Space
  • Then I save this file as ReallyBadMap.ahk, and double click it to run it as an administrator using http://autohotkey.com/.

  • Now 8 on my numpad types w, "." on my numpad types 8, "+" on my numpad sends an Enter key, and the Enter button on my numpad types a space.

  • If that's all you want to know, have at it!

Terms:

Map - Using AutoHotkey to produce an output when a key is pressed. Keys that aren't given specific functions are mapped to produce themselves.

  • Green text represents the name of the physical key on your keyboard as it is labelled. For the purposes of this guide, AutoHotkey is the only program that actually reads typed keys. Fallout 4 only uses produced keys

(AHK also reads raw mouse inputs, too, but unfortunately Fallout 4 collects both the produced mouse inputs AND raw mouse inputs, which can cause conflicts)

  • Gold text represents the output of a key when it is pressed. Before running an AutoHotkey script, your typed keys and produced keys will probably be the same

Bind - Establishing a produced key to carry out a particular command or action within the game that's being played, in this case Fallout 4

  • Soft bindings have variable effects and most of them can be changed under Settings -> Controls in the pause menu.
  • Hard bindings are keys that were hard-coded into the game by the developers to always perform an action in a specific context. These can never be changed in-game; only through the game's code.

Chances are you're here because of those hard-bindings which are either interfering with your ability to play using a familiar control scheme, or you think they are just poorly optimized. Why do you have to reach over and hit Tab whenever you want to exit out of a computer terminal? This tutorial should give you all the information you need to set up almost all of the controls you want while Bethesda hopefully eliminates the need for hardbound keys.


Step 1: Install AutoHotkey http://autohotkey.com/ I would recommend using express installation

Step 2: Create a file anywhere on your computer with the .ahk extension. The easiest way to do this is to open up notepad and [File -> Save As] and save it as the desired file name with the .ahk extension. Open the file you created and with notepad (right-click and edit).

Optional Step 3: Paste this to add an off/on switch to your remappings:

+Break::	Suspend	Pause,,1return

Spoiler
+Break:: is a hotkey combination; + means to hold down Shift while Break, pressing the Pause key.

The body of the function simply suspends the entire script with a pause buffer (which allows the function to complete so that only this particular hotkey can be used again).

The return statement indicates the ending of a function.

So what this does is that it allows you to Shift + Pause to toggle the enabling of the other hotkey functions we will create below.

Step 4: Remap your keys. On a new line, type the key that you want to press, followed by a double-colon :: and then the key that you want produced.

In this example, I will use my G key

g::e

This makes it so that whenever I press my G key it will produce an E instead.

Spoiler
Keep in mind that now I have no way of producing a G with my keyboard because I haven't mapped any keys to produce a G.

As it turns out, remaps can be done in one line without a return statement. Anything longer than one line will require a return statement.

e::j

Now I have a function which makes pressing my E produce a J (note that it reads the raw keyboard input of pressing E, so a produced E will not be output as J such as in the previous function).

You can use the one-line method with any keys. If I want my J to type G, the next line is completely valid:

j::g

Step 5: Save the file, then double-click it to make it run. If AHK is not set to run as administrator by default, right click and run as administrator instead.

Spoiler
Now whenever I type, G gives me E, E gives me J, and J gives me G. When I want to stop to type something, like the name of a pistol, I hit Shift + Pause to disable it, name my pistol "Jagger" and then I hit Shift + Pause to re-enable the script. This was a pretty dumb remapping, though, so I'm going to need to go back and fix it so that it makes sense to use given the Fallout 4 keys.

Step 6: Right-click the file and Edit, then go back to Step 4 until you are happy with it.

Some key names you may want to know are

NumpadDot

NumpadEnter

NumpadAdd

NumpadSub

NumpadMult

NumpadDiv

For a complete list of keys by name: http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/KeyList.htm

A very important note when picking your keys is that hardbound keys will always take priority over softbound keys if you could use both in the same context; the softbound control will not be used

There are several interfaces, the most important being free exploration, Pip-Boy, and the workshop.

