[RELZ] Wrye Bash -- Thread 54

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:40 pm

Bash won't start. It worked fine 1 hour ago. All I did was bump my overclock on my CPU by 20MHz. Is bash sensitive to overclocking? I've reinstalled the resources and Bash itself. There is no error message. Maybe I can generate one by launching from the command line. How do I do that?
User avatar
Aaron Clark
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 2:23 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:49 pm

I think you must use Python version 2.6.x, otherwise Wrye Bash won't start. But I'm not 100% sure about it.

Python 2.7 is reported to work, but you must use wxPython 2.9 or higher.

Anyway I also have my own problem of being unable to start Wrye Bash. Here's the error message I got from the Command Prompt:

d:\Games\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Mopy>c:\python26\python.exe bash.py -dTraceback (most recent call last):  File "bash.py", line 153, in     main()  File "bash.py", line 139, in main    app = basher.BashApp(False)  File "c:\python26\lib\site-packages\wx-2.9.1-msw\wx\_core.py", line 8470, in __init__    self._BootstrapApp()  File "c:\python26\lib\site-packages\wx-2.9.1-msw\wx\_core.py", line 8035, in _BootstrapApp    return _core_.PyApp__BootstrapApp(*args, **kwargs)  File "d:\Games\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Mopy\basher.py", line 4584, in OnInit    self.InitData(progress)  File "d:\Games\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Mopy\basher.py", line 4613, in InitData    progress.Update(5,_("Initializing ModInfos"))  File "c:\python26\lib\site-packages\wx-2.9.1-msw\wx\_windows.py", line 3693, in Update    return _windows_.ProgressDialog_Update(*args, **kwargs)wx._core.PyAssertionError: C++ assertion "wxEventLoopBase::GetActive()" failed at ..\..\src\generic\progdlgg.cpp(467) in wxProgressDialog::DoBeforeUpdate(): wxProgressDialog::DoBeforeUpdate needs a running event loop


You are not using python 2.7, but you are using wxPython 2.9. You should be using wxPython 2.8.11.0.

Bash won't start. It worked fine 1 hour ago. All I did was bump my overclock on my CPU by 20MHz. Is bash sensitive to overclocking? I've reinstalled the resources and Bash itself. There is no error message. Maybe I can generate one by launching from the command line. How do I do that?

Double-click on bash.py instead of Wrye Bash Launcher.pyw.
Does it run from bash.py?

If it does, you likely have a pidfile.tmp in your mopy folder. Delete it and carry on.

If bash.py doesn't work, then you need to generate a bugdump.
Open a command prompt. Change to your mopy folder.
"CD /d C:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Mopy"

When you are at your mopy folder, run bash.py with the debug option.
"C:\Python26\python.exe bash.py -d"

Copy the bugdump from the cmd window. (highlight everything and hit ENTER to copy from the cmd prompt window).
Then paste it here.
User avatar
Kitana Lucas
 
Posts: 3421
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 1:24 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:35 pm

Double-click on bash.py instead of Wrye Bash Launcher.pyw
Does it run from bash.py?

If it does, you likely have a pidfile.tmp in your mopy folder. Delete it and carry on.

If bash.py doesn't work, then you need to generate a bugdump.
Open a command prompt. Change to your mopy folder.
"CD /d C:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Mopy"

When you are at your mopy folder, run bash.py with the debug option.
"C:\Python26\python.exe bash.py -d"

Copy the bugdump from the cmd window. (highlight everything and hit ENTER to copy from the cmd prompt window).
Then paste it here.


Ah, thank you, sir. Your suspicion was correct. I had a pidfile.tmp in my Mopy folder. Deleting it fixed the problem.

Thanks again.
User avatar
Melis Hristina
 
Posts: 3509
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:36 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:26 pm

i read in this guide that when two mods have the same modification date that one needs to be changed. I did this, but the two mods in question still have a red background, and when i select a different mod from the mod list, and go back to the mod for which i altered the last modifiaction date, the time has changed back to what it originally said (hence both the mods still having a red line behind them.) is there another way to change the mod date of a mod in the mod tab?
User avatar
phil walsh
 
Posts: 3317
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 8:46 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:32 pm

i read in this guide that when two mods have the same modification date that one needs to be changed. I did this, but the two mods in question still have a red background, and when i select a different mod from the mod list, and go back to the mod for which i altered the last modifiaction date, the time has changed back to what it originally said (hence both the mods still having a red line behind them.) is there another way to change the mod date of a mod in the mod tab?

The dates may be the same, but the time may be different for those 2 mods. I would suggest unlocking your LO (R-click on installers tab in WB, and selecting that option). Just BOSS your LO, and the dates should be fine in your LO then.

Unless you are trying something advanced with your own personal mods (which might not be in the BOSS masterlist)...
User avatar
Nicholas
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:05 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:21 pm

Python 2.7 is reported to work, but you must use wxPython 2.9 or higher.

You are not using python 2.7, but you are using wxPython 2.9. You should be using wxPython 2.8.11.0.

Well...I do have Python 2.7 with wxPython 2.9 when I tried to launch Wrye Bash. Does this mean Python 2.7 is incompatible?
User avatar
teeny
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 1:51 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:41 am

Well...I do have Python 2.7 with wxPython 2.9 when I tried to launch Wrye Bash. Does this mean Python 2.7 is incompatible?

Then you may need to reinstall Python, because your bugdump is saying c:\Python26
I would expect that Python 2.7 would install to c:\Python27

http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1129495-relz-wrye-bash-thread-53/page__view__findpost__p__16626013 just posted that he installed 2.7 and it's working. But he is using wxPython2.8.11.0, so maybe you don't need wxPython 2.9 at all.

Though, from the bash documentation:
?  Alternate Python Installations  ?  Alternate python installations might work, however no guarantee is made. Currently (and for the foreseeable future), python 2.6, wxPython 2.8.11.0, etc. are the preferred versions.  ?  Python 2.5x-2.7x should work fine howevever [b]a wxPython version of at least 2.9.x is definitely required[/b].

User avatar
Nicholas
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2007 12:05 am

Post » Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:43 am

Is there any noticeable performance increases from using Python 2.7? Is there a need to upgrade, really?
User avatar
Anna Kyselova
 
Posts: 3431
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 9:42 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:13 pm

The dates may be the same, but the time may be different for those 2 mods. I would suggest unlocking your LO (R-click on installers tab in WB, and selecting that option). Just BOSS your LO, and the dates should be fine in your LO then.

Unless you are trying something advanced with your own personal mods (which might not be in the BOSS masterlist)...


just running boss again solved it, thanks.

Now for a question about All Natural. In cheydonhal i have the transparent windows, but the light outside is not reflected in the interior spaces, it is however in other places. Does anyone know of any specific problems with cheydonhal?
User avatar
Robert Bindley
 
Posts: 3474
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 5:31 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:02 am

I Was running 2.7 with wxPython2.8.11.0, I didn't Notice any problems with 32-bit, but I have upgraded to 2.9.
It Feels a Lot faster, but I've curently dropped 3/4's of my Load Oder... :shrug:
User avatar
Elea Rossi
 
Posts: 3554
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:39 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:57 pm

Well yeah, it'll be faster the less mods it has to process. You'd need to compare the identical load order on the two different versions of Python.
User avatar
Karl harris
 
Posts: 3423
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 3:17 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:08 pm

Feature request:

Add to the Saves the ability to rename the name of the save and the name of the "player".

rename Save(s) added (of course you could always rename via the details panel but only one at a time). added in rename player function. sounds like a good idea to me

I'm not Entirely Sure about this when it gets to, Primarly "Tweak Actors" as far actual mods... :confused:

those are just tweaks, they are applied in the bashed patch so will override any earlier loading mods and be overriden themselves ONLY by later loading mods (and imports won't affect them since tweaks run after imports). - does that explain it better?

Couple of typos in last wrye bash html :

fixed, thanks.
Pacific Morrowind
User avatar
Elisabete Gaspar
 
Posts: 3558
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 1:15 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:03 pm

I recently had to reinstall my Vista OS, so I had to reinstall oblivion. Before I reinstalled Vista I saved my data folder. Once I reinstalled Oblivion, I installed OBMM, BOSS, OBSE, and the Wyre Bash however I didn't install python first, I ran wyre bash and it worked fine. So then I transferred my old data folder into the new one only overwriting, menus, textures, etc none of the bsa files. Then I started redownloading some mods, mostly the OBMM ones and saw the wyre python file, so I downloaded and installed it. Now Wyre Bash won't start, I see the modinfo window, with the bar, however the bar never fills and it just leaves the screen. I have tried to uninstall all of python and wyre bash and reinstall in the correct order and it still does the same thing, so I used the command line to get a bug dump, which I don't understand at all, here it is:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
Copyright © 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\synthevol>cd..