Pip-Boy - [Pip-Boy menu] this control is softbound to closing the Pip-Boy (don't forget the statement directly above)

Forward/Back - [Pip-Boy] these are actually softbound to tab navigation. Moves the outer tabs left and right. [Workshop] allows you to move!! Any keys with workshop hardbindings will not allow you to use that key for movement

Strafe Left/Right - [Pip-Boy] navigate through the inner/sub tabs. The Left/Right arrow keys are already hardbound to do this, though. [Workshop] allows you to move

Those softbound actions are important because they have functions in the same context as almost all of the hardbound keys. It is strongly recommended that you do not bind them to any of the hardbound keys.

The following keys are all hardbound in the listed interfaces:

0-9/-/=/[Numpad +]

exploration: select item from favorites

E

all: select/use highlighted object

exploration: pull objects out of containers, interact with workstations

Pip-Boy(stats): apply stimpacks

workshop: select object category

I would recommend only binding VATS, activate, or reload to this key

R

exploration: open transfer menu

Pip-Boy(items): drop

Pip-Boy(data): show on map

Pip-Boy(map): toggle local view

transfer: take all items

crafting/workshop: scrap item

I would recommend only binding VATS, activate, or reload to this key

Wheel Up/Down, Wheel Up/Down (yes, Fallout 4 collects both produced Mouse inputs as well as actual mouse inputs)

exploration: zooms POV in/out

most menus: navigate, sometimes through a highlighted object which is selectable with Enter

Should be left alone without advanced script tweaking.

Tab

all: back out, cancel

Enter

all: the same stuff as E

Escape

workshop/pause: exit

Up/Down/Left/Right arrow keys

dialogue: picks one of the four responses

Pip-Boy: Left/Right moves through the subtabs

all other menus: highlights objects which are selectable with E

Spacebar

VATS: execute critical

Q

Pip-Boy(items): add selected to favorites hotbar

workshop: mark all items containing materials to craft the selected item (indicated with a hand lens)

T

Pip-Boy: manage skills

crafting: repair power armor/mark all items containing desired materials

workshop: unload all junk

trade screen: equip items to actor

Intro movies: skip

Z

Pip-Boy(items): sort items

X

Pip-Boy(items): inspect items

C

Pip-Boy(items): (armor) cycle damage, (junk) component view

Pip-Boy(data): show summary

Pip-Boy(map): toggle caravan view

Left Click / Left Click (unconfirmed)

VATS: select target limb

Never do an AHK basic remap of mouse clicks. Only remap Wheel Up/Down with the understanding that the remap will send Fallout 4 both Wheel Up/Down as well as the mapped output.

Control Hacks

And here's your consolation prize for figuring out how to remap your controls. These should work for some other games, too.

All of these scripts can be run separately in the background and toggled off at any time using Shift + Pause

Consolidating keys

There are all kinds of options you have for consolidating keys: E becomes R, Pip-Boy becomes Favorites, Sprint becomes Jump; all from a different variation of the same key presses.

Long Press

Hold down a key long enough and it will send a different key.

Template change a, x, and y to the desired keys (where A sends X normally and Y on a double tap):

Spoiler

+Break:: ;++ The same hotkey can only    Suspend ;++ be declared once per file    Pause,,1return*a::	KeyWait, a, t0.8	if ErrorLevel {		Send {y down}{y up}	}	else		Send {x down}	KeyWait, areturn*a up::Send {x up} ; line is unnecessary if A is the same as X

Combination Keys

Pressing two buttons at once will send a third, different key. So essentially you get three keys for the price of two.