C:\Users>cd public

C:\Users\Public>cd games

C:\Users\Public\games>cd oblivion

C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion>cd mopy

C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion\Mopy>c:\python26\python.exe bash.py -d
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "bash.py", line 94, in
main()
File "bash.py", line 80, in main
app = basher.BashApp(False)
File "c:\python26\lib\site-packages\wx-2.8-msw-ansi\wx\_core.py", line 7978, i
n __init__
self._BootstrapApp()
File "c:\python26\lib\site-packages\wx-2.8-msw-ansi\wx\_core.py", line 7552, i
n _BootstrapApp
return _core_.PyApp__BootstrapApp(*args, **kwargs)
File "C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion\Mopy\basher.py", line 3670, in OnInit
self.InitData(progress)
File "C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion\Mopy\basher.py", line 3704, in InitData
bosh.modInfos.refresh(doAutoGroup=True)
File "C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion\Mopy\bosh.py", line 7395, in refresh
self.getOblivionVersions()
File "C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion\Mopy\bosh.py", line 7979, in getOblivionV
ersions
self.voCurrent = self.size_voVersion.get(self.data[GPath('Oblivion.esm')].si
ze,None)
KeyError: bolt.Path('Oblivion.esm')

C:\Users\Public\games\oblivion\Mopy>

Hopefully someone here with more knowledge than I have can help me with this, please.
User avatar
[ becca ]
 
Posts: 3514
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:59 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:31 am

The bugdump says Wrye Bash didn't find your Oblivion.esm (this seems most likely), or the size of your Oblivion.esm doesn't match the known size for the version that it claims to be (eg. your esm has been modified).

PS. installing python after installing Wrye Bash should be no problem.
For the actual python components, you do need to install Python before you can install wxPython, etc.
Opposite is true for uninstalling. Remove Python last, or you may not be able to remove the other components.
User avatar
StunnaLiike FiiFii
 
Posts: 3373
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 2:30 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:01 pm

The bugdump says Wrye Bash didn't find your Oblivion.esm (this seems most likely), or the size of your Oblivion.esm doesn't match the known size for the version that it claims to be (eg. your esm has been modified).

PS. installing python after installing Wrye Bash should be no problem.
For the actual python components, you do need to install Python before you can install wxPython, etc.
Opposite is true for uninstalling. Remove Python last, or you may not be able to remove the other components.


Well I don't know exactly what I did to cause the problem, however I decided to uninstall Oblivion and then reinstall it, then reinstall Wyre and Wyre is now working just fine. Thanks
User avatar
Mr. Ray
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 8:08 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 7:21 pm

There is a feature in Wrye Bash to switch between various versions of the esm for those that don't have SI.

So possibly it was reset to a version you don't have or for some reason it is malfunctioning and reading your esm as the wrong version.

If you have SI does your esm say [SI] at the end when viewed in the mods tab of Wrye Bash?
User avatar
Melanie Steinberg
 
Posts: 3365
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:25 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:41 am

Well I don't know exactly what I did to cause the problem, however I decided to uninstall Oblivion and then reinstall it, then reinstall Wyre and Wyre is now working just fine. Thanks

I'm guessing that you either had SI installed in your backup, but not in your new install. Or vice versa. Although I don't know that this would even matter to Bash.
Another perhaps more likely possibility is that the Oblivion.esm got corrupted when copying it. Either copying from your backup or during the official install.

In any case, I'm pretty sure that your Oblivion.esm was somehow modified. Wrye Bash checks the exact size of the esm to determine if it's the original or the SI version and it couldn't match yours.
User avatar
Emilie M
 
Posts: 3419
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:08 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:49 pm

I noticed in the svn ini tweaks that they are in the Unix format (\n instead of \r\n for windows) :confused:
User avatar
Daddy Cool!
 
Posts: 3381
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:34 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 10:34 am

Hi guys

Maybe you guys can help me. I was working on minor improvements of DarN`s UI lately and implemented a new font, replacing the petrock ones I didn`t like with new ones. The first three font types were replaced with new ones:

[Fonts]
sfontfile_1=Data\Fonts\ <- these one are new
sfontfile_2=Data\Fonts\ <- these one are new
sfontfile_3=Data\Fonts\ <- these one are new
sfontfile_4=Data\Fonts\DarN_Oblivion_28.fnt
sfontFile_5=Data\Fonts\Handwritten.fnt

I also altered in the xmls provided by DarN which one of these (1-3) change what. For example: The first one (sfontfile_1) is for the dialogues now. I removed the background of DarN`s UI and took a font with a subtle outline. However, DarNified UI normally uses the second one or third one (sfontfile_2/3) for the dialogue text, I`m not actually sure, because it`s a while ago since I changed it to the first one. Why am I explaining this and don`t get to the point? Well, these details are important to understand the nature of my problem.