Template change a, b, x, and y to the desired keys (where A sends X normally, and A + B sends Y)

Spoiler

+Break:: ;++ The same hotkey can only    Suspend ;++ be declared once per file    Pause,,1return*a::	KeyWait, a	Send {x up}{x down}returna & b::Send {y up}{y down}

Double Tapping

This one is pretty self-explanatory. You double tap one key to produce a different key. The two variations of double-tapping are

Standard: good for mapping a primary key which is usually not released and pressed in succession

Template change a, x, and y to the desired keys (where A sends X normally and Y on a double tap):

Spoiler

CP = 0 ; goes up at the top with other declarations+Break:: ;++ The same hotkey can only    Suspend ;++ be declared once per file    Pause,,1return*a::    if CP        Send {y down}    else {        SetTimer, yTimeout, -500    }return*a up::    Send {x up}{y up}    CP = 1        SetTimer, cpTimeout, -500returnyTimeout:    if ! GetKeyState("y")        Send {x down}returncpTimeout:    if ! GetKeyState("y")        CP = 0return

On-Release: if you ever need to release the primary key and then press it again, but doesn't work if you need the secondary key held down ever. This will send both keys

Example: double clicking the right mouse button(aim) sends X(bash), necessary because you may lower your sights and then quickly aim at a new target

Spoiler

CR = 0 ; goes up at the top with other declarations+Break:: ;++ The same hotkey can only    Suspend ;++ be declared once per file    Pause,,1returnRButton::    ;Send {a downtemp} if remapping a key    if ! (CR) {        SetTimer, crTimeout, -500    }returnRButton up::    ;Send {a up}    if (CR) {        Loop, 3            Send {x down}{x up}        CR = 0    }    else        CR = 1returncrTimeout:    CR = 0return

CoD-style weapon wheel Pre-compiled vertical bars: http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=536798354981754749261-6 Horizontal for lefties: http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=65866444173817788924

Do you love how, not only can you press a button to toggle your POV, but you can use the mouse wheel to adjust how far the camera is behind you? ...No? Okay then, how about we turn your mouse wheel into something useful, like a rack for all of your favorite guns! I made the first version in about an hour, which didn't work, and NINE HOURS of troubleshooting later, I had a completely different working version!!

(better) code for Vertical bar Favorites 7,8,9,0,-,=:

Spoiler

global x = 7 ;++ global variables MUST be declared BEFORE HOTKEYS.; ++ Otherwise this script will not work+Break:: ;++ The same hotkey can only    Suspend ;++ be declared once per file    Pause,,1returnWheelDown::    Click WU    x+=2WheelUp::    x--    t := select()    SetKeyDelay, 30    Send {%t% DownTemp}{%t% Up}returnselect() {    if % (x < 7 OR x = 12) {        x = 12        return "="    }    if (x = 10)        return 0    if (x = 11)        return "-"    if % (x > 12)        x = 7    return x}Numpad0::$0::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {0 Down}{0 Up}    x = 10returnNumpad7::$7::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {7 Down}{7 Up}    x = 7returnNumpad8::$8::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {8 Down}{8 Up}    x = 8returnNumpad9::$9::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {9 Down}{9 Up}    x = 9returnNumpadAdd::$=::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {= Down}{= Up}    x = 12returnNumpadSub::$-::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {- Down}{- Up}    x = 11return

(lefty) code for horizontal Favorites 1-6:

Spoiler

x = 1+Break:: ;++ The same hotkey can only    Suspend ;++ be declared once per file    Pause,,1returnWheelUp::    if % (x < 2)    x = 7    x--    SetKeyDelay, 30    Send {%x% DownTemp}{%x% Up}returnWheelDown::    Click WU    if % (x > 5)    x = 0    x++    SetKeyDelay, 30    Send {%x% DownTemp}{%x% Up}returnNumpad1::$1::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {1 Down}{1 Up}    x = 1returnNumpad2::$2::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {2 Down}{2 Up}    x = 2returnNumpad3::$3::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {3 Down}{3 Up}    x = 3returnNumpad4::$4::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {4 Down}{4 Up}    x = 4returnNumpad5::$5::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {5 Down}{5 Up}    x = 5returnNumpad6::$6::    SetKeyDelay, 10    Send {6 Down}{6 Up}    x = 6return

How it works:

Arrange all of your weapons in the vertical bars of your favorites crosshair in positions 7,8,9,0,-,= (for the lefty version it's the horizontal bars 1-6). Move ALL consumables out of those favorites or you will end up eating them when you want to switch guns. Now simply scroll the mouse wheel up and down and you can switch through your weapons just like you would in most modern FPS games.

Mouse Wheel Up/Down: Cycle through weapons

Modifyer Key(Ctrl, Alt, Shift, Windows) + Mouse Wheel Up/Down: Zoom in or out, or Scroll up/down

Additional notes:

Spoiler
When the script boots up, it will automatically start at Favorite 7. If you use the wheel in an interface other than exploration, it will only change what the script thinks you have equipped. For example, if you have your Favorite 8 equipped and load up a save where you have the gun assigned to Favorite = equipped, when you scroll down you will switch to the gun in Favorite 9 because it was the last gun you chose in-game. From there on, though, it should work as intended. You can also select a weapon through a number key as you normally would; the script knows. Finally, the script will not skip over empty slots; it doesn't know that you don't have a gun there.

FAQ

Q: Does AutoHotkey work on Mac?

A: IronAHK is the Mac version of AHK, you'll have to download that instead. This guide works for IronAHK.

Q: How can I turn AutoHotkey off permanently?

A: It should be listed as a process with the other icons in the lower right of your taskbar; just right click and exit. Otherwise, open task manager and end the process.

Q: What about GlovePIE?

A: While it predates AHK by a few years, it's bulkier, lacks express installation, and runs much hotter with fewer features.

Q: My script stops working as soon as I boot up the game

A: DirectX will disable lower-priority background programs dealing with sound and controls. Make sure you are running your script as an administrator.

Q: I don't want the remapped keys to work outside of Fallout 4

A: Add

#ifWinActive, ahk_class Fallout4

at the very top of your script. Thanks to Mav99 for this one

Q: AHK keeps minimizing my game and telling me that I've pressed "x hotkeys in y seconds"

A: This can be disabled by putting

#MaxHotkeysPerInterval 2000

at the top of your script. ty @Mav99

User avatar
trisha punch
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:38 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 9:11 am

If anybody is still having trouble with this just post a question or your script

User avatar
Samantha Pattison
 
Posts: 3407
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 8:19 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:18 am

thats great. but how to remap the numpad?
i tried it with GlovePie but quick i found out that some functions are used on both, numpad and normal number key.
so if i want to use a stimpak than '0' works as well as 'Num0'

i don't know why some one should set this functions to both keys.
What i need is fully free binding of the numpad. why bethesda never learnded and makes every time the same mistake, like with Skyrim before?

User avatar
ZANEY82
 
Posts: 3314
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 3:10 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:49 pm

I posted up a sample script for numpad users http://www.gamesas.com/topic/1544976-auto-hotkey-script-for-numberpad-users/.

you can use the format as follows:

Numpad0::tab

To use numpad0 to open the Pip-boy, for example.

you can also cover both states of the Numlock key like this:

Numpad8::w
NumpadUp::w

Hope that helps.

User avatar
Judy Lynch
 
Posts: 3504
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:31 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:58 am

Here's a complete list of the keys by name:

http://www.autohotkey.com/docs/KeyList.htm

User avatar
Lyd
 
Posts: 3335
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 2:56 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:36 am

hey. that was quick. thanks :)
one last thing.

if i like to use numpad and there are keys hardcoded can i the hardcoed key to a new one and than i set my favorite key to the numpad?

i mean it like this:

Numpad0 is bound to use Stiimpak by default but i want to use it to jump

Numpad0::Space

return

And now i want rebind the Stimpak to Numpad4

so it should be like this at the end

Numpad0::Space

return

Numpad4::Numpad0

return

Is sthis possible?

I wonder what sence it makes allowing to use the arrows to move but do not allow to rebind the keys arround the arrows.