Now I found that the font that books and scrolls use cannot be simply assigned by a xml and usually people take the "DarNified Books" tweak of Wrye Bash to fix this problem. So far, it works fantastic, but nevertheless a problem occurs because I did what I explained right above. All the texts now in books and scrolls use the third font (sfontfile_3=) and what I simply want is to make them use the second (sfontfile_2=) instead. I really don`t know how Wrye Bash works or what it does, when it applies the DarNified Books tweak, but would it be possible to make it change the font it assigns from the third font (sfontfile_3=) to the second font (sfontfile_2=)?
User avatar
Sabrina Schwarz
 
Posts: 3538
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:02 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:44 am

Wrye Bash stopped working. When i click on the shortcut or executable nothing happens. help!
User avatar
Len swann
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 5:02 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:28 pm

Wrye Bash stopped working. When i click on the shortcut or executable nothing happens. help!


Wrye bash v290? - If so have a look at this post maybe similar situation to yours http://www.gamesas.com/index.php?/topic/1136734-relz-wrye-bash-thread-54/page__view__findpost__p__16636128
User avatar
Megan Stabler
 
Posts: 3420
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 2:03 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:16 pm

I Was running 2.7 with wxPython2.8.11.0, I didn't Notice any problems with 32-bit, but I have upgraded to 2.9.
It Feels a Lot faster, but I've curently dropped 3/4's of my Load Oder... :shrug:

I suspect my Bash problem has something to do with my double Python (26 & 27) installations in which the 27 is 64-bit version (with wxPython 2.9). I'm not sure if Wrye Bash is supposed to work nicely with 64-bit version of Python though.
User avatar
x a million...
 
Posts: 3464
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:59 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:15 pm

Wrye Bash stopped working. When i click on the shortcut or executable nothing happens. help!

Go into your Mopy folder, locate the pidfile.tmp file, and delete it. restart Bash, and it works now :)
User avatar
Alex [AK]
 
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:01 pm

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:55 am

Go into your Mopy folder, locate the pidfile.tmp file, and delete it. restart Bash, and it works now :)


yup that did the trick, thank you :) so any reason why this file caused this problem?
User avatar
Dark Mogul
 
Posts: 3438
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:51 am

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:44 pm

Now I found that the font that books and scrolls use cannot be simply assigned by a xml and usually people take the "DarNified Books" tweak of Wrye Bash to fix this problem. So far, it works fantastic, but nevertheless a problem occurs because I did what I explained right above. All the texts now in books and scrolls use the third font (sfontfile_3=) and what I simply want is to make them use the second (sfontfile_2=) instead. I really don`t know how Wrye Bash works or what it does, when it applies the DarNified Books tweak, but would it be possible to make it change the font it assigns from the third font (sfontfile_3=) to the second font (sfontfile_2=)?

I think it would make more sense if you made your modifications to DarN so that it will comply with what Wrye Bash (and DarN) expects.


I suspect my Bash problem has something to do with my double Python (26 & 27) installations in which the 27 is 64-bit version (with wxPython 2.9). I'm not sure if Wrye Bash is supposed to work nicely with 64-bit version of Python though.

Holy moly. Are you looking for help or just documenting your trials? :)
The officially supported versions are Python 2.6.5 and 2.6.6, wxPython 1.8.11.0 ANSI, ComTypes 0.6.2, PyWin32 and Psyco 1.6. All 32 bit.
64-bit may work but it's not supported.

PS.
Psyco will not work on 64-bit setups OR with Python 2.7 (32 or 64-bit). It's only optional, but if you already have it installed, Wrye Bash will try to use it.
You can force Wrye Bash to not use it by specifying the 0 (zero, stands for zero optimization) argument on the command line.
EG. c:\python27\pythonw.exe "Wrye Bash Launcher.pyw" 0


yup that did the trick, thank you :) so any reason why this file caused this problem?

That file is used to to tell bash that it's already running, in case you try to run two copies of Bash at one time.
There is a small bug where the file is not always properly deleted after Bash closes (eg, when Bash crashes). So Bash thinks it's already running even though it is not, and it refuses to start again.
This is fixed for v291. We hope.
User avatar
Heather Stewart
 
Posts: 3525
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 11:04 pm

PreviousNext

Return to IV - Oblivion