User avatar
i grind hard
 
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:58 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:06 am

I dont want such "work around" i want a REAL BETHESDA FIX.

otherwise they are going to be like.. "OH right, whatever they have autokey, why should we bother fix that"..

User avatar
Arnold Wet
 
Posts: 3353
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:32 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:48 am

but what if they never fix it? right now it's impossible for me playing the game because i use the arrows to move and some keys 8allmost all) are out of reach :(

how can i jump with space by running foreward with the arrow key?

it's the same like in MGS 5 but at least there wasn't such are nonsens with doublebounds for one function so i could fix it with GlovePie.

the badest thing is that it even doesn't matter if i turn the Numlock on or off.

User avatar
Victoria Vasileva
 
Posts: 3340
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 5:42 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:43 am

Yeah that looks like it would work exactly how you would expect. Remember that the produced key on the right side of the double-colon is not the same as the pressed key on the left side. AutoHotkey will never use a produced key in place of a pressed key. I would actually recommend though, that you map Numpad4 to 0 on the keypad to make it less confusing; they're both hardbound to do the same thing. Additionally, I would remap Numpad0 to one of the non-exploration hardbound keys like Tab. If you have all of the hardbound keys centralized around your numpad you don't have to constantly switch hands to use menus. Then in F4's control settings, bind Tab to Jump. This way you can "jump" out of menus, lol.

User avatar
sharon
 
Posts: 3449
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:59 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 8:05 am

Ok. i was writing my keys right now. i will test it and give a short feedback in a few minutes.

thank you again for your assistance

User avatar
Robert
 
Posts: 3394
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:58 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:04 am

hm. this is my script right now, but it doesn't work. have i missed some thing?

+Break::	Suspend	Pause,,1returnNumpad0::Spacereturn Numpad4::EndreturnNumpadDot::Numpad0returnNumpad7::TabreturnNumpad2::FreturnNumpad6::MreturnNumpad8::IreturnPgUp::PreturnNumpad1::RreturnDel::EreturnNumpad3::Vreturn
User avatar
Sian Ennis
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 11:46 am

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:44 pm

It works just fine for me. Are you sure you didn't suspend it with Shift + Pause? Your outputs are in upper case but that shouldn't make a difference when playing F4 (tested it and it definitely works)

User avatar
Lifee Mccaslin
 
Posts: 3369
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:03 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 5:27 am

strange. if i open a txt file and use the remapped keys while running the script it works perfectly. but it doesn't work in game for me.

why? i'm on win10 but i guess that doesn't matter?

EDIT:

ok. got it to work.

i need to run the script as administrator.

now it works just fine. beside this hopefully there will be a patch verry quick.

so thanks for all your help and patience :)

User avatar
Brian Newman
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:36 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:33 am

I'm also running win10 and I've had no trouble applying your remapped numpad keys in the F4 control settings. You say that you can type out letters with your numpad in a text file but you can't bind those keys in-game, correct? If you have steam, try testing it in the web browser of the steam overlay

Edit: okay, fantastic

User avatar
Thema
 
Posts: 3461
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2006 2:36 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:09 pm

I mean do you think I should delete the thread? I seriously doubt Bethesda even looks in these forums. Skyrim was eventually fixed, albeit it took them ages and some stuff was still hardcoded

User avatar
CSar L
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:36 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:53 am

Don't bet on Bethesda to fix a system for hotkeys to use a non-qwerty keyboard and hotkey changes if its been hardcoded; its not standard in the country where it is released for non qwerty and if you've been a Fallout player in the past, you already know the modding community fixes a lot of what gets left off, missed, or just outright bugged. Be mad at them all you want, it won't change anything and if you want to play, use the workaround. If you don't, that's your decision and there's no need to voice a complaint on a workaround thread unless the workaround doesn't actually work.

User avatar
Isabella X
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 3:44 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:39 pm

better spam thoses guys with that than accept like a good doggy. Its when ppl accept saying nothing, or just be "ok with more or less efficient workaround" than devs like bethesda keep do crap release like with fallout4.

Because now thoses guys think like :"whatever modder will do our job, and thoses s*cker are going to accept that without saying anything so no need to properly make our game, they will pay the full price anyway"

Also, i dont know where you read that i asked for that thread to be deleted, maybe stopping missread / missunderstand what ppl say would be a good start for proper communication.

Anyway ;)

User avatar
Lisa
 
Posts: 3473
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 3:57 am

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:33 pm

I thought you were implying that Bethesda would see these fixes and it would deter them from coming up with an official patch.

User avatar
Lyndsey Bird
 
Posts: 3539
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:57 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:32 am

Definitely have to run as admin, and it can't fix the gross inconsistencies.

But *mucho kudos* for trying to document all the hardcoding in individual menus. BTW the Tab for exit / cancel exit is a classic user interface blunder, and it also apparently serves a selecting purpose in the construction interface when an NPC or object is highlighted. I think a few more are missing, like character creation keys.

If you map them the other way it becomes apparent how bizarre it is, like "exit" is Tab, or Escape, or Enter, or E, depending.

I still have to try to bind hotkeys, and make a more efficient way around all the inconsistencies. The hotkey system should have been a visual menu like most MMOs, just a single screen where you can place items in each slot.

User avatar
Dylan Markese
 
Posts: 3513
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:58 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:35 am

Well it's definitely not a final list. I haven't even got to a barter interface yet. On my g13 I have Tab mapped to my Shift key(g-15) and set to sprint so I can get to it without moving my little finger, although I'm considering mapping it to SB instead. And to get to Esc I have to move my index finger which makes it harder for me to confuse the two, and Enter is mapped to my mouse7 which I use for quick stats.

User avatar
adam holden
 
Posts: 3339
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:34 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:13 am

The barter interface is almost identical to the FO3 one, it's like the trading screen for companions. It's also kind of clumsy, especially with a lot of items, which the crafting system encourages.

I probably should get a G13/15.

Thanks again for doing this. Ultimately the hardcoding has to be fixed, some peeps have started on that over at the Nexus.

User avatar
Sudah mati ini Keparat
 
Posts: 3605
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 6:14 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:36 am

It was an impulse buy I got before AHK. The 2d GUI is really nifty for mapping, but the only program I've found to support the joystick is the Dolphin emulator that I use to play some discs ever since my Wii died, and I had to configure it manually. I'd much rather have a cherry switch keyboard with a segmented spacebar

User avatar
Hot
 
Posts: 3433
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 6:22 pm

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:32 pm

Here is one I made for those ESDF players out there. This is what I use for FPS games, but customize it to your liking.

-Make sure keys in game are set to default

-Left Shift is used for Sneak, so for pausing the script or to get to Steam Overlay, use Right Shift.

-I inverted LAlt and V, so to Alt Tab out of the game, use Right Alt, or delete those 2 scripts if you don't want them inverted.

-I tested everything I hope, and you can play normally, while you craft/build/ and skills/pip-boy works fine.

PS: Fix that F and D area(Strafe Right), because the forum sets it to a Smiley ---> f: :D

User avatar
Rob Davidson
 
Posts: 3422
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:52 am

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 3:48 am

Cool beans, the script will run fine even with extra line returns in it. It's funny; I used to use ESDF before Skyrim's horrible map UI and then I made the switch over to WASD

Edit: I do notice that you have two instances of R

User avatar
(G-yen)
 
Posts: 3385
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:10 pm

Post » Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:12 am

yes, I always use A to reload in fps. So A is set to R, but didn't remap R to something else because there was no need to.

so ESDF to move around, W is for sprint, Shift to crouch. V I normally use for melee, so thats why I flipped it with Alt.

This will have to do until a real fix if done via config files, or Bethesda actually fixed the game.

User avatar
Kelvin
 
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:22 am

Next

Return to Fallout 4